223474 User submitted reviews online!!
White Oaks on the Lake was rated 5 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (219) 207-5081
CGID7600

White Oaks on the Lake

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   5   2   3   3   3   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
Please note this resort/campground has ceased operations and is no longer in business. As of July, 2014, the property is for sale. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
Camped here under Resort of Distinction (ROD) membership. Internet is good - cost is $2 for 24 hrs. Sites could use rock on sites and main roads - caused a lot of dust. We were there in Sept and it was off season. Personnel were friendly. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$8
Spent 1 night while traveling under WHR. Asked for FHU 50amp in open area for rooftop TV dish, worked well. Sprint cell & hotspot worked good. Did not see the rest of the park, worked OK for a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Read other reviews and agree with most. As far as the facilities. The bathrooms were dirty and need an update. The lake is nice but you have to be a westerns horizons member or the manager treats you like a second class citizen. He sends you up to the upper tier of camping where I call it the mosquito and tick forest. The whole campgrounds needs a face lift. The clubhouse shows it's age! The game room looks like a bad boy's toy chest!! Broken stuff and outdated. We went there and like I said were treated horribly. I tried to talk to the people about a transfer of my membership. See I moved from the west coast to the mid west. I had a membership out there and this campground was in that network. I paid a huge fee for this membership. Nothing they will do but take more money. I told them I will pay the dues every year but no they wanted the huge initial fee again. And since I didn't pay I was just an average "Joe". Corporate person said it is up to the campground and they can simply transfer you in. For the money they charge the facilities were rough and outdated. Many things to do in the area but as far as the campground forget it. The manager had a huge chip on his shoulder and said "Sorry you will have to stay up on those sites" Not down on the lake because you are not a Western Horizons member!!! Down by the lake they park you so close together you can reach out your window and shake hands with the person next door! But it has a "Lake View" Needless to say we left and NEVER to return again. Like I seen before the best thing about this campground was seeing it in the rear view mirror! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$3
The River front sites are mostly 30amp and seems to be for the Western Horizon members. We are ROD and were assigned to the upper level: a very open, big field with grass grown through the road network. We can hardly see the road. It's in the same area where the work campers live. Not all that impressive for a membership RV Resort: we expected more, after making that commitment and putting down big bucks for membership attention. The Cafe Rest was in need of repair, so the deck seating area was closed. In fact, the entire resort needs some attention. We would not return to this park or area. It is very limited, unless you like to take a boat ride or fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
This was a nice campground if you don't take into account the restrooms which were filthy. My husband and I looked at the respective rest rooms and just walked out. We've seen restrooms in back woods gas stations that were cleaner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$5
What a joke. Manager came off as being rude, but I chalk this up to her lack of communication skills. Whoever wrote prior reviews must not have been to many parks. There are lots of maintenance issues here. Road conditions are bad. Was not allowed to move to a better site when it became available. Lower section by the lake is for Western Horizon members only. There were 18 sites not being used down by the lake, but we were told we could not move. Upper section is a very primitive grassy field with limited cell phone access and no cable. Sites are not maintained in any way. Fee for wi-fi and 50 amp service. Spa and fitness room was a disaster. Cobwebs everywhere. The one positive item was the lakefront cafe or snack bar with reasonable prices staffed by work campers. Came in as a ROD (Resorts of Distinction) member but was treated as a second class member. Other ROD parks seem to welcome ROD members. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
One of the nicer Western Horizon parks. Staff is friendly and the park is clean. Disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open. The park was almost empty except on weekends. I assume that's because of the economy. Very close to Monticello which has excellent food and shopping. Small laundrymat but three very good ones in town. I paid $0 as a WH Platnum member. Verizon signal was weak, but did use the phone a few times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$3
We stayed as WH members, so paid only for electricity. The spaces at the lake have cable tv and some have 50 amps. The spaces on the hill do not have cable, but most have 50 amps. It is a nice park, that would have been nicer for us if Verizon phones had service. The people running the resort were very nice and very helpful. We would stay again if in the vicinity again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$3
We stayed here as Western Horizons members so paid for electricity only. The park is well-kept. There is a beach area on Lake Freeman. There are many activities in which to participate, including water aerobics, crafts, children's activities, and more. The Beach House Cafe has breakfast and lunch menus with dinner selections on the weekend. There are two areas of the park, one adjacent to the lake and the other up a hill in a forested area. This was our second stay. Church services are held in the clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com