206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Wompatuck State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (781) 749-7160
CGID7741

Wompatuck State Park

Camp Information
Sites
420
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   4   8   8   6   7   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
They aren't suppose to have water hook-ups but they didn't say anything to someone in a motor home that hooked their water hose up to the community water. The motor home must have had a hose that was at least 75 feet long, but they got away with it. No one ever seemed to be at the gate so you could just drive into the campground and camp anywhere that was open. The quite hours were not enforced. Our bathhouse was broken so we had to drive to another one, and some campsites had 3-4 cars at them to where they were half way on the road and it was hard to get by them. The sites were big and nice. They all had fire-pits and plenty of room and privacy. I'm not sure if we would go back just because that park seems to draw the type of people that don't respect rules or campground property. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
The place was dirty, site had 12 pieces of trash on it when we pulled in. The grass had not been mowed in quite some time. The bathrooms were disgusting the first day but, cleaned to just filthy for the rest of the week. No way I would shower in one of those stalls. The people hired to clean them should be ashamed of themselves. It's not all bad: the sites are level and pretty well spread out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
This place COULD be so nice: but it is not! The bathrooms have a card that is signed each day by someone that allegedly cleans them, this is a hoax. One shower did not even have a curtain, and one toilet had the same grunge (bad stuff) in the bowl all three days we were here. If you consider taking a shower, wear shoes, the floor is disgusting! The check in was nice, and the site was great and very private. This is also one of the first places I have been that does NOT have a water hose at the dump station. It is a shame to see such a beautiful park with so much potential in this condition. Not sure who dropped the ball. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
We stayed in the loop with electric on the sites. Restrooms were in need of being remodeled as they are old, but were being well maintained. Some sites are small and may not fit all size RV's. Most sites are wooded and will have a good amount of shade throughout the day. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Nice, quiet state park just outside of Boston. Two areas of campground, one area has no hookups at all, the other only has electricity (20 amp only), no sewer hookups. They do have a dump station. There are water spigots throughout the campground, so before you set up, you can fill your freshwater holding tank. When making reservations, it may be a better idea to call the park rather than use Reserve America, as not all the sites are the same size. Some are very narrow, while others are more spacious. Nearly all sites are very shaded. There are miles upon miles of hiking/biking trails throughout the park. The restrooms were fairly modern and nice and clean. There is also a natural spring nearby with nice cold, fresh water. The park was very empty , though we only stayed during the week. They evacuated the park for Hurricane Irene, and refunded the money automatically for the night that were reserved, but not used. All around a good campground, and we would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The park was pretty nice. Staff was friendly and fairly helpful. My wife used the showers and said they were cold and no-so-clean, men's room looked fairly clean. There wasn't a lot for kids to do (I didn't see a playground anywhere) so they rode their bikes a lot. Our site was pretty narrow with a lot of branches and brush hanging into the site. There was a small brook behind our site so the bugs were out in FULL force. (Don't forget to bring LOTS of bug spray.) The firewood I bought at the office was wet so I ended up burning the abundance of dead branches and brush I found on our site. Our site was missing the picnic table and when I asked at the office about it, I was told that their supplier shorted them. He said he'd try to find one for me but one never showed up (even though I saw several sites with more than one table) so I had to use my grill on my tailgate. This park is about 15 minutes from a 'T' station if you want to go to Boston. No enforcement of parking/driving rules(multiple cars on sites clogging the roads, people speeding and going the wrong way around one-way loops). I was surprised that it was very quiet in the evenings for a holiday weekend in a full park. With a little bit of cleaning and some site maintenance this could be a great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is a beautiful park. This is an old park with narrow roads and some low branches. We found several sites that would easily fit our 40' motorhome and toad. Shower water was warm at best and with little pressure. Bathrooms and showers were clean but old and need to be updated. We could not find a ranger to check in for about an hour. He was friendly but it was disorganized. Note there is only 20 amp service. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
We stayed here 6 nights while visiting Boston, Cape Cod, and Salem. For us it was perfect and so much more reasonable than near by RV parks whose rates reflected services we didn't need. Our site was large, 99% shade, so level we didn't need jacks, and we only had neighbors on either side on the weekend, and they were very respectful of quiet hours. We used the red line subway station in Braintree to get to/from Boston. The campground office has information on its location, parking, etc. We also used the laundromat in Hingham and found it very nice although slightly high in cost. WiFi was available at the library in Hingham. The downside is only 20A service, but even though it was 90 in Boston, our site was so shady it never got over 85 in the RV. We used a table top fan inside and it kept us very comfortable. At night the temps dropped significantly and the fan ran all night. The staff in the office was very friendly and helpful. We were given a map with circled suggested sites for our 33' motorhome and the list was very appropriate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
Our first visit to this state park and we were impressed. There are miles after miles of paths and unused paved roads to ride bikes on. You can fill up your water bottle at the spring and hit the road. The electric hook-up sites are a little out dated and I wondered if it was going to work, but it did. Staff was friendly and we had a great time. I would go back again but in the off season when it won't be hot in the camper. Electric is not able to run the AC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We liked this state park, but my problem with the state park, as well is others, is that the summer employees do not understand that a motor home needs a fairly level site. Reserve America only wants to know the type vehicle and # of feet. They also don't seem to have a clue about whether the sites are level. Trailers and 5th wheels can deal with unlevel sites because their tires are closer together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
We have never camped here before. Very interesting – beautiful park. Nice drive through historic Hingham with beautiful old houses to get to the park. Close to Boston (35 minutes away) so that you can drive to the nearest T-station or take the ferry over to Boston and that is what many campers do that stay here. Plymouth is also a short drive down route 3 from here so one can visit many of the Pilgrim tourist attractions. There are two camping sections in this park (262 sites and 140 with electric), one with electric hookups and one without. It looked like sections of the non electric section did not even open this year maybe due to economic reason. Most of the state parks in MA need to remodel their bathrooms and repave their roads and even bike trails. Bike trails and hiking trails run through the park (12 miles of bike trails alone), plus one can bike on old military roads left when the military left this park to the state. Nice ride, beautiful views, ponds and some great birding. Make sure one picks up the trail guide though at the entrance to the camping area because you can get very confused. Mt. Blue Spring is in the park and from the campground one can walk, drive, or bike to the spring to fill out your water bottles or containers for some nice fresh spring water for free. Make sure you check closing dates for any campgrounds in New England because most close at the end of Columbus Day weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
The park itself is wonderful - beautiful, quiet, clean and great rails to trail bike paths. The campsite was nice as well - very large and flat, lots of privacy from surrounding foliage. We were right by the fresh water, so we were able to fill up our tanks before settling into our site. There is a dump station in the park as well. The only down side of this park, and hence the 6 rating, was the bathroom. They were not clean and I feel pretty certain that they were never cleaned the entire time we stayed (about 5 nights). One of the showers had hardly any water pressure, the other shower was clogged up, and the middle shower was the best that they had. My husband said the men's showers were just as awful. So, if you are not using the showers this is a great park. The city of Hingham is very cute, you are within 4 miles of a great grocery store and the cleanest laundromat I have ever done clothes at in my life in downtown Hingham. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
What a nice park, and only $17/night. The sites were very larger and well separated. We stayed here to visit Boston. It is about a 30 minute drive. Enterprise is close and will pick you up if you want to rent a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
Best kept secret in the Boston area. $17 a night, large quiet sites well separated from next door camper. Restrooms with showers. Subway to all of Boston area is about 15-20 minutes away (11 miles). Round trip fare to downtown Boston is $4 a person. Most RV parks in area seem to be $35-$50 and MUCH farther away from transportation to city. Downsides to CG: only 20 amp power, but I could operate one of my air conditioners if needed, or water heater, or microwave/convection oven, just not any two of them at once. No sewer, but there is a dump station. Water is accessible from some sites to fill up your RV's water tank. All sites are in the trees, only 1 or 2 of the sites will you be able to get satellite reception. Local TV reception is good. Our reason for staying here was to tour Boston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
This is a nice park in proximity to Boston. The sites are, for the most part, very large and private. The park is wooded with great walking and biking trails. The restrooms and showers are old and marginally clean. It is about 10-15 minutes from the T line at Braintree, that affords good access into the city. It was quiet and peaceful while we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com