218680 User submitted reviews online!!
Richardson Grove Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (707) 247-3380
CGID7899

Richardson Grove Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   1   5   6   8   10   6   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
I LOVED this park! It is a tight squeeze getting in, with a big rig. We have a 36 ft 5th wheel, and our friends have a 40 ft 5th wheel. The big beautiful red woods are amazing! You can't beat the atmosphere! Bear country! Clean restrooms. I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
The staff at this park was very friendly and helpful. They actually called and told us to get groceries(including directions for the store) before coming to the area as there is not much around. The sites were level and had good hook up location. AT & T will not work in this area, however we did hear that Verizon will work. The park is older and if you have slideouts you may want to look at your site before pulling in, but we had no issues with 4 slides. The rate is PA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2014
$16
Rate based on Passport America. Poorly maintained park. Bathrooms in bad shape. Could not use the ladies room after a gentleman had showered as it backed up in the ladies room through the floor (?). Would not go back and cannot recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
Rustic place and permanents, Wi-Fi non existent, and office closed. Price was PA rate. Would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
Rate quoted is PA. Good 30 amp power. Wi-Fi is available at the store. Level gravel sites. No over the air TV. Fair Verizon phone. Verizon 1x data. Close to Avenue of the Giants through Humboldt Redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
We camped @Madrone Campground (the other two are Huckleberry and Oak Flat). Our site (#71) was definitely not level, but nicely secluded from the other sites. We loved camping amongst the redwoods, but the "8" rating is due to the noise level from Highway 101 right next to our site. No bugs, but bicycling to Oak Flat, I noticed them right away due to its proximity to the Eel River. The nightly rate includes the $8 reservation fee via ReserveAmerica. P.S. The in and out direction signs can be confusing; we approached our site following the directions, but the site was configured backwards! We noticed some other sites were like that as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Maybe excellent isn't the correct rating but we loved it here, very peaceful, nice host and hostess. Grass, picnic table, play area for the kids, gravel roads. I guess it just felt good!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
This is a decent place to stay for the Passport America rate, but the park is just pretty worn out. The hookups were OK (no 50 amp), but watch for spiders. The roads are in disrepair and the restrooms/showers need more attention. Our site had great shade and was close to the restrooms/laundry area. The space for trailers is gravel and the area around the campsite has lots of overgrowth. Take a walk across the road to see the Grandfather redwood (free) and the house made from one log ($1). We would stay overnight only again for the PA rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$17
Rate shown Passport America discount. Site was a not very level gravel drive-through with a picnic table. Some of the tables and electric posts were in need of some maintenance. No cable TV or off the air. Our site looked satellite friendly. Wi-Fi would not connect. This park has propane which made it handy to fill up the tank prior to taking a campsite. Still, after hearing an unexplained loud explosion that night and lack of Wi-Fi we probably will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
Price quoted is PA. No over the air TV. Poor Verizon Data and Phone service. Convenient to Avenue of the Giants (about 20 mi away). Level gravel sites. Free Wi-Fi is at check in building. Walk to Redwood gift shops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
An older park that could use some TLC. We and two other big rigs were parked in pull through sites not in the shade that others were talking about. Easy check-in, Passport America Park, $16.50. Good for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
This is an older RV Park with an old playground. Walking through the park is beautiful because it's in a forest. It's a no frills park and the hosts are lovely. We were in a pull through at the front of the park but the back in sites along the fence are spacious, quiet, and very shady. Would have preferred one of those sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
This is an older campground generally well kept. Found our pull through space to be quite adequate for an over night stay. Park was clean, neat, and tidy. Our $16.00 Passport America rate makes it a good value for the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
This is a very nice looking Park with friendly and courteous owners/managers. Everything is clean and neat and well kept up. I did laundry and the laundry room was excellent. Large deep machines. I would give this Park a ten except we could not get any Cell Phone Service (first time in the US) and the Wi-Fi was not available in our unit. Only in the Office. IF they had decent Wi-Fi at every site and could get Cell Phone Service this Park would definitely rate a 10/10. This is a Passport America Campground and we stayed there for $16.50/night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
It's a nice park with plenty of trees. The site was almost level; basic hookups were there, but the WI-FI didn't work even though I was told it would but would be slow. The washrooms are nicely painted but dated. The shower cabinet is small (I'm not that big a guy) and the space to put on your clothes is limited. On the upside: no coins needed! If the long term renters wouldn't have been there it would have felt like on a state park with hookups. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Our family of 9 enjoyed this park. The staff was very kind toward us, and made us feel like family. Dirt pull-through site, WiFi was good for email, not fast. Close and convenient to redwood stuff, the grandfather tree is across the highway. We'd stay again; it was like a nice state park with full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
This is a lovely area in the redwoods. The campground is an older one with lots of small spaces. We were able to fit our motor home in our space, but had to disconnect our car. The restrooms were basic but clean. It was quiet and people were friendly. Nice for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
The man in the office was friendly at check in. I was assigned a dirt pull through which was ok for one night. There are lots of blackberry bushes near the sites and since the berries are just getting ripe, there were plenty to be found. My Verizon WiFi card didn't work very well and neither did my cell phone. It was easy to get in and out in a large rig and I would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This is an older RV park with very basic facilities and no WiFi. The water and electric sites are under mature trees in deep shade, the pull through sites are in the open. The water and electric sites have campground quality driveways and the services are located at the end of each driveway so you may have trouble reaching depending where you want to position your RV. The washroom buildings look like pit toilets, but they are actually nicely painted inside, have a regular toilet and have hot and cold water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
Staff was nice. Park was nice in the area we were in. Looked like there were quite a few full time RV's in the park. Quiet. Owned by the Assemblies of God Church. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
We stayed here to visit Humbolt Redwoods State Park and paid the Passport America rate. There are 9 large pull-through sites (#65 through #73) with water, sewer, and 30 amp that all short-term visitors were assigned. This campground is a good location for visiting Humbolt Redwoods and, at the Passport America rate, is a good value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
Rate is the FHU, pull through daily rate with Passport America discount. Have a separate area for pull through sites with good satellite reception, though they are closer to Hwy 101. Sites are gravel and level. Very pleasant check-in where they seemed genuinely concerned that you get what you want. (We later learned this is a church camp that also caters to the general public.) One negative is that the dump station is on the road you use when exiting the pull-through area, and if someone were dumping your exit could be temporarily blocked. All in all, this was a nice place to spend the night and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$17
The rate is for Passport America. I would never pay full price ($34) to stay at this park. We heard a lot of traffic noise from where we were parked and, although they advertise wi-fi, there is really no wi-fi. You have to go in and ask the lady at the desk to "turn it on." They don't leave it on because they say "people abuse it." Apparently people try to watch TV on it (there is no cable here!) so they sit there and monitor it and if they see someone spike the usage, they turn it off. STRANGE! We only stayed for one night because I was bored. We enjoyed the Avenue of the Giants, but that's about all there is there, so after that (and having no cable and really no internet) we moved on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
The setting was nice for dropping down to the Fort Bragg area. We spent little time at our site, but it was large and had the basics. The man who checked us in was very helpful. We used camp club so the price was good. Fine stopping place to explore the redwoods area, Fort Bragg and Mendocino. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This is a fine place for short stays. The site was easy and adequate, although not all that large. Cable TV would have been nice, but not offered. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location for visiting Richardson Grove State Park and surrounding area. We had the Good Sams discount. Bathrooms were older but very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
A great park in the redwoods, easy to find, easy to drive through. Has clean grounds and a very friendly staff. Great area for large get togethers as they have a large kitchen and dining hall, service hall, etc. Our site was big and level with lots of room for our slide. Great price and they let us have a late check out since we were attending a local event. Dog and motorcycle friendly. Hwy 101 is right outside the camp so you have a little (very little) road noise but it is quiet at night. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
We spent one night as Passport America guests, and found this to be a good overnight stop. The shower facilities were clean and water hot. We used a satellite for TV and the sites were long pull-through's (up front), so we wouldn't even have had to unhook had we not done some sightseeing in the area. Limited road noise and some permanent campers. We would overnight here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$13
Rate given is with Passport America discount. Our site was #14 and fairly level; better than some others we have had here in the past. Several power bumps caused us some concern. We switched the fridge over to propane just in case. The laundry did a good job on our clothes, but someone could have cleaned up the floor and the dryer vents. There are lots of trees in the park. The WIFI okay for email, but don't try to download anything or you might get cut off. The park has cheaper propane than the gas stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
This park is old and run down. We had a trashy old trailer next to us that no one was in. For the price with our Passport America discount it was OK, but we wouldn't recommend more then an over night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$12
Campground surrounded by mature trees. Our site was not level. No off air TV reception at all. WIFI worked okay, but as the internet service provider is connected to satellite, video and audio streaming is discouraged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$13
This park is run by a church. The full hookup pull-throughs in front are pretty close together, but they are long, with a sewer connection at both the middle and rear. Most of the park looks like a real campground with huge trees, but most of the sites back there have no hookups. According to the park map, there are 31 full hookup sites, 12 water/electric sites, and 46 dry sites, if I counted correctly. The free WiFi is fast, with a strong signal, at least at the pull-through sites in front. We heard very little road noise. I heartily recommend this park, especially at the $12.50 Passport America rate for full hookup sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com