218826 User submitted reviews online!!
Pearl Lake was rated 5 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (815) 389-1479
CGID7414

Pearl Lake

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   1   3   1   4   5   8   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Clean, well maintained, strict rules fairly enforced which keeps undesirables away. Fantastic beach on one of the clearest lakes in IL. Convenient to RV services and shopping. Super restaurant and bar. If your not satisfied here, you must be part of the group that doesn't like rules. Have stayed here several times and will stay here again. Good honest, hard working people and very friendly neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Third time we stayed. One complete season, two weeks, and the last stay was for two months.This park is well run and managed. No riffraff, with very reasonable rules that are enforced. The sites are relatively level with class 5 base. Site size is very liberal with grass, fire pits, and picnic tables. It is organized, well maintained, and offers a nice variety of excellent beach swimming in one of the state's purest lakes. Excellent SCUBA diving opportunities. A great restaurant / bar. Located close to RV maintenance/repair & shopping. Will be staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Do not camp here if you intend to have fun. The owners are the crabbiest, rudest people I have ever given my money to. We have camped here several times with various friends because we enjoy the beach and it is the same every time. It's a terrible shame because the beach is absolutely great, beautiful sand and very clean. Spend your money camping someplace where the owners appreciate having you as a customer and treat you as such. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This park is nothing special but the owners think it's gold. The beach is nice, with unfriendly life guards. The one life guard actually blew the her whistle and told the kids "no screaming" while they were playing. The only friendly staff we found was a gentleman (not the owner) who escorted us to our site, and the bartenders. Nightly security was rude and not very professional. Each night they came by and said "It's 10 PM radio off" no politeness like "it's 10 PM please turn it down". If you want to use a credit card it's a $2.00 charge for every $20.00 and first purchase must be at least $20.00. You can only use the beach for each night you buy. So if you come in on Friday and leave Sunday you only get 2 beach days if you want more it's $10 per person. The rule and regulations posted on the site are only a 1/4 of what they give you at check-in. I see no mention of "Pet Crap" on the website like their handout. I'm really not sure why the owners allow overnighters they are really rude. I would give this place a lower score if it wasn't for the beach. Didn't use their shower or bathrooms. I was afraid too, might get yelled at. Our site was somewhat level. The dump station tilted the wrong way at one of the dumps. We won't stay here again, unless the staff including the owners take a class in Customer Service or they get new management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Very disappointed. Way too many rules and they are very rude. The person who checked us in had no personality. The wording in their many list of rules where non-welcoming to say the least. Example: All pet owner are responsible for picking up their dog's CRAP. Real professional. This campground is nothing more then a Concentration Camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Disappointed with our site which was in a big open space with no trees or shade. Lots of rules, biggest problem was no visitors which means you can't have other family members join you if they don't arrive same time as you do. The "Lake" was an old sand quarry they filled with water and are filtering so it is very clean and the sand is very nice, but fishing was awful, nothing in the quarry to be caught. Might stay again, but just to swim., no other activities available and quiet time starts at 9:00 a.m. (for the overnight campers) lots of noise coming from the permanent guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
The entrance has zero curb appeal. I was ready to turn around and leave because the entrance and check in site were so bad, but we had little choice but to stay because we were in town visiting family. One reviewer stated he couldn't take more than two days here because of all the rules. All I can say is, it's worse than ever. When you check in they give you a 5 minute speech and a 2 page hand out on all the things you can't do or have. We were led to our site by a friendly young staffer, and it was dead level and spacious. The grounds are well kept and look much better than the entrance. I believe we were the only non-fulltimers in the park. It's virtually all permanent residents. The only reason I'd ever return is if I were visiting family. Way over priced for what they offer. No wi-fi, no laundry, no cable TV, no visitors, no fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We almost did not camp here because of a few bad reviews online. The beach was the cleanest and most well kept one I have ever seen. It is absolutely perfect for small children. The entire campground was clean and well kept but I could not tolerate any more than two nights here due to over abundance of rules and signs. The staff was also a bit snooty. We had to be escorted to our site but it was good site. We will go back once in a while for a short stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This park is geared around seasonal campers. They do not make overnight campers welcome. We have never paid $45 before to stay at an old gravel pit that does not have level sites let alone concrete pads. We were warned several times about making noise but the regular residents of the park seem to be able to abide by different rules. When I asked for a receipt I felt it was a bother to them, one was scribbled on a piece of scratch paper. At $45 a night I will stay someplace where I feel my business is wanted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
I have to second the previous review of August 2007. We were here for one night, and the only area available for short stays is in a new open, shade less area. However, everything is kept very clean and the rules and quiet hours are reinforced upon arrival. The short stay area is level side to side, but on a slight front to back incline. Most sights were on grass. Only a few sights had a slight gravel base. If it rains, you may get muddy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
The big attraction of this park is it's beautiful swimming lake/beach. It's a hit with the local's that pay admission into the beach. On the weekends the beach bar and snack bar are open and they play music over the outdoor speaker system. Also popular is the restaurant/lounge. It offers excellent food and beverage at a very reasonable price. It sits on the edge of the lake so views from the restaurant are fantastic. The campground is not the main attraction here. Most of the shaded sites are taken by seasonals. They recently added more nightly camping with level full-hook up's, but these offer little shade. This is a very quiet campground that strictly enforces it's rules. If you are into scuba, this place offers certification classes. They also have an RV dealership on property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com