223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Sand Castle RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (360) 642-2174
CGID7830

Sand Castle RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   6   9   4   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
As mentioned in previous reviews, the owner is very pleasant and the sites with grass are very well maintained. He really made an attempt to keep the place as neat and clean as possible. That said, the sites are very close together and a good portion of them are seasonal RVers. Some of the seasonal RV rigs are not in great shape. Other campers walked through our site but I didn't see any alternative so I didn't let it bother me. There's not any great places to stay in Long Beach so this may be as good as it gets close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
This park owner is a hard worker: he is a one man show works 7 days a week and 24 hours a day. We found him quite pleasant, always wanted to make sure everything was good. We stayed a couple of nights, very quiet. Plus: nice thick grassy sites, clean bathrooms, close to town and the beach just a short walk. The most level campsite we have ever stayed in! Negatives: as much as we tried not to let it bug us, we didn't like the full time campers walking to and from, through our sites. There were a couple full time trailers here that needed some sprucing up. But times a tough, and it can be hard, but it does bring the appeal of the park down, especially when the owner keeps the grounds so well maintained. Owner has a big heart: gives back to his community and his pets. Thanks. Keep smiling!! If it is a quiet place with nice thick grass and located close to town and the beach that you want, than this is your spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
This park is close to town but it is very noisy. The long term guests here also are always walking through our site. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
This is a very clean park and reasonably quiet. The owner takes great pride in his beautifully manicured lawns. There is no need for mats because the grass is thick and lush. The bathrooms are always clean, as is the laundry room. This was our second stay here, and we would definitely come back again and again. We had plenty of room for our awning and two chairs the first time we stayed here. We didn't get them out this trip because of the weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Sand Castle RV Park is conveniently located to the beach and to downtown Long Beach. The west side of the park is bounded by the very busy and very noisy Pacific Highway. The east side of the park is much quieter as it is bounded by a residential street without much traffic. The park is small with extremely narrow grassy sites. You will be able to open your slides, but not necessarily your awing. You will intrude on your neighbor’s site each time you enter and exit your rig. The interior road is maneuverable, but can be dicey with all the tow vehicles parked in front of the rigs. The exterior road, which is the residential street on the east side of the park, is used to back into perimeter sites. It is narrow and made narrower by street parking. We found the owner/manager to be marginally cordial and overtly hostile whenever anything happens to compromise his grass. As we backed into our assigned site, a hydraulic hose gave way, which, of course, caused hydraulic fluid to spill onto the road in front of the site and on the grass. Don was incensed that the hydraulic fluid would ruin his grass as if we planned to have the hose give way just then. Absolutely no repair work is allowed in Sand Castle RV Park. Even though the tech who inspected the problem assured us he could contain the hydraulic fluid and avoid an EPA/HazMat issue, it is more important for Don to maintain his grass than it is for his customers to fix a problem and move on safely. Also, at Sand Castle RV Park, if you want to use the showers, bring quarters - 25 cents for ten minutes of water. In addition, do not allow your sewer hose to lie on the grass. You must have it resting on a sewer hose stand. Although, that seems to be an arbitrary rule since our neighbor was told to stow his hose until he got a stand, but others in the park did have their hoses lying on the grass. Pets are allowed; however, not with enthusiasm. Children are allowed; however, also not with enthusiasm. In retrospect, we should have realized that despite the "big rigs welcome" advertising, Don does not like big rigs in his park. He was openly fretting about allowing our 40', diesel-pusher, motorhome into his park even at the time we made the reservation. He much prefers lighter weight rigs so they won't ruin the grass he works so hard to maintain. We paid $47.36. One night at the Passport America rate of $14.25 and one night regular price of $28.50 + tax We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
I couldn't believe the extremely low prices for being right in the middle of Long Beach and walking distance to the ocean! And they don't charge extra for cable or WiFi! The WiFi worked well and the cable had lots of channels! On the down side, there are no discounts for AAA or Good Sam. The price I am showing is the price before local taxes. For anyone interested, they have very affordable monthly rates for winter time. Since it is off season, the hosts don't staff the office much, you have to knock on their RV door. Check in was quick after I found the right RV to knock on the door. I got great help backing into my nice grassy site. This park isn't fancy, but it's got all you need. There is a fish cleaning station. Laundry was cheap, $1 for wash and 75 cents for dry, an hour each. Laundry and showers were fairly clean, but there is a charge for showers. Also, for those still using dial-up, there is a modem station in the laundry, but it consists of a thick painted board sitting over a low placed unused sink (and that's the "desk"), with a surge protector and phone connection near it (shudder!!!). The current owners acquired it in November 2006. It appears that these owners are trying to reclaim the grass and make the grass fuller because all customers during my stay were "bunched together" to leave all unoccupied spots together. This is a great park for visiting Long Beach, but there are some "negatives" that should be mentioned. The sites are somewhat close together. Not close enough to say, "Pass the tartar sauce," but close enough that you may not have room for your awning (although slides are ok). Further, your back end will be about five feet from the back end of the next row (back to back hookups). When you leave your RV to go somewhere, you can't help but invade another RV's personal space as you have to walk between RV's. There are two sets of these "dual back to back" rows. Try to get the section in the rear of the park along Oregon Avenue so you don't get road noise. The front section borders the main drag through Long Beach (Highway 101). Lastly, if you have a tow car, it appears that the tow car SHOULD be parked crosswise in front of your RV in the gravel section. Some people still angle parked. Parking this way leaves less room for incoming and outgoing RV's. If you are in the front "dual" section, and the front row of that section, it looks pretty dicey as to how you will hook your tow car back up if the park is extremely busy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
Campsite is under new ownership, and the new owners are very friendly and interestied in building a business in this heavy market. Good location within a short walk to town. Grassy sites and gravel roads. We stayed a second day. Would go back. Rate is Passoort America We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
This is a well kept park with friendly management and grass sites. It is located near town and within walking or biking distance of restaurants and shops. There is about a half-mile walk to the beach where you will find over 20 miles of sand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com