223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Sara's Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (814) 833-4560
CGID7856

Sara's Campground

Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   8   8   6   5   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Rate was for Passport Amer. Restricted days apply. Wifi is free with coupon (Tengonet). It had low bandwith but it was functional. There seems to be only a few sites for the temporary campers. Maybe 20 or so. Of course the beach is available, but I'm referring to the sites across the street from the beach The main office is across the street a long with the bath house. It's fairly inconvenient but not a deal breaker. Our site (#48) was on a level concrete pad. Electric service was on a shared pedestal. Water & sewer at this site. It's a short walk to the beach and bike path into the State Park. The two restaurants next door are great. I can imagine this place is very busy during the summer with the beach & amusement park in full swing! I doubt I will return but it wasn't because of a bad experience. It was just a bit too crowded even though it was May 1st and cold. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This park is okay but I would not recommend it to anyone. The Wi-Fi is free for only 2 days and it is slow to none. If there was a fire here, all the campers would burn, that's how close they are placed. The side that is lake view, would never be available for over nighters as it is full of homesteaders. The sites are cleaned each time a camper leaves so that is about all I can say to the good side. My 30 dollar rate is based on one week rent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
We used Passport America. We brought our dogs, and had we known we could have taken the camper over to the lake without the dogs, we would have kenneled them. We stayed on the other side of the road. There was a stream in back of our camper and the kids loved playing in it. The campground was clean and basically empty. This was the last weekend the campground was open for the season, so there were some seasonals shutting down their campers. Pay showers but nice. Great access to Presque Isle walking paths and access to the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
An old park that has been in the family for 50 to 60 years. Mostly seasonal and I'm told there is a five year waiting list. We camped on the Lake Erie side where they allow tent camping right on the beach and RV's in the lane-way along the beach. Because it was off season it was very quiet and we had a lot of space around us. We enjoyed the view and would come back again but only in the off season because we could see that the place is a zoo in the high season. The amusement park next door is also closed in the off season so we didn't have to deal with the noise from that. Maybe a great spot for families and young people in the summer but not for us sixty year old types. They gave us free WiFi because we stayed two nights. Washrooms were old but clean and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Heed the warning on where the park is located. It's directly on your right, right after you come down the hill on Hwy 832. We missed it and had to do the loop. The staff is very friendly and helpful, but the camp is old and tired. The electrical hook-up was so far away that I needed an extension cord. It was provided by the park guy. Water was just 25' and my single hose did the job. It's just an overnight sort of a place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This was an overnight stop for us and we wouldn't consider it for more than that. Signage is hard to find and decipher! There are two campgrounds across the highway from each other but the office is on the beach side. NO pets are allowed on the beach side so we were in the land side campground. Mostly permanent sites with many very old rigs that have been added onto with a variety of lean-to designs and there seems to be no rhyme or reason to the layout of the campground! Very messy and dump like quality to the whole scene! We had a concrete pad (one of about six available) surrounded on all sides by mud. The power connection is set in the middle of several sites and you have to find a place to connect. The cable TV was not available in most sites as they installer didn't finish the job, or so we were told. We had to unhitch our truck as there was no room to remain hooked up for overnight. We had to drive back across the road to register at the office anyway though. The office people were friendly but their campground leaves a lot to be desired. With the amusement part, water park and beach all next door, this is probably "party city" in the summer time. The rate we paid was discounted for our "Passport America" membership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This was an interesting campground. First, beware the driving instructions and your GPS. The address for the office requires a left turn off Rt 832; this will take you to a dead end gate at the office. The actual campground is on the right side, marked by a small sign. You park and cross the street to the office, or find a place and then register. We were lucky that a staff member was nearby and he directed us to a level, concrete pad. Four sites share a power pole; 3 plugs are 30A, only one is 50A, so whoever gets there first gets the 50A. The sites are located in a treed area and satellite reception is nil, but the free cable TV was very good. There is no WiFi, but Aircard and Verizon cell were adequate. The place is a crazy-quilt of pads, sand spaces for tents, dumpsters, and lots of permanent units. It was OK for a mid-September stay, but would be like a giant tailgate party during the summer. (The staff member said that they had over 200 tents on the beach over Labor Day). We stayed here because of the Passport America rate, but would not consider staying here for the full price, especially during the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
This campground is at the opening to a beautiful state park. I would review it much higher if it weren't so crowded. Sites are very small and tight. The best sites are seasonal regular campers. Our site and several of the other visiting sites are right behind restaurant dumpsters. The stench in the summer was hard to take, so we didn't spend any time outside of our home away from home. A lot of traffic in and out of the campground. Great bike baths once out of the campground though. Close to many amenities. I guess if you are looking for a secluded quiet destination this is not for you. However, if you like to be in the middle of everything then this place is perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Nice campground situated at the entrance of Presque Island, Lake Erie. Connects directly into a wonderful bike trail & bay. Across the street (busy main street) is the beach side. No swimming pool, very crowded, limited things for children to do, but very close to the wonderful State Park. Close to amusement park, restaurants, shopping, beach access. Great sunsets over the lake!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com