219083 User submitted reviews online!!
Sandy Beach Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (603) 746-3591
CGID7949

Sandy Beach Resort

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   1   9   6   9   9   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
We stayed at this camp ground overnight on our way to VT from Cape Cod, Mass. We had a terrible time finding it. From Hwy 89 the coach GPS said to go right on Rt 127 but my husband followed the directions that the CG gave him and went left on 127. We ended up at a covered bridge that was 9'9" high. Our coach is 12'7" high so we turned around and followed the GPS which took us over a long unpaved road and we still couldn't find it. We finally called the CG and explained where we were and they guided us in. After, we learned that we should have passed by the covered bridge and followed 127 over a dam to the road where the CG is located. The CG is heavily wooded with a pond for swimming and boating. The sites are mostly seasonal. The roads are unpaved and narrow but we were able to maneuver our 40 foot coach into our site. The hookups are adequate. Our site had a picnic table and a nice fireplace. We would stay there again only if we had no other choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
We stayed only 2 nights at this campground close to Concord, but it was a nice quiet place even during the summer vacation season. Our only issue was that it was very difficult to drive a large motorhome around the office and through the tree-filled park. 50A power and water were strong. Sites had tables and fire pits. Main access was paved, then gravel interior roads and loose gravel sites, which were spacious. Bathrooms and showers were dated but clean. The staff was very friendly and guided us to our site. We did not use the park WiFi, but the Verizon signal for our amplified MiFi and phones worked fine. The rate reflects a mid-week special they were running when we arrived. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This was a terrible Encore park. If you have anything over 32ft, do not use this park. We had a 40ft RV and it was awful. Roads are narrow, corners are tight .... my husband is excellent in driving our big rig but this place was a challenge. None of the campsites we saw were level, all had a hill or a tree in the way. Just don't know how some of those people got there rig in there. As for getting to the office, but a hill and a narrow circle drive. We unhooked the toad and he still had to back up the RV to get out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We are retired full-time RVers from S. CA traveling the USA. We reserved our 4-night stay through our CTC membership. This is an Encore park and we have found that we haven't yet been able to trust that Encore parks are 'consistent' in anything more than the huge amount of signage. It's a rustic woodsy park with a lovely fresh-water pond. No pool. Narrow roads. We had a spacious site, but it was difficult pulling in and out. We were there during the Christmas in July festivities. We also played Bingo one evening. There were mosquitos galore. We could not get satellite service at all. The laundry facility is small but newish. Nice but somewhat 'vague' staff. The proximity to "things to see" is pretty decent. There is a great general store type market not far away near the Railroad Covered Bridge and downtown Contoocook. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We stayed at this campground midweek and it was a ghost town. We were greeted with an escort to our site. Always a nice touch of customer service. Because this was a mid-week stay, the office closed at 5 pm and was not available to help us with the cable issues. This campground had a variety of campsites available. Shady, sunny, or partial; you name it they had it. The sites were very large and could handle just about any rig possible. Some of the interior roads had some tight maneuvering but manageable. The cable box that they gave us to access cable TV did not work. WiFi was very slow if and when it worked. This campground was very quiet and a nice swimming area in the pond. We would stay at this campground again if we needed a place in that area of the state. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
My wife and I stayed here two weekends in a row we liked it so much! Very woodsy with lots of trees. The beach area was nice and clean and had a "grove" like atmosphere because of the picnic tables and tall pines right at the sand. Everyone we met were very friendly. Good fishing and activities for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Just spent five nights here and I have to say it was one of the best experiences we have had in quite awhile. As stated earlier, although they have some.sights that will accommodate big rigs (ours is 40'), the access can be challenging. However, the young man who took us to our site was very helpful and patient. In fact, all the staff was wonderful. Once on our site, which overlooked the lake, we had the most pleasant and relaxing time. There are lots of seasonals, but everything about this park was clean and well maintained. We will be back. Rate reflects coast to coast Plus resort and cable fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Took a lot of work to get the rig level. Utility and sewer hookups were positioned in the back corner of the site, opposite of where they should have been for convenient hookup. Needed 25 feet of hose to reach the sewer. Nice pond. Pretty setting. Staff was pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We were here for 2 weeks. Rate is weekly rate. All sites are full hookup and were good. Staff was super. Seasonal people were all friendly and sites were kept up. Tiny laundry (2 machines) that you have to ask about. Very quiet during the week with a lot of kids on weekends. Verizon phone and datacard worked fine. I have a full-timer, big rig viewpoint so my rating might have been a 9 if maneuvering with a big rig had been better and more sites had enough opening for satellite to work (only a few do). As others have said, the office is poorly placed. On Fri/Sat they have people stationed at the entrance to check you in so you don't have to go there. Check-in is 2:00. If you call ahead a little they can tell you your site and directions and also save driving to the office. Also, use caution due to a couple horrible bumps as you pull in the entrance off the road so go very slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
Campground was $38/night with an additional $3/night fee for something or other. $82 for the 2 nights we stayed-a little bit expensive. They are not a Good Sam's affiliated campground. Overall it's a nice campground, but there was nothing being offered that really made me want to leave my campsite. My Lab loves the water but no animals were allowed on the beach or in the water. The site area we were in (D1-6) was a small grass field that was a low lying area that didn't even dry out with the week long sunshine the state had. There were many swamp areas adjacent to sites. Might go there again but would ask for a higher elevation site (plenty were available). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
Clean park, nice sandy beach on small lake. Despite the number of seasonals, we felt very welcome and were made part of all activities. This is not always the case in campgrounds with high numbers of seasonals. It was Memorial Day Weekend and they offered a nice mix of entertainment. Great kayaking only a couple of miles away. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
We camp with a 33ft fifth wheel at full-hookup sites with electric, water and sewer. We try to provide quick, objective reviews of campgrounds. Spent 3 weeknights in mid-September here. Getting to the office can be tricky with a larger RV. We stopped at the sign near the entrance (thanks to a previous review) and walked to the office. We recommend doing this, or call office when you arrive, or you won’t be too pleased. Staff was friendly at check in and offered to lead us to our site. We declined and found it easily. The beach area on Rolf Pond (very large: we thought it was a lake), was very nice and clearly well kept. Lake water was clean and very clear. Watch out for the large turtle. Fishing from the dock was good. Mostly shaded sites. Our site was a pull through and it was a good size. Sites are irregularly shaped so it doesn’t feel crowded. Seasonal sites were very well kept. Since we were here off-season, mid-week, we met mostly seasonal campers who were very friendly. There is a small laundromat, the web site doesn’t say that. We learned about it from a staff member. There weren’t separate dog trails, but the park is so big that we had plenty of area to walk. Roads are narrow. Cable TV was only available to seasonal campers; too bad. There were only a few stations available with the antenna. We explored the White Mountains from this location; it was a little too far. Although we were here in the fall, we got the sense that this would be a great place to visit in the summer. We recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Before I jump into the campground review, I just want to make clear that I indicated the park is "Big Rig Friendly" because we did camp here in our 40' diesel pusher and made it in and out of the park/surrounding area without hitting anything or scraping any paint. That being said, it was not the easiest park to negotiate around. I recommend anyone who plans to camp there in a big rig be well prepared for some tight maneuvering. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO DRIVE UP TO THE OFFICE, park your rig off to the side and walk up the hill. The turns up the hill to the office are greater than 90 degrees, narrow and tight. While the park staff was super friendly in meeting us on the main road and escorting us to our site, there was a minor reservation mistake with the office and they thought we were someone else, so we were led to the wrong site first. Only after we finished setting up did the office notice the mistake and then promptly told us we had to move. While this was a HUGE inconvenience and not in any way our fault, we understand these things happen, so we packed it all back up and moved onto another site. That all being said, the park itself is quite nice. It is a quaint little park with lots of seasonal sites and a core group of resident campers. The management does a good job putting together some very nice activities: it was Jimmy Buffett weekend so they had a DJ, beach party, etc. The namesake swimming area of the resort is a pretty clean little lake to swim in. There is some minor water vegetation creeping into the area but overall a nice place to play in the water. Most areas of the park have well shaded sites, but the site we ended up on was an open area which suited us just fine. The ground got a little soggy when it rained, but nothing too horrible. The site itself was actually big rig friendly with plenty roomy for us, in fact I saw quite a number of sites that would accommodate larger rigs, including the first site we were placed on was spacious. Electric power (50 amp) was strong/steady the whole time. Water pressure was decent too. From what I saw, every site had a picnic table and fire ring. One problem we had was with our AT&T cell phones: service signal was basically zilch; I could send/receive text messages in my coach but I had to drive out about 3 miles to the Dunkin' Donuts in order to have a strong enough signal to carry on a conversation. Verizon Mi-Fi card was able to get enough signal to provide me with adequate internet access. Some nice things we saw included: seeing that the maintenance crew was around all day long, always visibly doing upgrades/repairs, the camp store that had all necessities plus some cute oddities, the previously mentioned friendly and helpful staff & the proximity to lots of area activities including Concord. A few complaints: the road leading in/out of the park was a narrow, hilly, had lots of frost heaves and needed the tree canopy trimmed & the tight roads within the park were tricky: especially the areas that were tightly flanked by big trees. I would come back and stay here again. We paid half the nightly rate using our Thousand Trails affiliation discount for a total of $21.50 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
No one told us when we made our reservation this was not made for large RV. Tight. Tight. Tight. Even check in was a greater than 90 degree turn. In a 40' motor home it took many tries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
I found the park to be very nice. I'm unclear as to who the previous reviewers dealt with, but it certainly wasn't the people that were working while I was there. When I arrived, I was greeted at the entrance, and the 2 men that greeted me called the office to find my site, guided me there and helped me get into my site. One of the trees had low hanging branches, and they sent for someone to bring a tree saw so they could take them down. The employees always spoke and were friendly when I saw them. As I was leaving, one of them came up to thank me for visiting and invited me to return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
I am not a weekender. I was looking to purchase a seasonal trailer on site. I found the staff to be very rude with way too many rules. The weekend I visited there was a red flag, which means no open fires. While filling out a form for a background check at a cost of $50 for seasonal sites, a weekender approached the counter and asked about the use of a charcoal cooking grill. The staff refused the use of it. The weekender asked, "How are we going to cook?" He replied, "Sorry state regulations; no open fires". My thought was why not try to accommodate them and offer the use of a gas grill in their pavilion, but no offer was made. That was a deal breaker for me! I pulled out of the purchase. There are many open sites at this campground. I wonder why? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
CAMPERS BEWARE. Sandy Beach was a beautiful fun filled campground until ELS purchased this campground and hired the current manger who is rude and controlling. I WAS a seasonal camper for 5 YEARS, 3 of which were under the old owner who took great pride in the campground and always helped any camper that had any issues. Now staff are total opposites. They always give you a hard time and are very uncooperative and will kick you out for any reason they feel like. When I camped there the sites where ALL filled. Now it is only 1/2 filled and many more are looking to leave. That should say something on how it is run, and ELS does not care. So if you want to stay at a place that raises the fees every year ($550.00 over the past 4 years) and does nothing for its campers, this is a place for you. I was very sad to leave this campground. It had over 220 kids at on time, but now I can only tell people to STAY AWAY We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Mixed review: MINUS -; Majority of sites are seasonal a/o permanent camp models so "travelers" are relegated to the less desirable sites away from the lake (they call it a pond). PLUS +; All areas are well kept, neat and clean. MINUS -; The beach is modest in size and the playgrounds are slightly more than backyard quality. PLUS +; The lake is clear and there are (small) fish to be caught. We came here because we did not want to dry camp at the NASCAR track at Loudon, about 25 miles away, and were thrilled when we got the only available site on the lake. What a beautiful view. We checked out two CG's closer to the track but wouldn't dare spend the night in either. This does not quite rank as a resort but it's well above the average rustic New England campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
As stated by others, park is an old N.E. park, sites are close, lots of seasonals (some of which need major overhaul, some are well kept), beach is small, but tidy. We were put in a drive into site, not much room to maneuver. Store/office had little to sell, staff was pleasant. Cable was not at our site but the maintenance man ran a line from our site to his site so we had full cable. Above and beyond the call of duty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
Check-in was smooth, staff was friendly. Campground has paved entrance/main road, all the rest are hard packed gravel. Limited big rig access but low hanging branches prevented travel on some of those roads. Some of the roads were in poor shape tight winding turns and exposed rocks. Campground doesn't offer much in the ways of activities. The beach was nicely manicured and sandy, but very small. Out of the 180 sites 120 are seasonal. The few seasonals we met were very nice. At least 1/2 of the seasonals were run down and looked like they have been there for years, yellow and rusty looking trailers. Some took pride in their sites, and there were new park homes scattered about. Campground is small and tightly packed it had the feel of a ratty old trailer park in the woods. Bathrooms were old, physically clean but smelly. Campground looked and felt rundown. Tiny little store with very little to offer more than hotdog/hamburger rolls, eggs, milk, and ice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
This was a lovely, clean, well maintained resort. We were there as Coast to Coast members. Even though most residents were "owners" who stayed seasonally, spots for temporary campers were very accessible and near restrooms. Though no pool, there was a "sandy beach" on the edge of the lake. Staff was pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com