223450 User submitted reviews online!!
Warren Dunes State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (269) 426-4013
CGID7918

Warren Dunes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   5   7   9   9   7   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
I was happy that we decided to take a chance on this park after the previous reviews. We camped on a weeknight near the end of June and found the park to be about two-thirds full; it did not feel overly crowded. Our site was long enough that we did not need to unhook our 35 foot 5th wheel. It was a great place to break up our cross country drive. The kids loved playing on the sand dunes and swimming in the lake. The bathrooms were modern and clean. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Quoted camp site rates do not include additional daily park entry fees, motorhome daily fees and extra charge for towed vehicle. My "Grassy' camp site either a dust bowl or mud puddle depending on weather. Showers and toilets dirty, plugged shower drains. Infested with kids. A leafy, over-priced slum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
This is a beautiful park when it is not busy. Holidays are a nightmare because it is so crowded and noisy.The best times to stay are off season as they are unable to keep up the bathrooms when it gets busy. The cabins are nice but also do not recommend when the park is busy. The area itself is beautiful and the beach is awesome. Try to avoid the holidays as it becomes a "sardine can". We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a must stop park if you are traveling on I-94 or even I-80/90 and you have a day or two. From an RV perspective, it's a nice, basic state park with the advantage of 30 & 50 Amp service. No water or sewer, but they do have a good dump station. The real attractions are the sand dunes and the beach on Lake Michigan. It's very nice and unique. And each site has these industrial strength fire pits for some nice campfires. I was fortunate as the park was probably only at 20% occupancy, so I felt like I had the place to myself. I had my pick of sites, and choose a very easy drive through site. It is a little close to I-94, and at night you can hear the trucks off in the distance. The staff were very nice and helpful, but they were definitely all business. The no alcohol signs were everywhere and you could just tell, it was not a place you wanted to be drinking from a open container. Definitely a solo cup environment. But if you want to spend the day hiking the southern shores of Lake Michigan, this is well worth the stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Great location if you want to spend the day on the beach. Dunes access is within the park, about 2-3 miles by car. There are walking trails available, but we did not take them. Sites are narrow but wide. We previously owned a pop-up and booked when that was the equipment we had. By the time our weekend came, we had purchased a 25 ft travel trailer. The park has about 4 sites that are they do not reserve on line. We were able to switch our site and obtained a pull through. Site 92...perfect for new travel trailer owners. Simple in and out. Typical state park..not much grass, our site was very level. The people were very nice and helpful. We will be back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
One of my favorite places to camp. You cant beat the dunes and lake Michigan. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
While the campground is nice, some spots are very small, others are a nice size. The beach is very nice. The Bathrooms could of been cleaner, and stocked better. My husband went to use the bathroom, and only one stall had toilet paper. Now this campground, like all the campgrounds on the west side of state is alcohol free. You see signs coming into campground, and it is stamp on your pass. I MUST WARN you if you do bring ANYTHING in be very careful. We pick up my son and his girlfriend from the train station in Indiana, and did stop to pick up a case of beer (cheaper there, no deposit). We got back to the site, it was dark out, and we had the case of beer in the trun. The trunk was open less than 5 minutes, DNR drove by saw it. They stopped, made them empty every can, plus they found a few in the cooler (emptied those too). The guys had also just open there first beer, which were in coolies on table. The DNR found those. Both guys got a ticket for $160 each! And were told they could kick us out of the park (which they didn't). None of us were loud, drunk (they hadn't even had a first beer yet). We met others in campground that said they had alcohol, and we warn them to be careful. We are all adults age 24-54, and we just like to enjoy a drink or 2 at night. We chose this campground because my son and girlfriend live in Chicago, and they could take a train to meet us. I don't know why at some of the state parks you can't have alcohol at your site. The bathrooms could of been cleaner too. There are no camp hosts. Some sites are very close and narrow (not deep). We would go back again, but chose our site more carefully, and back our car in (instead of having the trunk facing the road). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
We camped here for 4 nights with family in 2 adjoining sites. The campsites were shallow but wide and ours were shady. There were only a few other campers in the park this early in the year. The dunes are great for hiking and for children playing on. The beach must be hiked to as the road is closed due to a bridge being washed out last fall. The restrooms were not as clean as I would have expected for as few campers as there were, and did not seem to be maintained well. One toilet would not flush as was that way for several days. The showers looked nice, but all except one had cold water. If you knew which one to get you could get a hot shower, but the others were cold. The shower floor drains did not drain well, and water ran out into the dressing area. The one night, there was a half an inch of water in the area I was standing in to dress. Also, with all of the sand, they needed to be cleaned more than just in the morning. Maybe they were not geared up yet with staff, but if the park has these kinds of troubles with a handful of campers, what will it be like in the summer? I would only come again if the family really wanted to spend time at the dunes. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
Sites were small and close together or else this park would have gotten a higher rating. The beach is one of the best on a lake. The dunes make for fun hiking and are quick to wear kids out (means they sleep well at night! Nearby towns offer many things that you might have forgotten. Be sure to check out St. Joe, as it has some good beaches and a great little downtown shopping area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
This is a nice state park. Our kids loved climbing and exploring the sand dunes. The bathrooms were ok, and the individual shower rooms were nice. The commute to Chicago was reasonable. We enjoyed our stay. The only negative was the daily motor vehicle permit fee which was in addition to the camping fee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Loved camping here for the beach, a beautiful beach in Michigan, not too far from Chicago. We stayed in #36 with extended family in two adjacent spots. #38 was an awesome site, very private with trees. It was a bit loud at night with many college kids (didn't seem to be too much ranger interaction there.) The bathrooms were not the best...very muddy due to the sand but I don't think the appropriate steps were taken to keep it clean. Would I stay here again, yes but just for the beach..the campground was just ok. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Besides the rather steep fee for electric only, no water or sewer, they get you for $8.00/day vehicle permit. Nothing special about the campground. One loop is generally open, which makes it warmer in winter. The other loop is shaded, to make it nicer in summer. The shaded loop has larger spots for bigger rigs. You are still a mile from the beach in either loop. Campground was practically empty when we were there mid-May. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Did not like this campground at all. It was very dusty, dirty and kids roaming at all hours of the night. There was no host for the campground which always makes me a little uncomfortable. The bathrooms left a lot to be desired. The dunes were really nice, and we may visit them again but would find a different campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
The only thing good about the Warren Dunes Campground is the location in Warren Dunes State Park. We had to pay a daily entrance fee on top of the camping fee so it ended up costing and extra $23 on top of the $25/day fee. The roads are dirt, not paved and full of large potholes. The sites are small, sandy dirt or gravel some had grass. If I had a trailer larger than 22 feet I would not plan to stay here, too difficult to navigate. Our site was infested with poison Ivy... There was a site by the bathroom that appeared to have nests of hornets in the ground, several of them. We had a good location near the only bathroom/shower house in the loop, and there are not enough facilities for the size of the campground. You always had to wait in line for the very dirty showers. I expected everything to be sandy because of the dunes but this was not just sand, it was dirty and they didn't clean them nearly enough. We arrived on Saturday and stayed till Monday; I was awaken about 4am Monday morning to the sound of trucks from nearby I-94, Monday morning rush hour...I didn't hear it at all the first night so it must be a weekday phenomenon. It's a very smoky campground, it was mostly tenters and there wasn't a breeze so the smoke stayed in the campground. The benefit of this place is the dunes/beach located in the park, it was fabulous. Nice beach, fun to swim in Lake Michigan. Nice shop/concessions, and the kids loved to hike to the top of the dune. But I truly felt the campground left a lot to be desired. If I returned it would simply be day use of the Dunes/Beach. The location is convenient to the Chicago area tho; only took about 1 1/2 hours to get there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Very crowded on weekends, mostly tents. The tents had fires all night which made the place very smoky and smelly. The campground is very close to the beach, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com