224152 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Creek Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (970) 627-8502
CGID7294

Elk Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   9   9   10   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Elk Creek is a very nice park. The bathrooms were very clean. We had trouble getting a Wi-Fi signal at our site so my husband went to the rec room to use his laptop. I got a good Verizon signal on my smartphone. The highlight of our trip were the moose in our site. They even brushed up against the back of our trailer while they were munching on the willows. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Stayed here for 12 days in mid August. A camper in this area needs to understand the choices. For a Big Rig and large 5th Wheel rigs there are two commercial campgrounds. For smaller rigs there are multiple campgrounds commercial and NP operated. This campground serves all types, tents, small and big rigs including cabins to rent. That said, the rate is based on 1 week + 5 days at daily rate. Taxes are high for visitors. This campground is built on a hill, with hard pan packed dirt interior roads that the wet weather is starting to create ruts in. The sites (all back-in) with fine dirt/gravel base are terraced into the hill in a long oval loop with a semi circle at the top. Because of the incline on which the park is built, there is side to side level issues that need to be considered. Almost everyone has blocks under the wheels, but no one has wheels off the ground. There is heavy vegetation, willow bushes, pine trees and tall grasses, that separate the sites so there is a real feel of privacy. Many sites are booked well in advance because of the proximity to the NP so you are not going to just "drop in" for a stay of any length. There are guests who come for the season and the 20 FHU sites are taken up quickly. The rest of the 34 sites are W/E only. They have 4 overflow electric only sites on the flat in the front of the park for short term. For every 5 days they have a very efficient free Honey Wagon service, otherwise it is $15 per dump and a signup is needed. Having said that, I called 3 weeks in advance and the owner worked very hard to get my 40 foot rig into the same site for the whole time. I asked for 14 days, and she worked out 12. The site (RV 20)is adequate, but narrow once my slides are extended. There really wasn't any room for spending time outdoors once we moved to the uphill side to obtain a level surface. Other sites (FHU) we have seen are configured a little differently and seemed to have more "patio" area so there was more room to extend and awning and put out chairs. The restrooms are very clean, the showers are a single long hall with a floor to ceiling door to close for privacy and immaculate, but there is no place to sit. There are 3 washers and 3 dryers for 50 sites plus cabins plus tent sites. They have a completely separate area for tents and the cabins, which we found satisfying. This location is has (moose) wildlife that frequent the grounds and it is well to consider that when coming. We travel as full timers completely self contained so Wi-Fi is not required from the parks we stay in, neither is TV, so I can't comment on those services. What we look for is satellite access for these services from the roof of our rig. So few/no trees to the southeast are more important to us. This park has that. I can tell you it is a magnificent outdoor natural environment which if all the sites had full hookups, probably would get a higher rating from me. The owners work hard and will accommodate any reasonable request. The town of Grand Lake is very close as is the entrance to the Rocky Mountain National Park. This is why we chose it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Excellent base camp to visit the great views in Rocky Mountain National Park. Our 45' rig had no problems in and out of Site 19. Wi-Fi was very good, using a Super 3 Antenna Booster. AT&T phone worked great. Owners were very friendly and willing to help in any way. The place to stay in Grand Lake, CO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Very friendly and helpful owners. Very rustic campground, but well maintained. Resident wildlife. Water was turned off due to freezing, but they let us fill up from the garden hose. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
We really enjoyed this family owned and operated campground. Nice large private sites, good kids play area, clean recently-updated restroom/showers and a game room with pool table and air hockey in case it gets rainy out. The Rocky Mountain NP boundary is literally next door and we saw moose several days in the campground and heard elk bugling at night. The Verizon signal was strong with 4G and the Wi-Fi was unexpectedly good too. High marks for this place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Nice campground, convenient access to Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park, Grand Lake, restaurants. Wildlife in Campground (moose roaming among sites and report of bear visits after dark) - keep dogs on leash! Our back-in site was very tight. Access to some are better than others. Gravel pad was level. Very friendly check-in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Check in was easy, and our site is beautiful. We saw a bull moose in our camp area on our first morning. The owners are friendly and the campground is nice and quiet in addition to being conveniently located to Rocky Mountain National Park and the cute community of Grand Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Rate paid was based on weekly rate. All the trees and bushes and grassy space make this private RV park feel more like a state park. Decent separation between sites. Quiet at night. Decent park Wi-FI. We also had decent Verizon 3G signal. Moose are seen almost every day in the RV park. The park was full on the weekends and almost full during the week. Lots of families with children stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
We stayed here a week, great place, gravel site. I think we had the only pull-through that was a pull in parallel parking place, it was a tight fit for our 43'. Even though we leveled it; it was tough from side to side. The owners were great; we loved the city Grand Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Fairly good gravel park road. Our site was an almost level gravel back-in. A table and fire ring were supplied as well. Some of the sites like ours are big and private. The view from our site (#50)was panoramic. All utilities worked fine. No cable TV and I didn't bother finding out if any off the air channels were available. The Wi-Fi signal was good from our site even though the owner didn't think we would be able to connect. I would come back here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Elk Creek Campground has been a destination camp for us but probably not for everyone. During the week, when it might be somewhat empty and quiet, there are moose to be seen wandering the campground. Grand Lake Golf Course, a real gem, is 1.25 miles up the road and offers superb golfing, an excellent afternoon rate and a nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Tennis courts are close to the golf course. Of course, there is an abundance of fishing in the area, hiking and Rocky Mountain National park with free admittance with a Golden Age/Senior Pass. The national park offers the chance to see elk, moose and other native wildlife. Grand Lake is pretty much a laid back town with several interesting shops and eateries. The campground has new owners as of 1 August. It offers cabins ( bring your own sheet/blankets or sleeping bags ), tent sites, nice showers, free wi-fi at the office and gravel (not always level – what do you expect, it is the mountains) RV sites. All RV sites are back in. Not all sites are FHU and 50 amp but it is usually 10+ degrees cooler in Grand Lake than Denver so the place fills up on weekends. And here is where one is exposed to the downside of this campground. Most of the weekend campers that come here follow the laid out rules ( 10PM quiet time, 5 MPH campground speed limit, not overloading sites w/people/vehicles, pick up after your leashed pets etc. ) but there has always been a special % that come here with the attitude that these rules don’t apply to them and we can do what we please because we paid for our site. This season, camp and county rules included a total campfire, firecracker and outdoor smoking ban ( was lifted in mid August ) within Grand County but these “special” campers were observed ignoring these rules creating a potential life-threatening fire hazard. The new owners live on site and we hope that they will correct these violations by showing these few inconsiderates the campground exit and telling them to find another destination for the future.Some additional speed dips are needed also. That said, come during the week if you want to have any chance of seeing wildlife in the campground. One can get a weak PBS station but no NOAA radio stations. Granby is 17 miles away and offers a City Market ( Kroeger /King Sooper connection ) grocery store with gas/diesel at discounted prices using their discount card. Their office store is becoming better stocked, the campground is improving because of the new owners and we plan on returning next season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This campground has new owners and we were really pleased with our two week stay. The sites are not right on top of each other and have enough vegetation to make you feel like you are camping in nature and not staying in a concrete jungle. The staff was very friendly and the sites were well maintained. Although we were in a tent, we chose to stay in an RV site and will do so on our next trip out. The bathrooms, although a little dated, were exceptionally clean and the showers were the largest I have ever seen at a campground. The dish washing station was most appreciated and the laundry room was bright and clean. They are very pet friendly and do not charge a pet fee. To anyone that has issues with barking dogs or people being too loud after the 10pm "quiet time" rule, the owners do live on property and are more than willing to take care of those things if you notify them. We have stayed at a lot of campgrounds over the years and those are just things that seem to happen. The new owners were working hard while we were there sprucing things up and I imagine our next trip back the place will be even better. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Our site was in the back section of the park, w/e only, and took some really creative maneuvering to park our 32' 5th wheel. We ended up crooked to be able to let our slides out. Then there was hardly room to park the truck. No Wi-Fi at the sites, and the office was too far away to check out. Dogs were left outside while owners were gone, and the family group all around us visited until after 11 p.m. There just isn't much choice on this side of Rocky Mountain NP. There are new owners, local people, so maybe things will get better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
We stayed here for 2 nights and the new owners just took over that first night. During the 2 days they were cutting the grass and trying to make the place nicer then it was during the time a bank owned it. There are only 2 pull through sites. The bathrooms were clean but need updating. It's in a little bit of a valley and there were a few sites that had marshy grass. Great location to access RMNP. The first night we saw a giant moose only 50 yards from our site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Pleasant people and nice quiet place. Reasonably secluded sites. Handy for village and shops and lake. We enjoyed a couple of days touring around here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
This is for sure a "campground", very rustic but we had full hookups. There is a rec room with a large TV and the internet works well there. The staff was very friendly, in contrast to prior reviews. Perhaps there are new owners. The location is great--close to the park, and possible to walk into town. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
My family reserved a tent site over the phone and site unseen. Comes to find out upon our arrival that you cant take your car to your tent site, you have to walk all of your stuff at least 150 feet to the closest site. After speaking with the staff about it they were rude and didn't care that we weren't happy. We didn't even stay, we left because of their attitude. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
This is 2 minutes outside of the west side of Rocky Mountain NP. Sites have a lot of natural vegetation but it's a bit overgrown. Our site was mostly level but very small, truck barely fit after setting up camper. Building with laundry and showers was clean, but old and beat up. Camp store has almost nothing on the shelves. A quiet, average park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
This is a beautiful park unfortunately the staff is both rude and poorly informed. Their attitude is "so what if we quoted you the wrong rates over the phone and failed to tell you there is $7. pet deposit. We are full every night so we can charge what ever we please". They even told me it was my responsibility to check their website for the pet fee. There are quite a few other parks in the area. The public parks charge half as much, don't have pet fees, and have friendly well informed hosts who appreciate your business. I have posted several reviews on this site and this is my first and I hope my last negative one. I am 70 years old and I don't think I have ever been so rudely treated in my life as I was by their reservation people. Also if you need to cancel a reservation they withhold your entire deposit if you cancel two weeks in advance. Even if you cancel 3 months in advance they charge a $15 "processing fee." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We just didn't "click" with this campground. Big rig "friendly": no. Big rig "accessible if you are careful: yes. Site level: no. Picnic table level: no, and no place in the site to put it, to make it so. Campground provided BBQ level: no. Water pressure: poor. WiFi: only at the rec room. This sites are well spaced generally, and ours had lots of shade. The park seems to be one that likes to add lots of extra fees, so for $50 a night, we will look at other options next time we want to visit the national park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This campground went out of their way to spot our party of 4 large rigs, close together. We stay here often when in this part of Colorado, and this is the first time we have had to wait for a Moose to clear our site. What a great treat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This campground has few sites for 40' motorhomes. Our site had 50 amp service, but the electric box was at one end of the site while the sewer location was at the opposite end. Our electric cord would not reach, but the staff provided a 50 amp extension which worked fine. The water pressure was low. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This campground is getting excellent reviews and deservedly so. It's less then a mile from the west side of the Rocky Mountain National Park and we had a cow and calf moose about 5-10 yards from our trailer: have the pics to show for it! They stayed in the campground for literally hours. They are very harmless and docile, providing you don't invade their space. The Wi-Fi is only available at the "rec room" but it is available. The restrooms and showers were immaculate. With all this plus good staff and private, roomy sites, have made this a great campground. It is expensive though. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
We just spent 12 days in this campground and had an absolutely wonderful time. The only reason I dropped it down to a 9 is because of the price. They charge $40 per night, then add an additional charge per child and also charge for your pet: quite costly! Other than that we did love it. Moose were there and we saw elk just outside of the campground everyday also. One of the most beautiful golf courses we have ever seen is just up the road from the park as well as Rocky Mountain National Park. This was our first visit to Colorado and it is such a beautiful state. The weather was wonderful even a little bit chilly in the evenings but, that is what we look for in an August vacation as we live in the desert. I would absolutely recommend this campground to everyone. It provided us with a vacation that we will never forget! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Nice campground with sites spaced widely apart but required some maneuvering and leveling to park trailer. Wi-Fi is available only at the office: not at the site. The only problem with this campground is the cancellation policy. If a reservation is cancelled less than 2 weeks before arrival date, the entire deposit of $50 is forfeited. This happened with one member of our group who had to change their plans within 3 days of our arrival. Most campgrounds allow cancellation within 72 hours with no penalty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This quiet campground has a lot going for it. It is just outside the “cute” town of Grand Lake Village and only a very short drive to the west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Campsites are wide and well separated both in distance and visually, and most sites look reasonably level. We spent three days in site RV-50 where we were unable to fully level our 45’ motorhome, but it was the last large site available. Our Verizon wireless card worked very well, but we had occasional variation in the electrical power at the site. As others have mentioned, this park is very popular in the summer, so try to plan ahead as far as possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This is a nice family oriented campground. We have stayed here several times over the last few years. The campground is rustic & has a feel of really being in the mountains. You can see moose wandering through the campsites. The staff is helpful and friendly. This is a very popular campground in July and the summer weekends. You need to make reservations in advance. We were lucky to get in for a few days because of a cancellation. Tip: plan ahead! Their ph# is 970-627-8502 & map location is further north & not on Shadow Mt lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
The WorkKampers were really nice & helpful! They make this a nice RV park!! When we arrived, the reservation and paper work were ready and correct. The site was spotless with a view. Lots of grass around us. Site was very wide but a little short. Baths and showers were very clean, especially considering the large group of tent campers that were not very respectful or careful about cleanliness in the bathrooms. Park has rec room, TV room, small trout pond, and an excellent dump station. We liked it and will go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Nice campground close to town and Rocky Mountain National Park. Very friendly staff. A bit of overgrowth of grass around campsite and some standing water. But good shade and level site. Could not get Wi-Fi at our site. Limited sites for large trailers & 5th wheels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
I had trouble getting my reservations for the dates I had wanted. The confirmation e-mail was wrong. I e-mailed three times to get the dates corrected to no avail. Finally another phone call and return call the dates were confirmed. Once there, we had a wonderful time, clean park, extra clean bathroom, shower and laundry facilities. We enjoyed the media and WI-FI center. Camp hosts were very accommodating and helpful. They just need to up-date the reservation system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We were lucky to even get a big-rig site here because there are very few in the park. The roads are dusty, but our water and electric site was fairly level. The wi-fi is only available in or around the office, so we set up our own dish. While we had been told that wildlife frequently walked right through the park, that didn’t happen when we were there. Instead, we got our fill of wildlife just up the road in Rocky Mtn. NP!!!! This park is conveniently located just outside the West Entrance to the park, and we easily explored it from this less congested area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
The site quality varies quite a bit from site to site. Some are spacious, others are very cramped. Hookups are sometimes hard to get to being placed in odd locations. Most sites have quite a bit of privacy. Staff was friendly but not conscientious about cleaning up litter around the park. All roads and sites are dirt/gravel and dust is an issue. It is a good alternative to boondocking at the numerous sites available in the Park and the nearby recreation areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This is a wonderful family campground close to outdoor activities of Rocky Mountain National Park and the village of Grand Lake. The campground & restrooms are spotless. There are Moose, Elk & Fox wandering thru the campground in the evenings.The new owner & his staff are very friendly & helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
This is one of the nicest campground that I've been to. The toilets and the shower rooms were were very clean. During the Memorial Weekend, the restrooms/toilets and shower rooms were cleaned every 2-3 hours. The only thing that was probably an inconvenience to the tenters was the fact that the shower room was closed the last night we were there due to plumbing issue but since we camp there in a travel trailer with full hookup it was not an issue at all. The employees were very nice and very helpful. There's trails, creeks and a kiddie fishing pond on site. The kids were never without an activity there that they totally forgotten that they brought several movies with them in case they get bored. BBQ grill as well as fire ring are provided and were both very clean. The sites were mostly shady and the Pine trees as well as willow tree provided ample privacy. This campground is only 1/2 mile from the Grand Lake and there's a lot of things to do there too. I would highly recommend it and will definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
This is a one of a kind campground. It is beautiful with trees everywhere. All sites are back in, but truly unique. The sites are private with willow bushes and trees between them. We saw moose roaming the campground. We loved our stay at this nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
We really like this campground and have stayed here many times. It is located just outside the western side of Rocky Mountain National Park. The sites are large and very private with a lot of vegetation in between. Some sites are more level than others but we have always been able to get level regardless of the site we were in. There is a playground and an arcade room but no pool. They have free WIFI which you can access in their rec room. They also have cable tv in the rec room. You can't get tv reception with your antenna but the campground is in such a great setting that we really didn't miss it. Grand Lake is a quaint little mountain town on a beautiful lake. There are some nice shops and some nice restaurants in Grand Lake. Great base camp to see Rocky Mountain National Park. One of our favorite campgrounds and we will continue to return again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com