214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Holly Bluff Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (336) 857-2761
CGID7492

Holly Bluff Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   5   6   8   10   7   6   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We always stay at Holly Bluff, when we are in the area. It is a small, peaceful place and it serves our needs well. The 50 amp, pull-through lots are easy in and out. A little levelling is usually necessary, but we are used to that. Wi-Fi is adequate as is the water pressure. The staff is wonderfully helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Decent place, nice people... Wifi was not good and I would not want to stay a week but a day or two was fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
There are quite a few permanents at the campground, but for the most part the sites are well kept. Pool was clean and maintained well, but bathhouses need enlarging and updating. The designated 50 amp sites are near the rear of the campground where there quite a few refuse piles and at least 8-10 abandoned RV in serious disrepair. The sites are not level and the power, sewer and water connections are on the front of the site instead of being near the rear of your coach. Needed a 50 amp extension and a 20+ foot sewer connection, poor planning of site layouts. Will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This park was okay. We did not use any of the facilities. Sites were unlevel, some worse than others. We have a 40 ft RV and there seemed to be very few sites for a large rig. It was obvious most of this park was filled with permanent or long-term residents. Saw several residents walk their dogs but not pick up after them. There were very few 50 amp sites. I called several days ahead of time and a gentleman took my name and phone number but when we arrived, he had no record. After 30 minutes, he found his note but had not assigned us a site. He was quite confused about assigning us a site. He had sites booked for the day we were to leave and was quite confused about giving us a site because he was afraid the new arrivals would come before we left. My husband finally asked about check in and check out time and told him it should not be a problem. All systems were written on paper so it was confusing. They only took cash or check. Not the worst campground we've been and would stay there again in a pinch but certainly will look a little further out next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
Would stay again. Wi-Fi 6.6 down, .6 up. Reliable. No hook up problems. Men showers poor. Needed 4' of planks to level. Sewer hook up at extreme limit of 10' hose range. Need shower heads delivering pressure and steady pressure. Need tile. Nice fire rings and wood supply. Nice picnic tables. Nice site locations and spacing. Very nice support staff. Located on Hwy 49, yet well away from Hwy noise, but owls and birds persistently noisy. Activities well done with see-saw, swings, bike trails and $2 putt-putt. We came here to relax and did. Our price reflects 1 extra child. From 10 -1 showers, -1 bathhouse, -1 level, +1 staff =8/10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
My wife and I were at a more undesirable campground that she refused to stay at over Labor Day weekend. We called around to see what we could find on short notice. Holly Bluff Family Campground said, "Come on over and we will put you some where." They were super! The site was huge and the hostess was more than accommodating. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Campground was well laid out. Large grassy field in the center area with sites on the perimeter. The biggest disappointment was the bathhouses. I can only say: in the men's restroom, bring a seatbelt if you are planning on using the toilets. And in the women's restroom: that tickle you feel might just be a spider!!! The showers just need a good Clorox cleaning and some paint. Now having said all the negative, let me say that with the exception of the bathhouse the rest of the park was quite nice and the staff was friendly. We visited several other campgrounds in the Asheboro area and the is only one other that I would consider staying. We would return to Holly Bluff now that we have a better camping unit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
I stayed at this campground as a getaway from home weekend. I was disappointed that the game room consisted of two video games and some pool tables. All coin operated but with no change machine. I wouldn't have had the cash anyway since I had to pay with cash because they do not accept cred cards. Another thing they failed to mention on the phone or their website. It took two days to find the path the led to the river. While they advertise walking paths, the campground map they supply doesn't mention them. The path to the river is steep but manageable. The river itself is small and unreachable for fishing or anything else. The staff was super friendly and I believe they would give me the shirt off their back if asked. The grounds were clean and many sites were well shaded. I will not be going back because there is nothing to do onsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
I recently spent a long weekend at Holly Bluff, it was the off season, and the pool was closed. They have a lot of activities for kids and grownups alike such as the aforementioned swimming pool, a game room, a mini golf course, volley ball court, basketball goal with nice concrete pad, horseshoes, a stage with live music on a regular basis, church services, etc. They have a gift shop, a snack bar, bath houses, pretty much anything you could possibly ask for. There is a trail that leads to the Uwharrie River where you can fish, (I think) a 90 foot bluff, holly trees everywhere, lots of shade, and a friendly staff and friendly environment. This is everything a family campground should be. The sites are clean, and they offer both shaded sites and sites with no trees around for those who don't want to risk damage to their RV from tree branches and sap. They have pull through sites and offer short term live-in sites for workcampers and snowbirds. Holly Bluff is one of my favorite places to camp, especially in North Carolina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This is a fine campground run by nice folks. We were here for 10 days including the Labor Day weekend. While we were here, they hosted a benefit concert for a local soldier severely wounded by an IED. For that, they have our sincere appreciation. On the specifics of the campground, we will begin with the cons. The nearest grocery store or laundry is eight miles away. In dry weather, the gravel roads get dusty. It’s a bit pricey for the area, and they are closed to temporary sites in the winter. Water pressure and WiFi reception are both erratic. Tip: flush the water line for a few seconds before hooking it into your rig. Pros: Gorgeous area. Easy access, both to the park and in the park. The grounds are exceptionally well-maintained, including a trash can at each site which they empty regularly and replace the liner for you! Big-rig sites are treeless (which gives you great satellite reception, but afternoon sun does come directly in your windshield). These sites have good, thick gravel, and are 40’ wide with grass on the hook-up side and a large gravel patio area with a picnic table on the door side. Many of the sites for smaller rigs have beautiful old shade trees. In summary, this is a great campground for short-term campers, especially those with kids who like a pool, a large open field, great bicycling, and a very nice miniature golf course. But as full-timing adults, we plan to try a different campground with amenities more suited to us when we are back in the area in a few weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is more like a long term campground, but you can just go for a weekend if you want nice pool, minigolf, fishing, and nice people. I would recommend camping here to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Nice family campground. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We had a nice shaded and level site. It was very peaceful. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Only here for one night. Facilities were very clean. Grounds were nicely maintained. Seemed to be quite a few seasonal sites but all were well tended. Will return for a longer stay to enjoy the NC Zoo. Asheboro seems to be a centrally located city. Pottery in Seagrove nearby. Tried to use the Wi-Fi and connection was terminated: maybe needed a password although it didn't ask for one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Holly Bluff Family Campground was a nice place with many friendly inhabitants. My children loved the miniature golf (a little run down but still fun), the pool (small but clean), and the see-saw. The camp has many long-term campers, who already have all the shadier campsites, so we ended up in a slot in an open field in the full sun. Still, it was *very* easy to pull into, and the helpful staff member flagged me in so that my hookups were in the right spot. When my husband was putting out our awning, a neighbor came by and helped out, and we were grateful because we didn’t quite remember how to do it. Unfortunately, a neighboring farm fertilizes its fields with chicken manure during the growing season, and the air was pungent. The manager complained unhappily that the farm seems to like to fertilize best on weekends. I’m sure that this is not a problem for more than a few weeks out of the year, and we had a great time anyway. The base rate to stay at this camp is $27 (three people or fewer), and then the campsite adds $3 for each additional camper over two. Since we have three kids, we ended up paying $33. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Would recommend this CG to anyone staying in Asheboro. It was close to everything, but very quiet. It was very clean and the staff exceedingly helpful. In fact we were called home a day early and they refunded our money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com