223225 User submitted reviews online!!
Wallowa Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (541) 432-4185
CGID7341

Wallowa Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   3   10   9   10   9   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
We returned to this park after a couple of years and it's still very nice. The hosts were helpful and firewood is sold on-site. Did not see as much wildlife here as we have in the past. 48 hours of our stay the temperature stayed at 40 degrees and rain, which translated to a fresh foot of snow on Mt Howard. We will be back again even though this place stays booked solid. Our RV is 25' long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
This is really a nice spot with grass & plenty of trees, no satellite TV, but got phone & private (Verizon) Wi-Fi. There are places to sight see from here, we drove to Hell's Canyon look out & there is a tram to the top of the mountain right around the corner. The lake looked nice, but it was the end of the season & they were bringing in all the boats. There are a lot of deer in the park, that are not afraid of the people. I saw people feeding them, which I wouldn't recommend, but they also would come up next to your RV & sit there for a long time. It is a well kept park & I would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Stunning setting. Last time we stayed here the sewer had backed up and was running into our site. The night crew responded @ 8PM and the morning crew @ 8AM when the problem couldn't be fixed. No offer to refund our fee, but could change to site by busy road. We'll come back, but not near the lower end of the sewer system. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This is a nice camp, but a little crowded for our taste. The sites are really tight together. We have two dogs and it was really hard to tie them where they didn't interfere with the camps on either side of us. I don't think we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
We camped in this beautiful park with family in adjacent sites for three nights. All of us had a great time and enjoyed the facilities. The campground host was in the site next to us and gave us some great suggestions of things to do. There are a lot of things to see and do in the area from fishing to sight seeing. We would like to return soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Another great Oregon State Park. Nice sites, nice people, quiet and peaceful. Joseph is a beautiful old western town with much to see and do. Several good restaurants. Many good hiking trails and the cable cars to the top of the mountain are a must. Restaurant on top very casual and decent food. Views spectacular. Everything you need for a fun vacation is here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is one of Oregon's finest state parks! Large sites with full hookups (our site #A-01 was 86' long!) that provided lots of shade and room for our family reunion. Beautiful day use area, swimming beach, boat launch and marina where you can rent or dock your own boat. Park staff were friendly and helpful, with lots of Junior Ranger activities for the kids. Park is within walking distance to restaurants, Wallowa River and Wallowa Lake Tramway. Only 6 miles to beautiful little town of Joseph, where you can shop, dine and enjoy the many art and bronze galleries. Only negative point was that we were unable to use our Verizon Cell phone to receive or make calls. We were able to send and receive text at the park, so you won't be totally out of contact with civilization! Would highly recommend this state park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Great campground! Easy access to lake, lovely camp hosts, clean and free hot showers and restrooms. There are a couple washer and dryers also. The only negative - some of the sites were right on top of each other - careful when selecting your site if you want a bit more privacy. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This park is great for family's and family or friend reunions in the summer. If you like a lot of noise and rude campers it's OK for a summer vacation. The lake and town of Joseph are very nice. We have camped here before in the fall and it is wonderful and quite lovely. We will never camp here in the summer again. We had neighbors who took every bit of their site and some of ours as well. It is not really smart to set up tents four feet from the exhaust pipe of a motor home. Their friends across from us strung a dog run across their site as well as their neighbors, who they did not know. Well, I guess if they were trying to force us out it worked. We left a day early and we will not be back. Too bad, because this is a very nice lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
My family is spread from Boise, ID to Portland, OR to Palm Springs, CA. As a result of this we usually only get together once per year for 4 or 5 days. There are 2 RVs and 3 tents, with approximately 16 total people. We are a pretty sedate crowd but with 5 kids under the age of 5 it can get a bit crazy! Our 2010 get together was planned for Wallowa Lake in the end of June. In planning this trip I talked to the rangers on several occasions and planned our two hookup sites to be next to each other and all the way in the back for reduced traffic and our sites went around a corner to ensure that we had enough space for 3 tents to comfortably coexist for 3-4 nights. When we arrived we found that because of larger than expected snow melt in the mountains around us that one of our sites was completely flooded and the other site was about 25% flooded. We were told that we could move but not be next to each other and we would each have to move twice because of other reservations coming in. We were told that because there were other sites to move us to and we were declining them we would not be able to get any type of a refund. Great so split up the family reunion to separate corners of the park, or live in a swamp together, either way its going to run you $120 (Including the park fee) per site for the weekend. We stayed together and paid the price. The lake is really pretty and the sites seem to be spaced pretty well in the back loops. There is a small town sort of thing at the southern end of the lake that was very accessible by foot, but bikes make it more accessible. Except for having to walk through water to get in the rig it wasn’t all that bad all together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We stayed at Wallowa Lake SP over Memorial day weekend. Although it was still quite chilly, we had a wonderful stay. The park staff was very courteous and the restroom/shower facilities were clean. The park does get crowded on the weekends in the summer and yes there are lots of children, but that's part of the camping experience. Our three girls LOVED it, so we are headed back again for Labor Day weekend. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This park was unbelievably noisy, with incredibly tight spaces and overwhelmingly unhelpful employees! If this site had a rating lower than 1, this park would get it. Dogs barking all day and kids screaming from 7 am till 10 pm. This campground sits in a "bowl" so with at least 100-150 campfires going every night, it was impossible to breath. Park rangers very unconcerned about noise and dogs. They said they had no power to do anything about it even though it is written on the camp regulations sheet you get when you check in. Camp hosts (8 of them) are powerless too. They told me all they can do is "pick up things". Between staff and hosts there were 18-20 people here all day and each one claimed they could do nothing about barking, unattended dogs or enforcing quiet hours. They all go home at 5. So, there is no one here to enforce quiet hours. Bathrooms/showers are very old, very dirty and in need of repair. If you have children you want to let literally run wild 12 hours a day, come here. It is perfect. If you want any peace and quiet at all while camping, stay as far away from here as possible. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Beautiful campground with lots of trees. Deer wander through your campsite all day long. We had a pull through site. Tram ride is a must but expensive. @20.00 per person. Lake is five miles long and the people in the site next to us caught their limit of fish each day. Rained everyday except one. Next time will pick July or later to visit but will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$16
This is a beautiful park, really busy in the summer, but on the edges of the season, a pleasure to stay at. I had occasion to speak to the park folks several times, and found them to be friendly and knowledgeable, I hope I have the opportunity to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
This state park was very busy and from looking at the reservation site it appears it stays that way. The sites are a bit close together but not uncomfortably so. There were a lot of kids running around and you needed to be careful driving because of kids on bikes. Once it started getting dark things quieted down nicely and stayed that way all night. They are in the process of replacing their sewer hookups. The new ones work well but there could be some problems with the older style especially if you have an elbow on the end of your hose. Their reservation web site references dumping the black water tank at the dump station and only using the ones in the sites for gray water. Pay close attention to the maximum trailer length shown on each site not just the overall site length as there could be some turning radius problems when you are backing in. Bottom line we would stay here again. (800) 452-5687 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
This park is NOT big rig friendly. The roads are very narrow with trees limbs hanging over the roads. It was impossible to get into the park entrance, even going the wrong way, without scraping the tops and sides of our 40' motor home. In addition, weeds were 3 feet high around the water and electric hookups, and the supposed sewer hookup was a cast iron pipe that came out of the ground and turned back down toward the ground. It was so old that our sewer connection would not screw in, and had we tried to dump, the effluent would have run backwards out on the ground. The park was extremely noisy with screaming kids (yes, I know kids scream, but not like this) and barking dogs. Staff did nothing to control either one, and in fact, when I tried to talk to 3 camp hosts sitting near their rigs, they practically ignored me. I had heard Oregon State Parks were among the best in the country, but our first visit to one certainly didn't bear that out. The park has a pretty setting, but needs management. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Wallowa Lake State Park is a lovely place, with towering pines, snow-capped mountains and the beautiful, emerald-green lake. It's an outstanding state park, and the camping was fine. The bathrooms have hot water and plenty of showers and stalls. They were cleaner than at many state parks we have visited. There's a large amphitheater for campfire programs, a good-sized playground, and green space for games. Wood is for sale for $4 a boxload, which you can haul away on a cart. You can rent paddle or motorboats or swim in the lake. Right next door in the town of Wallowa Lake are restaurants, bumper boats and miniature golf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
This is a Campground, and not an RV park. If you are looking for Wifi and 50 amp service, this is not the place. This is a very popular state park. The area is fairly remote, but do not let that stop you. The lake is beautiful. The park is a good place for water related activities. Although it is a fair hike from the campsites to the water if you have kids. More to do there for kids than adults. Avoid weekends as they tend to be crowded and noisy. The town of Joseph is 6 miles away and worth the visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com