223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Ortona South COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (863) 675-8400
CGID763

Ortona South COE

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   9   7   7   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$12
Well maintained and pleasant location. Level concrete pads; but be aware that sites 46 and 45 are 'side by side' and share very tight space on a single concrete pad. One dangerous feature of finding your way here in the dark is the turn from Route 80 to Dalton Lane: construction barrels are poorly laid out so the entry is difficult to see. Despite searching in the darkness for the turn, we overran the entry because to make the turn would have caused the car behind us, driven by an impatient driver, to collide with us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Very clean and well maintained campground. The staff was friendly and helpful and the site is adjacent to the Ortona Lock and Dam operated by the Army Corps of Engineers. Very peaceful site with great views of the river and boats going through the locks. The dam and locks are accessible by foot and you can watch the boats go through from the edge of the lock. Otherwise, there is not a whole lot to do nearby, but this campground is definitely worth a visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
Sites are very large, concrete pads bordered with concrete and well landscaped with tropical plantings. Patios are covered with pleasingly-looking stone pebbles. On the patios are picnic tables, covered with a roof for protection against rain and providing shade from the sun. Campsites have 50 amp electric service and water, but no sewers. There is an easy-in, easy-out dump station. From our site, #5, we could see river the river and the locks. We were fortunate to witness a cabin cruiser returning from the lake, traversing the locks and then head down river toward the town of La Belle. The locks attendant was very polite and informative as he explained to us the difference between the Lake Okeechobee locks and those on the Great Lakes. For those wishing to fish, there are metal steps leading down to a platform above the river level. As for cell phone, MIFI and satellite reception, all were excellent (we have Verizon). As nice as the campground is, unless you fish or boat there really isn’t much to do here except just relax, read, etc. With this in mind, we rate this facility a “9” but certainly will return as we pass through the area. Our rate was based on Golden Age discount pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
Very well maintained. Good water pressure and electric volts. Good reception on antenna and clear sat view. Some remodeling going on in some bathrooms. Only one washer/dryer was a pain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
We were very pleasantly surprised to find this park. It is extremely well maintained and very peaceful. There is no Wifi but T-Mobile hotspot works fine for a change. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
Very clean and well maintained. Grass was cut, campsites groomed and some paint/maintenance was being done on the covered picnic table roof at each site. Very nice and spacious campsites right on the water. We loved seeing boats go through the locks. My WiFi/internet did not work from Friday afternoon to Monday morning but for some reason came back to life on Monday. A bit remote but we would camp their again. We camped in a 40' motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$13
We enjoyed this campground but there were a few problems. there is only one washer and one dryer for 45 sites. During our stay the dryer was broken the entire stay. There are no clean laundromats in nearby towns. Also one of the ladies' toilets was out of service for a few days. The floor of the ladies restroom was not mopped during our stay. The campground is peaceful. The nearby town of LaBelle has limited shopping opportunities. I think some people would think this area is boring. We found it peaceful. The nightly rate is the senior rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$12
Camp hosts were so pleasant & helpful! This is such a nice, neat, well-kept campground. No sewer hook-ups is the only negative. The nightly rate reflects the discount for the Federal Senior Pass. We stayed during a holiday period and the restrooms were clean the whole time. Roads are paved and the sites are crushed stone. Many sites back up to the river. Watching boats go through the locks is a plus. We will absolutely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
Nice quiet campground. A little hard to find the road to turn off highway. Watch for 1 brown sign. Will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
The park is very clean from the grounds to the rest rooms. It is a good place to just relax but if you don`t like to fish there is not much to do here. This is more of an adult park as there is not much to keep kids entertained and nothing close by to do or see. Just a very good park to just relax for a few days. It is a nine only because of no full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Restful, attractive and comfortable. Overlooking loc channel. Reportedly very buggy in summer. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
Wonderful campground: quiet, lots of opportunities to watch boats go through the locks. Sites are paved, easy to back into, and level. Restrooms were clean, as was the laundry facility. We used an ATT aircard which worked adequately. Cell phone signal was great. Nice area to visit. We were on Site 40 which is a pull through. Definitely plan to visit again. Price reflects 50% Golden Passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
This is an absolutely wonderful COE campground! We were in pull-through site #24 which was directly on the waterway with a view of the lock. Some sites are on the water and others are across the road. Roads are paved and the sites are concrete with gravel areas with covered picnic table, grill, fire ring and lamp pole. This is a peaceful location and great for walking. Lots of fine boats pass through to the delight of all the campers. The campground is about 8 miles from La Belle which has restaurants, etc. The public library has computers for your use. It has to be said that the COE runs a great system of campgrounds and this is another fine example. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
The park is very small and mostly older folks. So if you plan to go and just relax and do nothing: this is the place. The bathrooms are clean but you must share the changing room. There are no shaded sites, but each site does have a barbecue grill and fire pit. Bring your own ice and fire wood as the ranger station does not sell any items. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
Ortona South is a nice get-away park. It was very clean and well kept. We were lucky enough to get a site on the river and overlooking the locks. I have the park an 8 because it does not have site hookups for gray/black water on the sites. Each site was paved. A picnic table and camp-fire ring is provided. There is nothing at the park for children, and no hiking trails. Basically it is a place to park your RV for the night and visit with your neighbors. The sites are not separated with trees. You are in plain view of your neighbor so make sure you pull your blinds. If you are just looking for a place to park your trailer for the night, it is a 9. If you are looking for other recreations, then it is a 2. La Belle is the nearest city approx 8 miles away. La Belle is a country town with one grocery store. You are approximately 2 hours from the beaches on the Gulf of Mexico. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
The Ortona South campground has two loops, each with one side on the water. Many of those on the other side have a good water view as well. Campsites have level concrete pads with gravel awning-side. Each has a picnic table with a sheltering roof, a fire ring, and a standing grill. Everything is neatly ordered with vast expanses of lawn, meaning if you like neatness you're home; if you like nature, well. Restrooms were clean and nicely kept. Showers are in a large room off the lavatory area, the doorway covered with a curtain and inside are two curtained showers. Hooks and benches are all outside the actual showers stalls. Ortona South is located on the Okeechobee Waterway, at one of the lock installations. Campers can actually cross the east side of the lock across the top of the gates when not in use. Observing the process of flooding and draining the lock up close is worth a stay. It is also pretty much all there is to do, other than pedal a bicycle (or walk) up and down the paved entrance road. There is no shopping of any kind for miles, so good preparation is necessary. There were no noticeable children there during our short stay; while there is lots of room for them, the waterfront would make careful supervision a necessity, and there are no playgrounds. If all you want to do is relax, this is a good place to do it. If you like activity, hiking, birds, natural variety, this would only rate a 5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
Ortona South is one of our favorites, we are currently in for a 2 week stay, our third trip to this campground. Like most Corps of Engineers facilities, Ortona is very clean and well maintained. About half of the sites are river front and most are fairly large, the layout and landscaping provide good privacy. It is a quiet out of the way spot so if your looking for lots of activities you won't find it here. Walking, reading, watching boat traffic through the lock and manatees in the Calossahatchie River are about it. For shopping or restaurants it's a 10 mile, 15 minute ride to the nearest town, LaBelle. We travel with a large golden retriever and Ortona like most COE C/G is very pet friendly, just keep them leashed, quiet and clean up after them. This is a very popular winter retreat and it does book solid in the winter months, many campers we've met have been coming here for years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
We did not camp here but we drove in and looked at it. We camped at nearby WP Franklin. 2 loops, 1 dump station, 2 bathhouses were very clean but older ones. There was a picnic shelter to use by campers that had a grill, fire pit, and electric/water. 5 PT sites, and sites 45-46 were buddy sites. You can fish, there is a nature trail, and boat locks to watch the small ships go through. No playground but plenty of room to run around for kids. Pets are welcome. It is a long drive to everything so bring it with you. We would consider camping here with a group so there would be entertainment for adults as well as kids. Nice place to catch some quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Park was meticulous in every way. Restrooms and showers were very clean. Grounds were well maintained. Many shady spots available. All RV pads nice and level concrete with large gravel pads with fire rings and covered picnic tables. Dump station very clean and easily accessible no matter what size rig you have. Located directly on the river and a short walk to the locks. Footbridge access allows you to view boats traveling through the locks. We saw many manatees while camping. Only drawback is the dumpsters are located on either end of the campground loop which is probably a half mile walk. We stayed mid way so it was a bit of a walk but we enjoyed it nonetheless. Great stay and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Wonderfully clean and quiet park. Stayed for 3 days in a 42 foot motorhome. Not all site can handle 42 ft. All sites are paved and with gravel picnic area and very spacious. All picnic tables at the sites are covered. Would highly recommend for a quiet weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$4
Park is very clean and ran by Army Corps of Engineers. Park is on a river and boat lock. Lots of boats pass up and down this river. No playground equipment. Park is very quiet day and nights. All sites are level, cement, and roads are wide blacktop. You have a 14 day limit and if you have a golden age card sites are half price. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com