206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Hollow Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (814) 926-4636
CGID7346

Hickory Hollow Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   9   8   8   7   6   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Nice place to stay. These people are very nice. The sites are nice. We have stayed here a few times, and will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
PPA rate. Family owned and operated, no one lives on site and office closes at 5PM. Seasonal units are in a totally separate area and appeared clean and tidy. Staff was friendly and helpful, responded quickly to questions about cable TV. There is no over the air TV here. Wi-Fi on site was good although at night it slowed way down. Without the filter the water was cloudy and the color of tea. With the filter there wasn't a problem. Heavy rains for two days revealed drainage issues in the lower CG. The CG is fairly new, a work in progress and should get better with the passage of time. While in the area a must see is the Flight 93 Memorial. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Large sites with plenty of spacing from neighbors. Owners very friendly and are constantly improving campground. Gravel quarry close by, but can barely be heard at night and very little during day. Seasonal sites in their own area and all are very clean with no junk around. Very clean and nice looking campground. One busy weekend so far but the noise was at a minimum and people respectful of other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This is a great looking campground which appears to be well maintained. I did not use the bathhouse facilities, but did go in to check them and they were absolutely spotless. Nice shower facilities with plenty of room. The site we had was plenty big for our 40 ft. rig and tow vehicle. All staff encountered we're friendly and eager to help. Nightly rate shows Passport discount. Included 50 amp service, water, sewage and cable. Each site has picnic table (in good shape) and fire ring. If you stay for any length of time be aware they only have 1 washer and dryer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We have camped at Hickory Hollow twice now. It is a small newer park that seems to be still building on what they have. Nice pull through sites. Bath house is new, very clean, and well kept. We have stayed in the off season so it has not been too busy. Nice play area for the kids , a pond for fishing and a small pool for swimming. We will definitely be coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$13
Rate quoted is the off season Passport America rate. Sites are large enough. Each has a fire pit. Surrounding area is hilly as is the campground. Check in was easy and staff pleasant. Only one washer and dryer and cost is high - $2.00 to wash/$2.00 to dry. Only one shower/bathroom and a distance away from most of the sites. Would stay here again. Very clean park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We camped here during the summer and had such a great experience, we came back in the fall. We had a great experience again, but I think they need a set quiet time and enforce it. During the week in the summer, the place was all but deserted or retirees who were quiet and respectful. During our fall visit, come Friday evening it turned into an up-scale redneck hangout with loud people and music into the wee hours. This doesn't set well when camping with small children. That being said, they have decent activities and the scenery is beautiful! It is also a very clean CG and you can see they are continuously putting $ back into it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
A couple of our nights were PA rate but the weekend was full price ($30). We were there on a busy weekend. Not sure if anyone actually lives on site, but it was LOUD until almost 1am. Employees were very nice and easy to work with. Beautiful countryside. Pull throughs could be difficult if you had a longer vehicle ... ours is a 30' fiver and we had a harder time with some of the corners. Internet was free but didn't work. Company who services their internet doesn't work weekends. Bathrooms were sparkly clean and they had a nice play area for the kids as well as a small, enclosed dog run for some off leash time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice enough park but not a 9 as others posters wrote. Had alot of problems with electric (voltage too high). Very dusty gravel roads,all sites need a few yards of gravel to level them side to side. Clean bath houses. Nice owners, close to attractions and nice countryside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We just returned from a very relaxing 3 night stay here. It's a quiet smaller place in rural Somerset County. There is someone working to improve the place from dawn until dusk. Everything was great from the call to make reservations until we checked out. We plan on going back in Oct. There are nearby craft festivals as well as a haunted house across the street. CG was quiet during the week. Seasonal are separate but very neat. There were some construction workers staying in the long term area who were very friendly and quiet. Sparkling new pool, catch and release fishing, horseshoes, dog play area, pristine new bathrooms and laundry. Most of the transient sites are pull through. No problems with Wi-Fi or cable. Unlike some places, they don't try to gouge you for extras like AC. They even refund visitors fee if they stay less than 2 hours. They also give AAA discount. Looking forward to going back. Weekends fill up quickly! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$19
Large level sites, gravel parking surrounded by grass. Very clean bathhouse. Friendly staff and campers. Great places for our Golden Retriever to walk and play. Pretty spot central to lots of attractions. Spotty Wi-Fi was provider problem. Rate was PA for 5 of 7 nights. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Stayed here once before and enjoyed it. It is quiet and smaller. We stayed at sites by 2 cabins and liked them a lot. The only complaint I would have is that the hookups were clear at the front of the site for w/e/c. This made it difficult to reach. The sewer hookups were awesome though. I wish more campgrounds would do sewer hookups like this. Will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Well laid-out, clean, well-managed campground in a rural setting six miles out of town. Pretty countryside. Friendly, helpful staff. Easy in and easy out gravel pull-throughs can handle big rigs. Plenty of space and grass between sites. Nice playground and swimming pool. Pretty lake visible from some campsites. Paddle boats. Limited cable TV selections. WiFi can be slow. The pleasant bathhouse appears to be new and is among the cleanest we have experienced. Thirty to 60 minutes from several sightseeing destinations. We strongly recommend this very superior campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$23
Access to this park was pretty good. Had to travel through the town of Somerset, but it was easy. No bridges. No tunnels. No steep hills, just little mounds. Out in the country and quiet. Very near to Falling Waters and Kentuck Knob and Ohiopyle. Lots to do in area. Could even drive to Ligonier for the day. No park lighting, so dark at night. There is a separate area for campers that leave their rig year round. We stayed in our 45' motorcoach and had no trouble navigating the park. The bathhouse is a little far away as is the pool and office. Each in a different direction. Maybe it works "in season." Everything in good repair. Would have preferred paved roads. Satellite TV came in well and Verizon cell phone reception was good. Used our own internet. Lady in office gives good directions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This campground is 6 miles S of Somerset on the PA pike and about 25 minutes from Falling Water and two other Frank Lloyd Wright homes. Also it is 25 minutes to the Flight 93 Memorial and the Memorial of the Johnstown flood. Access to the campground is very good, and the interior roads and pads are crushed and rolled gravel. This is a former dairy farm of 220 acres: you are surrounded by corn fields, hills dotted with cows and trees, and a pretty lake and forest. Lots of places to walk, hike and walk the dog. Can fish in the lake. Each site is really double wide, and has a minimum of 2500 sq feet. Drainage is great and sites were dry even after a 2" rain storm. It is spotless and the staff is friendly and attentive. We mentioned it did not have a dog run, and the next day, it had a large grassy fenced run installed. We will come back here again. It was beautiful and relaxing. The seasonal sites are separate and are manicured! What a treat. One of the nicest places we have every camped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
One word describes this campground: Peaceful. The setting is lovely. It’s very easy to relax here. Sites are spacious and level. Power was solid. No Wi-Fi, but it’s definitely in the plans as soon as it’s available in the area. It’s a short drive to “town” and many sights to see. Our week long stay was cut short by a family emergency, and the friendly staff was very accommodating and understanding. We look forward to returning when our travels bring us back to this beautiful part of the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Very nice well kept campground. The lady in the office was VERY nice. Nice pool and clean facilities. We stayed near the playground which was nice for the kids. Only here for one night (was very quiet too), and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
After one night, we were so pleased that we visited the office and added two nights to our stay (for a total of 8 nights). Very pleasant park with large sites and good utilities. Verizon service (phones and aircard) works, though the signal is weak. Makes an excellent base camp for the many and varied sights and activities in the Laurel Highlands area of PA. Also, summertime weather is a little cooler here, since the elevation is around 2,000 ft. Rate shown is Passport America rate, good except Fri. and Sat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
We would definitely camp here again. We had issues with our credit card and the staff bent over backwards to help us. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Wonderful park! Sites were level and wide will well established lawn and fire rings. Staff helpful. We did not camp with children but they had great activities for them including water slide, craft activities and horse-drawn wagon rides. Catch and release fishing pond, paddle boats and new pool. Grocery store and restaurants in nearby Rockwood. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
A nice campground 6 miles from the town of Somerset. Overnight sites are separate from the seasonal sites, and were quiet and dark at night. No trees or shade, old picnic table, and no Wi-Fi were detractors, but the gravel site was level and the hookups worked well. Even though out in the country, the Verizon cell and AirCard worked well. Overall a nice park that should get better as facilities are improved. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
We stayed here on the way to Gettysburg. We viewed their website and they said they had Wi-Fi, however when we got there, the Wi-Fi still hadn't been installed. We could relate since we have been on the receiving end of "waiting for the ISP provider". They are still waiting for the permits from the city for their pool. This place is magnificent, the sites are really big, the bathrooms are immaculate, but quite a hike, although both of us could use the exercise. A lovely place to stay with no freeway noise or trains!!! Be sure to stock up on groceries before you arrive, it is quite a ways to a grocery store. We visited the covered bridges and Flight 93 memorial while were there. The $15 per night is for Passport America; what a steal. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Stayed here for two nights while visiting attractions in the area (Fallingwater, Johnstown, and Flight 93 Memorial). Good for an overnighter or a couple of days -- not too far from PA Tpke. I wish they had mowed the grass recently. As a result, the campground looked a little scruffy. It rained while we were there and water pooled at the bottom of our stairs. We stayed in the pull-through section and the sites are pretty level. Gravel roads and sites. There is a beautiful, new restroom/shower house, but it's on top of a hill and it's quite a hike to get up there. There seem to be few sites in the immediate area of the bath house. There is also a nice picnic pavilion at the top of the hill. We do plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Definitely a work in progress. As I told them, I can't wait to see it as it matures! A very pleasant CG. We were alone in our section - three spaces away from us, cows meandered back and forth grazing! A very peaceful park! We simply overnighted on our way to Virginia but would definitely return if in the area - for a single night or for an extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Pros: Easy in and out. Large, mostly pullthru sites. Clean and attractive. Fishing available in lake (catch and release). Stay 6 days and your 7th is free. Good Sam and other discounts available. Cons: Poor reception for cell phones, but with a little walking you can find a spot. Basic cable (20 channels). No WiFi. Limited access to office and store. Enjoyed our stay at this campground. Will recommend and stay at this campground again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
New campground in it's third season and a work still in progress. They hope to put a pool in next year and did have a makeshift waterslide while we stayed there. They also offered activities and have a great fishing lake. Sites are nice sized and fairly level with very easy access. Large check-in area and wide entrance made it very easy to enter. Beautifully maintained property but also very open. Extremely quiet and peaceful despite rock quarry being nearby. Owners and staff are wonderful and very accommodating from phone reservation until we departed. We loved this place and we will definitely camp here many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com