223241 User submitted reviews online!!
Palo Duro RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (806) 488-2548
CGID7711

Palo Duro RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   9   5   5   5   6   7   8   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
Host was friendly. Sites were ok, but the big negative is that traffic noise was so loud that it was hard to sleep. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Nice little park for a visit to Palo Duro State Park. Management very friendly. Tried to get us into a shady spot, but the trees came down too much so they tried to cut off the limbs to help us. Could get very tight if they were completely full, but otherwise good sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This campground pretty much like the other reviews have stated - basic parking spot with electricity that is convenient to Palo Duro Canyon. Sites not too crammed together. Reasonable rate. We got in late the evening we arrived and didn't end up hooking up due to the wind/rain storm that was going on. Park management was nice enough not to even charge us for that night. Would recommend it as a overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
We stayed here due to the site rate of only $25 for a FHU pull thru & it had easy access to the canyon. It was easy off & on the interstate, but not noisy from it. There was lots of grass, asphalt roads with packed dirt and rock sites that were pretty much level. The entry road did have pot holes we had to dodge. Manager friendly & we were able to use our satellite. A few trees. We stayed here 2 nites and would recommend it to anyone going to the canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This a good location for visiting Palo Duro Canyon. The sites are long and level and all the utilities work properly. The rate is very reasonable. The Wi-Fi doesn't work and the bathrooms are very tired and badly in need of renovation. We would stay here again since there is nothing else in the area that is good for a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
All gravel and dirt roads and pads. Flat with a few trees. 2 miles to town. No clubhouse. No pool or playground. The pull thru sites are long and wide. All are FHU. No traffic noise. 3 bar Verizon cell signal and 4G mobile hot spot. Good satellite and TV antenna signal. No cable, but free password protected Wi-Fi. Office staff friendly and helpful. Park clean. Not a destination resort, but we will stay there again while in the area. Good Sam park. Cost listed for Freedom Resorts discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Stayed at this park because it was very handy to I-27. We wanted to visit Palo Duro Canyon State Park and did not read good reviews for the campgrounds located within the park. This park is not fancy and has some full time residents but it was clean and reasonably priced. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Laundry was clean with machines all working and newer looking. Restrooms were somewhat spartan and dated, but fully functional and clean. Some pedestals were leaning badly and falling apart. Mine worked fine and voltage was good. Park was less than half full. Manager was friendly and helpful. She thoughtfully assigned sites so as to maximize spacing between campers. Sites were a bit narrow but very long and perfectly level. Bring a long sewer hose; the connection was located really far towards front of the site. Roads were in good shape with speed bumps on main entry road and only a few smaller potholes. There was noise from the interstate but I did not find it to be problematic at night. Price reflects a weekly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Good Management. Paved roads/gravel spots. Very clean laundry. Location is everything; just down the road from Palo Duro Canyon but by the interstate. The number and quality of permanent RVs detract from the appeal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
No frills, easy access from highway, level sites, convenient to Palo Duro State Park. Wal-Mart and grocery store are about 5 miles away and most other big retailers are within a 15 mile drive on the Interstate toward Amarillo. In November, the park was empty. The permanent resident living was OK. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
This park was in a good location for us. It is close to Amarillo, close to the town of Canyon, and close to Palo Duro Canyon. It was easy to find. The hookups are side by side. The water pressure was good. Our cell phone and Verizon Mi-Fi card worked well. There is some interstate noise and we heard a few faraway trains. There are no recycle bins in the park. Not all the interior roads loop around the end of the sites. Instead they dead-end at the property line. So occasionally you see people driving through the empty sites. The pull-through sites were long enough. We were able to choose one where the fence didn’t interfere with our slide. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
This park is about the only game in town, and it is in a good location relative to Canyon, but beware. It is increasingly run down: dog waste scattered about; some kind of weird odor in the dryers; and the manager. Well, I know he has some challenges at the moment, but he is a piece of work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This campground is convenient for visiting Palo Duro Canyon, and spots are level and spacious. The bathrooms and showers here are not very clean. The showers here do not have doors or curtains. Men and women are expected to shower in the same room, so we decided not to use those facilities. The management was very helpful and friendly, but the park has seen better days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This is a no frills, overnight type of park. We used it for two nights while we visited Palo Duro Canyon and saw the Texas Musical Drama. The desk staff were very friendly and I was pleasantly surprised at how clean the showers and bathrooms were kept. All of the sites are very flat. There are a couple of paved roads that the staff put us on, as there were some unseasonable storms in the area, so that we could pull on to the pavement from our site when leaving. We saw a wide range of small TT's to bus sized MH Coaches. Our rig is 50' total and we were easily in our spot. Will use again for layovers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Nice long level pull through sites. 10 miles to the park and 3 miles to town. Right off of I- 27. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Nice campground for touring Palo Duro Canyon...nothing special about it, just a nice little park. Our 2nd time we have stayed here and would again if we visit the area in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This is a good campground for a night or two stay in the Canyon area. Level sites that are long enough that you don't have to unhook your tow if you don't want too. Good electric and water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
We stayed in a long pull-through site but were thankful that this is the off-season so they aren't putting rigs side by side as there would probably only be 5 feet between us and next rig! The park is noisy being located at the highway on-ramp and with the elevated highway 27 also adjacent to the park. The park is conveniently located to Palo Duro Canyon State Park just 8-10 miles down the road. The Panhandle Plains Historical Museum at Texas A&M is also only 15 minutes away which is well worth the visit. There is a Super Wal-Mart and a United Grocery store about 15 minutes away. Note that this is a dry county so bring your liquor, beer & wine with you or be prepared to drive into Amarillo. Rate reflects both a senior and Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Restrooms & Showers were clean. The site was level with hard packed gravel with some wider spots. For us it was a perfect location. Temperatures would have been hotter in the canyon and there is a steep windy road going in and we manage to hit low 100's above. Everything but the main road in was gravel. There are trees but not very big. The Internet was iffy. It was quiet and dark even though it was close to the highway. Park was well maintained and the staff friendly. We stayed because we wanted to do the play and the museum on our way to high ground. We stayed 3 nights and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Easy acess from Interstate 27. Typical gravel parking lot set up. Great for overnight or longer if you want to visit Palo Duro Canyon and see the show TEXAS without taking your rig down into the canyon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Right off I-27, nothing fancy, but very quiet. Spacious, long sites, excellent WiFi, friendly staff. Perfect staging area for visiting Palo Duro Canyon and the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum, or attending various functions at West Texas A&M University. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Very convenient park to Palo Duro Canyon: right off of I-27, 19 miles south of Amarillo. Good level, pull through sites (fit our 38 foot toy hauler) and some have shade trees. WiFi signal is very good and the bandwidth is good as well so multiple people can be on at the same time with no loss of throughput. Some permanent residents, but apparently the management makes them keep everything neat, as there is no clutter or junk around those sites. If you have time, be sure to visit the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum in Canyon, as it is well worth a visit. We stayed here for two nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
We stayed one night. The pull-through sites are plenty long (pickup, fifth-wheel and cargo trailer). Some grass was green but most was brown buffalo grass which just needed water to perk up and be green. Campground is fairly quiet and seems to be safe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
The manager's wife is in a cancer battle so his manner may change with the day she is having. I never had any problem with him and we discussed having a loved one battle this disease. I was camping with a rally and some found him brusque but once his situation was explained they understood. The Wi-Fi reception was excellent. The meeting room was made available to us at any time and was clean and had a TV. The camp is about 10 miles from Amarillo with many things to see. We were also about 9 miles from the entrance to the canyon. We took park in the Elkin Ranch breakfast and the steak dinner and play "Texas" in the canyon. The laundry room was clean, plenty of washers and dryers and a TV and table and chairs. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We found management to be fine. The sites are very close to each other. This is fine for parking over night or two in order to see the canyon which is nearby and worth the stay. It is not a great campground, but it not the worst we ever stayed in overnight. No TV and the electricity can be a little iffy at times. I doubt we will stay here again since the campground offers nothing except being near to the canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This is the closest park to Palo Duro State Park (assuming you do not want to camp in the park). It is 10 (easy) miles to the state park. Most sites are side to side hookups. This would be very crowded if the park was filled. Road noise at night was not too bad. Verizon air-card worked well. The laundry and bathrooms were very clean. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
The manager at this park is the manager from (the dark side). Don't park in the wrong place, don't send mail from the park mail box, don't park your car in the front of you rig, don't leave your space with your rent paid, don't leave anything at your space if you do leave. If you leave your space with rent paid, when you return you will be blocked out. And the most important thing is don't be a single female and park in his park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
There is nothing distinctive about this park. It is everything the previous reviewer mentioned. The change I noted is that the rate is $28 a night, or $25 with club discount. They are no longer honoring the web-site advertised $10 off, even though it still appears on the web page. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Palo Duro RV Park is just off I-27 in Canyon, TX., 17.5 miles south of Amarillo. When you check in, make sure you ask for the $5 off Internet special (tell them you saw it on their web site), they also give a Good Sam Discount. It cost us $20 total with tax. Each site is a pull through with 2 campers each (end to end). There are wide roads, long spaces but close together, lots of trees, NO TV but it is very satellite friendly. WIFI worked very well and is free. It looks as if there are several folks that are here on a "permanent" basis but their sites appear to be well kept. The park attendant was very friendly. Our site was only about 100 yards from I-27 so could hear traffic. Not bad but could tell there were folks traveling up and down the road. Be sure to visit Palo Duro Canyon while you are in the area. We would probably stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
Called to ask to stay monthly, and wanted to know what my last month would be, since it would be a half of a month. I e-mailed and asked a simple question if I could get a half-month rate, instead of two weeks, and they responded by saying that I was stupid, and that if they gave me a half-month rate, they would be paying me to stay there, which I don't get. They than said DAH!, and then attached a picture of cheese? They were extremely rude and even responded back a few times with more rude and juvenile comments. All of this was over a simple question, a simple no or polite response would have done. The rudest people I have ever dealt with. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
This is an OK park. The sites are gravel and very close to one another. Many units are, by the look of them, there all the time. I would stay again, but not for any length of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Beautiful scenery: well worth the detour off I-40 to stay in this place. Allow a couple of nights and a full day to see it. Will return every chance I get. Got some beautiful photos of the canyon walls, showing the vast geologic features. Got a a slow internet connection using Verizon card, but no cell service except for a local network. Direct TV can be spotty, but we had a good picture where we parked. Ask before selecting a campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Easy access from I27 with big rig access in park. Sites are close together but mostly level. Good for visiting local attractions such as Palo Duro Canyon as there is not much to choose from in the area. Wi-fi works great and is free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com