221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Cooper Lake State Park / South Sulphur Unit was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (903) 945-5256
CGID7376

Cooper Lake State Park / South Sulphur Unit

Camp Information
Sites
152
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   9   10   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Beware--there are only 2 sites with sewer, but there is a dump station. The area is beautiful, the sites are huge, and some have shelters over the picnic tables. All the sites are concrete. The pluses are huge. But, the general park could sure use some cleaning up-- downed trees, dead trees, dead brush. It could be so much prettier. Keep in mind that the lake is 10-15 feet low. The boat ramps, fishing piers, and canoes are unusable. We were there for 3 weeks for business. Sulphur Springs is really cute and 25 minutes away. The Crump Family Vineyard is excellent and serves meals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
We stay here often because it has 50 amp service, is rarely full or busy, and is nice and clean. Very nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Some great sites here, especially in the bright star loop. Some sites have great views of the lake. Bathrooms were clean and the showers well maintained. Fire wood was available via donation box on the west side of the loop. The beach on the day access has a nice playground for the kids. We loved the wooded sites; there are also spots that are side-by-side if you need multiple sites for larger groups. Not much around this area, there's a convenience store about 6 miles away for some items. Ice is available in the park HQ. Recommended - nice park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
A newer State Park providing secluded, paved sites and wonderful views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
Beautiful park with tons of deer. Sites are large with concrete pads. Easy to maneuver. We stayed here all the time. Nothing bad about this park except the new ranger that is a little bothersome. He will knock on your door at the crack of dawn if something bothers him about your campsite. Bathhouses are always clean and warm in winter. Rate is Park Pass rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is an outstanding park and we thoroughly enjoyed our one-week stay. The area is remote and beautiful and there is no highway noise. Camping sites are spacious and offer good privacy. Our site was a pull-thru with a view of the lake. Except on the weekend, there were few other guests so we had the place almost entirely to ourselves. We enjoyed hiking the lovely trail through the woods and riding our bicycles throughout this large park. We noted that the day use areas, playgrounds, boat ramps and fishing piers were very nice. The restrooms were immaculate. There were many really nice cabins and screened shelters available for those without RVs or tents. Our Verizon cell phone and Sprint Internet card worked nut our AT&T cell phone did not. I would have rated this a 10 if the sites had sewer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
I liked this park because it was only an hour from Rockwall. Nice wide sites, spread out. This is a large park and very spread out so you can't really ride your bike all around unless your in great shape. No bike trails except at the opposite end from where we stayed. They had a beautiful playground, picnic area and swim beach but again you would have to drive there. We will go here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
This is a really nice park. Friendly staff, clean restrooms and nice shaded campsites. Some sites have shelter structures; all have a fire ring and lantern post. Excellent boat ramps and lighted fishing piers. We also enjoyed the hiking and bike trails. The only reasons this park did not score higher was the high grass in some campsites and the user unfriendly dump station (a curb encircled the inlet making it difficult to dump). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com