206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Pickens Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (850) 934-2622
CGID775

Fort Pickens Campground

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   7   8   9   7   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$13
We were so excited about coming here until we went to check in. The park employee assisting us acted like we were bothering her, told us all the things we couldn't do, and was unfazed when we discovered that the site assigned to us was too small to hold our 17 foot Casita and our car. She suggested we park our car nearby, even after we told her that many of our supplies are kept in our car. With that said, the Fort and museum were astounding, the beach was to die for, and the birds and wildlife were amazing. Loop A is the recommended area. We will return and stay there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
I love this campground. Once you enter the park you are in a different world. the campground is nice with big sites but small and tight pads. Once you are in your site it is great but the roads are narrow and it makes backing in very difficult without going off on the grass and that might be OK but it had rained and we made very big ruts. We have a 33 ft fifth wheel and got a site that was for 40 feet . But the way the trees and the road was set up it took my husband about 20 minutes to finally get the camper in the way we wanted it to. We barely were able to fit our truck in without it being on grass which is not allowed. There are sites where this would not be as much of a problem but it is hard to see which ones are OK and which ones would be an issue. In general if there are trees around your site, it will be difficult with anything over 30 feet. The bathrooms were great except on Saturday when there were many kids at the camp. The reason I rate this camp so high is that it has a vast area to walk and ride a bike that is flat and beautiful. It is very easy to drive to the beach and set up for the day. They do not allow pets on the beach but they do on the nature trails. The sunsets were beautiful. Lots of birds and armadillos. We were out in nature and quiet, but only 10-15 minutes away from a number of restaurants and shopping areas. It was great. We will be back again for even longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
This is a great campground if you like a remote location. Loop A is the best for us. Its smaller and quieter. There are sites for big rigs but not all of them. Some sites have tree limbs which are a little low so care must be taken. There are good biking and walking trails. Beach is a short walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
Camp here at least once each year. Other reviews are accurate in terms of amenities and beauty of the Gulf and the sugar white beaches. Bird migration was underway during my stay, and the songbird numbers were astonishing. Of note was significant flooding of sites on Loop C, east end. Many of those sites had only the asphalt showing surrounded by water. Very quiet at night. Bath house in the A Loop is going to be remodeled beginning in May 2014, so anyone camping there will need to be self contained or use bath houses in the other distant loops. I will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
This is a very nice park. Staff is friendly and helpful, and proximity to the beaches and sleeping to the sound of the ocean surf at night is great! The only reasons I gave it an 8 is because of the flooding when it rains, the whole interior of loop E becomes a "lake". Also, the shower/restrooms at loop E are new and clean, but there is sand all around the shower facility and it tracks all over the inside of the shower rooms. Even though the staff does a great job trying to keep it clean, there is a design problem with sand tracking in all over the inside. I would stay here again. We enjoyed our stay. Note: rate reflects Senior Golden National Park Pass rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$13
Nice campground, and we have stayed here before. Price reflects Golden Age Pass. Walk to beach. Close to Fort Pickens and Pensacola Beach. Very clean, new bathhouses were being built (almost done, older ones needed updating). Only a few miles from town, shopping, restaurants, and activities. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$13
Overall a good campground; some of the sites are not very long so when you book a site pick a site that is long enough. Access roads are narrow. Sites can be hard to get into and some sites the tow vehicle or auto barely fit. They do have several areas for overflow parking. Nice beaches and interesting historic forts and gun batteries. It was very wet when we were there; some sites were poorly drained. We were not sorry we went, but probably will not return. It would be a great place to camp in the summer to access the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$13
Very nice facility on the gulf. We stayed two weeks, and would stay again. Price reflects the Senior Pass discount. Two factors make this a "7", instead of higher. First, there are no sewer hookups. Secondly, if you have a very large coach or fiver, try to get something in Loop "A". We stayed in loop "C" with a 36' fiver. Got away with it OK because we managed to reserve one of the longer sites. Roads are very narrow, so back-ins can be challenging. Verizon signal was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$26
Nice staff, good site pads made of asphalt, decent facilities, although older, still nicely maintained. The park is amazing and the beaches are some of the best in Pensacola! The fort is cool and there are lots of trails. We look forward to coming back when the weather is better, we stayed when the temps were down to 40 at night and no higher than 60 during the height of the day with high winds. So we didn't get to do as much outdoors as we would have liked. We were able to have a fire in the fire pit one night. Sites are nicely spaced apart for privacy. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$13
What a great location! We stayed here 5 days. December is definitely the least popular season. Weather was gorgeous one day, cold and rainy another day, with remaining days semi-comfortable. On the one gorgeous day, we had the spectacular white sand beach all to ourselves. The beach is an easy 300-m walk from Loop A, which is close enough to the beach to hear the surf. Our ankles quickly got chewed up by no-see-ums, so we suggest regular use of insect repellant while in campground. Verizon voice and MiFi worked well. Potable water appears to very hard, which could be an issue with RV plumbing after awhile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$14
Rate reflects 1/2 price camping for senior Golden Age park pass. Sites are large with paved pads. Can be difficult to park a large rig (ours is 40') because roads are very narrow. Beautiful beaches. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Rate has recently increased from $20 a night to $26 a night, but you can't beat that price for a campground at such a gorgeous beach! The park is old, so the campground roads and spots are narrow and a bit of work to navigate. The bathrooms and showers are also pretty old and kept moderately clean. Camphosts are very friendly and helpful. The location, scenery, trails, and beaches are wonderful! Even with no sewer, WiFi, or cable... we cannot wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Walking distance to the beach makes staying here great. We stayed in loop A site 35, it was about 4 inches off level on passenger side. There is more space between campsites in loop A. Hosts were friendly and easy going. The bathhouses need updating. You have to pay $8.00 fee at main entrance to national park to get to campground unless you have Golden Access or similar then it doesn't cost anything. We will return next vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
We love this campground. Stayed here before. Nice sites. Lots to do biking, birding, fishing, hiking and more. Stayed in A loop (our favorite) and C loop. Both were great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Even though this campground doesn't have full hookups (sewer, cable, etc.), it has breath taking scenery and is an excellent park. We stayed in A loop and had no issues getting into our site. The showers in this loop have a lot to be desired. They were cleaned daily, but had a lot of grime buildup and the doors were lower than what would provide full privacy while showering especially for women. The biggest complaint that we had was that our site was all picked out to be close to our friends for the week and the park had some issue with electricity on our site and "cancelled" our site. Customer service between corporate and campground was terrible in resolving the issue. Luckily, I was able to snag a new reservation elsewhere in the park and then finally the campground was able to work us into the A loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
This is a beautiful but primitive park with the most wonderful beaches anywhere. Loop A is walking distance from the gulf side beach ( just barely) but the other loops are too far to carry stuff on foot, but a very short drive. There are showers and restrooms at the beach. One campground restroom was closed completely, and all the rest were really worn out and not very comfortable to use; you may be a long walk from a bathroom depending on your site. Some sites are very roomy, some are tighter. We saw many osprey, some armadillos, and heron. It is a long slow drive to any stores or places to eat, and the road can close due to flooding. But worth it all for the beaches and interesting fort, and a great value particularly with the senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
Great value with senior discount. Most sites are very level with the exception of A loop which has some grade on certain sites. Check site descriptions carefully. Some have trees that may cause problems for roofs and slides. Very good TV via batwing. Verizon cell and broadband both very good. But the Verizon broadband would take several attempts to connect, then was stable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
I dearly love this place and will stop every time I get the chance. It is my understanding the restrooms are being remodeled. I sure hope so because they are about done. With all the government budget cuts I am sure this too will get the ax. If they had new restrooms, this place would be a 10. The staff is always friendly which is refreshing for government employees. I did request a specific spot near the restroom and for some reason they would not give it to me. It was not occupied during my stay so I will be asking why that happened. Those wonderful beaches will always keep me coming back even if I have to shower in the ocean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
We stayed here for 4 nights. Had planned to stay longer, but it was supposed to rain for the next 3 days, so we left. The $10/night fee reflects Interagency Senior Pass rate; otherwise the fee is $20.00. Camp sites are short and fairly close together, but this is a good place to stay if you like to be near the ocean and beaches of Santa Rosa Island. We recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
The rate reflects the Golden Pass discount. Beautiful area! Love the beaches. Sits between the Gulf and the bay. The sties are hard to back into. We love the park and the area, and will return for a longer visit. You must make reservations! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
We stayed here for 14 nights. Our first site was in Loop A. Trees make getting into some of the sites difficult, but we had scoped out the park in advance and had picked site A14 accordingly. Needed to adjust the position of the RV so that branches did not hinder opening the driver side slides. The power pedestal went on the fritz a few hours after we arrived. We notified the host and used the pedestal for the empty site next to us overnight. The next day, we were given a list of back-up sites to choose from. Chose a site in Loop C, which we liked better. It was more open. There were no trees to make maneuvering difficult, but if all sites are filled, some sites might be difficult to get into with a big rig. Tows must be parked on the pad; no parking on the grass or in empty sites (monitored by the hosts). Overflow for tow and other vehicles available. Loved the easy access (across the road) to the sugar white sand beaches of the Gulf and to Pensacola Bay on the opposite side. Fort Pickens is an easy beach stroll away, and the NPS gives a nice tour of the fortifications (only program available when we were there). We would most definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Rate is the campground rate. There is an additional vehicle entry fee of $8 per week. This is a Federal Park part of the Gulf Islands National Seashore. It looks like a Florida State park because it was until 1971 when it became part of the NPS. We stayed in the A Loop. Paved roads, paved sites, most with trees and shade. Bath house is very old and needs updating. It was clean, but old. Each site has 50 amp electric and water. A Dump station is close and easily accessible. Parking is available for additional cars of boat trailers. This park is on the west end of Florida, on one of those beautiful white sand beaches that extend from St. George Island to FloraBama. Fort Pickens is a good historic tour with plenty of walking, biking, and beach to explore. Also convenient to restaurants and attractions in Pensacola Beach and Pensacola proper. We will definitely return to this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
Great national park. Rate includes 50% senior pass. Sites are just big enough for our 39' RV. Very friendly camp hosts. Nicely spaced between sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Great campground! Just a walk away from beautiful, white sandy beaches. Sites have 50amp & water, no sewer. Verizon 4G coverage pretty good. Sites are on the larger size. Okay staff - never saw a volunteer. Will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
This is a must camp park. Some of the most beautiful beach you will ever see. Snow white sand and crystal clear water, beautiful ocean sunsets each night. What a wonderful place. Didn't have time to do the tour but will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Great campground. Rate reflects senior rate. 50 amp good, water good. Camped in a 38 ft motorhome and site was fine. Asphalt, slightly unlevel, but most are. Lots of locals, tents and small trailers on weekend. Full of kids on weekends . We did not have any with us but no problems. Perfect beach with white sand, warm water and great breezes. Be sure and visit the fort and batteries. Great place full of history. Great place to bike ride. Can accommodate large rig, but you have to select the right site. On their reservation system they have a photo of the actual site. Very helpful when you are large and also looking for something that is satellite friendly. Was able to get 10 local channels with antenna. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
This is a federal park with the gulf on one side and the bay on the other. Both are within walking distance of the campground. The gulf beaches have the whitest sand I've seen in Florida! Price reflects a 50% discount for senior pass. The location is definitely a '10'. The campground is nice; our site was level and large; the pad is asphalt; some sites have trees to work around. It rained some during our stay and the site got a bit muddy. Be sure to take time to see the fort: it's fascinating. We also were here at a time when the Blue Angels from the naval base were practicing and had a great view from the park. The bathhouses need updating and cleaned more often. After the first day, we showered in our camper. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
Very nice campground with good electric. Bathrooms cleaned daily, good phone service with both AT&T and Verizon. Walking distance to beach. Sites were long and level. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
At first I was rather worried when driving to this place. It is a long way from the main roads and runs through 20 minutes of condo/hotel areas on the beach. But, once I got here it was worth it. You pass through dunes and bird nesting areas to get to the campground, which is great for bird watching! The campground was full and lots of people seem to be locals. I was a little worried at first but the kids and I had great time here! Kids are riding bikes everywhere, other campers were chatty and friendly 'invited my kids over for smores.' If you don't like families don't come here. The sites were small so I don't know if I would bring a big rig in here. The fort is great, the beaches are great and the bird watching is awesome! I would stay here again for sure. During bad weather sometimes the road floods, so watch for that too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
You can't beat the gulf beaches. The park is really nice. A bit tight in the A Loop, but we made it with a 38' fifth. Our price was senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Overall a nice campground, although the "big rig access" should be taken with a grain of salt. My trailer is 44 feet long, and I found it very tight, although doable in Loop A. Forget about the other ones, the sites there are entirely too small. One thing to bear in mind, it will cost you $1 a trip to go from the mainland to Pensacola Beach, and $8 to get back to the campground, although that last figure is for a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
This is a typical National Park: clean, well-maintained and supervised. The sites are paved but some are very short: pay attention to site descriptions. At least half of the sites have some privacy by appropriate vegetation growing between sites. The location is very nice. It's in an undeveloped end of Santa Rosa Island. Large portions of the island are over-developed but the park is very natural. This is the second year we have camped there. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Part of Gulf Islands National Seashore (GINS) Fort Pickens Area about 8 miles west of Pensacola Beach. Pretty campground in a barrier island / sand dune / scrub oak setting. Gulfside beaches are second to none (white, clean sand), no oil or tarballs present. Bayside beaches are also lovely. There are two major campground loops... Loop A, and Loops B,C,D, and E. Loop A is exclusive to itself, while the other loops are interconnected. Loop A is more forested with scrub oaks and a few pines, while Loops B,C,D and E are more open. Adequate space between sites, but no vegetative barrier for privacy. Bathrooms were clean, but showers had missing tiles and grout, and a mildew problem. Simply put, and in concert with a previous review, the bathouses are dated and need to be replaced. Two dump stations available. Campground store is open, limited supplies and prices higher. Good gravel bicycling trail to Fort Pickens. Fishing pier available. Good birdwatching, especially for Osprey. U.S. Navy's Blue Angels performed practice runs one morning from nearby NAS Pensacola. Saw one Cottonmouth Water Moccasin coiled behind our neighbor's camper. There is an $8 USD fee to enter this part of GINS in addition to campground fees, but these can be reduced or eliminated with the purchase of a GINS annual pass for $25 if you frequent the area, or with a senior interagency card, which will get you in free and reduce the campground fee by 50%. We have camped here before and will again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Price reflects Golden Pass discount. The sites are sandy and level. Most of the bigger trees were blown down by Hurricane Ivan a few years ago. So, no foliage separation of sites. The fort is closely by hike,bike, or car. It is well worth the price of admission, as they say. At our visit, it was very windy. The Bay and Gulf beaches are a short walk away. restrooms were rustic, clean (with wet, sandy floors). We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Part of Gulf Islands National Seashore Park. Indicates the lack of funding that National Park Service has for their park up-keep. I gave it a 7 because of the beautiful location which overrides the non-descript sites and worn out bathhouses. If you love natural surroundings with access to both a gorgeous bay and fabulous, white sand beach, then this is your spot. Firepits, picnic tables, electric and water all work well but are old. Sites are paved and well spaced. Wonderful hiking trails, fishing, swimming, beach combing, wildlife and historic Ft. Pickens to explore. We got 50% off of the regular $20 rate due to being seniors. This park is definitely worthy of a nice vacation, and we would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
Rate reflects the 8 dollar entrance fee into the National Park, That fee is good for a week, so nightly rate to camp is 20. This is a quite park that allows you to explore the ruins of Historic Fort Pickens, as well as enjoy the beach. Restrooms are clean, but dated. Showers had plenty of hot water. Sites are private and are fairly level concrete. "A" section can accommodate bigger rigs. Loved listening to the presentation of colors at 8 a.m. This park is close to Pensacola, Navarre Beach and Gulf Breeze Florida. The Naval Air Museum is close and free, as well as the Pensacola light house. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
Rate is daily rate for a 50 amp water back-in site with senior pass discount. Roads and pads paved, but length of many of the sites limits the number suitable for big rigs. Best to check the campground website and satellite view if you have never been there before. Good Verizon 3G and cell reception. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
This is a National Park Campground. I booked on line after looking at Google maps and choosing a site. Some of the sites are hard to get into because of tree limbs, apparently the Park Service does not trim them because they are Live Oaks and protected. The park is a 3 minute walk from the gulf of Mexico. AT&T worked here. The rate reflects a Golden access pass at 50% of the normal rate. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
When you drive out the road to this park, you think that you are at the end of the world. Close, you are the end of Santa Rosa Island, however, when you arrive at the campground it's very nice. Great roads, good pads and plenty of room to manuever. Motorhomes and larger fifth wheels will like the A loop better. The other loops are nice, but the pads are shorter. Great boardwalks to the very nice beaches. I loved hearing the raising and lowering of colors at the Naval Air Station across the bay. Also the old fort at the end of the island is worth browsing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
I camped in Campground A over the Memorial Day weekend. The price reflects me using my Golden Age Passport. The sites are not overly large, but I was able to get my motorhome (35 foot) in without too much trouble. The shower and restroom facilities were always very clean. I'm a history buff so I enjoyed touring the forts and batteries located within the park. Rated an 8 because there is no sewage hookup. I would definitely come back to this campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$8
Located on Santa Rosa Island right next to Pensacola Beach. There is an entrance fee $8 for a week per carload and then a camping fee. Golden Age pass no fee and camping half price $10 for water and electricity. Reservations can be made for March through October and it is strongly suggested that you have them. Most sites were taken the two nights we were there.One can swim in the Gulf of Mexico or Pensacola Bay. This is a beautiful area with white sand beaches with hardly anyone on them. We were in loop A and could walk the broad walk to the Gulf. The beach is stunning! A half mile from the campground one can visit Ft. Pickens, Visitor Center, the bunkers around the fort, or sit on the seawall watching the Blue Angels practice on Tuesday and Wednesday mornings from the Naval Base across the bay. We even saw campers scuba diving and snorkeling on the bay side. So many campers had told us to stay here and we were not disappointed. It is a beautiful area that had been devastated from Katrina and rebuilt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
This park was clean and had easy access to beaches on the gulf and the bay. Selecting a site needs to be done carefully. The spot we had was secluded and had a beautiful view of the full moon out the back door. Some sites are just flat grass and devoid of any privacy. Pick what you want. The "road floods" warning probably takes a significant storm to be a problem. We would go back: particularly in view of the price (Senior rate - starts at 62). We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
Recently repaved roads & site pads, but both still too narrow. As mentioned by others, must park on pad or in overflow: rangers giving out tickets, so beware. Unfortunately, not enough overflow parking so some illegal parking did make the roads difficult to traverse when exiting the park in the AM. Also the new paving of campsites raised the sites 4"-5" so when exiting your RV, expect a high curb 7"-8" on our site to the grassy area of site; the narrow pad makes this more of a safety issue. Beaches beautiful! Campground a bit crowded on the weekend with a party crowd. I noticed that not all facilities are handicap accessible, ADA site in loop A required walking through sand to get to the restroom. Very few shaded sites. Also many sites difficult to get in for big rigs. Though we didn't have it, site 30 in Loop A, looked real easy to park in. Overall, nice beach, Fort Pickens very informative, but if you've got a big rig, I'd look for another more spacious campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
The sites have recently been repaved after Ivan damage in 2004, but unfortunately were not enlarged. For some reason, the access to the power post (50 amp) is very limited...I could NOT reach the post at my site with my attached 50 amp cord since my electric bay is well in front of the rear wheel and the post is almost 20 feet behind where the pavement ends..I was lucky to have a 30 amp cord to make the connection at all! I noticed that most of the sites have this same bad design. The park is clean but access to the gulf OR Pensacola bay is not real convenient..and Ivan killed most of the trees, most sites are totally in the sun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
Nice and clean. In process of rebuilding after being nearly destroyed by Hurricane Ivan. I had an accident because of poor signage identifying where to register. Employees very courteous and helpful. Seemed to be more "geared" towards "tenters" than larger RV's (especially on weekends). All in all a pleasant experience and I will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Some of the statements below reflect the pitiful condition of the campground following Hurricane Ivan and the park closure from 2005-2009, and the bad news from the oil spill of 2010. Here's the story: The campground is fully functional, all visitor facilities are open, and the beach is simply beautiful. The "A" Loop is a stand-alone loop, and is closest to the Gulf of Mexico via very nice boardwalk trail. Loops B, C, D, and E are combined. In all loops, there are a variety of site sizes. The "B" and "D" loops are primarily for small van campers and tenters, while all other loops have sites that will accommodate all mid-sized RV's. Some sites may have problems with big rigs. All wheels (cars and RV's) must stay on asphalt, and the park enforces this rule. No grass parking. If you cannot fit the vehicle, to overflow it goes. The sites are more open than in the past due to Hurricane Ivan, but all stumps are removed, there are no safety hazards. There are still some shade sites, but most sites are more sun than shade. Space between sites is adequate. All power boxes are new with 50, 30, and 20 amp setup. Water pressure was great, quality good. Entire campground has been resurfaced with asphalt, including all campsites. Small store sells supplies at inflated prices, no propane or gasoline available. Numerous trails and bicycle routes. B-E Loops also has boardwalk to the beach. Dump station water valve worked fine. First come first serve from November 1 through February 28. Use Reserve America between March 1 and October 31. Entry fee to park is $8 or use Interagency Pass or Golden Age (additional to campground fee). Between the hiking, biking, fishing, beaching, fort exploring, and relaxing, we had a great time and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
This is a typical NP CG because the restrooms need a lot of tender loving care but location is the key. The miles and miles of beaches are beautiful the Ft. Pickes is very interesting, both very easy access from the campground by trail or bike the road. Sites were roomy w/table and fire ring. They have a reservation system and I would recommend using it because it can get busy on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$10
It is quiet and peaceful. A bare bones site as with any national campgrounds but the host was friendly. There was hardly anyone there when we were there so it was very quiet. The sites were good sized. We were able to use our Golden Pass and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$10
Golden Age rate and a great value hence the 9. All sites are paved and level, we were in Loop A with 50 amps and water. They are actively cleaning the beaches in the area. We were not affected by the oil in any way, but you could see signs of it. We were able to walk on the beach. Great place that we need to go back to as we did not have enough time to visit the fort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
My family spent 5 days in the Fort Pickens campground, primarily to have good access to the beach and to get away from the more crowded tourist areas. The trip was a success in that the beach was almost empty. There were more workers on the beach than tourists. The road leading to the campground is very low: had water and sand either standing in the road, or completely covering the road during most of our stay. Area A has the longer pads and better drainage. I saw water standing around campers in areas B, C, and D. The grass was about a foot high when some of it finally got mowed. There were water faucets running every day to flush the lines. The dump station did not have a water faucet to use for flushing my tanks. The walkway from the camping area to the gulf beach is just a path through the dunes since the boardwalk has not been rebuilt. Almost all trees are broken off and dead. Only a few sites have trees that provide shade. This is a great place to get away from town, people, and stores and just walk on the beach and relax. Sprint data card and AT&T cell phones worked fine. No problem with dish network either because there are no tall trees to block the signal. There is also a $8 charge per vehicle to enter the area and is good for a week. I paid $20 per night for camping. This is a great value considering all that it includes like touring the old military fort and batteries, access to miles of beach, and a hiking trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Note that this is the same campground listed as Fort Pickens under Santa Rosa Island. Newer reviews appear in this listing. Several of the loops are undergoing some sort of sewer construction, apparently for the bath house. That was the reason we were given on one day for the very low, to nonexistent, water pressure that we had. Except for that and the "boil water notice" that we received during our stay, everything else was great. In talking with one of the workers here, the low pressure seems to be a common occurrence. One of the pumps died while we were here, thus the reason we were told NOT TO DRINK the water. Now I get to sanitize my RV plumbing. Although in terms of roads and other amenities, this park appears fine, I think mechanically they reopened too soon. The closest bottled water, for example, is about four miles away in town. My son also noted there were no paper towels/dryers or hand soap in the bathrooms. With the low water pressure, the toilets weren't flushing anyway. If I were going back, I would certainly call first to make sure the water was deemed safe to drink again. Having no water in such a remote location is a big pain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
Nice campground with open sites. Some trees, but good satellite access in most sites. Would get higher rating if it had sewer etc. Verizon cell reception good. You can see where storms have damaged things and repairs are ongoing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
We were so happy to finally get to return to our favorite campground! Everything was gong well. There were not a lot of campers (20 -30%) full but the campground was in good shape. There is still work to be done but it looks good. Still have plenty trees. The boardwalks are not there yet but the walk to the beach was easy. Now for the problem...Ida the hurricane! Yea, we had to leave a day early. The only reports of damage is the road is covered with sand. Up to 7 feet of it! There is a phone number to call (850-934-2656) that says the road should be open in late December 09. Can't wait to return! Oh, by the way, I don't rate any campground a 10 unless it has 50 amp, water, sewer, cable and working Wi-Fi. Again, GREAT place to visit!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$17
I didn't actually camp here but just wanted to give an update. The roads leading to the campground are being rebuilt and are expected to open in early April. For info on the park you can call (850) 677-1089. Press 1 for general info and I believe pressing 3 will give you info about the campground. As of right now you can only get to the CG from boat. From what we could see at the "Road Closed" signs there are not many trees at all still standing. Hurricane Ivan really messed up the surrounding Gulf Coast. I'm not sure if they will reopen the Fort. I had to give this CG a rating so I went with 5. I also had to put in a cost, not to sure if that's what it is or not?? I hope this helps. :-) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We camped here the last time before the hurricanes. It is a beautiful campground, if you like nature. It is not fancy, but has all the necessities. The only problem is, the campground is still not open for RVs. It is only open for hikers and boaters. I have been in touch with the NPS for a couple of years, and it looks like it may never open to RV's. So sad that the NPS would spend money alloted to rebuild this campground on "other" things. Feel free to visit the NPS website to learn more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
After several phone calls, found out the campground will be closed for the next two years due to hurricane damage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$20
We were probably some of the last people to camp here between the hurricanes of 2004. This was a beautiful park. I hope they will bring it back to its natural glory. There are 2 areas for camping-loop A which is closer to the beach and loops B-E. Loops B and D are tent only sites. There are 3 bathhouses all were showing their extreme age and needed updating, I guess they will get it now. All sites are paved and back-in. There are curbs to stop your rig from going in the grass. All sites have picnic tables and grills with a fire ring. 2 dump stations. Loop A is only open on weekends. Loop B-E is always open. Some sites have shade, some don't. No playground. There is a fort to explore that has a gift shop, and there are ranger led tours daily. Beach is within a short walk. Bay is a bit farther but can be walked to. Camp store has all the essentials as well as firewood. There are walking trails and bike trails. Junior Ranger program for kids. We will be back once it opens again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Very nice National Park. Fills up fast so reservations are recommended. Make sure you specify rig length and if you have a slide. Some sites are narrow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Great campground in a beautiful setting. Restrooms and showers were always clean. You could hear the ocean and smell the pines. Met many nice people there - you can't help but make new friends. The campground is in the unspoiled part of Santa Rosa Island - the real Florida. Worth a return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Would have been a 10 if sewer avail at sites. Great campground on the Gulf of Mexico. Perfect beaches with white sand. Lifeguards on duty. Shaded sites with nature trails for biking and walking. Camp store on site. Very large National Park in a fantastic location. Camp hosts friendly and helpful. Plenty to do in nearby Pensacola if you want to venture out. Great restaurants and the Naval Air Museum, mall, etc. Will return over and over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Located on the west end of Santa Rosa Island, south of Pensacola. Has paved parking pads, picnic tables, grills, water and electric hook-ups. Has grass, pine and oak trees. The Gulf of Mexico and Pensacola Bay are within walking distance from the campground. Has a very interesting fort with daily tours as well as nature trails and other tours available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
An excellent location for snowbirders in March and April. Bring your bike, watch the Blue Angels practice in April and enjoy the pure white beaches where your closest neighbor is 500 feet away from you. We will be back every year in April on the way home to New England. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Great place to experience the gulf coast beach, very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com