206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Florida Caverns State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (850) 482-9598
CGID733

Florida Caverns State Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   10   8   8   8   7   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Typical state park restrooms. Washer and dryers in bathhouse very handy and clean. Lots of kids on bicycles. Muddy sites after rain. Check in efficient. There are equestrian sites, but we did not use them. Entrance and exits are narrow. The road from the office to the campground is narrow as well. In places, two RVs could not pass each other. No shoulder in places and in some places, the edge of the pavement is a drop off ( in mud, if after a rain). Enjoyed the peacefulness of the place but would probably not return because of the roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Paved road throughout the park. Sites are dirt for most part but mostly level. Very nice cave tour and hiking trail. Large sites with fire rings. There is also a golf course that is part of the park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Fantastic park, sites are very nice and have sewer hookup which is rare in a state park. Site 16 is the best. Washrooms are heated and very clean, brand new washer/dryers. The cavern tour is fantastic, biking/hiking trails are very nice. There is a swimming hole for the kids and big playground area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Loved the cave tour. Nice wooded sites with sewer. Lots of hiking trails . Fishing and canoeing. Swimming area for summer. Friendly staff. Will visit again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
This park is well maintained. They had two hosts on site, and at least one was busy at the site all of the time. The drive back to the camping area was long, but scenic (bring your GPS to find your way back out the first time). The nearby trails we also well-maintained. Proximity to Marianna was easy and the selection of stores and restaurants is top notch for a small town. In addition to the caverns at the park, there is a Panhandle Pioneer Settlement about 30 minutes south...excellent place to visit. Proximity to I-10 is also superb. If the site had Wi-FI and cable, I would have rated them a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
A very nice state park campground. The tour of the caverns was informative. The tour lasted abour 50 minutes. Campground was nice, restrooms were clean. Site was sandy and interior road was paved. Most sites shady. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
We arrived on a Saturday afternoon. It started raining soon after that until Sunday noon. which resulted in lots and lots of mosquitoes. Park is surrounded by swamps. It is very pretty; shaded sites and room for some 40' RV's. Sites had some gravel but were mostly dirt. There are fire-rings at each site, and posts to put up your own clothesline. Cavern tour (45 minutes) was very unique and worth the adult $8 fee (kids 12 and under were $5 each.) They rent canoes on Tuesday and Wednesday when the cavern tours are closed. We fished the river but with no luck at all. Overall we enjoyed the 7 days we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
We very much enjoyed camping here. The cave tour is interesting. The river that disappears underground and surfaces again is very unusual. The area is a beautiful forest. Camp sites are nice and level. But they are crushed limestone and sand. Looks like they are in the process of raising the level and adding crushed rock to improve them. Our site had a sewer hookup. But, when we used it as we were preparing to leave, it was nearly stopped up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Campground was mostly wooded. It was full the labor day weekend we were there. There is a "spring" for swimming although it did look a little "green", probably OK for kids to swim in (walking distance from campsites). The cave tour made it worth while. Definitely a "must do" in Florida. The town is 5 miles away and very cute. Although hiking/fishing are the only other things to do in the park other than the cave tour or swimming in the spring. A nice place for a weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Rangers very friendly. The camping area/sites are very small. The bathrooms were full of spiders and bugs and did not appear to be cleaned very well. The overall feel of the park was a lack of pride. Everything feels run down. Plenty to do around the park though. We went to Blue Springs and spent an amazing afternoon playing there. The Cavern tour was nice, just very rushed, he was yelling at people. The gift shop was pitiful. The mosquitoes are really thick. We did not get bit though--used Bounce sheets and Yard Guard. Would not care to stay again even though we had a great time with our family, just not the facility. A few changes could have this park on top! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
The good: The cavern tour, the rangers, full hook-ups. The bad: Mosquitoes and gnats were relentless. Even covered in bug spray we were nothing more than a delicious challenge. The campground consists of one relatively small loop. The sites are perpendicular to the road so backing in can be a challenge for larger rigs depending on your site. Wooden posts are right up next to the road so be careful when swinging the front of your rig around when backing in. Very limited biking within the campground. Venture onto the park roads and you take your life in your hands. The posted speed limit is ignored by virtually everyone behind the wheel. There's really nothing to do other than seeing the cavern, which is awesome. Once you've checked that off your list be prepared to entertain yourself. I would love to say more positive things about this state park but I expected more and was disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Nice park and good value for the price. The mosquitoes were thick and hungry so needed lots of spray. Lots of kids enjoying spring break. I didn't use bathrooms - a bit messy - but there are full hookups so I didn't need their facilities. Didn't find much to do in the area. Cave tours not available Tuesday and Wednesday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
One of our favorites in the state because there is so much to do. Awesome fishing off the bridge in the park (caught a bunch of large mouth bass), excellent kayaking on the Chipola River from the park launch, great biking on the paved roads, and interesting cave tour. Hiking is limited and the back trails are just OK, but the other activities make up for it. Be aware of poisonous snakes. We saw bunches of Cottonmouth Moccasins on the river while kayaking. Rangers said because it was an abnormally warm winter but there was no way I was getting in the water. The campground was peaceful and quite. Very wooden behind the sites but not much privacy between the sites. We camped in site 16 which we think is the best (there are no neighbors on one side). Bathrooms are new and very clean with tons of hot water. Outside of the park check out the Jackson Blue Springs (not to be confused with the one in the Park). Don’t waste your time kayaking from Yancy’s Landing (outside the park) on the Chipola River. The water is dirty with lots of trash. It’s much more private and scenic inside the park. We didn’t get to see it because it’s only open from Labor Day to Memorial Day but we heard it’s amazing. The cave tour was good. We did the last tour of the day and it was just the two of us and a Ranger. That was cool. Overall, one of our favorite parks in the state. Tons to do and very beautiful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
This is a beautiful state park! I love to visit them but usually don't like camping in them. Boy was I was pleasantly surprised! Well run, spacious sites, plenty to see and do, good restrooms. The staff and rangers are all very dedicated and knowledgable. Cavern tour is a must if you are physically able. We will be back when we can stay longer than a weekend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$11
The camping area has been completely rebuilt and all sites are now 30/50Amp, full hook-up, back-ins. Big wide sites in the dense woods. We will be taking our grandson here for three days at the end of the month. Reservations suggested. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Nice clean park, level sites, quiet at night. The caverns tour is better than Mammoth Cave tour, would return and recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
This is an EXCELLENT park. It was renovated in October 2010 and has a nice paved road, full sewer (yes, a Florida State Park with sewer), level, wide sites, no ruts, very friendly staff. Clean bathrooms. Watch out for high water pressure. We have already made plans to visit again. Do not overlook this park if you are in the area. It is a short trip off I-10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
The worst state park ever! There is nothing good that I can write about this park. The campsites are dirt and do not have any gravel. The roads in the park have pot-holes all in it. We wanted to tour the caves, but the credit card machine was not working. We will never go back to this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This campground was delightful! I had no idea that Florida had caves, but they have a very nice one on-site. The cavern is somewhat strenuous--there are 45 steps down to the entrance. The ceiling is low and the walkway is often wet. If you have trouble bending down low (like 4 feet!) then you might just want to watch the video in the exhibits. The sites are wooded and fairly private. Most of the sites are not paved, so when it rains it is muddy. That didn't bother us but the couple next to us never stopped complaining about the mud puddles. There are walking trails through the dense woods, a nice meadow to play in, and lovely swamps all around. We didn't see any wildlife, but I'm sure they were there--it's Florida. The spring on-site has been closed by the health department, so there is no swimming. But you can go to nearby Blue Springs to swim in the beautiful blue spring-fed pool, if you can stand it--it's 68 degrees! The bathhouses are large and clean. The water is very tasty--I've never had good tasting water in Florida so that was a big surprise. We didn't have cable there, so I think we got 3-4 channels. Bring your DVDs. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
This park is simply spectacular. The campsites are located almost two miles from the main gate through a forest of streams and trees. The vegetation is dense almost everywhere you go, and there is much interesting flora. We were unable to take the cave tour as it was booked up with school kids, but they have an interesting video of the cave and a small museum at the site. It rained while we were there, and the mosquitoes were numerous and voracious. Take your repellent! There is a nice-looking golf course next door which is part of the park. We will return to this park some day! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
The park staff is nice but the park can use some improvements. We got there after a heavy rain and our camp sight was a mud hole. The area is nice and a lot of things to see. They seem to be working on the camp ground and may be better by now. The rest rooms and showers look fairly new and were very clean. The sight we were on is number 008 and is low. If going back would pick a sight other than it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
We thought the park was little more motor home friendly than some of the Florida State Parks. We had a nice large site and found the sand roads and site to be good enough fop a few nights. We had no cell service or internet (Verizon air card did not work). The cave tour was exceptional and we highly recommend this Florida Park. There are several exhibits and many photo ops along the way. The park is very quite and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
Pretty much your standard Florida State Park, well maintained and clean. They seem to be in the process of upgrading this park. The electrical boxes are all new, they have a pressure reducer installed on the water faucets too. About a third of the sites have full concrete pads that seem to be new. The swimming area is currently closed because of a low water level but Blue Springs is near for swimming. Ask at the gate for directions. The Cave tours were partly shut down because they forgot to send in their 501(c)(3) renewal but that should be taken care of soon. The main tour was running and this is a very nice cave with excellent formations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
All we can say about this is "Amazing Experience!" The campsites were clean, level and large. We didn't feel crowded one bit and felt like we were alone. The hook-ups were great and our son could ride his bike with no worries anywhere around. The only down side to the trip was the swimming area was not ready. not a big deal and we are sure it might have been to early in the season to get it ready. A complete relaxing weekend for sure. The Caverns is a great experience and well worth the time and money. We wish all parks were like this. Kudos to their staff! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
The Park has recently upgraded it's electric and now has 50 amps. There are a few sites with sewer. We stopped here to see the caverns, and were not disappointed. Very interesting. Our biggest problem was the mosquitos. They were terrible. Not just after sunset but during the day too.You have to keep yourself sprayed well with repellent. There is lots of poison ivy on all the wonderful trails and around the campsites as well. It is a beautiful park. Sites and facilities are clean and staff is friendly and helpful but we would probably not go back since we've seen the caverns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
The park as a whole is wonderful. The caverns are awesome. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The campsites were very basic, not much shade and plenty of sand. The roads were rough in some places and the road to the campsites was sand. Overall not a bad park. The playground and pavilions were very nice and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
It appears I had a different expectation from this park than prior reviews. The sites are very wide, bath house clean, very shady sites, helpful staff and 5 channels on the antenna.Thats the good part. Then there is the $2.00 per load washer/dryer, that is very excessive when compared to private locations. The swimming hole was so green I would not go in it. I don't know what was growing in it to make it that color and have that crust. I measured the electric power at 105 volts and shut off my a/c. I only ran the fan all night to keep my a/c compressor from a possible burn out. We got out of there the next day. The 5 is for the good things. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
We decided to stay at this park as a stopover on the way to St. Andrews State Park. This was going to be a new experience for us since we had never actually seen caverns. We weren't disappointed, the caverns were really neat. As far as the campground, it is meticulously maintained, extremely quiet, and pet friendly. The only swimming is a spring fed "swimming hole", but even though the water levels were low, the kids had fun. The park itself is actually down lower than a lot of the surrounding land, and doesn't get much of a breeze, so it gets really stuffy. Even though the sites are large and well shaded, be prepared to endure a lot of humidity. The swimming hole and caverns give you a chance to cool down. They have hiking trails, and canoe rentals, and I think this would be a great place to visit in the cooler months, but not for an extended stay if you have children. They will get bored quickly. This is the only reason I didn't rate this park higher. If you are looking for a clean, well maintained park, large shady sites, you have pets, and you like a lot of peace and quiet, this is your spot! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
We like this park very much. It is small but the sites are spacious and private with lots of trees. The restrooms were new and they had a washer and drier, although the washer was out of order during our visit. The cavern tour was very interesting and there are nice nature walks. They have a swimming "hole" but it wasn't very appealing to us old folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
We really enjoyed this park. The Park Rangers and the staff at the Visitor Center were very helpful and friendly. The cavern tour is a must do at the park. We hiked the Floodplain Trail near the Visitor Center and enjoyed it very much. There is a neat little cave you can hike through on this trail. The hilly bike riding is fun for Floridians, who are used to only flat land pedaling. We were in Site 18. It was a very nice site. I would go to this park again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
This is a very nice campground. The sites were wide and almost level. We had site # 32 the last site in the park and had a very easy time backing it in and setting it up. The campground is very family friendly and if you have children who like to bike in the campground, this is the camp for you. We did not use the bathroom/shower facilities, but did use the laundry facilities. The washing machine hadn't been balanced properly and did not do a good job and was over-priced. There is plenty to do in and around the campground. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
A very nice state park and this was our second trip. Really enjoyed the bike trail (even our 6 year old could ride the trail). Wish we could have stayed another day to swim or canoe. Only wish access road wasn't so dusty. It would help if other visitors would slow down. Some were not considerate or just plain ignorant that they were creating big dust clouds. A good deal of wildlife to observe. Overall, another great FL state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$17
Thoroughly enjoyed the park and we only stayed one day. Kids loved the caverns. Facilities were very nice. Only wish road and site was paved (it could be messy if it rained). Very good value and we will go back if we can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$21
This is not only Florida's best state campground but maybe the best state park campground in the USA. Frommer's guide gives it a nbr 1 rating in six different categories of Florida campgrouds. This place is a jewel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$15
Although unpaved, the roads were in good shape. Friendly staff, clean (dirt and crushed limestone) sites, and a primitive setting (thus the unpaved roads and no grass - lots of trees, though). We had an armadillo wander through our campsite! Access was a little difficult, but friendly folks across the road moved their truck and table to allow me an easy entrance. An experienced driver could have done it without that. Only one big site is available..a Class A diesel pusher with a trailer in tow was in there. Firewood is for sale at about $4.00, and there is a fire ring in every site. Tents and RV's share the facility. There is a lot of algae in the swimming hole. Canoes are available for rent. A slow running river runs through the park. No trouble turning my 30 foot 5th wheel around at the dump station. It's on another road to the youth camp. Do not take an RV bigger than a Class C into the main parking lot: It is a tight turn at the end, and large rocks in the center to keep you from pulling through. On weekends, buy your cavern entrance tickets early, as they sell out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
First time here; road to campground is paved, but once you turn off to your loop - all dirt and pot holes - ok for us as it wasn't raining but must be a mud pie if it does. We rented a canoe at park, and also toured the caverns and this was nice. Our site was plenty wide and mostly level, not really a problem. The problem was all the mosquitoes - they just about carried us away. We were booked for 2 nights but only stayed one. They have a swimming 'hole' with a nice picnic area. And I would have rated this park higher than a six had it not been for all the mosquitoes that just drove us away. Oh yeah, bathrooms are air-conditioned in summer & heated in the winter - never saw this at a state park here in Fla before! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2005
$17
The only thing that saves me from rating this campground a 1 is the fact the state park that it's in is beautiful with good outdoor activities. That said, the campground itself is a disaster. The loop road through the campground is plain dirt, or should I say, mud. Full of ruts and potholes. If there has been rain during the previous week, you will be walking in mud. The sites are even worse. They are also dirt/mud. Almost all of the sites had standing pools of water in them. The sites are also at 90 degree angles from the narrow road making big rig access VERY difficult. It would only take some paving or gravel to make the road and sites much better. And the final straw, the dump station is at the end of a road so after you dump you have to make a very sharp turn to get back out. My 30' fifth wheel would never have made it. Also, the road the dump station is on was a mud pit as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Sites are very shady. Quick walk to stream with swimming hole and picnic grounds. Horseback riding is close by. Caverns is a good trip and very reasonably priced. Cave is very pretty and tour guide was well informed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$12
Rangers are very friendly and informative. No pool but there is a spring fed swimming hole. The caves are fun to explore especially during the lamplight night tours on weekends during the summer. Sites are very shady and cool. Canoeing, and nature hikes are also available. A wonderful place to take children. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com