224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Sill's Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (717) 484-4806
CGID7623

Sill's Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   8   8   6   7   1   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Nice enough campground. Gravel roads and level gravel sites. Cable TV was good. Internet was very spotty. Very friendly people run the park and their guests are friendly, too. Many permanent campers have been left there by owners who come periodically. They are not kept clean which makes the campground seem a little ratty. But it was quiet and peaceful while we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$49
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. Sites were graded well. Campground is well kept by the owner, who was very friendly. We stayed in pull-through site. Ample room between the sites. Will return when revisiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Very steep entrance. Once inside it's a very nice campground. Friendly staff they will guide you to your site, but it is a bit tight for Big Rigs. Centrally located to some PA. attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Very accommodating owner. We were a very last minute reservation. Relative in area very sick. At first they didn't have a site, but called us back and said they could accommodate us. Pull through site a little tight, but they helped get us in. Due to our size, the owner said to go out in the in drive, so we didn't have to maneuver tight turns for the regular exit. Park was advertised as Good Sam, but they said they stopped last year, although they still show the logo. 40# propane was $30. Owner removed the tank. A camper brought it back and installed it for us! Decent dog run in a fenced area. Queen loved it! Approximately 10 miles south of Reading, PA and about 3 miles from route 222 expressway. Definitely a come back to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This was a good CG close to Reading, PA. We stayed two nights in a large pull through site that was easy to level on and very spacious. There are a large number of seasonal and permanent residents, we met several of them that were very nice and accepting of us. Overall a good clean CG to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$48
We found the staff to be excellent, helpful, and thoughtful. They were seen throughout our stay working hard to keep the campground clean and campers happy. Parts of the campground had a very strong septic smell. Dogs and people were louder than we expected, but were quiet during quiet hours. Road noise from the adjacent highway was noticeable, but didn't bother us. Wi-Fi is available, but we were unable to get either of our laptops to work with it; (they have worked at many other locations). There is only one bathroom with shower. I only entered that building once, but was overwhelmed by the heat and septic smell. We had made a last minute reservation, and a pull through was not available, the spot that we were placed in had several tree stumps that made parking difficult, the staff did escort us to our site and help us with getting situated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$38
Nice quiet park. We stayed for five nights. Site we had was wide enough to park our F150 beside the trailer. Park is very handy to the Reading Outlets and Lancaster county Amish Country. No problem with hook-ups. Will stay here again on our next trip up-home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
Well, where do I start. Let me begin with the reservation that was made “8 months” prior to camping here. The reservation was made for a group of sites and the sites were assigned at the time of the reservation. During the summer, one camper in our group purchased a larger fifth wheel and we called to make sure the size of the assigned site would be sufficient. We found out at that time that our site assignments had been changed. So we made note of the new sites. When arriving in October, our group was changed yet again to different sites in a completely different area of the campground. We were never notified of any of these site reassignments. The campground is owned by a husband/wife. The husband was very helpful in trying to accommodate our group, unfortunately the wife was a different story. When checking in, I was informed the Good Sam discount is only given to cash or check payments. I was paying with a charge card, so when I asked about this, the wife became extremely mouthy for no reason and proceeded to complain to me about the problems with discounts as well as other problems. As a customer, I really do not care to hear this. She just kept going on and on and on. I did not raise my voice but I told her several times that I had heard enough and asked her to stop, but to no avail. Unbelievable. If this is how she treats customers who asks questions, this place is in trouble. This campground is just okay. The sites are very close together and not very level. Our first and last time here. There are much better campgrounds in the area. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This is an OK campground but not great. We spent a weekend here so we could kayak at Blue Marsh Lake nearby. The sites were fairly tight and not very private, hookups were oddly placed and required us to borrow a 30 amp extension cord from the office. Also, the road noise mentioned in other reviews was always present and quite loud at times. We'll probably look elsewhere when heading to this area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
I would concur with previous recent posts. Wonderful owners. Lots of permanent sites, however. One major complaint was the high cost: full hookups, cable and two children came to $48.50 a night. Too many other campgrounds in Lancaster County which are cheaper, feature wider sites and are not next to a major highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
The previous reviews were right, these are probably the nicest campground owners you will ever meet. The roads were paved and the bathrooms were clean but nothing can change the property itself. The sites in my opinion are all tight to each other. If you are looking for even a bit of privacy this park is not for you. The very few sites that did have space were taken by the seasonal campers. The property is set into a hill and even though the sites are fairly level it made for a difficult bike ride around the park. Even if you can get past these shortcomings just know that there is the constant noise of the highway just outside of the park. Access to the pool was also very odd. You could take a bike down the hill to the pool or walk but it is a hike back up the hill to get out. There is no car access to the pool. While we were there the pool was closed anyway which seemed odd for July. If you bring children you should know that the playground isn’t much more than a swing set and a slide. I really wanted to like this campground but I could not because of its layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Everything recently said about this campground on this forum is true. My wife and I stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. Extremely friendly and helpful owners who returned to visit our campsite shortly after we settled in to make sure everything was OK. Our only concern (not complaint) was that there is only one main bathroom with 2 showers. They were cleaned daily; however since they are used by many campers, they really need to be monitored more than twice a day to ensure nice presentation when next camper comes in to use them. Many planned activities. Very quiet at night. We plan to visit them again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$41
Previous review was right, these were the nicest campground owners. Owner personally showed us to our site and helped us back in. Not just for us either. It gave the feeling that they really cared. I think this campground has a lot of promise, I don't know the condition of this campground in the past under previous owners, but these folks are headed in the right direction, they are working hard to make improvements. This campground gives you the real "family campground" feel. We will put them on our return list We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This was my first time here. The campground was nice. Our site was level. I didn't have to do any adjusting. The owners of the campground were probably the nicest I have met so far in my short camping experience. The restrooms were nice and clean, but could use some updating. The sites were shaded. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We stayed here two weeks (lower rate) and found it quite good as a base point to visit Amish country and other parts of south-central PA. The park was clean and we were given a site close to the office. While the back-in site was relatively close to other nearby RVs, we felt comfortable with it. It wasn't particularly difficult to get our 43' coach into the space. The first night, we did not have a full 50 amps, but the park owner provided a 'cheater box' and extension cord to use dual 30 amp circuits, so we weren't seriously inconvenienced. (The next day, after another RV left, we were able to move our power cord to the 50 Amp circuit.) The park has facilities for kids -- but we didn't see too many during our stay. There are quite a few seasonal residents but most were not occupied during our late season visit. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is an older park and the owners are working to improve it. Most of the sites are well shaded and prevent satellite reception. WiFi was available at no additional charge. Cable TV was available at an extra charge. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Our site was a long double back to back site that was turned into one site to handle our 43' motorhome. We stayed for a week and would use this campground again for short visits to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is a campground run by people who very recently purchased it and they've got a lot of work to do. They're trying very hard and that's working in their favor!! The sites need some leveling work, but other than that, it's okay. It's very clean and well kept. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com