224347 User submitted reviews online!!
North Beach Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (802) 864-0123
CGID7301

North Beach Campground

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   7   9   7   5   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
This campground caters to travel trailers and tent campers. While they have a few full hookup sites for larger motor homes, they really aren't appropriate. We had to use every inch of the length and we still slightly stuck out into the roadway. Sites for full hookups weren't very level. Larger units, or units over 9 feet tall had to enter the campground going the wrong way on a one-way exit lane. Very convenient to a large beach which was shared by the public, as well as a paved bike trail. I doubt we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We liked it because it was in town, on Lake Champlain (the sites were not but you could walk in two minutes). Everything clean and tidy. Everything worked, local TV reception good. Sites were not tight but you had to back in. Not bad just not all easy. We had number 1 which was by the entrance and the daily people walked by but not a real bother. Plenty of activity - kids around but not noisy or horrible. The water is beautiful and the closeness to town was great for a change. Would stay there again for sure. Money for value in the area it was great. Verizon cell coverage perfect. We don't use the Wi-Fi so can't remember but don't think they had any. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Our rate was for water and 30 amp electric only (no sewer). The campground is walking distance to a lovely beach park on Lake Champlain and to the Burlington Bikeway which is part of the Champlain Bikeway. We casual bike and found it very beautiful and enjoyable. You can take a short bike path ride to the Burlington waterfront. Sites are mostly grass and have a fair amount of shade. Campground roads are terrible. Water and electric were very good. Restrooms are inadequate for the number of sites, plus cleaning them at 8AM was poor planning. We did like it here and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Located in Burlington's city park. Most sites open, not secluded. Easy access to Burlington bike trails. Probably the nicest bike trails I've seen, however the locals take their biking way too seriously. It is hard to get an acknowledgement when passing the local bikers. It is as if you are trespassing on "their" trail. Through my job I travel across the country and I would have to say the people on the Burlington bike trail, at least the people I encountered, are a miserable lot (and it's not like they are these elite trail bikers). They dress the part but it ends there. So if you are into trail biking the trails and views are some of the best, the locals, not so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This park is a real gem set on the shores of Lake Champlain. Although none of the RV sites are waterfront, the beach is a short walk from the RV park and the views are spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Great location with a beach on Lake Champlain. Camp ground is simple. Hosts were nice at check-in. Convenient to downtown. Wi-Fi works well - at least at our site which was about 100 ft from a Wi-Fi antenna on the side of a service building. Access is controlled, especially at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We spent 7 nights here while visiting the Burlington area. The campground has the benefit of a great location and is generally well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We did not have a full hook up site, so used the showers Unfortunately, due to the heavy use and age, the shower house was less than clean and could certainly use some updating. Our bigger concern though was the amount of noise (several nights we were kept awake by noisy campers/party's well past mid night). The space was also a big problem for us. In 7 nights there was never a time we could have used our fire pit because other units were too close. Further, the park did not seem to enforce it's one vehicle per site rule. More than once we had to park away from our site because of other cars. Because of these issues we will probably only return here if we are able to reserve a full hook-up site. They have a little more space and are away from the noisy sections of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
This is a wonderful campground marred by managements restrictive, inflexible policies. Though big rig friendly there is the need for additional gravel in those designated spaces. Individual staff members are mostly very helpful and the security is good throughout the park. Grass is cut, garbage removed frequently and the park in good repair except where noted. If you are familiar with the park, attempt to select a site yourself during the reservation process. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
As someone else stated, they are kind of anal about the early check-in time. I arrived 5 minutes early and was pre-registered and did notice the individual take a look at the clock. I chuckled to myself. The park was pretty empty so it was quiet. Well kept and the people were nice (in spite of some comments I read elsewhere). I could see in the summer months it could be a "zoo" because of many sites in a relatively small area. Huge beach, biking, close to downtown...Only wish it was closer to me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is a city campground that is very popular so reservations should be made during the summer and on weekends. The cost with water and electricity was $31. The campground has pay showers, 29 full hook-ups, 39 water and electric and 69 tent sites. It opens in May and closes in October. One has to call to make reservations. This campground is in the great little town of Burlington home to the University of Vermont and 5 other colleges. As you drive down to the waterfront you see beautiful Lake Champlain. There is a bike trail that goes right by the campground to downtown Burlington where one can take a free shuttle up to Church Street Market. Church street is closed off for cars and has a very exciting mix of stores and restaurants with plenty of outdoor cafes. The bike trail goes by the waterfront and also heads up through the Lake Champagne islands to Canada. North Beach is also walking distance from the campground for sunbathing and swimming. Sites were shaded but not all were level. Check in is after 1 and they are strict about that but the host was friendly and very informative. This town has a college atmosphere and it is a wonderful place to camp and visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We found this campground on an earlier biking trip and decided that we would come back. We stayed for a week. We did not have a sewered site, so brought a portable tank so we would not have to move the camper (5th wheel) around during our stay. This is a very nice city campground. It is just minutes from the waterfront city of Burlington. The park is situated ON the bikeway and just across the bikeway from North Beach on Lake Champlain. We had a very nice, large wooded site. The only thing that would have made it better: a sewer hookup. Not many sites do. The biggest drawback to this campground is that all beach traffic has to go through the middle of it. There was a lot of traffic during the hot summer week we were here, and many of the drivers were obviously intoxicated when they left at the end of the day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
While I think most campgrounds are over priced in this area, this one is a gem. We moved here after landing at another very rundown park, and loved our visit at North Beach. There is a beautiful beach, wonderful bike trail, and many things to do in the area. Champlain Lake is jewel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
We actually did NOT stay here. The park is very nice. We pulled in at 11:30am. The man in charge would not let us in until 1pm check in time although the park was at least 70% empty. He was very rude and abrupt and would not allow us to wait in the parking area. Check in time is not listed in park's ad in Woodall's. We deliberately travel off season and have never had a problem checking into a park reasonably early. Directions to the park are directly through the city of Burlington which would be very difficult for a big rig. Better route would be off I-89 to Lakeshore Drive and Route 127. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
You'd never guess you're staying in a city park at this RV Park. It's very nice, very convenient, and very reasonably priced. The grounds are very well kept. Most sites have a beautiful view of Lake Champlain. The bike trail into town goes right by the campground with easy access. Showers are 50 cents, apparently because they are open to beach-goers as well as campers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I'd give this an 8 or 9 except many of the full hook-up sites need minor filling/leveling and a hefty cover of gravel. Because of rain most of these sites were muddy. We had to set up on the far side from the utilities so we wouldn't be stepping out into water or mud, so we were fairly close to the Class A next door. Other than that we really liked this park and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Our take on this park was about the same as the last reviewer. Fortunately, school was not in session during our stay. The host changed us to a 50 amp site upon arrival because the 30 amp site was not large enough for our motorhome. The site was at the left front section of the park, and we had to tolerate a lot of dirt flying from the road as people drove in and out. The Wi-Fi site appeared on our computers, but we were not able to access it during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a very nice park located on the lake. Friendly check in staff. WiFi is now free. The only drawback is the entrance is not marked as the campground. When you see the high school, turn at the small 'north beach' sign. Make reservations early, the WES sites go quickly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Our site (#94 Water & Electric) was plenty large enough for our 28' travel trailer. Water pressure was excellent and the quality of the electric was also good. All sites are large, they do not 'shoe horn" you in. Plenty of recreation within walking distance. One being a "off leash" dog park (less then one mile walking south on the bike / walking path) Not that it was a problem for us but the check in office has a 11' clearance, if you are higher then that they will direct you through the exit it access the campground. For GPS Directions type in: 50 Institute Road, Burlington, VT To get to the campground you do need to drive through town, There will be no problems driving through town even with the larger 5th wheels or MH's. One of the biggest positive aspects is the access to the 17+ mile bike / walking path along Lake Champlain and the downtown area shops and restaurants. Stowe is a 30 min drive and we even visited Cabot (cheese factory) and that is around a 60 min drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Our second stay here - we love it! Right on Lake Champlain for great swimming or boating. The bike path is the best - you can ride into town or miles and miles north along the lake, which is absolutely beautiful. Most of the sites are good-sized but the full hookups to the left of check-in are pretty tight. We didn't spend much time around the trailer, though, so it didn't really matter! The bathhouse is clean and centrally-located. The staff is a little fussy but overall it's a great campground and we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
My husband and I have come here every Memorial Day weekend for the past 3 years. Personnel is very accommodating. You are right on Lake Champlain. Beach is very nice and clean. There is also a food stand which serves very good food!! Also it is a nice walk on bike path to center of town. This is a town owned campground, so non-campers/residents do come through campsites to get to the beach. Wi-Fi is available, for a price though. Very, very nice!! This is why this is our Memorial Day getaway every year!!!! Love it!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
The best thing about this park is its access to the bike trail, which heads into town or out to the causeway. It's also right on the beach (short walk) and the bathhouse is adequate. The sites are a little tight and the summer reservation procedure makes it hard to get a full hookup, but we are returning for our second time. Our biggest complaint was that August 2008 was very rainy, and our site and those near it turned into a swamp. We were packed in pretty tightly so avoiding the puddles was difficult. But overall a good place and a great location - we are returning! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Located very conveniently to Burlington, although it's uncomfortably close to a large high school, and its traffic and occasional noise problems. The bathhouse (pay showers) was adequate, but lacking amenities such as soap or towel hooks. My main objection was that despite the campground being close to empty, the staff assigned us a spot bunched right beside three other families. Of course we solved that problem by simply moving to another site with more privacy and no one knew the difference or had any reason to care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This is a very nice park and we were able to get a satellite signal from site 7 and probably would have been able to from any on that row. The walk to the beach and only about a mile to the downtown area. There is a charge for the wi-fi access. (800) 571-1198 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
We chanced upon this gem on our way back from the east coast. As cyclists we enjoyed the 12 miles of paved waterfront trail that could be accessed from the campground. We camped in the full service area because we were told that it had a better view of Lake Champlain...it did not! We should have taken the electric/water sites in the wooded area. Bathrooms were clean and the 50 cent showers were hot. It was first day of University check-in and the park was full of young people enjoying the beach. We wondered about the noise level and security, but at 900 pm, the beaches were deserted and the park ( a city park ) was very quiet. The view of the Adirondack Mountains across the lake was spectacular! There is no quick way to access the park- you must drive right through the city of Burlington from the interstate and take some side streets, but the park is quite easy to find. Burlington is a neat city and we will return for a longer stay next time when we can take the ferry to Adirondack Park via Plattsburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Agree 100% with previous review. The park now has a small laundry - 2 washers, 2 dryers. Aside from getting our rig into and out of the park and our site, we like the location a lot. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This is a good campground that is easily accessible to the downtown of Burlington. Getting to the campground involves navigating the downtown and a large hill, as it is not easily accessible from the highway. A positive is that the campground is connected to the city beach area and the city's paved bike and walking lakefront trail. Access to the trail is a big plus and the views overlooking Lake Champlain are beautiful. The sites in the campground are tight and mostly unlevel, but the friendly staff and clean restrooms make up for that. We camped here on a couple off peak nights and pretty much had our choice of sites. The negatives for this campground would be the tight sites and the showers are fifty cents for six minutes and the water temperature, pressure, and flow are not adjustable, surprisingly. The water will not turn off until the six minutes are up, which can be annoying. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
We just left the park, and I have to say it was one of the best ones on our cross country trip so far. Excellent views, lovely beach and bike path, and the office staff was excellent. Full hook up sites are fine but out in the open, while W&E sites are nicer and more wooded and rustic. Only downside was the CG doesn't have laundry facilities, but there's a new laundromat up the road. A great place to stay to see the heart of Burlington. We paid the off-season rate, a real deal! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Beautiful campground on Lake Champlain with a great natural sand beach. Nice sites for tenting and RVs. Office staff is very friendly. The beach is open to the public for day use, some campsite are on the way to that beach and see a little more foot and car traffic. Campground is also on the Burlington Bike Path giving great access to the whole Burlington area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com