221730 User submitted reviews online!!
Larry & Penny Thompson Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (305) 232-1049
CGID736

Larry & Penny Thompson Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   7   7   10   9   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
This is overpriced for a county park or any other campground for what they do and do not provide. There is no WiFi, no cable, antenna will only get you Spanish channels, the sewer system needs work as it drains very slow, and our site was not very level. Being close to the highway, it was quiet and the connected park is very pretty. There is no RV class A or 5th wheel friendly fuel nearby and getting out of the park can be hard due to heavy traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Well maintained, quiet, county-run park with paved roads, level, widely spaced sites. Park-like setting with acres of dog walking areas behind sites. Adjacent park has walking/biking trails. Large pool could use better daily maintenance, but adequate to use. Pool hours only 11 to 5, so not convenient. Good Wi-Fi, but we were next to repeater pole. Good antenna TV. Will stay again on our return from the Keys. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
Decent but dated municipal park in SW Miami. Very convenient to sights like the Everglades. Campground has W/S/ and 50 Amp Electric but no cable and Wi-Fi is iffy. Staff is very friendly. Pretty park with all the trees. Some sites can be tough for longer rigs. Laundry rooms need dollar changers for convenience. Some pods have good picnic tables but not all. We would stay her again if we could not get into John Pennekamp State Park in Largo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
The unique design of this county park - sites are arranged like spokes on a wheel - makes it intriguing and delightful. Adjacent to several peach orchards, lots of trees and grass, gives it a rural park setting in an urban area. Friendly staff, pleasant setting, and convenient location to tour the area make it easy to recommend. However, it lacks Wi-Fi - except in the clubhouse, and no cable TV. Still, would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
We camped here in late May for 4 nights in our 30' travel trailer. It is a beautiful park set in a mango grove (lots of ripe mangoes). Since we were there out of season, half of the park was closed down. The pool was only open on Sat. and Sun. It was peaceful and quiet with lots of space and privacy between sites. The bathrooms were clean, and the park was well taken care of. From this location, it is an easy 30 minute ride to downtown Miami, South Beach, Key Biscayne, and Miami Beach. The park has a freshwater lake, water slide, and beach. We really enjoyed our stay and would come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
A wonderful oasis in a busy urban area. I would have given this a 10 if it had had WiFi and fewer feral cats which were everywhere, bad for the bird population. Laundry facilities also very good and inexpensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
This campground is in a beautiful park and is set up very nicely. The "pods" are well laid out so sites are easy to get into. We had plenty of space and shade and it was quite peaceful. There is plenty of room for bicycling, walking or running. The lake is quite pretty and fishing is allowed. The laundry by our pod had 4 each washers and dryers as well as an outdoor line to sun dry your clothes if you desire. The first week one washer was out of order but it was fixed the next time I went in. Not that usual for many RV Parks. The staff were great and it appeared that quite a few campers were settled in for the long term but there are a lot of sites and we had no trouble getting in. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
The only thing stopping me from giving this park a 10 is it does not have a heated pool. Beautifully shaded camp sites with enough room to be comfortable. There are 275 acres in the middle of the city. You don't even know that the city is there. Grocery stores and amenities were close by. Wonderful bike trail around a lake. It is very difficult to get into this park at the last minute, but the staff tries to accommodate everyone. They do have an overflow area that you can dry camp for $17 per night and hope that something opens up for a couple of nights. I assume this is a state or county owned park, and as such it seems that they would limit the stay to 3 or 4 weeks in order that more people can enjoy the park. The way it is you can reserve a site for up to 6 months and do this 11 months in advance. There a lots of people that have been coming here for years and they make their reservation for the next year while they are still at the park. If the pool was heated, I would have put a reservation down for next year. The unheated pool would not keep me from staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
Stayed here for two weeks, everyone was very friendly and had a great time. Lots of grassy areas and plenty of space. Will definitely come back if we get back to Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
Very comfortable park with a nice layout of circular pods. Good roads and friendly staff. A tranquil area in the midst of very busy Miami. Rating would be higher if the spacing between sites were more generous. We were in pod 4, others seem better spaced. Price is based on weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Nice park in general. Not many visitors this time of year. We were disappointed that the pool area was closed. Officially this was due to a problem with a pump, but how long should it take to fix that? One day? Two days? Not more that a week surely. The grassed areas seriously needed cutting. Probably not a place we would return to, but this is also because we didn't take to Miami in general. Too much traffic and too many people for our liking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We enjoyed our brief stay. Park is well laid out, clean and efficient. Staff was very friendly. We stopped on the way back from the keys and will do it again. We would recommend this park to anyone looking for an inexpensive, off the beaten trail park that offers a lot for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a great park with full hookups. Laundry is excellent. Park is quiet and they seem to do a good job of managing the park. Neighborhood isn't the greatest, but we felt safe in the park. We were fairly close to stores and tourist locations. Very close to Florida Turnpike. Verizon worked here although a little slow for data. Park environment is very nice. Lots of well cared-for grass and trees. Easy access to satellite for Direct TV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
This was a fabulous find! This is a county facility and it's very well maintained. The staff are so friendly and what a fine place to spend a lengthy stay. We'll return. Love the way they have organized this into little pods so you are surrounded by trees and grass. Highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$34
This is an extremely nice park. Well laid out, easy to get in and out of the sites. Everything is clean and organized. We only stayed one night on our trip to the Keys. The only thing to be aware of is the bollards protecting the utilities make it difficult to extend the slide outs. I would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
Probably one of the nicest for the area, but sites lack privacy, some very close to each other. Busy on weekends. Several dogs running around. Bathrooms OK, but could use a shower curtain for privacy in the dressing area. Only the handicapped shower had a door. They need to organize their check in better and get an after hours host. We called ahead to reserve a site and they said just come on in. Didn't tell us that the office closed at 5pm and there is no campground host. Security guard took our info and said to pay in the morning. Had to leave for an event before the office opened so I called in with our card info. They could not take it over the phone so we had to drive all the way back back to pay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
We stayed here on our way to and from Key West. Access was very easy from a wide 4-lane Blvd just a little way from the FL turnpike. You'd never know you were in the heart of suburban Miami in this park. Most of the spots were shaded, and both pull throughs and back in spots were available. We stayed in a pull through first, which I wouldn't recommend since they're in the center island of the cul de sac (called "Pods" here) and you felt a little like you were in the middle of people's yards. The back in spots are all angled correctly and the roads are wide enough where even our 40' coach backed right in. Full hook ups worked fine. The bath/laundry facilities were a little old, but clean. The staff was very accommodating. Overall, I thought this was a great park for the location and price. Lots of folks spend the entire winter here, full timing for as long as 6 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
We dry camped, because there were no hookup sites available, here for 3 nights while visiting the Miami area. The full hook up sites are very popular for snowbirds, and seem to be reserved quite a long time in advance. The dry camping area is a very large and grassy, that is bordered by trees. Would stay here again for a few nights if visiting the area or passing thru. Camped in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Imagine waking up with the sound of the jungle (from the nearby zoo). The park layout is very generous, there is lots of space for everybody. The sites are all level and paved, although there is not a lot of privacy between the sites. Given its location, the park is very quiet and the value for money is great. Having cable TV or Wi-Fi, we would rate it with 10. We would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
This is our second time here very nice park. Everyone was real friendly and well informed. It is hard to get in after Christmas as the same people come back every year and they do allow reservations a year ahead. Is easy to get to and a lot to see and do in the area. Would go back as really enjoyed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
This is Miami's "hidden gem". This park is exactly that: a wonderful park with lots of trees, grass and open areas. You would not know it was even there if you miss the sign where you pull in as the RV park is completely surrounded by heavy vegetation and trees from the road. You go down a long drive and turn a corner into this great "hidden" park. Sites are large and level with all hookups. Very easy to park and although there are lots of trees. You don't have to worry about hitting one when parking if you back in. We stayed here for several days before we headed to the Keys and then we stayed here for several more on the way back. The park layout is fantastic. Shower, restroom and washer/dryer building are conveniently located throughout the park. No matter where you site is, there will be a building close by. I looked all around and just happened to fall upon this on their park's website. If your looking for a great place to spend time when in the Miami area, you don't need to look any further (and you won't find much around Miami for RV's anyways). Great security in the park on constant patrol. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
We love Larry-Penny. We spend most weekends there and love it for its rustic nature, gorgeous pool, location, near the Zoo and all sorts of fun places, and its easy access. Our only criticism of Larry-Penny, and this is not about the facilities, is their policies regarding daily campers. In season, the camp is filled with seasonals, mostly from out of the state, and they have no sites reserved for locals who come on the weekends. We live in Miami and pay the taxes that support the park, and are dismayed that we are not even given decent treatment during the winter months. The seasonals treat the camp as their own little fiefdom and act like they have the same rights as those in membership only or private campgrounds. The county should wake up and realize that we deserve decent treatment because we live locally. Florida residents even get preferential treatment at Disney World, the biggest for profit tourist attraction in the state, perhaps in the entire country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
Sites are mostly open and spaced very close together so there's virtually no privacy. Surprisingly quiet given its location in Miami. Lots of bike trails in day use area. Very cheap monthly rate of $565 so it's packed all winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
This was our second visit here and if we were looking for an inexpensive and nice RV park for the winter months this would be a prime choice because of its' weather location in the Miami area. We parked here for 3 weeks and flew out to visit family out of state for 10 days and truly were only here for maybe 11 days. However, we are full time RVers and didn't get the 'warm and fuzzy' feelings one might have at a park as we didn't get a 'connection' with any folks here who we found had already formed their 'yearly' get together. Price-wise it's GREAT; the immediate neighborhood is not so wonderful but all the shopping amenities are fairly close as are movies, golf, etc. The park itself is lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Nice County park. Sites are paved and mostly shaded, BUT they are narrow, because of LARGE yellow poles protecting the hook-ups. Pool was only open on weekends. Lots of feral cats roaming the area. BIG speed bumps at entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
The place is very large but the sites aren't. It's OK for the money. Swimming pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
Have spent the winter here last 15 years, love the way its laid out, more room here at each site then any park ever been in, laid out like a wagon wheel, with each spoke being a parking spot. Good place to bike and not be in the traffic, very cheap for south Florida. Don't know the nightly rates but $565 a month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$17
Nice County park in South Miami, one mile off turnpike and about 2 miles from Hwy 1 which has any convenience you might need. Very good sized sites. Great for stop over or extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We camped here for a week and had a great time. The campground was very quiet and almost empty. Staff was friendly and helpful and the sites were clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Nice, clean campground close to Miami and just a mile from the Florida Turnpike. This is a county park that was almost empty in May. All electrical boxes were upgraded last year to 50 amps. This is great but next to the electrical boxes are brand new posts which can hinder slideouts on larger rigs. On some sites, the posts are too close to the cement pads making it impossible to keep larger rigs on the pads with open sliders. We were able to get a site with enough room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Beautiful park with huge sites, trees, grass, picnic tables, biking and walking trails to a big lake. Even has little green parrots! It's quite close to the Turnpike and Florida Highway A1A, but is very quiet. We would definitely stay here again, if there is room. They are very booked for season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
This is a very basic and lower priced park, but with all the necessities. It's not in a very good location in the city limits of Miami. The park has some security, but bikes are stolen regularly. The campers are long-time renters. Some have had the same spaces for 10 or 15 years. Since they get preference for the next year, it's sometimes difficult to get a reservation. It's not the greatest park, but it's the only decent one in the Miami area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
We were very surprised by this gem located in a great spot in Miami. We did not find the area scary as we are used to South Florida, but we also know to use common sense when in Miami and do not recommend walking at night or not locking up. The pods made it difficult to park our larger rig, but a neighbor helped us. We did not use the pool but it looked nice. We did use the clubhouse which was small but nice. We had one incident with a rude employee which hardly took away from our overall experience. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
I loved it here. The area is a little scary with homes with bars on windows, but the park itself feels safe with security trucks making rounds all night long. Very quiet to sleep except the nightly sirens nearby! The pods are older and blacktop is cracking badly in places, but lots of grass and avocado trees with fruit that we could even eat! They have pet bags at all pods and very friendly people walking their dogs or riding their bikes. The pool was open 6 days a week, but very little use while we were there. It is a great size pool, but not heated. We swam quite a few times, but it took awhile to get into the water! The clubhouse is small for the size of the park. A few activities offered, but for a county park it is great. Outside the RV section is a large park complete with a small lake and paths to walk or bike. It takes a long time to get on the waiting list for a monthly site because it is so nice for this area. I wish they had WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
This was our second year of camping here. Everything was still great. The pool opens earlier in the year now (as it was open while we were there. No longer having to wait for Memorial Day.) The girl working the office told us there was WiFi, but there is NO WiFi in this park. Overall it was quiet the entire week we were there. The weekend was a little noisy as the scouts were there camping, but they usually settled down by 11pm. Security was still a strong presence there and there were no problems. I feel this could be a 10 park if they would add WiFi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
I read the previous reviewers post just a few days before we were set to arrive at this campground. I almost cancelled our reservations. The immediate area was a bit intimidating, but we were careful and agreed not to be out after dark. We found the area east and southeast was the most concerning but you can pass in and out of nicer areas. We were not so concerned that we would say we would never come back again. Inside the park we felt safe although we were warned by some neighbors who come to the park every winter to lock up everything. A few bikes had apparently been stolen and tools had been taken from a pickup truck. The very large security-patrolled campground is arranged in pods with spacious green areas between them. The sites are spacious although the concrete parking pad is very narrow. If you are planning on staying here, just be careful as you should be in any big city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Convenient for a one night stop on the way to the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
This is a nice park with a great "pod" layout that yields nice, large sites with open space behind them. The price is incredible for Miami and is convenient to the freeway. The surrounding area isn't the wealthiest, but it is far from scary. It is a large metro area, which you should keep in mind. We stayed two weeks during the Christmas holiday in 2007 and had a wonderful time. Our site was probably occupied by a long term resident because there was a lot of debris around that I picked up, including broken glass. There was also an infestation of cockroaches in the sewer, which kept me from leaving my gray tank valve open. But, the rest of the park seemed to be well-maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
Good reasonably priced campground. Very good location to see the sights of Miami, Key Biscayne, Key Largo and surrounding areas. The major drawback is that the windows and doors of most of the houses around the campground are covered with bars. This left me with a wary feeling for my security. However, in all fairness I felt secure inside the campground and would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
This is a really fantastic park for being a state owned park. I was impressed with the natural feel for the grounds even though it is actually in the middle of a very populated area of Miami (Homestead.) The campground is also close to some restaurants and such. Diesel fuel is available out of the CG to the right on Eureka Dr. If you are going to the Metro Zoo, buy your tickets at the CG and avoid having to wait in line at the zoo. The only things I was disappointed with was the lack of WIFI and also that the pool does not open until Memorial Day. The CG was clean as are the restrooms, showers, and laundry facilities. The security was also very alert. They drive the CG continuously during the night. We stayed at one of the pull through sites in the back (in pod 1). The electrical hookups were very nice and modern. We had 50, 30, and 20 amp all in one box. The box also contained phone and cable hookups, but they were not functional. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
Have stayed there for past 3 years and will return next year. Best deal in Florida!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
Firstly, it is fairly difficult to find contact details for this place and when you get here it is all paperwork (4 pages of rules!!). But the CG is great - especially in one of the CG rings (pods) near to the office where you can get wifi ($19 per week but the site fee is only $25 per night). The CG is a couple of minutes drive from Miami MetroZoo - which we enjoyed at $12 each and nearly had the place to ourselves. GREAT CAMPGROUND AT A GREAT PRICE. BTW I just cycled around the CG and found 3 empty sites at 6pm on a Saturday night so it is ALWAYS worth checking last minute for spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$19
We were directed to this delightful park by a good samaritan near a grocery store, when we stopped to get out of the horrible Miami traffic for a few minutes. We didn't have reservations, and every other Miami park we tried was full. We thought this would be a park of last resort, but enjoyed the park so much that we'll definitely be back. Pulled in about 9:00 pm, and were met by a very helpful security guy, who led us to our site and made sure all was okay before he left. Large level sites, well separated from neighbors. Whole park is large and level, which made for great walks and bike rides. Not far from Miami, Biscayne Bay, and one of the main Everglades visitors centers. Security patrols the park regularly, which is great as we discovered this is not necessarily a terrific section of Miami. But the park itself is lovely, and extremely well maintained, and the people could not be nicer. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Excellent county owned and operated facility. 240 concrete pad RV sites, 50 tent sites. RV sites are arranged in groups with sites arranged in a circular spoke fashion. A little challenging to back into with a bigger rig. When we were there they had the 2 big rig site groups under construction so we had to put a 39 foot 5th wheel in a relatively short site. Fortunately the campground was not very busy so we had room to manouvre. Although no pool there is a manmade beach with waterslide in the park that can be used for an additional charge. There is also a jogging and biking trail. The park has 24 hour security which is good as this park is not located in the upscale section of Miami. The park was very quiet at night. Staff were courteous and helpful. Excellent value and very accessible to South Miami. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com