223371 User submitted reviews online!!
Sandollar Resort Motel and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (361) 729-2381
CGID7861

Sandollar Resort Motel and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   4   4   8   8   10   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Have stayed here before in motel room...first time in RV. Site was one of the unpaved ones, which was not very level, but worked OK. Also VERY tight on departure...only had about 2" on each side of TT to tree on each side of TT...scary but survived. Office staff very nice, pool good, fish bait stand and private pier excellent (but no fish for us, grounds well kept, all main connections good...didn't use Wi-Fi. Will surely stay again but would opt for one of the sites with concrete pads and bit more room on sides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
We stayed here for the month of February and liked the park just fine. The only thing that was very frustrating was there was no Verizon cell coverage anywhere in the park. The internet service was spotty, but workable. There are two sides to this park, one that is paved with grass sites and larger sites to accommodate the big rigs and the side with big beautiful oak trees and sand, which were nice, but when it rained we had about 5 inches of water surrounding our trailer. It didn't take very long for it to drain, just a minor inconvenience. Spaces are pretty close to one another, but we had nice neighbors, so that was no problem. This is a very quiet park and very pet friendly, and all the dog owners were very good about picking up after their pets. The winter Texans are very welcoming and friendly. Very nice to walk down to the observation deck and look out at the ocean. Bathrooms and laundry rooms very clean. Their pier is in need of work, and their handyman was always busy, but never too busy to say hello and make conversation. The office girls were extremely helpful and nice. We will be back next year and will stay here again. Would most likely recommend to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$4
Swimming pool very clean & refreshing. Bathrooms clean. One maintenance man is overworked & probably underpaid for what he tries to help RVers with. Electricity at some sites not drawing full watts as evidenced by breakers kicking off. Staff not very friendly & don't expect them to take care of any problems with the rv site in a timely & efficient manner. If its after 5pm, then don't expect much in the way of a professional repairman. Park is old but centrally located with easy access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Rate based on monthly rate. This campground might have been nice a long time ago but has been let run down. Many permanent trashy trailers. Sights without pads are a sandy mess. The lone kid groundskeeper used a weed eater to put a hole in my sewer drain hose. The dock is in bad repair. Poor Verizon reception. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$34
Very nice, friendly park with beautiful shade trees. The sights vary a lot in accessibility and size but the staff was accommodating and even let us combine two small sites to allow us to stay. It is popular year round with a convenient location in town and across the Fulton Beach Road from the Bay and their private fishing pier. No Verizon cell signal unless you walk up to the road at the park entrance and Wi-Fi is extra with an outside provider at $8.99 a week 3.99 a day but very fast. The laundry was average, the bathrooms were clean but in need of some fresh paint with small stalls and showers. The live oaks provide a shady wooded sight that appeals to me but there were some tight turns and overhanging branches to deal with. Overall I felt it was an excellent location and one of the best if not the best in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
I have stayed here numerous times. It is the most shaded RV park in Rockport. However, many of the trees will drip sap on your trailer and truck in late Spring. Their bathrooms are mediocre. When it rains, you can get a lot of sand in your RV because your are camping in sand basically. However, it is a great location on Aransas Bay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. I have stayed there as much as a week at a time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Great park walking distance to the bay. Lots of shade trees. Near stores. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
Monthly space rent is for 28 days, not month to month. I found this odd. 3 huge speed bumps and tree branches still need trimming. Some concrete pads and some grass. Shower room wasn't heated very well. Dryers were not working due to a power problem conflicting with the Wi-Fi antenna. Space rent is about normal for the area. The shore isn't far. Mosquitoes were bad and the county does spray. Boat parking available. Great grounds crew. Clean rec room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
I raised my ratings from a year ago. They tore down the old clubroom and it looks much better. It is a great older park in a prime location. Great pier. Previous reviewer stating Rockport is a police state is totally wrong. I can drink with the best of them but I don't drive or miss-behave. The people and the police in Rockport are very friendly. As always in Rockport watch out for low hanging oak trees if you have a really high profile RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Nice place but police are out of control. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
This campground has a wonderful location..especially if you like taking walks along the ocean, or if you like biking to and around town. Most spots are quite big and most are shaded. About 1/3 of the sites are clean with concrete pads and roads. The other 2/3 tend to be dusty because the roads and sites are gravel/fine sand. The washrooms and laundry facilites need updating but work for the most part. The park is somewhat 'older' and if you are a stickler for cleanliness and upkeep, then this is probably not a park for you. Sites close to the #35 have a fair bit of highway noise. The Wifi (just over $32/mo) worked well as did the cable. We checked out many of the other parks in the area but would end up staying here again, even with the park's shortcomings, because of its location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
Enjoyed our stay. Check-in was pleasant and friendly. Liked the trees on the park. Swimming pools were clean. Places to sit and look out into the bay. Easy access to local attractions. Laundry room was clean. The only reason we gave an eight on the park rating was due to our campsite was a little too close to the other sites. Not all of the sites are like that however. They have some more premium sites so you may want to ask. Overall, though it was a very good stay, and we have been back since. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$26
We loved this park. It has great roomy sites, paved and grassy, with lots of huge old live oaks and shade trees. Cable worked well, beautiful view of bay from park and dock across the street from the rear entrance. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The facilities do need updating, but given the fantastic sites this was not an issue. Many Winter Texans here. We paid $4 a day for WIFI. We will return and are considering making this one of our destination parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Well laid out older park. Level gravel sites that are just a little tight if they well full. Pier across the street with a bait stand. Food at nearby Alice Faye's was really fresh. Honestly this place would have received a 10, however, it is in need of some updating and repairs at its meeting facilities. Anything you could want shopping wise is nearby, Walmart, Walgreens, etc. We will definitely stay here again. One note is if you have a big tall rig there are many oak trees in the park that you will need to be careful of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com