224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Prairie Rose State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (712) 773-2701
CGID7795

Prairie Rose State Park

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   9   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
We were fortunate to get one of the west loop sites, with electricity and nice spacing between trailers. Quiet. The east loop sites on the lake are closer together, and the upper tier east loop sites with full hook-ups are closely spaced. The gravel sites are almost level. The lake has filed again with water. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Beautiful park with lawns, swim beach, electric at site, and only $16. We were here 6/10-12 and virtually no mosquitoes. Great after being eaten alive in MN. Nice fire pits with grills in good condition. Looks like all the sites are large and level. Verizon reception pretty good and 5 bars using a Wilson cradle amplifier. Mid-week seems OK to get sites but it looks like the weekends are booked. Nice shade trees and decent spacing between sites. Appears to be very well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
The $16 only reflects the daily rate, not the fee for the online reservation. The water level on the lake is coming up and everything is lush and green; the ambiance of this park is wonderful. The roads are paved, the pads are gravel. Drive carefully to avoid the many deer and oncoming traffic within the park. We’ve stayed in various sites over the years and always enjoy being at this park. Verizon was good; Sprint was roaming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$19
This is a clean and quiet campground about 8 miles north of I-80 between Des Moines and Council Bluffs. We got a "walk in" full hookup site. It is a nice alternative to the noisy I-80 RV places. It had a strong Verizon signal and we got about 15 local TV stations. We would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
The rate reflects a full service site discounted with a camping coupon. This is a beautiful state park with a nice lake and friendly staff. On this visit, we were in site 57. The back of the site was very soft and a prior tenant had left two deep holes (probably made with his jacks) that we managed to avoid. Other than that, we have no complaints. The birds were singing, the crappies were biting and we enjoyed our stay. There was a bulletin saying that the lake was scheduled to be drawn down after the July 4th weekend for maintenance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
Real nice place, even better because we were off season and the place was almost to ourselves. Birds were singing. If it falls within another trip we will stop here again. It is not far from Elk Horn and the Danish Settlement, the Danish Buffet is good, but not spectacular. Walnut has lots of antique shops and some murals on the buildings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
Great state park and camping location. Lake was in good shape, excellent paved roads in campground. Found sites to be very level as well (at least side-to-side). Only down-side is that shower-house and playground is located at one end of the campground (and of course we were at the other) - saw lots of Rangers and the staff was always friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
A very nice state campground! Some sites with full hookups and 50 amp electricity. The terraced hillside campsites provide wonderful views of the lake and the surrounding hills. Level, roomy sites with lots of space between each. We camped here midweek and it was very quiet with about half the spaces occupied. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
We camped here for two weeks in a full service site. If you make your reservation online the fee brings the nightly rate to almost $20. Going in without a reservation makes it easy to buy coupons which saves $3 per night. The roads are paved and the sites are crushed rock. Most of the sites have enough slope that it could make a larger rig difficult to level. The staff keeps the park well-maintained and makes sure the rules are followed. We have camped here several times and have always enjoyed our stay. It is almost always full on the weekends. We would like to see recycling offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
This campground has recently been enlarged and an all new electrical infrastructure was installed. Most sites have 50A service available, and a number of full hookup sites have been created (end of second level in main campground). The lake is a 'no wake' lake, mainly frequented by fishermen - no loud and obnoxious water power sports type activities. Sites can be reserved via the Iowa 'park reservation system' (https://eservices.iowa.gov/iowaparks/). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com