220017 User submitted reviews online!!
Windmill State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (308) 468-5700
CGID7478

Windmill State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   5   9   9   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
What a beautiful park! There weren't many campers here when we stayed so there was lots of open space. The pull-through sites are rather odd in that they are just pull-offs from the road and if you have a slide-out it extends into the roadway. Other than that it is a well maintained state park, beautiful green grass and mature trees, lots of birds around to look at! There are two pond/lakes there too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
What a great campground. Huge sites and lots of grass. Had a great stay right off the freeway. Can't believe anyone would pay to stay in a private campground when this is so close with such a great price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Clean, well maintained. Restrooms and laundry clean and camp-hosts near shower house if assistance is needed. All staff members were wonderful. Pull-through sites are roadside and not slide friendly because of traffic. All sites full when we stayed so very busy. Road noise from Interstate noticeable. Fire-rings, water hydrants nearby (long hose length away for tank fill ups), relatively level sites. It rained two days in a row but area drained well so not too muddy for children to play in grassy areas or to swim at the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
I know others ranked this place higher, but I didn't like it for two main reasons. 1) The road noise was very noticeable outside, and I could hear it inside even with the A/C on. 2) the side-of-the-road pull-offs were not my favorite. Basically, you park on the shoulder of the road and if you have street-side slides, your slide is in the street. Turn around and your door opens onto the roadway. Other than that my site had trash and I didn't see the windmills the park claims to have when I walked around the place. OK for a quick overnight, but likely wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Gorgeous camp ground. One of the nicest we have stayed on our trip. Lots and lots of green well maintained grass everywhere, and trees at almost every site. Bathrooms/showers were very clean and everything was in good working order. There is a little lake nearby for a beautiful walk. The only reason I didn't give this place a 10/10 was the sites had electric hookups only. There were places to fill your water tank nearby. It's far enough off I-80 where one could only hear car noise in a far distance. Highly recommend this park for a overnight or a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
What a gem!!! The managers have done a wonderful job! For a state park we felt like we were on someone's private estate. Lawns were manicured, restrooms, showers and laundry were very clean, sites were either concrete pads or asphalt (on the edge of the road) and very spacious. Office personnel were extremely pleasant and accommodating. We had paid for an annual park pass ($20) so didn't include that as part of the daily fee. We stayed 7 nights so we could see attractions in the area and will definitely stop again when traveling I-80. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Excellent nightly stop over. I was charged an additional $4 for entrance to park. Very clean, easy to get to from Interstate 80. Quiet and a few shade trees. We did get 3 to 4 inches of rain during the night, the RV pads were dry in the morning, and kept us from getting muddy. Lots of grass in the park. RV dump was very clean the next day. Water is available at several places along the drive through but not at each spot. This will be a favorite stop over when traveling I-80. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Pleasant quiet campground that was practically deserted when we were there as it was off season. Some sites open enough for satellite. Convenient to the Rowe Sanctuary, a major birding spot for Sandhill Cranes migrating in the spring. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
THE GOOD: A beautiful and quite setting worth considering. The roads are paved with easy road-side pull throughs and back-ins. 6 small lakes surround the park and there is plenty of space between sites. Extremely happy staying here. THE BAD: Water is only available at the ends and middle of each camping row. No sewer but dump-site available. Charged for the site, park entrance, and each vehicle. Depending on attendant - may charge for toad as separate vehicle. Attendant not always available by phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
Well maintained park. Road noise from I-80 was pretty bad but with coach closed up we were able to sleep. Pull-through is a bit of a misnomer as the sites are a paved place at the side of the road but quite tolerable. Great grounds! A good overnight stop.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
Great overnight park one half miles from I-80. Immaculately maintained! Very quite if you stay closed up, some road noise if opened up. Nice walks and easy access. Would definitely stay here again. $17 + $4 (day permit) for 50Amp service We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$19
This was a nice park with lots of grass. The streets and parking was on pavement. There were quite a few trees but we found a site where we could use our satellite. This would be a great park for a family and I imagine that it it quite busy in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Nice camp but it does lack some. We had a pull-through site and it was no more that a big parallel parking site on the interior road no water at site only electric. Back ins where we were are small. Our 29 foot RV would not fit. Was easy to find and get into from I80, some freeway noise but overall park was OK, would recommend and use in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
This is a beautiful park full of wonderful grass and trees. The sites for the rig are paved and many have excellent shade. Water is available but NOT at every site. If you want water, you need to find a spigot and park near it. There are no sewer connections, only a dump station. There is a swimming beach available and great areas for dogs. All roads are paved. The fee is a little pricey considering the lack of hookups. You pay $15 for 50 amp service and a $4 daily park fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com