219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Rustic Sands RV Resort Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (850) 648-5229
CGID734

Rustic Sands RV Resort Campground

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   4   9   7   4   4   6   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
This is a pretty nice campground. Good location from beach, good Wi-Fi, good power hookup, very friendly and helpful staff with a nice little store and rec room, and a very nice pool. On the other hand, there are small sites, office and store closes at 4:00 PM, a significant number of long term residents, the bathrooms were clean but very small and very dark, very dated and old. If I am back in this area in the future I would consider staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This is a fairly nice park in a residentual area of Mexico Beach. The access road is excellent, but a bit rough in spots. The office is quite a ways into the park and doesn't have a lot of room to park when registering. My site was good sized and all the hook-ups worked as they were supposed to, except the free cable TV. The sites are sand, as is the whole park. There were reports of a bear wandering around in the park and getting into garbage. I didn't see it though. They have a cafe/bar on site, and there is live music on the week-ends. They also have a campfire going on Friday and Saturday nights. All in all, I would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Price reflects Passport America rate for 7 nights. There is no limit on how many nights you can use PA. Made this reservation eight months before arriving and was told we would have a pull-through site. We weren't sure how long we were going to stay, so they suggested to make reservation for a month and anything over two weeks and two days would be less expensive at monthly rate. We arrived on Sunday and office was closed. They left map for us with our site number. It was a back in site at the back of the park where we were squeezed in between a few other campers. Lots of old run down mobile homes in back of park. Roads are gravel and full of put holes. Sites are dirt and grass with some gravel here and there. Super dirty if it rains. After seeing where we were placed, we decided to only stay a week. First they tried to make us forfeit our $100 deposit for changing reservation even though they were the ones who suggested to make the reservation for a month. When we wouldn't accept that, they tried to charge us a $10 change fee. When we started arguing they didn't charge us any extra. What a rip off!! Looks like no money is put back into park. It was full during our stay over spring break. Most sites looked to have snowbirds who stayed for entire winter. Only saving grace to this place is it is only 1/2 mile from the beach. They did have a decent looking pool and a small tiki bar behind office with free entertainment two nights a week. Free Wi-Fi and cable did not work at our site. Very wooded so difficult if you have satellite TV. Restrooms were old and dingy, not very clean. Decent laundry room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Very quiet nice RV park. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of 10 was we couldn't get DirecTV because of trees. Also, it rained really heavy for 2 days straight and our unit was in about 3" of water. They were good about putting a sump pump out at the 'lake' of water behind several units to drain it. Wooden picnic table was pretty old. The clubhouse is old and dated but clean. A lot of seasonal RVs here and people were really friendly. Enjoyed our 9 days stay here and would recommend it. We stayed in a 36' motorhome pulling a vehicle and there was room next to our unit to store our car dolly. A plus was the laundry facilities...dated but clean and large capacity washers that were only $1 a wash or dry...great! No big grocery stores nearby (nearest town is St. Joe) so stock up on food before you arrive here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
We camped at the first cul-de-sac as you enter the campground. Hosts are friendly and easy to find when you need them. Pros... good rates (monthly rate avg'd $18 per night) Passport America friendly too. Quiet and clean park. Cable was excellent. Pool and restaurant/bar was great! 5 blocks from the beach... easy bike ride. Cons... Laundry facility had many machines not working. But, $1 per machine for washers and dryers. Pool is not heated until the Spring season. Park does flood with heavy rain. Many sites can have standing water for a day. Wi-Fi was never working right at our part of the park but worked great near the office. All sites have sand pads and lots of trees. I love the Mexico Beach community. Tucan's is 5 blocks away but the campground bar and grill is excellent too. Gulf foods is a good grocery store nearby. Many gift shops and great fishing along the main drag. Beaches are white and wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
The rate is based on being here for a month. The previous reviewer's comment about not staying here if it rains is one I concur with. Even with a modest rain, this place floods in a number of areas. Since you are parked on mostly fine sand and soil, when it rains, the sand and soil splash up onto your rig and anything else close to the ground so everything is very dirty when you prepare to leave. They do come along and fill the worst mud holes with gravel at times. The parking spaces need to be spread with gravel to make for a better stay here. The utilities were adequate. The tree coverage is very great here so we were not able to obtain a satellite for DirecTV but they do have cable TV at no additional cost. There is no recycling here at all. Be careful when you exit the park because you could bottom out; this could be corrected with the addition of gravel. The high point here is the Tiki bar which has pretty good food and drinks with great evening entertainment. We will not be staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
The rate is Passport America. The owner is very friendly and tried to make my stay comfortable. There are plenty of trees, so many that I couldn't pull in a satellite signal. The park does have cable. Verizon cell and hot spot were strong. The parks Wi-Fi was strong in the morning, but weakened in the afternoon. The laundry room was clean and priced right. The biggest problem was rain that caused flooding throughout the park and not much to do in town if you can't go to the beach. The park has a tiki bar and live entertainment on Saturday, but since it was pretty wet I didn't go. I will try this park again if in the area, but leave immediately if it rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Stayed here 2 nights on PPA. Office was closed so getting to the site (25) was a little confusing. No problem with satellite, roof mounted. Park is unpaved and sandy, but tolerable. Typical of most Fl unpaved parks and sites. Very clean pool and surrounding area. Short drive to the beach, gulf, and beautiful sunset. Overall, I would stay again although it is a bit of a drive from I-10, but then again, I enjoy driving the back roads seeing our great country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
This place is fabulous; location, price and amenities are hard to beat. Half mile to the beach, but there is free and abundant beachfront parking which makes going to the beach so easy. Found a great seafood market with daily fresh fish, 20 minutes south. Pool is gorgeous and we loved it. Live music and a poolside bar & restaurant we didn't patronage but were pretty packed with people having a good old time! Sites are a bit tight and bathrooms are run down and not the cleanest. Even still, can't wait to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
Rustic and sand pretty well describe this place. All sites and roads are sand with a little bit of grass between them. Lots of pine trees so you cant get a satellite signal at most sites. Most of the buildings and equipment needs maintenance and paint. Office only open until 3pm. Wifi had good coverage but unusable most of the day due to lack of bandwidth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
Rate is with Passport America discount. This is our 4th visit here and, as before, it keeps getting better. This time the improvements included: more gravel and a smoother road coming in, better utilities at sites, and a wonderful laundry. In addition, they have opened a snack/dinner window in the clubhouse with great pizza and calzones as well as smoked mullet. As always, very friendly and helpful staff. We were here just before Thanksgiving and the Christmas decorations were going up. They also feature small bands in the clubhouse once a week which is nice for a get together. This continues to be one of the best campsites and best locations we have visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
Passport America Rate. Great park, fabulous staff! Lots of trees, but all trimmed high enough so as not to interfere with big rigs. Some huge (110') pull-through sites. Verizon 4G works great. Free cable and WiFi. (Not sure how well WiFi worked, since we used our V4G.) Decent laundry room. Lots of activities. Swimming pool with pool-side dining area. Would rate a 10 if had large, enclosed dog park (with grass). Friendly fellow campers (some long term). Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
Rate reflects PA discount. This park was a great find! The owner and everyone we met there was very friendly and helpful. Sites are gravel and well spaced with many shade trees. Pool and grounds were clean and well maintained. Wi-Fi was fast and all hookups worked perfectly. The park was very peaceful with only a short drive to the beach or shopping. We'll definitely be coming back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
The Park is used by many long term winter guests. Some sites are side-by-side and pull-through; others are back-in and more shaded and better separated. Friendly staff; good clubhouse and very nice pool. Washroom and shower facilities adequate but limited. Guests encourage participation with group campfires, and etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
We stayed here for two nights. Very nice family owned campground less than a mile from the beach. What we loved the best was the free entertainment on Tuesday night. It was awesome! We sat outside for four hours and had a bonfire. It was so enjoyable. Clean washrooms and very nice heated pool. Would highly recommend for those who want to enjoy the pan handle of Florida! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
RPI rate. Pretty good place, friendly people, close to great beaches and cool towns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$19
Rate was PA. Nice place for an overnight. Utilities were good, but I did not like the set-up for the water faucet on site 12 (overnight pull-through. It was next to the sewer hook-up and only 3" away. Other sites had a better hook-up. Big laundry facility and very cheap, $1 wash. Site was level, rock and sand. Lots of activities for longer term residents. Near a beautiful beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
Sites were generously sized and level but the entire park is set in a pine forest so maneuvering into place could be an issue. An occasional military jet from the nearby air base contrasted with the general quiet of the park. Basic utilities were good; Wi-Fi was weak and erratic; AT&T phone and data service were good. Facilities were old and worn but clean. The rate is based on the Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
We stayed here for a week at PPA rates. It is a nice quiet campground. Restrooms are clean, cable is excellent, Wi-Fi strong but slow at times. Some sites are narrow and require maneuvering between trees. Stock up before you get here, there is a local small supermarket, Piggly Wiggily is 10 miles away, Walmart is 20 miles away. The CG is about 3/4 miles away from the gulf. Staff and owners are pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$75*
We first stayed here in a truck camper, and enjoyed it very much. Such a pretty, peaceful, well-cared for campground in a very special area, the Forgotten Coast of Florida. We have returned to stay for an entire month in one of the cabins they rent. *Rates vary according to season and length of stay*. I absolutely love it! So nicely furnished, even sweet home sweet home touches added to make it feel like, well, home sweet home! It is clean, comfortable, quiet, perfect in every way. I highly recommend this property to you! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$17
The bathrooms/showers are very old and worn, making it difficult for me to tell if they have been cleaned. The showers (2) also lack privacy in that they face each other and are separated only by a shower curtain. You must also share 3 hooks and a small bench. The park itself is quiet and peaceful. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here the end of October when they had a $15 special, and the first part of November using Passport America. Good cable and Wi-Fi included in price. Short drive to dog friendly beach. Good value and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
The good things. $15 per night (special), good cable TV, within walking distance of a beautiful beach, looked like a good pool, nice sites. The bad things. The showers and bathroom were so dark I'm not sure if they were clean, slow internet, took 2 sites to get a working TV cable connection. Cops showing up at the neighbors at 3 am. The sand site was very rough and difficult to get the RV level. Overall, I'd come back at this price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
This is our 3rd visit and it keeps getting better. I looked at my previous reviews and realize (with more experience) they may have been too high, so though this is a 9, I think it honestly reflects what we have seen over the years at various campgrounds. Dirt/gravel roads don't bother us: it's camping. Sand sites, if firm, are good, particularly in FL. We did find some continuing issues: cable TV was fuzzy on some channels for us. A neighbor had clear channels on everything; we presume it is something in our internal wiring. Wi-Fi is stronger than before, but still fades some; it can be slow. Bathrooms were clean as were showers. But they could use another bathhouse with more modern showers and better place to change/hang up clothes. Staff, as always, very helpful and pleasant. The tall trees provide plenty of shade but sun still comes through if you want to sit out and eat or relax. One of best things is the clientele. Most are real campers, using trailers or motorhomes. They are quiet, respectful, and no noisy parties. All in all, this is a real deal and excellent spot. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
What a great serene/quiet campground w/lots of trees! By far, the very best campground in Mexico Beach!! Owners so friendly, helpful and work hard to keep the grounds clean. Electrical lines/boxes in our cul-de-sac were new (we stayed in site 56 for 3 nights). The best electric we've ever had in 12 years RV'ing all over U.S. Usual price is $34/night which we deemed reasonable for all the amenities, but they were holding a special when we arrived. $15/night with full hook-ups, free cable TV with great reception and many channels, fast free site Wi-Fi. Who could ask for more! The pool was impeccably clean too, as well as the restroom/showers, etc. Anyone considering Mexico Beach area should definitely give these young owners their business. They are also members of Passport America @ 50% discount. Would rate this campground excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
This park was about a half mile from the beach. They had us and another site hooked up to a 50 amp box together. The breaker kept tripping and when we called the after hour emergency number, we could not get an answer and never did return our call. Found someone who lived in camp ground that knew what to do. Next day same thing happened and we had to go flip breaker ourselves. Owner and wife aware of situation and never came over to apologize or see if everything was working. Says a game room and workout room available but was just some old stuff thrown in corner. They did have a nice little easter egg hunt for the children that was there on Easter morning. Okay for price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
Price reflects Passport America discount. Very nice, relaxed, rustic park. Roads are dirt and no cement pads which was not important to us, but might be an issue for some. Has activities if you're interested: pot-luck, poker, etc. Nice pool. Beaches are very close with clean, fine, white sand. Not much else to do in area. Lots not real large, but big enough for our 35'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Price reflects Passport America discount. This is a very 'campy' RV park- shady, lots of trees, packed dirt roads, and grass/dirt sites. The dip from the street to the campground road at the entrance was steep for our motorhome. They advertise Wi-Fi but it was being worked on when we were there and we were told that we would not be refunded (should we choose to leave) for that alone as it was a 'free' service. They got it back up and working anyway. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. It is a one mile walk to beautiful white sand beaches. It is about a 40 minute drive to get to shopping, etc. This town has a few little beach shops and restaurants only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
This park is set in a stand of mature pines which provide excellent shade and pretty setting. We stayed here two nights in one of the pull through sites next to the club house. These sites have good Wi-Fi, but are a bit close. The other sites do appear to be spacious and comfortable. We arrived the day after a rain storm so the roads and sites were a bit muddy. The park does have some drainage issues, but our site was free of standing water. The laundry room was clean with newer machines. The room did have a funk, but the price for wash and dry was very good. The restrooms could use a good scrubbing. There is plenty of dog walking space and the surrounding neighborhood offers even more dog walking opportunities. We would stay here again as we really enjoyed the town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
Passport Rate of $20 for 50 amps plus 11% taxes. We have been here several times and they are always doing something to improve the park. However they really need to do something with the entrance drive. It was the worst we have seen, lowered our rating to a 7 because of a tight site. We were only spending two nights so we took a pull through behind the pool and the sites are narrow. Mexico Beach is still one of our favorite places in FL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Great value for the money! Very peaceful and quiet. It's 1/2 mile from the beach. The owners are on site and are very helpful and pleasant as are the other staff. There was easy access to the park and it had large, relatively level sites, with most shaded. The bathrooms were neat and clean. The laundry room had plenty of clean washers and dryers. The park was very well maintained and we enjoyed our stay. We would return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
We stayed here a week. The trash can wasn't emptied once in the bathroom. It wasn't running over but someone put something in there that smelled don't know if it was a dirty diaper or what. It needed to be emptied. When it rained our camper was surrounded with 2" of water, (bad drainage problem). When it didn't flood from rain our weekend neighbor would hose his boat out every evening, thus flooding us again. We thought about changing sites but were told by permanent campers they were all the same, most had pallets leading from there truck to camper door. We weren't happy campers here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Overall our stay at this park was pretty good. Of the two choices in the area, this was the better choice for us, because the sites are well shaded. The pool and laundry facility were very good, but the playground was very disappointing for my kids. The park needs a little TLC, but the location is great. It appears to have many long term and regular campers at this park with newbies left to fill in the holes (literally). Our site stood in water every time we had a hard rain. However, no one else seemed to have this problem. We would definitely return to this park and this area, but avoid that site. The current owners seem to be working on improvements to the park as the sewer hook ups and laundry facilities seemed new. The pool area was clean and relaxing. It was cleaned thoroughly every day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
This is the second time we have stayed here. Sites are sand and gravel, as are the roads. The pool is nice. The laundry is good and not expensive ($1 to wash, $1 to dry). Only a few minutes from the beach. No cell phone service if using T-Mobile or ATT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
Price paid reflects Passport America. This is a great park. Our site was level, power and water were good, good cable TV, a clean pool and excellent Wi-Fi at our site. Sewer boxes appear to be new. Beach is 8 tenths of a mile away. We stopped for 1 night and stayed 2. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
Passort America price. We have stayed here twice for a week or more each time. The park is nice with a nice pool and clubhouse. Wi-Fi is very good if you are near the office which is in the center of the park. I don't think there are any sites that are satellite friendly as there are tall pines everywhere. They have free cable TV service which works great if you remember to turn the antenna booster off. Site are level. Some sites are jammed together and some have plenty of room so when you get there take five minutes and walk around to find one that suits you. We did this the second time with a much better experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$17
Park has taken some very positive steps since our stay last year (rated it 7). The sewer hookups have been set in concrete, the electric is being upgraded and a new laundry room was being built. Our sites electric was upgraded while we were there. We had returned even though we knew about the electric issues. We use a surge protector (PT50C) to prevent any damage to our rig. As far as the last review of 1, anyone who can level a 30' rig here is either drunk or has no clue to what they are doing. We still love the area and will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
We intended to spend our 4th of July weekend at Rustic Sands Campground. The check in staff was friendly, however we found our site to be too small for our 30' motor home. The ground was very unlevel, but that we could deal with. We found the cable to be fuzzy on several channels, and we did not get all the channels that were listed on the sheet provided us at check in. Our problem was with the electrical system. There were approximately 13 sites in the cul-de-sac that we were in with only 10 breakers at the electric box. All day the 3rd the breaker kept throwing which was annoying. There were 2 of the sites that were homesteaded with household appliances. When a new unit came in later in the day, we went to low power,and it was not enough to carry our unit. We asked to be moved but it was after dark before we were granted permission to move. We packed up and came home. I would NOT recommend this campground to anyone unless they wish to deal with power problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Beware. Beware. Their electrical system needs work. I had only 98 volts available at the power plug receptical. I was very afraid for my a/c at this low a voltage. I even ran my fridge on gas to save the power for the a/c. Neighbors were complaining about their circuit breakers dropping out. Electrical theory says that as the volts go down the amps go up, so the amp breakers drop out. My tv started showing pink waves where white should have been and I thought it was just the cable signal [wrong]. We moved on the next day to another campground and found my 2 month old digital tv was shot. I think the low voltage fried it. We will not stay here again and urge others to use caution. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
The campground is what its name implies, rustic. Pool is awesome and campsites are so-so. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
This was our 2nd visit. Last year we stayed for 2 nights, this time for 5. When we finally retire, we sincerely want to make this a winter stay of 1-2 months or more. As a previous review said, the town gets a 10. GREAT seafood and extremely friendly folks all around. Short trip to Port St. Joe and groceries are very cheap (by DC standards). So why a 9? They have Wi-Fi but it is so spotty, it is extremely frustrating. They have cable (free, so why worry about satellite?) but some channels were fuzzy. And yes, they are constantly working on improvements. While we were there, a new pump went in for the pool, a new washer in the laundry, and they were working on fixing the A/C for the clubhouse. Little things, but they add up. They did fog for mosquitoes one night, but the recent flooding created swarms throughout the low lands. All in all, the good FAR out weighs any negatives. Oh, yes, come in to the campground at an angle and you won't scrape. Same for going out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
PPA rate. A previous reviewer mentioned that the driveway coming in has a fairly steep fall off. It does fall off, but was no problem for my 40' and tow car. I didn't think it a problem at all, although I did go slow. Park is older, heavily treed, dirt roads and dirt/sand sites. There are a lot of permanents and seasonals. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Based on RV park pricing along the beach (Destin Fort Walton, etc), this PPA park was fine. There are no pull throughs, but they gave me a corner site that was easy to back into. We stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Lots of seasonal snow-birds and semi-permanents. The turn into the park is from the high-side of a banked curved road, then drops quickly downward into the park, so beware of high-centering or hitch dragging issues getting in or out. There are no paved roads or pads and a mixture of sand, gravel, and dirt is the norm. The site we had was not level and the ground very soft and uneven. Plenty of trees so satellite service is iffy. We only stayed one night, but it was long enough. There's not much to choose from in this part of Florida. It'll do in a pinch but I wouldn't stay here again unless there was nothing else available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$17
PA rate. This park should easily be an 8, or a possible 9. Two big drawbacks are the laundry and baths. We did not need the baths but heard a lot of complaints about them. The laundry room was pretty bad, we only used it once in our 35 days there. We ended up doing all of ours in our MH's small unit. Mexico Beach gets a solid 10, worth the visit. Beautiful beaches, go just west onto Tyndall AFB and take Orchid Beach RD, great day use area open to the public. The people in this small city are very friendly, it a very low crime area and we loved our stay there. We will be back for sure. Hopefully the park mgmt will get some much needed updates made. There are not many other options in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
Nice park. Stayed here at the Passport rate of $17 plus tax. A bargan for this area. There is good cable TV and Wi-Fi. Only drawback was the roads: quite bumpy and can get real sloppy after a rain. Will stay here annually on my trek through the Panhandle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
We escaped the bugs at St Joe State Park and landed in Mexico Beach. Overall, found the beach much nicer for swimming than the state park and access to eateries and amenities much better. But the campground was SUPER. We had a nice site with trees, full hook-ups, and great staff. Restrooms were very clean and shower, though small, was cleaned regularly. The pool was exceptional and clean. Lots of family friendly things for kids to do. Were there problems? Some. Roads were dirt with some sand, making for dusty times when rigs rolled through. Also, sites were on grass/sand. This was not always level, but easily remedied. The fitness center got trashed in the past by some kids, and they are not rushing to replace it. Why should they? Raise rates to cover that?? We would definitely stay there again and staff and guests all were friendly and helpful. Passport rate is great, but even at full rate it would have been a good spot to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Overall a decent park, but sites were not even gravel, but were fairly level. Friendly staff. Wi-Fi did not have a very strong signal in our area and kept dropping out. Electric and water connections on opposite side of site than normal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
This is a P-A campground and that helps. We stayed when campground was 3/4's empty. This made it more desirable as the site's are small in width, as was the shower space in the restrooms. The beach in Mexico Beach is beautiful. Management very friendly. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$17
Older park. Has unlevel sites, but fair sized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$34
Way overpriced, but it's Passport America so most of us are probably here for half-price. Place probably hasn't changed much in 20 years. Lots of huge, funny old Xmas decorations now give it a country charm, just right for the rustic setting in the woods, a mile from the coast. Small bathrooms, warped front door doesn't close. Large Rec hall, small pool and laundry room, terrible little "fitness" room, no WiFi but TV cable is very good. This place isn't much to talk about, but certainly worth $17. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
I mostly agree with all the prior reviews. It may be for sale (?) but the owner does seem to put his heart into the place. He goes out of his way to help folks. The grounds are looked after but the roads are rough. The pool was very clean and they have a huge cable line-up. The dial up location worked great and was quiet. Yellow fly's come out at dusk and they do bite meat and draw blood. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
This campground is no Resort. It is full of seasonal units that haven't been moved in years. There are mobile homes and some cabins. The roads are bumpy and very dusty. We were assigned a site where the electricity was on a sub box and the cable connections had been ripped off. We refused to stay on that sight and asked if we could be moved. The owner told us that we could not move and that he would be aware if there were problems. We waited for the office staff to arrive back after a 2 hour lunch closing and requested another site. The new site had a regular electric box, but the breaker continually tripped.The owner knew about it, but refused to come look at it. We left the AC off all morning in order for someone to look at it, but no one came.We discussed this again with the owner and his arrogance and lack of concern plus his comments that we could leave if we did not like it made us very sure that he didn't care about RVers. The advertised cable was so poor and fuzzy that they should not advertise that they have it. This park is nothing more than a place for people to stay and go to the beach. The pool was small but clean. The campground is for sale and it is obvious that no improvements will be made. We were extremely disappointed and can not believe the ratings that were given by the published directories and people who have stayed at this park previously. We will not stay here again, nor will we recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
A lot of long term or seasonal campers. Lots of shade except sites 9-12. They have no shade at all. Be prepared to have lots of sand and dust. Pool was cleaned everyday. Grounds were kept up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
All dirt roads, a little rough, but not terrible. Most the sites are shaded except for 9 - 12 (pull thrus). Pool was cleaned daily. Small store with minimal supplies. Less than 1 mile to the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2004
$14
This was ok for a short stay. The pool was very nice. The staff was very helpful. I did have to put out almost 100' of wire to get cable tv and the roads are not great. The big downside was the biting horse fly's that came out around sundown.They were awful hungry in mid May. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
The park was pleasant, but the higher rating than probably was actual, was to the friendly owners who were very helpful. The park was a little cramped, but this was their busy season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$24
There are only 3 RV parks in Mexico Beach to choose from. The other two are very cramped and spaced close together. This one is not as close to the ocean (1 mile), but it is much more roomier. Only draw back for me was the dirt drive and interior roads. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com