214552 User submitted reviews online!!
San Luis State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (719) 378-2020
CGID7506

San Luis State Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   9   2   7   5   3   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
The views from this campground are exceptional! There were snow-capped mountains on three sides and the Great Sand Dunes in the distance. This is definitely desert camping and not for you if you need shade, programs, activities, and such. The quiet, however, is wonderful, and it is about 13 miles to the sand dunes for a day trip. The only restroom facility was quite a walk from some sites, and I would really recommend this place for campers with self-contained units who like peace and quiet. The lake that used to be here is dry, and there is not much in the way of hiking trails, but, again, you are very close to the sand dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
The park is beautiful desert landscape with views of mountains and Great Sand Dunes. There were only five campsites filled when we were there. The $27 per day is a little high for no services. When we were there, the building with the showers and restrooms was locked, and we never saw any staff anywhere. The park brochure states there are showers and restrooms, but all there were was available was a small building with 2 pit toilets. We would go back because it is so beautiful and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Beautiful setting, quiet and peaceful. They had a water problem (contamination) while we were there, so we were glad we came with a full tank. Price is high for just electric, but CO residents can get and annual pass for the park fee ($7). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Price reflects daily camping fee of $20+$7 daily pass. I gave this a 9 because of the required daily pass, in addition to the campground fee. This park may not be for everyone, however this is the type of place we envisioned when we bought our motorhome. It is eerily quiet, isolated, with beautiful views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, the 8 mile distant Great Sand Dunes National Park, and the high desert. There is NO shade, it is desert. There are wind/shade shelters at each site with picnic table and fire rings and both 30 and 50 amp electric. There is an easily accessible dump station and water spigots are placed throughout the park. In mid-September we were one of three campers in this place. I don't think anyone knows of this park or maybe it's the daily rate that turns people off, or no shade, but for us it was pure paradise. I think $27 IS a bit steep for a state park, but we were willing to pay it for the serenity and mountain vistas. We will DEFINITELY stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Pros: Hardly any one there. Close to sand dunes. Big tables. Tables covered for sun and wind block. Cons: Water fill up spigots hard to access. This is desert. You have sand, sagebrush and wind blows constantly. Don't expect a lake. It was mostly dry. Has a no see um insect problem. Have never heard of these. They are in the same family as the sand flea. Are small gnats that bite and If you allergic like me, cause intense itching. Had over 100 bites on both legs. Over a month has passed and scars are still not healed. Use bug spray, or wear clothing over skin. I got these bites on the second day of a 16 day trip. Ruined the whole trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
I see why reviews are mixed on this park. If you come from a wet climate like we do and just want sun, ultra-clean restrooms and showers, and a great view, come here. If you want green trees and the forest feel, forget it. This is out in the open among the sagebrush. At least there are no snakes or scorpions though; or that's what we were told. We loved it for the reasons above. Weekdays it's a ghost town with maybe 10 sites full. We had no one within 5 sites of us. Nice solitude. Showers were spotless. Water spigot is centrally located in each loop, so make sure you fill up BEFORE parking (we made that mistake). Lake was useless; too low for boats and not a swimming lake anyway. Zapata Falls is a must-see just a few miles away. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Great location for visiting the Great Sand Dune park. Sites were big and level. Pretty views, but very dusty throughout the park. No open trails and bird sanctuary was closed to visitors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We've camped in six state parks so far, and rank this one at the bottom. First, the positive. The views are beautiful - the absence of trees mean that every site has a great view of the mountains, the lake, and Great Sand Dunes National Park. The location is also great - only about 15 minutes from the Sand Dunes, and also from Zapata Falls - a very scenic (and kid-friendly) hike to mountain falls. Like other state parks, this one has electricity, clean bathrooms, and level sites with picnic tables, shelters, and fire pits. Sadly, the negatives are also many. No shade whatsoever! No grass - it feels as if you're camping in a desert with sagebrush. Very little privacy - sites can be close together, and with no foliage higher than one's waist, you feel like you're camping in a field, but with no grass. And it's not kid-friendly, with no playground and no grass to play on. Oh, and you can't swim in San Luis Lake either. Next time we're in this area, we'll try the Sand Dunes campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Poor San Luis is not very pretty: no trees, just waist high scrub. There are 3 loops. Sites are well spaced. There is no crowding. The rest rooms/showers are centrally located. Showers in all Colorado state parks I have visited are coin operated, so brings quarters. The park is clean and well managed. The rangers are great. They keep the place quiet even on weekends when it is full of young families with kids in tents. During the week you do not need reservations. I got a site on A loop with a great view of both the lake and the Sand Dunes. Granted the electricity outlets are not always convenient but that is what extension cords are for. The dump site is nice and centrally located. There are covered picnic tables. Very few state parks in New Mexico or Colorado have full hookups. There are several places to fill up with water. Lack of individual water hook ups is generally the rule in Colorado public parks. Public parks offer camping experiences. They are not designed to be subsitutes for motels. If that is what you are looking for, stick with the top of the line chain, private parks. I plan my trips on line and I also use guidebooks, so I rarely have unpleasant surprises when I arrive. San Luis has made a silk purse out of a sows ear. More power to them. They cannot be a KOA and charge $20 a night. Besides, lots of us don't want them to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stayed at this location for two nights while visiting the Great Sand Dunes and enjoyed the Medano Pass Trail in our jeep. The campground is clean but set up and designed by someone who had never camped before. There is a nice lake in the park but there are no waterfront sites and hardly any sites with even a far view of the lake. There are no sites with sewer connection or water connection though there is a water connection in each section of the campground that can be used to fill your freshwater supply. There is a dump station available. The Colorado State Park people need a lesson on how to use common sense. If you are in a motor home with a tow vehicle you will pay a parking pass each day for each vessel with a motor, this means that you will pay for the toad and the motorhome as well as $18 a night for the campsite. There is a 50 amp connection. This means that you are paying $30 a night for just an electrical connection. If you are in a big rig I would recommend staying at a private campground locate near the entrance of Great Sand Dunes National Park and skipping this park. Also, the mosquitos are horrible in July and you will need a healthy supply of bug spray. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
We felt this was a fair price for a 50 amp hook-up. We were not charged extra for our tow vehicle since we are just staying over night and will not be going in and out of the gate with it. There seems to be a lot of pull through sites. We felt this was good for over night spot even though it's about 8 miles off the highway. It is windy here this afternoon. Not sure if that is typical weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Stunning views. Nice wide sites and away from neighbors. Gravel in good shape. Close to sand dunes. Park Ranger came by with offer of firewood, but camp hosts were non existant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
Wide-open, semi arid setting with no shade trees. On man-made lake that cannot accommodate motor boats. Road un-paved to campground from park entrance and quite bumpy and dusty. Paved interior roads. Pull-through sites with good views of the lake, Sand Dunes and Sangre De Cristo Mountains. There are sheltered picnic tables at each site. The park is located 15 miles from Great Sand Dunes National Park. In addition to camping fee a $5 per day auto fee was charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com