206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Pines Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 4 user reviews. Phone:
CGID7770

Whispering Pines Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$25?


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25?
I don't remember how much per night. I do know the sites, although very close together were pleasant, as were the camp owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
This campground is no longer in operation We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This review is pretty useless at this point, because the owners are retiring after this season, which is almost already over. The campground is quaint and rustic, the grounds very clean and the owners pleasant enough. The campground sits on a lake (Toddy Pond) and the owners have some small canoes and a rowboat that you can use for free (no oars for the rowboat, though, and only one canoe paddle). If you bring your own boat you will need a special sticker from the town of Orland ($20), and the fishing licenses are expensive for out-of-towners. The location is convenient, about 50 minutes from Bangor and Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park, only a few miles to Bucksport, and about 15 minutes from Fort Knox and the Penobscot Bridge Observatory. We rode our motorcycle up Coastal Route 1 from here for a nice day trip including Machias and the lighthouse at Lubec, with many more sites to see along the way. Detracting from the campground is its proximity to Route 1 and the constant drone of traffic, no WiFi or CATV if you care about such things, and worst of all only 20 amp service, meaning no running of air conditioners in RVs. Maybe that's not normally a big deal in Maine, but we happened to visit when the temperatures set records for heat, making for some very uncomfortable nights. Also, the owner commented about me walking around with an open bottle of beer, mumbling something about state laws. I didn't know state laws applied to private property. The owners sell firewood, but no other camping supplies at all. Not even ice, although I was offered a handful for free. We don't have kids going with us, so it's hard for us to judge, but there seems to be absolutely nothing for kids to do, so I would think this is not a family oriented campground. In fact, most of the campers were older couples. They do allow dogs, however, even though we were yelled at for our dogs barking during one of our daily excursions (in noisy campgrounds with closely spaced sites such as this one we normally leave all our windows closed with the AC running so our dogs are isolated, but again, only 20amp service. Our dogs don't bark unless provoked and we returned to find people on our site.) In all of the years camping with our dogs, this is the FIRST time we ever had a problem. Several days there was a pronounced sewer smell in our fresh water, even though we always run our water through 2 filters. And finally, they only accept cash or checks, if that matters to you. So, the location was pretty good, the price was reasonable, even without Internet or cable, BUT not being able to use our AC was a deal breaker for us. We would not return (if they were to still exist after this season) unless they made some MAJOR upgrades. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Nice owners but they charge extra for everything including electric. Loyal clientele We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com