221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Mitchell Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (605) 995-8457
CGID7395

Lake Mitchell Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   2   7   7   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
An older, well maintained park. Owners were friendly and helpful. Close to the freeway, but amazingly quiet. Sites were level and gravel. The pull-thru's were very long. Very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Manager was friendly and helpful. The park is excellent. I'd stay here again. This is a city park, so it gets used by local folks too. There was traffic noise. The park is well maintained, mostly paved but some gravel sited. We got a site high above the lake, a very nice spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
The people were very nice and this was a fine campground for us to use as we passed through Mitchell. It is very convenient to local attractions. The sites are very close together, but we had enough space to sit outside. It seemed to be a very family friendly place and the bathrooms were fine. The only negative comment I would make is that quiet hours were not enforced and it was a bit loud in the campsite next to ours. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Lovely park on lake, convenient to the Corn Palace. Grocery store and other shopping within 1/2 mile; Walmart not far away. Basic rate is $15, with add-ons for electricity, water, sewer, cable, which brings it to $24. Cable is adequate. Could only get wi-fi by sitting outside the office (which was closed most of the time as far as I could tell), but warning: the mosquitoes will carry you away! Bring lots of bug repellent. Water pressure was poor most of the time. Only a few sites have 50 amps - we had to settle for 30 because we needed a pull-thru. Not a lot of big-rig spots. Bathrooms were clean but typical state park-type, not a lot of privacy for the showers. Didn't see the laundry. Only a few other rigs in the park, so it was very quiet. We would probably stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
My wife and I stopped here for an overnight stay and found this place to be way too small, cramped, tight, or any other way you want to describe tiny sites and campground. The site next to us used their sewer hook-up, which we did as well, but the bad part is their sewer connection was right outside our door and next to our picnic table. The noise of the kids, cars on the road right outside the campground and ALL the bugs and the small sites made me write my first review for any campground we have ever visited. This is a place I can not and will not recommend to anyone ever. The only reason I gave it a 2 instead of a 1 is for the inexpensive $15.00 per night, $4.00 electric, $1.00 water and $1.00 sewer fees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This campground was nicer than expected. We had site 15, which is the only one with a view of the lake. We stayed on a Monday night so it was very quiet. Nice playground for the kids. We didn't use the shower facilities because they were not very private. I would have rated this campground a 9 but there was a lot of traffic noise and the train woke me up several times during the night. We would stay here again if traveling through Mitchell. The price included water and electric, and a bundle of firewood. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Nice park on the lake. Spacing is a bit close together for some RV's, but level. We didn't have any problems. Would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Pricing is $15 for a site, $4 for electric, $1 for water, $1 for sewer, $3 for cable plus 8.5 percent tax. No senior discount. As mentioned before, sites are somewhat tight, but paved with nice grass between them. It was extremely crowded with kids all over on the weekend here. Verizon broadband was good. We would come back but would time it so it was during the week. Campground is north off exit 330, 3 miles to second traffic light then left. It is only a couple of blocks down on the left and just before the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
This park is run by the city. It has beautiful views no matter where you are in the park. We overlooked Lake Mitchell. The cable TV was tremendous. The restrooms are marginal. We would definitely return because this park is a gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
The campground is ideally located on a beautiful lake with ample trails, and swimming and boating locations. The sites are close to each other and on weekends rather crowded. Nonetheless, the campground occupants are well behaved and things get quiet during the specified hours. Two thumbs up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Campground is clean and the electricity and water are good. The water pressure is high so you may want to use your pressure reducer. The spaces can be a bit close together for a noncommercial park. There was adequate room however. Lots of trees and a nice playground for our grandkids. Plenty of room for our toad in front of the coach. The park hosts were friendly. The lake is beautiful. We would stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Stopped here on the way back from the Black Hills. We had stayed at the KOA in Mitchell on the way to the Black Hills and here on the way back to MN. This park is older and more run down than the KOA. Some of the lake view sites on the outer loop had beautiful views that might score them a 9 or 10. Otherwise, the sites are very close together and some are rather short. Wi-fi is not available, but phone service was strong. This park is close to fast food and a grocery store if you need anything. Be careful with children riding bikes as some of the hills are very steep and dangerous. The park did have a newer playground which the kids seemed to enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
The base cost just to "show up" is $15. Oh, did you want hookups? Well, those are priced on a "cafeteria" plan. There is a separate charge for each of the following: Water, electricity, sewer, and cable. Strange, but in a way, fair. The price I am showing is the price for w/e/s only, without cable. I stayed two nights, and paid for cable one night, and didn't the other night. The cable was pretty decent. Without the cable, you can pull in two channels, FOX and NBC, via antenna. No Wi-Fi, but Verizon Air Card worked very well. The campground is pretty typical, with fire ring and barbecue grill at each site. The sites are gravel/dirt, with some grass between each site. If you have one of those expensive surge protectors from Camping World, they can be used here for your electric cord. The water connection is goofy. The water connection is dual and is placed between every other site. So, depending on what site you get, your water connection may be on the "wrong" side and you might require extra hose. Bathrooms and laundry were so so. There is a children's play area. This is a nice park for overnighting. If you don't tow a car, you are within walking distance of a good grocery store, liquor store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Some sites rather close. Playground equipment nice. Lake very Green with algae, not fit for swimming. Grounds are well kept, sites level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Only stayed two nights but had a wonderful lake view up on a rise. Temperatures were moderate and windy. Park was beautiful, access to private beach at the lake. Pine trees and lots of shade. Loved the areas to walk with the dog. Very friendly staff, and helpful. Close to shopping and restaurants. Was a great place to spend some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We camped here because of a review we found on this site. Well maintained park owned by the City of Mitchell. Right on Lake Mitchell and close to attractions in town. Mitchell has a mosquito control program so the flying pests are nicely controlled. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Great place to stay for the night. Wish I could have stayed here for awhile. Nice wide sites next to Lake Mitchell, which has a few trails around it to walk the dogs. Close to town, but far away enough to feel out in the open. I'll stay here again, but for a longer time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
No wifi but all the other hookups work well. The cable was good. This place has by far the best location of the campgrounds near Mitchell. We stayed in the off season and found all kinds of room. Our friends from town said this place is locally popular in summer and sometimes difficult to get in. Pricing is ala carte but $23 a night covers everything. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$14
I'm surprised this campground has not been reviewed before. This is as good as it gets! Very well run campground operated by the City of Mitchell. You pay only for what you use. Basic $14. Water and sewer $1 each. Elec. $3.50 and cable $2.50. So full hookup with cable is only $22. Just on the north side of town, about 10 mins from I-90. Some small sites for tents and small RVs, some pull throughs for large rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com