215029 User submitted reviews online!!
American Wilderness Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (440) 926-3700
CGID7644

American Wilderness Campground

Camp Information
Sites
139
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   5   7   5   5   4   8   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We stayed two nights. Friday and Saturday, check in was long site was graveled and muddy. We stayed here because of closeness of family. Friday was a nice quite day and night. Saturday when all the permanents are on site not so much. We were given a pavilion site and we were told that there was a poker run that night if we wanted to participate. We choose not to, we were never told and we even inquired if there was anything scheduled for the pavilion as we an older dog and she is only learning to camp. We were told nothing scheduled there. Well about 8:30 people started to arrived by 9:00 we had people and golf carts coming right through our site. (which violates there own published rules.) The permanent campers were not considerate at all to us being there as they tramped through stating well so much for your quite time. The operator of the campground came over to see if we were upset. We advised her she should have forewarned us she said next time they would put us some where else. There will not be a next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
The campground grounds are well maintained, but the restrooms are pit toilet (out houses). We were told when booking we would be near the restroom area if we wished to use them, due to not having sewage, but they did not explain they were outhouses. The deal breaker was my family who we traveled to see came in to visit us . They charged $6.00 per person to enter campgrounds, and no exceptions. It cost us $30.00 per day for my family to visit us while we stayed at the campground. The excuse was they would use the facility activities. It's was October and everything in the campground was closed except the game room, and not very many 55 plus people usually use those. Just can not recommend this campground, and would not return there. Cannot understand why Good Sam recommends them; they just missed up on this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Park is off of main road, but no highway noise and a train goes by once a day. Roads and sites are gravel with grass between. Many trees so it's hard to get satellite. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. Dump station and garbage is far from site. It's high priced for no sewer. We will probably look elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Very weak WiFi....would stay here if going to Cleveland. (20 miles to Cleveland). Park is clean and family oriented, but would not stay more than 2 nights We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Way overpriced. Will not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
This is a pretty RV Park. Trees, lakes, quiet. However no sewer hookups. I missed the now sewer when I picked the park out. This park was only rated three out of five by one of the big books. No sewer likely the issue. Another serious issue is the road to the sites. It is narrow and you have to be careful if you have a big rig, which we do. The problem will come up if you are going one way and you meet someone going the other. You will not be able to see them before it is too late and that will require unhooking the car and a very difficult back up. If you are not an expert backer I do not recommend you stay here. WiFi is intermittent but free. Nice beach and swimming lake. Another really annoying problem with this park is that if you have a friend, or in our case, family members coming to visit you, it is $6 bucks each to get in. Not joking. $6 bucks each. I paid $30 bucks for some family member to come by and sit in our motor home. So if you plan visitors be prepared to fork over some money. The paying to get in is a Cleveland "thing". We are at another park in this area east of town and it costs $8 per guest here. I sweet talked the office person today though and we got a few family members in at no charge. Since we did not use any of the facilities I see no reason to pay. Did I mention no sewer. Without taking into consideration the nice ambiance this park would rate maybe a 2 on facilities alone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
There were very few good sites to camp on. Sites in back of park were horrible. There were no full hookups. Very pricey for what they offer. Lake was very clean to swim in, and there was a nice playground. Two dogs maximum on site, and they charge you $5.00 a night extra for the second dog. Never heard of such a thing in all my years of camping. The sites we had were right next to pit toilets, not flush toilets. The camp store was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
My husband and I stayed only one night here in a pull-through site on our way out east. The site was nice as it had a decent picnic table and enough lawn for our 2 labrador retrievers to walk around on. The gravel pad was very level and we didn't have to do much to set up for the night. We did not use the shower house or bathroom there as we were self-contained in our trailer and just dumped at our next stop. The swim lake was nice and refreshing. In general, we enjoyed our short stay and would definitely stay there again if we were traveling through. The only complaint I guess I have is that it cost an extra $5 for me to have 2 pets on the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$51
I had to type this review while we are still here, so that I wouldn't miss the details. First, and note it well, there are NO SEWER HOOKUPS! My wife assumed that "big rig access" and a pull-through equals full hookups. Live and learn. No laundry in the motor home, no dish washing, and navy showers for me and mom. The kids can go to the bath house, right? Well, the one nearest us is "rustic" with a toilet seat over a 15 foot waste-drop and a ton of flies. The other was by the registration center was dirty and smelled like excrement. It was also next to the system they use to treat the sewage they get, which was full of sludge. They obviously WANT to have a nice place, but it isn't possible. Registration is nice and new. The lake beach is groomed and pretty, but the water level is low and there is a pipe connecting the lake to the fish pond. Really? The kids area has a gold panning area, but it is extra, and the game room was closed by 8. Volleyball is here, but the net sags. Ok for a pickup game I guess. Sites are rock, roads are dust. Big rig friendly is, unfortunately, usually decided by someone who doesn't drive one. Putting a huge rock on either side of a gateway that I have to turn 90 degrees to get into is NOT friendly for a 45 foot rig. If they had charged me $20, I would still have given them a 5-6 for effort, but my tab was $52 AFTER the Good Sam discount! It was $6 extra for showing up at 11 instead of 2, and $5 each for the extra kids. I wouldn't mind at all if they didn't have these issues, but that isn't the case. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
It's a nice campground,but rated it a 7 due to no sewer hook ups. Large sites in the trees. Roads in and out easy for our 40' fifth wheel. Trees are trimmed high. If you like a dark night this is the place. Quiet time is 10pm and it was very quiet at that time. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Check-in seemed to be complicated...lots of forms to fill out and sign. Nice, roomy entrance and office but a 90* turn into the gate to the camping area and a long section of road wide enough for only one vehicle and with low hanging tree branches. The roads and our site were "paved" with good sized rock, rutted and with potholes...definitely need gravel topping. Our site and the long grassy area around it were swampy and muddy. The office didn't open till noon so we were not able to use the store, library or get ice. A lot of money for what we got! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Nice entrance, but cramped sites. No sewer. Water hook-up leaked - site partially flooded. Entire campground was, well, less than pretty, although the lake was okay. Overall, a very low-average to average place. Compared to the Willow Park place we left before this, it was fine. But, it is not worth the money and we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Check in was very involved with much info required for no real purpose. The check in bldg was A-1, the rest of this RV facility was poor. Recent rains left road potholes (very deep) filled with mud. Most of the campsites were not elevated and were sitting in partial water or entirely flooded. Potable restrooms about the park were worse than awful. Two days later the roads were mostly dry except for the numerous deep holes and the crushed rock turned the roads into massive dust generators. Woodalls rating was entirely off base. We would never stay here again. Typical of too many northern RV parks. We are not complainers: we just expect clean facilities, decent roads and dry campsites. Ninty five percent of the 40 or 50 RV parks we visit every year are fine. This one was not! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We parked at this campground due to proximity to family in the area. Traveled to our site over very rough roads that were surfaced with "rocks" not gravel. Very overpriced for a water and electric site. Would never go back. Stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We spent 2 nights here, just passing through. Found staff to be friendly, grounds to be clean. Pull throughs were good, though kind of on top of each other, as in many RV parks. Lots of new gravel spread, it hadn't even settled yet. The seasonal, permanent sites all looked clean and neat. Since we were in our own rig, we did not scope out the bathrooms. Nice lake, seems like they have some planned activities for guests. There was a fishing contest the day we left. The new log store is nice, some local gifty type items too. I loved the handmade log furniture outside the store. The only negative we found was dogs: barking dogs. I believe their rules state one pet per site. There was one site with 3 dogs that never shut up. We were taking a walk and one of their dogs was just running around loose and ran up to us barking. The owner just stood there, talking on her cell phone. We reported the barking twice, both times a man came around in his car, said he didn't hear anything. We don't know if he ever talked to the owners or not. Other than that, a good stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Very disappointed in the campground. I am not one to complain, but felt that I needed to warn everyone. The registration process was "painful", it took some time, and when I was asked questions (and answered) it was as if my answers were not even heard...it seemed that I was being accused of lying without being told that. In addition to the lack of customer service skills, the restrooms that were located by the campsites were horrible. They were dirty and smelled very badly! You were forced to go to restrooms on the other side of the campground (by the main building, but at least they were clean and odor free!!). I thought maybe I was the only one who encountered this kind of service but three other couples that were staying at the campground with me expressed their frustrations about the customer service also. I even spoke with someone who has a seasonal site and they have even been given less then friendly service. A word of advice-expect bad service and then you will not be disappointed... Sorry American Wilderness Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
The site we had way in the back was unlevel, soft and muddy. The road and pad area consisted of 2-3" rocks instead of fine gravel. Our site was difficult egress/ingress. Interior rock roads rattled our teeth. Large mud hole around dump site. We thought the price was ridiculous for what we got. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com