220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Beaver Lake Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 78 user reviews. Phone: (605) 673-2464
CGID7684

Beaver Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   9   9   10   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$33
Bunnies everywhere, and while they are cute and all, people with dogs or even cats might not think it was all so great. So beware of that...drove my dog crazy! On the upside the grounds and bathroom very clean, sites are large enough for any size RV. Close to many of the area tourist things and you feel safe leaving your rig. AT&T cell works well. I found the check-in staff to be friendly but a little confused; it seemed to take longer than it should. I'm not sure I would stay again just because of the bunnies everywhere was hard to have my dog outside. Footnote: Hate when there is a leash rule for my dog but owners let their dog run free, I have 2 BIG bruises on my legs where their dog came out of nowhere and my dog ran after (on leash) and dragged me down.. the rule is the rule.... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
Great campground. Very friendly helpful staff. Nice site, gravel and grass and level for the site we had. Good open space with lots of trees. Free roaming rabbits live in the campground! Fun to watch them. This campground has the most wonderful showers I have ever encountered camping! All new showers and bathrooms were spotless. Lots of hot water! This campground is quiet, has nice camp store and prices aren't raised!! Liked staying here but if coming again to see all of Black Hills area, would choose a campground further north. otherwise, this place is top notch! The pool is solar heated, has a big slide for the big kids!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
This park was not full even during Bike Week. It has nice long pull-throughs and back-ins on gravel with (green) grass yards. Each site has a table and fire ring. The Wi-Fi worked great and we were in a far corner of the park. The managers and employees were all very friendly. AT&T works but Verizon doesn't except at a hot spot by the office. Some sites are satellite friendly. The water and electric are both strong. We will definitely return the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We stayed here a week to be able to see all the sights in the area. It was convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Needles Hwy., etc. The people here aim to please. We had a pull-through site in the lower area which did not have good Wi-Fi service. We had to go up to the Wi-Fi lounge near the office. There are bathrooms and showers in the lower section of campground. They do a great job of making you feel welcome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
I'm glad I was steered away from another CG and came here. Nice surroundings with tree and grass and gravel roads. Great place. My only problem was that my site had a bad CATV signal with snowy channels. Plenty of things to do with kids: water slide, bunnies, pool and playground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
This was a really nice campground. Very green and well cared for. The staff were very friendly upon check in and voluntarily drove us around and let us pick out our own site. There is a lot of room between sites and many very long pull thrus. They allowed dog kennels in your site which is a plus as many parks don't. There is a nice pool with a huge water slide for kids, but it was not open for the season yet. We stayed here 3 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$41
This is an okay campground. Sites are gravel but certainly not level. Clean restrooms/showers. Beautiful trees. Laundry room was dirty but most of the machines did work. Staff were friendly and helpful, but the three woman in the office as well as the man showing us to our site, were all puffing away on a cigarette. It would best if they smoked when not on duty. There are lots of tame rabbits that were fun to watch. There was a dog running around and the dog had fun chasing the rabbits. It certainly is convenient campground to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
We stayed in this park for 2 weeks. The park owner was very helpful with various issues and went out of his way to help us. He even loaned us a heater when our furnace was not working. The park is conveniently located to all of the area attractions at a great price. Spots were spacious and park was clean. They even provide free bikes to use on the grounds. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We spent two nights here as we visited Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore. This was one of the few campgrounds open in Custer in early April. Nice place, clean restrooms and laundry rooms, helpful staff. Will stay here again when we return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
This is an awesome park! All the sites are grassy with picnic tables and grills. Pretty tame rabbits roam about welcoming the guests and the sites are spaced to allow for privacy. Some turns on the road are a little tricky, but they escort you to your site and are extremely helpful. Beautiful setting with large trees. You are close to the highway, but the noise stops late evening and is not an issue. So much to see in the area, but would be nice just to stay at the park. It was that peaceful! Gave 10% discount for Good Sams, AAA and others. Would absolutely stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
This campground is in a great location to visit Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave, Badlands, etc. etc, there is so much to see in this area! Check in was efficient and we were escorted to our site, which was nice even though she was puffing on a cigarette while she parked and talked to us, which I didn't think was appropriate. The site we had was very roomy and neighbors were quite a ways away. The pool area was nice, there is a water slide, which kids loved. Our site had a covered picnic table and a fire ring. The park is located close to the road, but road noise was not an issue. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
This was an incredible park. I lost my awning in a wind storm, and the people that ran the place really helped me out. The park was set up so nice. The sites were well thought out and very spacious. It's on my top ten of parks we visited this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Very nice wooded RV Park. Friendly, helpful staff in every way. Nice water slide for the kids with small daily fee & free pool and very good WiFi service. Friendly little rabbits all over the park, but don't pick them up because they bite. You won't find a better location to see MT Rushmore and the black hills. Big park with plenty of kids around, but oh so quiet & peaceful. Really enjoyed our three day stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Kid friendly park, with sites scattered among hills and trees, with the exception of the "Big Rig Flats" below, which as my made-up-name implies, is a flat, open space where the biggest of RVs parked. WiFi coverage is iffy at times. My AT&T hotspot surprisingly picked up a decent 4G signal, though. Camp hosts/owners are exceptionally friendly, as is all the staff. Showers are small, but dish-washing station was very handy. Pool and water-slide are fun. If you travel with a dog, be mindful that this park has a very large community of wild rabbits, which are semi-tame and everywhere. The lodge even sells small packs of rabbit food, much to the delight of kids. We would have stayed more nights, had we known just how nice this park was! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Very nice campground. Stayed here 5 days. Well maintained, has all the amenities, lots of space between campers. Good location to visit surrounding attractions. Pet friendly. This was our second time staying here in the last 5 years. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
We stayed 10 days at this campground. We used it as a base for touring all the attractions in the area of which there are many. We had a nice site, but there was some dust from the road at the side of the campground that leads to a modest subdivision. The rate reflects a few days at the "Sturgis Rates". We checked other campgrounds in the area and were glad we had picked this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We picked Beaver Lake to stay at for 5 days because of the reviews and that it advertised WiFi and cable TV. Most of the campgrounds in the Custer area don't have cable. The advertised WiFi is a joke. It's sporadic all over the park. Signal strength varies from good to non-existent within a 5 minute period and our site ("A") only had a signal once. They have an "internet room" near the office that has DSL broadband, but power was out on all the wall plugs. I reported it the first day, but it was never fixed. Consequently, I had to run on the laptop battery and recharge at the site. There's a cell phone signal at only one place (that I could find), near the office, next to a sign saying "Cell Phone Hotspot." The showers and bathrooms were clean but the shower stalls are so small, getting dressed and undressed is very difficult, even for my wife who's 5'1", 105 lbs. The people were friendly, if a bit stand-offish after I complained about the lack of power in the internet room. Parts of the site are very dusty (the ones with no shade) and I agree with the comment that the location is pretty far from a lot of the better attractions. Even with the Good Sam discount, this site was expensive and I would not recommend it for more than an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Stayed here 4 nights while touring the Blackhills area. Shady sites. Overall site may not be level, but the RV gravel pads seemed fairly level side to side. Very friendly staff. Good laundry facilities with a change machine so you can use any time. Our particular site was on the end and had access to the Southwest sky, so our portable satellite worked well. However, many sites may be blocked by trees. Good location just outside of Custer which had one good local owned and one larger chain grocery store. While not the nicest, it was very adequate and a good value. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Very nice park that is quite hilly but manageable, and the sites mostly appear to be level. Several sites are capable of accommodating the largest RVs. Staff is helpful and friendly. They enforce park rules to enhance the camping experience for everyone. Great place for children and pets. Fairly well stocked store at the office. Easy access to Custer and Black Hills attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
With all of the great ratings, I was sure this was the place to pick in the Rushmore area. Not quite. The staff was nice, and we were shown to our site. They advertise a water park with water slide and 2 pools which they have. One pool is just large enough to land in from the slide and the other is a really small pool. Not my idea of a water park. The laundry had a limited number of machines, and some were out of order. There are some good sites. Mine was not. My site required some leveling, and when you stepped off the steps, you had to be careful as there was a fairly steep incline with no real landing. We stayed in the part of the park next to Beaver Lake Rd. Don't make that mistake. There was no shade, and it is next to a very busy dirt road where traffic roars by at all hours. If it is dry, the dust clouds created are terrible. It took a lot to finally get my 5th wheel and truck clean. It is also a little too far away from the places I wanted to visit. Next time I would stay closer to Rapid City or at least Keystone but definitely not here. Very disappointed especially with all the great ratings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Nice campground with lots of amenities. Some sites were close. Store was well stocked. Staff was very friendly. A bit busy due to lots of kids but was not a problem. We used as a base camp for visiting the area. We stayed 4 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
My wife and I stayed at Beaver Lake Camp Ground for 12 nights and were very happy with this park. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The showers and restrooms are very clean and in good condition. The WiFi worked well most of the time. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Easy to get into with big rig, but campground is hilly. However, remember you are in SD Black Hills. Shown to site by owner. Site was level and well groomed. Office staff very helpful, and check in was speedy. Nice park. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Great Park! Very affordable with discounts due to Good Sam's and length of stay. Host very friendly. There are rules, easy to follow, basically common sense that are found at most family campgrounds. Had two bad storms with hail that affected septic system in men's bathroom. Had it cleaned up very quickly. Well equipped store with groceries and RV supplies. Lots of sites with shade trees. Located near to many activities in the Black Hills. Sites were a little close together, only thing that kept it from getting a 10! Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Stayed here for 5 days to explore the area. Very peaceful and quiet setting. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The park is hilly and wooded which gives the sites a lot of privacy. On the west side of Custer, but easy access to town and all the other sites. Good cable and decent Wi-Fi. The pool wasn't open yet, but we did use the laundry which was large and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
The park is on hilly ground, but the sites seem to reasonably level. The staff is friendly and efficient. We were guided to our site and given instructions for the exit route. He pointed out a rack with a large number of bicycles which are available for guests to use for riding in the camp. Wi-Fi works well at our site which is a considerable distance from the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We stayed here four nights while exploring the area. It is a nice park that is well laid out with a good mix of site sizes. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We stayed a week. Many beautiful wooded sites as well as sites with no trees. Large, clean laundry, bathrooms, and showers. Hosts and staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about all the sights. Ample place to walk dogs. Good centralized location. Cable TV and excellent access to Wi-Fi. We will definitely stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We only stayed one night but were surprised at what a very nice camp ground it is. Plenty of grass and wide spaces between. Nice water park that was closed for the season. But would be great for family. You cannot see the campground from the road so we were really surprised once we got inside. I would be happy to return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Very nice accommodating staff. Lots of trees, very hilly campground with different areas for different requirements. But sites are level, water pressure is good, electricity is good. Verizon air card worked well, did not try camp Wi-Fi. AT&T cell phone did not work at site. We had a good long pull through. Very quiet location even though it is close to highway. Easy in, easy out. Clean restrooms and laundry. Nice store/office. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
This is a family oriented park with a water slide and free bikes to use. Its a little hilly here and there in the park but nothing extreme. Had no issues with Wi-Fi connectivity. Sites were ample and the park is quiet since our site was set back from the highway and there are no railroads nearby. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Would recommend to others & would stay here again. Very quiet, lots of shade and trees, but sunny sites too. A nice 'black hills' feel. Good base camp for exploring the area. We were far away from the office and the Wi-Fi was a little spotty but usually worked fine. Kids loved the pools but we did not use the water slide (extra $). Office staff are workcampers and very friendly and helpful. The only things that keep us from rating higher are that our site had not been cleaned up before we arrived, there were lots of cigarette butts and small pieces of trash scattered about, and that the water slide is an extra charge. It would be nice if it were free to campers. Also a note to anyone with a hound dog: there are rabbits *everywhere* which makes walking your dog through the campground especially challenging, if your dog hates rabbits as much as mine does. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Fantastic RV park 2 miles from Custer is great because you are away from the town but right in the middle of the Black Hills sights. The waterslide looks a bit cheesy in the photos, but it is fast and fun for kids and adults...it is a great way to end the day. The sites were easy to get into and out of, the facilities were good, and the camp employees were great. We were there 4 nights in our 32' RV with tow vehicle and wished we could have stayed another week. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and my kids will be forever unhappy with all other RV parks because of the waterslide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$49
Very satisfied with my stay. Stayed 2 nights while visiting Crazy Horse mountain and Mt Rushmore. The site always makes the stay and mine was perfect for me; right across from the store and facilities (site 40). Staff very friendly and helpful, which started when I first made phone reservations. Owners were hands on and seen throughout the park daily; nice to visit with and helpful, as were all staff. Very relaxing stay, shaded level gravel site with fire ring and picnic table. Wi-Fi worked just fine. Used laundry room, which was very clean. While I did not use showers or restrooms, I checked them out and they were immaculate. Propane was available, which I needed to top off tank. Lots of friendly people to visit with. Family friendly with a pool and water slide. The store was well stocked with RV essentials, basic T-shirts and gifts, as well as collection of DVDs. Very quiet at night. I picked this campground based on previous reviews and glad I did. I was not disappointed and overall, very satisfied. I would recommend and stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Nice Campground geared to family and kids. Campground very hilly but level sites. Good TV cable but cell Phone very iffy. Would stay again but in a better site because of Motorcycle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This was an excellent park. Very wooded and shady and we had a great site, although not super level. Great separation between sites and hosts lead you to the site. Good pool and water slide (extra$). Kids loved it. Quiet even during Sturgis. This is a great destination park. But to be honest I saw several other nice looking ones in this area. Would stay here again in a heart beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This campground is large and was very crowded when we arrived. The site was adequate, but very close to your neighbor. Probably would not recommend to fellow travelers. Very tight maneuvering with a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Nice park close to Custer and all the sights. Park is clean, staff is very helpful. Only negative here is the Wi-Fi and lack of cellular data coverage. The Wi-Fi logs you out after 30 minutes and you have to enter the login/password every time you log back in. Verizon data is not reachable where we were in the campground. Lots of families here which made for a noisy pool, but the campground is quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We stayed a total of 6 nights while visiting the Black Hills area. Sites are gravel and could be more level. Water pressure at the sites was low and barely adequate. Wi-Fi was a joke. We connected with the KOA Wi-Fi across the road with a strong signal. Pool was OK but use of the water slide is extra. Probably wouldn't stay there again as many more and better CG's are available in the general area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
We spent a week at this campground. We had a very enjoyable stay. The kids loved the pool and water slide. Our site had grass and shade with plenty of room to park our RV and tent. The owner was very helpful in making sure we had a pleasant stay. If we ever return to Custer South Dakota, we will stay here again and would recommend this RV park to anyone looking for a place to camp in Custer, South Dakota. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Beaver Lake Campground was one of the cleanest campgrounds we have ever visited; zero garbage lying around and immaculate office, store, and playground. The restrooms, showers, pool, and slide were well maintained throughout the day. Our 2 boys, ages 6 and 7, were kept busy in the playground, pool, and water slide. The staff was courteous and timely. The bunnies were happily bouncing around the sites and brought smiles to all of us as we fed them apples daily. Beaver Lake Campground is close to everything in the Black Hills and great to come "home" to. Very highly recommended! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Stayed here 2nd year in a row. Extremely nice campground. The management goes out of their way to aid and assist customers. Due to miscommunication, we arrived a day early for our reservation and they made room for our unit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
The management is very good, helpful, and friendly. The park is well-maintained. We enjoyed our week stay and would visit here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This was a very nice park just 3 miles from the town of Custer. There was no traffic noise, however, there are sites nearer the road which might have some noise. The park provides free bikes and is very kid friendly. There was good spacing between sites. The staff was very helpful and friendly and had a mom and pop atmosphere. Some sites had views of small lakes. The bathrooms were very clean, however, the showers were a little cramped. The pool was nice, and it had a pay for use water slide. We would give the park a ten except for the cramped shower and the laundry needs updating. Rate reflects 7th night free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Highly recommended. All sites were reasonably level, with good gravel, trees, and grass. Lower level is in the sun. Very clean with a good preservation of the natural. Owners and all were extremely helpful with a refreshing view of customer service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
We arrived late and the owner still came out to meet us and made sure we found our spot...actually gave us a pull through since we were late. This is a great spot, very family and pet friendly. I would highly recommend this place to all. I couldn't have asked for more. Internet connection great. The camp was full on our second night and yet very quiet. I will return to this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Sites are mostly level gravel. The "newer" sites are down on a flat, mostly pull through, and not "too" close together (compared to other parks we saw in the area). We stayed in the "older" section, which are mostly back-ins and well spaced on different terraced levels with lots of shade. Owners were friendly and helpful. Rate reflects weekly rate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Was very accommodating park and owners/workers. They had nice clean newly painted bathrooms and showers. Level sites and plenty roomy. Close enough to activities, yet out a little bit. The only reason we didn't rate this a 10 is because it was dry outside and the roads coming in and out were dusty and it really stirred up a cloud, other than that we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Great place. Lots of room between sites. Great staff. Good Wi-Fi. Want to go back for more time. Just a wonderful place We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Friendly staff, good location to attractions. We stayed here 3 nights. Good cable TV and WiFi. Verizon is iffy but there was a hot spot for it at the office. We were scheduled for a pull through to accommodate our 40' RV with toad. Site was very uneven and we were moved to another smaller back-in site which actually was much better with shade and fenced off 'private' area with table and fire pit. Good park for fifth wheels; large rigs 'may' have difficulty with level of sites. Nice pool but there is an additional charge for water slide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We stayed here 2 nights, but had to switch sites due to availability problem. We went from a treed, FHU site with limited cable and decent WI-FI to an open site downhill from the office where we couldn't get WI-FI but could get satellite. Most other reviews have commented on the facilities and pool/slide. From what I saw, big RVs would have problems navigating the park, and there are only a few sites that would be easy for a large RV to get into. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
The other reviews are pretty much right on. The owners/management were friendly and accommodating. Only 4 or 5 pull throughs in the park, all unshaded. Great place to stay if you have kids, but a little to "active" for us. If we have our grandchild with us, this park will be our first choice when we visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is a fantastic park. We had reservations for two weeks, but wanted to come in early. Even though they were fully booked, they found an overflow spot for us which itself was great! We had electric, water and cable at the overflow! Nice gravel roads and level, shaded sites. Everything was very clean. Very convenient to all the area attractions, yet outside town so it was very quiet. Staff is very accommodating. They helped us back into our site and were very responsive to our needs. They tell you upon checking in how to contact them if you have any problems after hours. One night we had a noisy neighbor and once we contacted them, they immediately took care of the situation. Will definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
It is vastly overpriced. The roads and site dirt and rock. Quiet time is not enforced. Wifi unacceptable at site and cable marginal. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Very kid friendly park. Waterslide was a bonus ($5 unlimited fee after 4pm was a bargain.) Had site 50 with large grassy area, but no shade. Other parts of the park with lots of pines and shade. Staff very helpful. We would camp here again, as it was close to all attractions: Custer State Park, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave, Rushmore, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Believe the other reviewers: this place is among the best private campsites we have stayed in. Lots of pine forest, generously-sized campsites, reliable WiFi, and spotless, and I mean spotless, showers and bathrooms. Our kids loved the waterslide. My only quibble is that the pool's depth (3'6") was too deep for the younger kids (say, under 5), most of whom will not be interested in the waterslide. But otherwise a terrific campground, where we would happily stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
We stayed here a week while seeing area attractions. Sites were good sized. Kids will love the water slide (costs extra but worth it!), and the staff was very friendly. Laundry was clean and open 24 hours. The only thing that keeps from getting a "10" rating is that the showers were small. They were clean and had plenty of hot water, just the stall itself was small. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Great park with pleasant staff. Everything you may want is here. The electric is spot on. The water pressure is problematic at times when everyone is taking showers in the morning. The parking spaces are gravel/dirt or mud at times. We loved it here and would return if we had children with us especially. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Great park, great scenery and great people running the park. I had to pay more (extra) for a 5th person, but it was only $4 a day. Traveling with grandkids and they enjoyed the park and swimming. Offered free bicycles for riding around the park. I plan on staying here again as often as time permits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This is a great park. The owner and crew go far and above to make your stay enjoyable. The spots are spaced far apart and there is no road noise. The owner escorted us to our site and helped set up (in the rain). Look foward to camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
A great campground where the owners go the 2nd mile for you. Owner offered to make a repair on our hitch and I also saw him helping another camper with an automotive problem. The campground is attractive with plenty of sites: some out in open and some under trees which all offer nice shade. One of the few places that lets you wash your car or RV for a small fee. Has free bicycles for camper use, pools, arcade, book swap, video rental. You name it...they have it. We'd camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
This is a really nice park especially for big rigs. Our site had a nice big grassy spot, and we had other campers as well as the employees drive/walk/ride bikes through our campsite. We complained to an employee, and they didn't do it again. The campers continued to ride/walk through, so we parked our tow vehicle so campers couldn't enter our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We stayed here for a week visiting the Black Hills. Due to the lateness of our reservation over the July 4th holiday, our site was not the best. However, all other aspects of our stay were positive. The ladies in the office were extremely nice and offered great tips about our stay. Wifi worked excellent, which was a bonus given that we got zero TV reception and our phone service was spotty at best. Bathrooms were spotless and were checked several time per day. Rated noted above is a discount for a 7 day stay. Lastly, my kids had a blast at the water side, and it is well worth the minimal cost for the hours of enjoyment it brought. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
What a wonderful place to stay. We were only going to stay 2 nights but ended up staying an extra night before we started our trip back home. The staff was very friendly and everything was neat and clean. It was family oriented and that was refreshing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
We have stayed here several times with our children and the owners are always very friendly and helpful. We were rained out of our tipi the first weekend we stayed and they let us rent a cabin for a very small fee and provided all bedding for us and then rented us an rv also for a small fee. They have free bicycles for the kids to ride and a great pool with water slide. Very quiet and nice campground. Will definitely go back again!!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
While we did not get to stay in this park due to an error on the new staff's bookkeeping, I rated this campground on their service in notifying me timely of the lack of a site,and I feel the customer service was outstanding in finding us sites next door at the KOA for the same rate. I feel they did well owning up to the error and for going the extra mile to fix it. We were offered sites there but needed full hookups at the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Above average site size, easy access to campsite. Friendly owners, great place for kids. Close to all that the Black Hills offer. Swimming pool, slide ($6.50 for all day pass, free bicycles for the kids to use. Would definitely come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
When we first arrived, we were disappointed by how close the sites are to each other. The sites don't have too many trees and the playground was a bit run down but most times full of kids! They have a variety of bikes to borrow which was nice for those kids who didn't bring their own. The arcade was a big hit with my son. The waterslide and pool were a great addition but it would be nice if the campers didn't have to pay extra for the slide. The staff were all very friendly and the service was good. The laundry was open 24 hours. There was not much space for dog walking because you are always on someone's site but there is a public road that runs alongside the campground that I explored with my dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This is a very nice place and unlike most in the area the sites (we were in) were quite level. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and well maintained. It would be nice if they had cable but the Wi-Fi worked OK. We signed up for 3 nights and extended for a 4th. We had to move the last night but not a big deal and the owner was very accommodating. It makes a great base of operations while in the area. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We stayed here for 5 days before July 4 weekend playing virtual grand parents to friends in a 5th wheel. The camp has many pine trees and most of the folks that stay here have children. There are lots of folks in Cabins and Teepee's. It reminded me of camping as a boy and I loved the pine forest, camp fires, and the small pond out back. The location is great with Deadwood, Custer, Jewel Caves, Mammoth site, and monuments – Rushmore and Crazyhorse close by. Take the 1880 train from Hot Springs to Keystone. This is a great place to stay if you want to see the Black hills. Wi-Fi is free and very good. Cell phone connection is poor to frustrating. Water pressure was low in our site. Bottom line, loved it. Hosts Hammers were very good to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
This park is Good Sam, but be sure that you insist on your discount at check-in, even if you informed them when you made the reservation. They will not honor it after you check-in. Office staff and owners were rude and not friendly throughout our stay. We used this as a base-camp for our time in the Black Hills. Our site (33) was nice and had shade, however when it rained, all the rain from the top of the hill by the office rain down into our site and right under the door to our camper. The pool often had to have a certain number of swimmers or they would not open it, as a result, our children did not use the poor or the slide. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
All of the facilities in the campground are in top shape. There is a heated pool, and even a waterslide (costs extra but looked like fun - we did not use it). Sites are large, with a choice of shade or sun. There are long pull-throughs available - ours was about 90 feet. We have a 40 foot motorhome with four slides, and there was plenty of room. The restrooms and showers were very clean, as was the laundry. The tent sites have roofs over the picnic tables, and there is a dishwashing sink at the restroom. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We throughly enjoyed our stay. The people were friendly and helpful with advice and directions to attractions. There is not much TV service unless you have satellite. Our site was level, close to showers and plenty large. We stayed 10 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Sites too close together and next to the highway. Bathrooms not the cleanest I've seen. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
This is a nice place to spend a few days. Most of the sites are shaded, but there is one section that is open with trees around the edge. The staff was friendly and courteous. The campground is home to many domesticated rabbits that are all over the place. This drove our dog crazy day and night. We saw many children picking up the rabbits even though there were signs saying not to pick them up. In addition to the pool there is a water slide available for an extra charge. There is a bike rack with several loaner bikes available. Our rate reflects a higher than normal charge due to Bike Week. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We stayed here the last week of July. It is a great base for visiting Crazy Horse, Rushmore, Devils Tower, Deadwood, Sturgis and others. The camp sites were roomy, shaded, with plenty of water and power. The restrooms were clean and nearby. We did not use the pool, but we really liked this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
Beautiful park. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is it wasn't free. We stayed for 5 days. 80% of the campground has shade. I saw deer every morning, in a field at the back of the campgrounds, when I walked my dogs. Look out for the friendly rabbits running around. The campground is located in a hilly area, so one section was on one side of the hill, another on the other and another on an other side. You could only see about 1/4 of the campground depending on where you were. It made the campground seem very small for having 96 sites. The sites are a good size. They each have a picnic table and fire pit. The tent sites have a small covered shelter for your picnic table in case it rains. It has a pool and water slide. It is centrally located, so you can go out for half a day and be back to spend time in camp for the rest of the day. If we are ever back in the area we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
A real family oriented park - has teepee's, cabins, tent sites in addition to motorhome sites. Has a pool and water slide for kids of all ages. Lots of almost tame rabbits around - free bikes of all sizes for camapers use. Sites are roomy and not crammed all together wherever possible. Have some shade and some open sites. Convenient to all the interesting sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com