214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Clyde Holliday State Recreation Site was rated 9 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (541) 932-4453
CGID7878

Clyde Holliday State Recreation Site

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   8   9   8   7   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Returning from Glacier Park and spent a day and night in this beautiful state park. We arrived on a weekday around 3:00 PM, and not two hours later all the spots were full. Lush green setting with many trees and a great deal of space between sites. Plenty of room for a 40'+ rig with 50 amp plug-in. Reservations would certainly be a plus, as once this park fills there is little else available in this remote area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
What a nice, well kept quiet park. The spots that back to the highway probably weren't that quiet, but there are plenty away from the highway. There are trees & lots of nice grass. This is a great spot if you want to visit the fossil beds,& painted hills. There is a day park next to it, if you want to have running room for your kids in the daytime. We would definitely go back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Located approximately five miles west of the town of John Day on US-26 / US-395 this gem of a park offers a lush oasis in the barren high desert country. The shaded sites are huge, with many offering at least 100’ of spacing from your neighbors. Road noise is not a problem due to the thick shield of vegetation separating the campground from the highway. Not surprisingly, no over the air TV is available, and because of the tree cover, obtaining a satellite signal might be difficult from many of the sites. However, a 4-bar Verizon signal is present here. I highly recommend this first come, first served facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Clean wooded park. North side of camping loop has noise from Hiway 26. Paved sites, ample grassy areas around sites; some sites have more privacy from bushes and trees than others. Good phone and personal wifi (Verizon) coverage. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
This is a beautiful campground nestled beneath many trees and near a river. The interior roads and RV pads are paved and the sites are grassy and surrounded by bushes that make it feel very private. The camp hosts were very friendly and helpful. This campground is close to John Day Fossil Beds National Monument which is a must see. Another must see, which is close by in John Day, is the Kam Wah Chung State Heritage Site. This was going to just be a stop over on our way to Boise and we ended up loving the park. This is a first come first serve campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
Another great Oregon state park. Small and doesn't take reservations, but large, private sites in a very quiet setting. Clean bathrooms and showers. No cable, but able to get good satellite reception. Good base camp for exploring this part of Oregon. One of my favorite places to stay, so will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Very nice state park. Clean and nice big sites. No reservations though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
We actually stayed here by accident. We were trying to stay at the fairgrounds a few miles up the road, but it had been taken over as a fire camp for fire fighters. This is an awesome state park. The biggest flaw was the angle of the sites to the road. The sites are at a 90 degree angle to the road. Since the road is not very wide, making the turn into the sites can be a bit challenging for longer rigs. I have a 35' motorhome and had to pull back and forth to get into the site. But once you are in, it is way worth it. The pads are all paved, and many are quite long. There are no patio's but the sites are surrounded with lots of grass. There is no sewer at the sites, but there is a dump station. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This small park is a jewel. You can't reserve a site here, but the gamble pays off big time. Friendly park host and rangers. Lots of adult trees, grass, and space between sites. Sites are large and navigable. We loved it here. Oregon State Parks can be proud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
You will need to stay at this park if you travel us 26. Shaded camp sites and nice and private. Well maintained and lots of hot water for showering. Large day use park for get togethers. We use this park when going to the Oregon Coast. Their are a lot of mosquitoes so bring your bug spray. You will like this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This was one of our favorite parks in all of Oregon. Found it by accident after deciding not to stay at the John Day Fairgrounds which had loud motorcycle gathering. This is a great park. Huge grassy spaces, very far apart with lush green grass and landscape. We felt like we were on someone's private property. Well maintained and spaces were long enough for bigger rigs.Walkway next to the river. We were next to the river and did not have any bug problems to speak of. Really loved this park and if we are in the area again would stay a week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This is an outstanding campground. Large, wide, level and paved sites. Lots of space between sites with grass. Some highway noise. No Wi-Fi, 2 antenna TV channels. Our Verizon phone and broadband worked perfectly. Water and electricity for $22/night. The John Day river is right behind the campground, but there are no sites that are immediately adjacent to it. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
We have stayed in many of the Oregon State Parks, first time for this one. We were not disappointed at all. Very large sites and quite private. We had site #7, backed up to the John Day River. Close to town for fuel and groceries plus fairly close to John Day Fossil Beds. Only negative was highway noise occasionally, not a real busy road. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This is another beautiful Oregon State Park. The sites are large with many trees and shrubs. The parking pads are asphalt, large and level and the electric and water hookups well located. The bathrooms and showers are very clean. There is a hiking trail along a small river. This park is 1st come, 1st serve for campsites but they have a couple of Tee Pees that can be reserved. You pick a campsite then self register. This park was being cared for by a hard working camp host couple as the rangers were spending most of their time opening a new state park nearby. The camp hosts were friendly and were doing a great job. The only negative we found is that the park is located near the road and there is traffic noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Pretty park with big trees and stream. Right on highway but not too much traffic noise. Would recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Rated a 10 as a campground, it is not a RV Park. The sites have electric and water, sewer is at the dump station, none the less this is a beautiful spot. Lots of grass, long back in sites (asphalt) with table and fire ring. Older facilities, but the toilets and showers were clean and well maintained. It is nice to have grass instead of dirt at a campground. There is a nice path with a couple of different loops along the river. A great place to stay and see the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
This is a beautiful park. Green grass nice big sites, not too close together. The only problem is that it is right on the highway and the there is lots of traffic on the road. It is worthy of an overnight stay if you don't mind the noise from the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
This is a great place. Lots of shade and green grass. We stayed for four days and used it as a base camp for exploring the area. Great sites, large, private, and well-kept. The showers are basic but get the job done. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Great/convenient stop over point traveling through Eastern Oregon on US26. $17 is the normal rate. Our fee was $0.00 based upon Oregon State Park "Ten Free Nights" for disable vets and active duty military. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$13
Another great Oregon State Park, beautiful park, with large spaces, super John Day river walk, and friendly personnel. Who could ask for more? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Great shady sites with plenty of space around them. Only 31 RV sites (1 pull thru) which are good, spacious and paved. The rest are tent sites. Good access to John Day and to the Fossil beds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
Extremely clean Oregon State Park with great hosts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com