218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Border Inn RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (775) 234-7300
CGID7938

Border Inn RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   7   7   6   4   8   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
Good for an overnight stay but not much else. The RV park is a large open, flat gravel area; a few trees and little shade. There are full hook ups and the adjoining restaurant is OK. The bathrooms are strange: there is only one toilet per men's and women's and neither have a door on it. You basically have to lock the entire bathroom, which includes the showers, for privacy. While we were there it was very windy. The staff was helpful and friendly. We were traveling west from the Town of Delta, NV and this the first and only place to get gas for 83 miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Great stop over for the Lehman cave. Nice arcade for the kid in all of us. Casino, store, and a really good reasonably priced full service restaurant rates this at least a 7 or 8. The cheap daily rate and the friendly staff bump it up to at least a 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
We stayed here about 5.5 years ago for one night on our way across the "Loneliest Road in America", US HWY 50. It is very near Great Basin National Park, and appears to have been redone. Each site has full hookups, including a heated water spigot. Plus there is very, very good Wi-Fi that I am using to post this interview. No passwords....just click and connect. The staff is friendly and efficient. There is a full service restaurant, small mini-market, fuel, and slot machines. It is a great overnight spot, and the pull through sites are quite long....we fit our 62' length in quite easily. There is no pavement....just gravel. There are a few small trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Nightly rate includes tax. A very simple RV Park right on the Nevada Utah border. Café offers simple diner fare, houses the casino, store, and bar, and has a shelf of used books for sale. The park is clean and appears to be well-maintained. Good for an overnight or for a few days to explore the area. It was an easy drive to Great Basin National Park visitor center in Baker. We truly enjoyed our late afternoon drive through the park enjoying the fall colors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Convenient campground to visit the Great Basin National Park. The park is about 13 miles from the campground. This campground is just a basic place to park, it offers pull-throughs with full hookup on gravel and no shade. There is a store, gas station and restaurant on site. Good for a few days to stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This park is a bare gravel parking lot with hook ups. However, if you want to visit Great Basin National Park, it's about your only option if you like electric. Park WiFi works slowly, but adequate, which is good, since no AT&T or Verizon signal. Store/restaurant/casino smoky, and not very inviting, didn't eat there. We had great sunset views of Mt. Wheeler. An acceptable option for the purpose. Glad we saw Great Basin and it's cave once. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Stayed here to visit Great Basin, and it accomplished that. Pretty basic camp and weak WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Reason for the stay here was a breakdown, so it was an oasis in the middle of nowhere. RV park is gravel with wildflowers separating the sites. Restrooms and showers were decently clean; good water pressure and hot water in the small shower stalls. The cafe next door served us a good dinner for a reasonable price. There was no cell or internet service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Easy in and out from Highway 50, sites level and pull through. Wi-Fi weak and spotty. Water, electric and sewer all fine. I looked in the shower and restroom, they are old but seemed clean. For full hookups this is the best spot for visiting Great Basin. 12 miles to lower information center and a bit more up the hill to Lehman Caves. Nice drive all the way to 10,000 foot elevation at Wheeler Peak and trails, including the Bristlecone Pine trail. For us, a plus were the slots for a few minutes after dinner. We will stay again for sure! Owners were very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
This is an excellent "stop over" park; it is not a destination. Even though it is little more than a groomed parking lot behind a casino/motel it's a SUPER place for a short stay while visiting/touring Great Basin National Park. Additionally, if you like wide open spaces for a day or three this is the place for you. Very easy in/out from/to Highway 50. All gravel, level spaces, not overly wide. Good utilities, acceptable Wi-Fi. Very little 'landscaping'. Good value for the money for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
As noted before, this is the best place to stay with a big rig if you want to see Great Basin Nat'l Park & Lehman Caves which are well worth the stop. There really is NO phone service here. The closest cell phone access we could find was 19 miles west on HWY 50 at a home with an arch of antlers over their driveway. There is a sign which says "Horns of Plenty." Gravel parking sites but level. We were never able to connect to the Wi-Fi from our motorhome. However we had a lot of fun in the small casino. My husband checked out the showers and elected to use the facilities in our motorhome instead. It isn't a great place, but it isn't bad and we loved our day at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
If your visiting Great Basin\Lehman Caves this is about the only place for a big rig. Its basically a large parking lot with hook ups. The national park is about 12 miles away. A couple of caveats: no cell service around, bring a wrench or channel locks to hook up your water, the wind can be at 40 mph in no time so don't leave your awning down. They have WI-FI but its on the weak side. Given there's nothing else in the area, no a bad park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This is the only RV Park in the Great Bassing NP area. Family run business. Nice level sites. There are also a motel, cafe/bar, gas station, small store for some groceries, gifts, etc. We payed $20 + tax. The only disadvantage: no AT&T cell coverage here (don't know about others), but Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Not bad at all. Pretty good all things considered. Remember this park makes 90% of it's revenue about 4 months out of the year so they don't have a lot of cash flow to re-invest in the property. It's clean, it's always freshly painted and very well maintained. Though perhaps a bit shopworn in spots, we can forgive that. The RV sites have a beautiful view of the Great Basin National Park and a clear shot to the Southern sky for us satellite TV junkies. 24 hour video/slot casino and bar and restaurant and store with basic groceries. Cafe Food is maybe C+ quality at best. Some very good, some just heated out of the can so you make that call. Located along what National Geographic Magazine called the loneliest strip of highway in the USA. They have WiFi which is essential because their is no cell service or other wireless internet service what-so-ever. Slot machines are the tightest we've ever seen anyplace. ATM works maybe from 8AM to perhaps late evening midnight. Only ATM we know of in the entire Baker Nevada area. Employees are always friendly, though sometimes tired from working graveyard and double shifts, so we can forgive that too. Locals do visit the bar and cafe with their dogs, and be warned though friendly, don't reach out to pet their dogs, no matter how canine savvy you may think you are. Ignore the dogs and you'll be fine. You've been warned. The Border Inn won't let you down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
This is probably the only place to stay if you have a 40 foot 5th wheel and are visiting Great Basin National Park. Sad, as it is also an overnight parking spot for road equipment and trucks that leave their trucks running all night, and as any RVer knows is not conducive to a good nights sleep! I asked about the truck noise and was basically given a shoulder shrug as an answer! We did not even use the restaurant as the cigarette smoke from the casino permeates the whole building! The casino has some really strange people and noise at times and no one seems to care about any inconvenience it causes for the RV patrons right out back! Great Basin is an awesome place to visit, but bring a smaller rig and get in to the Basin park to camp! There is absolutely nothing in this area for many many miles! This place is also a place where everyone just stops to let their dogs do their business anyplace and no clean-up policy is enforced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
This was a nice little campground for an overnight camp. It is a family run campground with a nice cafe, small "store", and a small casino/bar. Each site had electricity, water, and sewer. It was very hot, but then it is in the desert. The site was gravel and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
The Border Inn RV Park is a good place to stay while visiting Great Basin National Park. After driving hundreds of miles to stay in Lower Lehman Campground and finding all sites occupied and then giving up at Baker Creek during a flash flood and lightning storm, the Border Inn RV Park was a welcome site. It is nothing fancy but provides level sites with full hookups just inside the Utah/Nevada border. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Nice big sites, plenty of room on the sides. All gravel area with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. But just the basics, full hookups. I did have wifi (a little weak). No Verizon or ATT service. 60 miles (Ely)to the nearest real grocery store so stock up before spending any time here. Great Basin NP the only reason to spend more than overnight here but the park is well worth a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
This RV Park is in the middle of nowhere but it works just fine to visit Great Basin National Park and Lehman Caves. Quite a few permanent tenants, but they were not a problem. The RV Park is behind the Motel/Restaurant/Gas Station. All pull-thrus, all 50/30 Amp, all with sewer and water. We had no problem pulling in with our 40' Motorhome with four slides and a tow dolley that we left hook-ed up. There is plenty of room, length and width. They have about six TV stations which come in pretty clear. They don't advertise wi-fi but we had it for the 2 nights we were here. This park is only 13 miles to the Great Basin National Park and Lehman Caves. The caves are a must if you come through here. All in all this park served the purpose for a two night stay to visit the caves and come home to full hook-ups, TV and wi-fi. We were in space 2 up by the office and had wi-fi. I don't know if the whole park has it. They also had a few slot machines in the restaurant if you want to try your luck. A couple of reasons why this is not a 10. No pool, no cable, and the live-ins were driving fast through the park which would kick up dust and make noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Isn't it amazing how a rating can change overnight ? I have been stopping at the Border Inn for years now, and it has always been a pleasant experience. I stopped there in June on my yearly bike trip again. I first had a clue when I attempted to fill my bike with gas, something I do before turning in for the night. The pump would not accept my charge card; it kept telling me to see the cashier. I went inside where I was dealt with by a bunch of teenage girls who were apparently left in charge, (this had never been the case in the past). There were a bunch of teenage boys sitting, drinking, at the bar. None looked old enough to be drinking, but they were very obviously the teenage girls' boyfriends. The girl told me they had to "hold" my credit card while I filled up with gas. I asked why ? She told me it was because too many people drive off without paying. I asked how that was possible after scanning the credit card at the pump? She was without an answer to that. Seeing this for what it was, I took my card from her and payed cash for my gas. Before renting an RV spot for the night, I decided to at least check the place out a bit. I walked back to the bathrooms for the RV park and found they were using them for the bar and casino also. The shower rooms were filled with Indian kids playing in the showers with a bicycle, and they had urinated all over the toilet seats, etc. Needless to say I moved on to Ely for the night. It's a darned shame that when the older generation gives it up to the younger one, things begin to change, and not always for the better. I give it a one, just because there isn't a zero. Hang on to your personal information when buying something there. I suggest cash only ! Too bad, it was always a nice place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
This little park is located right on the Utah/Nevada line, just inside Nevada. They have a restaurant, small store where necessities can be purchased, and, of course, the RV Park. There appear to be a few full timers here. Spots are pull through, level, and dirt with nice flower plantings between each site. Clean, quiet and perfect for an overnight stay, which appeared to be what it was being used for by numerous guests who came in late, and left early. Great sunsets! Nothing fancy. Good 50amp service! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Campground is located on the Nevada/Utah border along US 50, 6+ miles East of Baker, Nevada and Great Basin Nat'l Park. CG is part of the Border Inn Restaurant and Motel. Typical for that part of the country, landscaping is minimal, CG is crushed gravel with mostly level sites. Noted minimal voltage drop with both A/Cs running. Good for an overnighter or longer if you're planning on visiting Great Basin Nat'l Park and searching for a home base. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
I have to apologize, I don't usually forget to do a rating, so here goes. The border inn is sort of a jewel in the rough. One of those places you just sort of stumble onto. I came through years ago on a motorcycle and stopped for gas. I had the best dinner i have ever had at any cafe, anywhere. I decided to stay the night in the sparcs, but sort of cool little motel, (30 bucks). No t.v. but the sky out in the desert is awesome. Then as time went on, i spent many nights here. One year i stopped to get gas, and lo and behold they had added an r.v. park. Yep, like everything else its pretty plain jane, but where in the heck else can you stay for $18.00, get gas that hasn't been marked up, a really good meal, and an awsome sky to look at at night? I very highly reccomend a night here before the world discovers it and it's too crowded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com