223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Ocala National Forest / Salt Springs Rec Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (352) 685-2048
CGID795

Ocala National Forest / Salt Springs Rec Area

Camp Information
Sites
163
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   1   10   7   10   7   6   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
First the good. Easy access in and out for large rigs. Our site was level and most seemed to be as well. Plenty of space between sites and some have a common grassy area in between and in back for kids to play. Bathrooms were clean and functional. Springs are about a 10 minute walk from RV sites or a quick bike ride. You can also drive to the springs with plenty of parking. There is a small grocery store just down the street and you can get to Walmart/Publix in Ocala in about 35 minutes or so. There is no laundry facility. A laundry mat is two minutes down the road from main gate. Now the bad. We’ve been coming to Salt Springs since the 80’s although not much recently. The current management is terrible. Within five minutes of arriving at our site and while still attempting to get the coach lined up properly we were approached the first time by the “staff” on a golf cart. The ladies took several minutes explaining the parking procedure in great detail to include the tire rule about how many of your tires can be on the dirt and off the pavement. This first lecture occurred while these ladies were affixed to their golf cart on the grass! The camping trip included multiple families and lots of children and equipment. The next several days included more visits by the campground staff (work campers from American Land & Leisure?) who were quick to point out each and every violation of their over 30 rules. Our violations included young kids roaring with laughter at 10:05 when quiet time is at 10, and more serious violations of parking on the grass. There are too many stories of these encounters to list here. The oldest child in our large group was 11. There were 20 plus kids running around and 10 plus RV sites reserved. The staff here has or is trying to turn this place into a cemetery. The staff behavior was witnessed by a lot of people both in and outside of our party with amazement. They are a bunch of militant retirees riding around on carts just waiting to display their disdain for laughter and other people. They appear to cater to other seniors who stay in their RV’s for 23 hours a day and only come out to walk a two pound dog or leave in their cars. We’ll be addressing our concerns with American Land & Leisure and the National Park Service and won’t return under the current system and neither will any of the others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Do not camp here. This is the worst experience we have ever had at any camp ground and we are avid campers. The rules are ridiculous and if you are in so called violation they will call the sheriff and have you kicked out. We were kicked out for having more then one tire off pavement when loading a cooler into truck. They told our friends that they moved the fire ring and were in violation. The fire rings are chained to the ground post and not moveable. They ride around on golf carts looking for "violations" that are not in the rules you are given at front gate when you check in. They are extremely rude and unfriendly people! This is nothing new with the management there, the sheriff told us he is there constantly throwing people out of camp ground. The managers are from American Land & Leisure Management Services and are extremely dishonest, rude and unwelcoming as they can possibly be. I am warning anybody who tries to camp there they will be harassed by the golf carts that patrol and carry cameras to record any violation they seem to fit their narrative. If you question their motives you will be kicked out just like the hundreds before us. The sheriff told us they are horrible and he's called out more times then he can count. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$12
This is a national florist campground and we can use the Golden Age pass. The campground is very well kept and the bathroom are very clean. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
This Ocala National Forest campground is run by a company called American Land & Leisure and we had a unusually bad experience with one of the empowered "camp hosts" whose site was across the road from ours. Noise from Highway 15 is very noticeable in sites near the overflow parking area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$16
Part of the National Forest Service, but operated by a non-governmental company. Nice full hookup sites, some shaded. Although they list a 40' maximum length, the site we used #68) accommodated our 42' motorhome plus our SUV (unhooked, of course). Sites can be reserved for up to 6 months. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. No over-the-air TV channels and our Virgin Mobile wifi was very slow. Weak but usable cellphone signal on Verizon network. Some road noise at the lower-numbered sites. The staff members we met here were very pleasant. Price shown is with Federal Access Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Rate is with "senior discount" pass. It is not half off the rate, as in some parks in the system, but is actually 10.00 a night discount. Sites with the lowest numbers are near the very busy highway 19 and you will hear heavy truck traffic all night long. Also those get the most sun. Our site #25 was very pretty, but we found out it does flood when they get a heavy rain. We had mud all over our patio mat during a bad downpour. The weekend brought in campers that abused the system. One site across from us had 4 pickup trucks, one large travel trailer, and 3 boats on trailers all registered to the one site. Only one truck/boat combo parked in the overflow area. The others parked in sites next to single registered site. Those vehicles should have been asked to move off those sites they did not pay for. Having that many vehicles registered to one site is against their rules, so I don't know why they allowed this. Unsupervised children were running through our site, and barking dogs everywhere did not make this a relaxing stay on the weekend. We will return again, but not on a weekend or during the summer which gets extremely busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
We camped in site #46. I was all set to give this park a 9 or 10 like I have before, but the volunteer who cleans this park is a jerk and left us with a bad experience this trip. We've camped here 7 times over 8 years and campers always had access to the spring area before and after the park was opened or closed. We are only taking pictures and observing wildlife in a National Rec area. We do not swim or disturb them in any way. This guy who is set up on site #9 was very adamant that we could not walk down to the springs 15 minutes before the park closed one night or 30 minutes before it opened another day. He ended up cursing us out when we questioned why has this changed. Otherwise, park was clean in the camping areas, needed cleaned in the day areas, because people always seem to leave stuff behind. Sites all have w/e/s 50 amp, bbq grills and fire rings with concrete pads. Our site had shade and was close to the bathhouse. There is a $9 fee to book here. Verizon cell was very spotty and our Mi-Fi did not work the whole time. Very limited TV channels over air as well. No playgrounds for kids but lots of open space to play. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Beautiful park near the Ocala National Forest. We stayed here for a Geocaching Event that was held in the forest. The sites all had concrete pads and grills. There were some sites with a lot of shade. It was a fun place to camp. There is a grocery store nearby as well as a couple of places to eat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
We were in site #59 for a mini family reunion. This site was very sunny most of the day. Most sites seemed to have an invasion of ants this time of year so be careful leaving out any food because they will get it. Also we were told there were bears spotted in the area, but we never saw any. Each campsite has W/E/S 50 amp, a stand up grill and a fire ring with a lantern pole. All sites are asphalt and no cars can be parked on the grass. Bathrooms were very clean especially for a holiday weekend. You do have to pay a $9 reservation fee if made with Rec.gov. The springs were nice and cool and the rangers were checking coolers and handing out wristbands while we were there. There are 3 wineries that we visited in the area and we ate in Astor at Sparky's, very good hamburgers and salads. On Saturday's there is a flea market and farmer market across the street with a good diner. Not much to do inside park except for the springs. No real trails inside park. TV reception was OK for this area. There is an area for basketball and horseshoes near the extra car parking area.There is a store near the springs that carries swim supplies and ice cream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
We enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in #32 and it was nice. I will say it's not as private as some parks. There are trees for shade but very open areas between lots. The springs were great. We enjoyed taking a dip several times throughout the day. Not much biking except for to and from the springs. We saw several trails but they all showed no biking. Restrooms were very clean. Nice small grocery store just outside the park and the prices were reasonable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This was a nice clean campgroung. Most sites are particle shaded. The campground needs more trees. The showers are clean but when taking a shower you must hit a button every 10 seconds to keep the shower going. We stayed on site 2 and we heard too much of the main road traffic. The sites further in the campground are much nicer. The springs are nice but not deep enough to swim. Silver Glenn Springs is 20 minutes down the road and you are able to swim, the cost was $5.50 per person. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
There is no cell signal in this area. We had to drive 20 miles north or south to get cell service. The spring is awesome and shallow enough to walk the whole area. The spring is a drive from the campground; bringing bikes is a great idea. All of the springs in the area do not allow dogs in the day use area at all; they can be in the campground area only. Had plenty of shady spots and the forest is spectacular. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We stayed here for 2 wonderful nights, we were very impressed by the renovations. The restrooms and showers were spotless and very modern. The sites are all paved, and many have fairly good shade, however we were in full shade, didn't realize it until we were all set up, too many trees removed, otherwise a beautiful place. There is no internet or cable TV or phone service, no big deal as we were there to relax. The springs is beautiful, great place to cool off. People were very friendly. Staff was terrific. Out in the middle of the Ocala forest: be prepared to relax and do nothing. We took nature walks and drives. We camped in site #47. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Good park clean, springs were great, the camping area is managed by an outside firm, and I took my two wheel electric scooter to restroom due to the fact I have an artificial knee. I was told not to ride it any more. When I said and showed that I was disabled, the attendant only said if I rode it again, I would be asked to leave. I never knew these places to discriminate against people with disabilities. I put my electric scooter in my truck I packed up and left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
$17.50 a night with Golden Age Pass. This is a nice park with asphalt sights and drives. The rest rooms and showers are cleaned every day and I think a touch up more often. The spring is clean around it and the water is shallow other than right over the springs. Sites are big with no one right on top of you. There is a limited food store and gas right next to the park. I was not too impressed with it; I would say take your food with you. There is no to very little phone service here.There is some in places if you are with the right service provider I was not. We camp here a few times a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
Park has 54 sites with no hookups and 106 with full hookups. We paid $16 with a Golden Age Pass. We only stayed one night and were glad that we made a reservation. They were turning away campers the Thursday before Memorial Weekend. One can hike, bike, paddle canoes, fish, picnic, bird watching and swim, snorkel and scuba in the springs. The is a natural spring with potassium, magnesium and sodium salts, so hence the name Salt Springs. There is no privacy in the campground but it is still very nice. In the springs and you could see a lot of colorful fish, some otters and a few Manatees. Very refreshing! It was not crowded at all during the week but school gets out in the next week so most weeks in the summer and especially the weekends, it will be crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$21
Friendly people, clean park. Difficult to find. No phone service, no TV service. If they had phone access or TV service it would definitely be a 9! Did not like the fact that we were charged a $9 fee to make the reservation, yet the park was almost empty and if you just showed up there would be no booking fee. This issue needs to be given some consideration to get that 10 rating! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Senior rate shown. The spring area has been renovated and is prettier. However, the access to the water has been decreased. There is one area on the North side with steps to the water. There was no problem for us as there were never more than a dozen or so people when we were there. It will be a crowded mess at the steps in the summer under heavy use, especially with families with small children staying close. The "Beach" at the East end has been walled off. People are already going around the new wall on the South side for water access in lieu of walking 100+ yards around the spring to the steps. TV reception with a standard roof top antenna was very good. Sites are shady, offset for privacy, and paved, but you will still need to level. The grocery store 1/4 mile south of the entrance has everything you may need. Definitely bring a face mask and/or a snorkel to enjoy the spring. Boat launch on site. Good hiking trail. Hookups at sites, but sewer connection is to the front of the site so you may want to wait until leaving to pull forward for access to it. I recommend putting the awning side tires right on the edge of the paving or you end up tripping over the pavement edge lip the entire stay. Enjoy a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
We had site #57. Lots of shade with a paved parking pad, grill, picnic table, fire ring, 50A/w/s. Most sites were spaced well apart from each other. Lowest number sites have the most sun. 2 bathhouses for RV area and 1 for the tenting area. Springs have been redone and look good. Water is 72 degrees year round. We were camping with a group over Labor Day weekend. Lots of groups here at the same time but no problems that I saw. Everyone seemed respectful of others and their sites. Kids had fun even though there is no playground. Behind sites between rows there is plenty of play space for games and running around. Cell service is spotty for all carriers. TV came and went as well. There seemed to be more bugs on this trip but it did rain for a week straight before the weekend and it rained over the weekend as well. Nice original flea market across street each weekend. Stand sells boiled peanuts there. Will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Great state park site. Really nice for RV's because there are no year rounders in trashy units. The swimming area is beautiful. If this place had cable TV it would be a 9, and only Disney is a 10. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
This is a great park to spend time in. All roads and sites are asphalt and free of any pot holes. All sites are back in at 45 degrees and have 50 amps, water, sewer, steel table, BBQ cooking equipment and fire ring on ground. Most sites are level but you will find a couple that will be off level. You have a lot of room around each site, around 30 to 250 feet on each side of some sites. Park is full of large oak and pine trees. TV over the air will be hard to receive here. We could pick up around 15 channels but all had pixelization. Sat. TV will work here on some sites and if you have a dish on ground you could find an open shot in the trees. Verizon cell and 3G service will not work here. This is not a fault of the park as you are in the middle of a National Forest. We found free Wi-Fi across the street near the Square Meal Restaurant. You now have a small super market and couple places to eat out if you wish. This is an upgrade from our past visits from years ago. Did not see any playground equipment for the kids but kids were busy playing. You can swim in the springs near by, this place has bathrooms and stack bar open most of the time plus tables all around the springs. Water from springs comes out of ground at a high flow rate at 72 degrees year round. You have a boat launch that will take you into Lake George and from Lake George you could travel to the Atlantic Ocean. Gates are locked from 8:00 pm to 8:00 am. Staff was very helpful at check in. Large place to park at check in. Rate were on Golden Age Pass. You see park people working all the time to clean the park, sites and bathhouses. I wish more parks were like this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
A great get-a way with full hookups. At $20 a night, a bargain. We have camped here many times and have found we like the single digit sites (1-9) the best. We also have Verizon cell and air cards which are real spotty but we seem to always find the hot spot enabling us to conduct business. The spring's wall was collapsing and the renovation was completed in late 2009 and is now open. 72 degree water all year. We plan many more trips here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
I don't feel there is enough offered to do at this park. Most sites are full sun and makes it hot. The people are friendly but the springs I thought had been repaired, but I don't see much difference. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$19
We have camped here in the past while the springs were closed. The campground is in very good condition. The $19.00 fee is with the Senior Pass. Fees for this time last year were $16.00 dollars a night with the same pass. There is a very good and fair priced Family restaurant a few hundred yards north on the left when you go out of the gate. There is a grocery store just south. But do not get here with a empty gas tank as the only gas station at the time is I am guessing, about 12 miles toward Ocala. And if I remember, it has gas some times. Looked like they were redoing the tanks at the store that is open in Salt Springs. The spring itself is nice to look at, but think they could have made better access to the water as there is only one way in and out with cement walls about five feet above the water. Sort of like swimming in a half full swimming pool. But is very clean as is all the park. Day use fees have jumped to $5.50 per person per day. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
We just happened upon this campground after leaving the Everglades. It was so nice we stayed two weeks. Sites are large and fully equipped with the best sewer arrangement we've ever had. Campground is spacious with old moss draped trees. The spring is within walking or biking distance (there's a parking lot too) and is free to campers. We swam in it nearly every day. There's good shopping within walking distance or a Wal-Mart 16 miles north. There's canoe or boat rental. It's just a great find. We'd go back in a heart beat if in the area. We did have to get out the dish for TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
This is a very friendly, clean and popular campground. Having full hook-ups is a really fine amenity. The sites are paved as are the roads. Each site has a picnic table, grill and fire ring. The sites are somewhat close to each other, but it worked out ok. The satellite reception was fine. There are many roads for walking. The salt springs have been restored and it is a pleasant place to visit. NO cell phone reception which means a drive of several miles to get in a good zone. Palatka is about 20 minutes away for shopping, public library, etc. This is a national forest so peace and quiet are the rules of the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
We camped here over Thanksgiving and thoroughly enjoyed this location. We stayed on site 27 and would happily take the site again as it was spacious and level. We had power problems that turned out to be a shorted 50 amp outlet on the site's power pole, but campground personnel responded moments after our call and repaired the problem. Most of the sites offer plenty of space between you and your neighbor, but some do not. The Spring itself was closed when we were there, but they were getting ready to re-open after remodeling the area. We were allowed to explore the springs area as long as we stayed off the newly planted grass. It was absolutely beautiful. There is also a marina there where you can rent kayaks, canoes, fishing boats with motors and pontoon boats. You can swim in the designated swimming area. There is a local grocery store close by which has everything you should need. A Wal-Mart is about 23 miles away in Palatka. Cell phone reception is generally pretty bad at this campground. We are set to camp here again in January 2010. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
The sights are nice with full hook ups. The restrooms are clean but need work on stall door locks. Only thing with sites is to make sure there are no dead limbs over your RV. They said they were going to have the trees trimmed but at this time there is a lot of dead limbs hanging and ready to fall at any time. They say the Springs are closed until September but will give you a pass to Silver Glen Springs that is about 12 miles south on Hwy 19. It is a nice place to go for the day. The people are nice and helpful. The down side is the springs are closed. There is no or very little cell phone service. There is a little grocery store close but we would say take what you need as it is pricey on a lot of things and not a big choice of things.The closest full grocery is a Super Wal-Mart 20 miles north on Hwy 19. A word of caution: there is and old ferry road that goes by the camp ground. DO NOT TRY IT unless you are four wheel drive with sand tires. It is a 7 mile sand pit. I would give the camp ground a 9, but with half the park closed so a 6 is about the best I can do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$24
Lovely park! Roomy sites, spacious campground, friendly hosts and campers, reasonably priced, just the right amount of trees in the campground area. Great walking and biking trails from the site itself. We walked and felt like we were in the jungle, we saw turtles sunbathing, lots of birdlife, boardwalks through the forest, lake and canal within the park itself. Unfortunately the springs were closed so we couldn't see them. We would love to return here. I would have given this a 10 if it had wifi and laundry facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$14
We stayed one night on the way home. Campground is nice with fairly large level sites. Full hookups (without TV). 50 amp service. There is boating activity available as well as lots of hiking. Lots of planned activities. We took the 7 mile trip to the old ferry that goes across the St. John River. Interesting trip to the ferry. The town is pretty run down with mainly trailers and appears to be suffering from the economy. Appears to be many snowbirds there, but I thought this wasn’t allowed in a National campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$10
Beautiful park with mature trees & nice size campsites. Big spring area with abundant picnic tables. Small boat & fishing canal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
This was a clean and open campground. Beautiful sites, but the best ones cannot be reserved. They are on a first come first served basis and they are very strict about holding sites for other people. It is not allowed. Each site is very level with a lantern post and very nice hookups. There is a lot of green grassy areas and nice trails. Cell phones will not work in this area AT ALL. It is truly in the middle of the Ocala National Forest, so don't even think about communicating with the outside world. The springs are beautiful and blue. There is a nice concession stand at the springs area. You cannot take your pet over to the springs or the day use area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
Great park big clean and shaded. Water electric & sewer on all sites. We will be back soon. We camped here in a pop up. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
This is an unusual park for the Forest Service in that it has sewer hook ups. The campground is spacious and park-like but some of the sites are very close together. In our site, we had to sit behind our trailer to avoid staring into our neighbor's sewer hook-up. On the other hand, some other sites were quite spacious and positioned so that one had a nice view. The whole Ocala National Forest Area is quite beautiful and we made several side-trips to other springs to swim and walk. We were disturbed that one of the campground hosts displayed a Confederate Flag. I think these flags are in very poor taste, especially for the host! Some cell-phone service is available if you walk around for a clear signal. We do plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
Absolutely fabulous National Park Campground. Beautiful surroundings as well as immaculate hookups! Children loved to swim in the spring (70 degrees year round-too cold for me, tho!)and saw gators, all types of fish and wildlife. Super friendly staff. A true gem of America! Thank you Natn'l Parks Service! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Salt Springs Recreational Area is one of our favorite campgrounds. It is well run, clean with ample space for each campsite. We especially like it in the cooler weather. We like to bike and swim in the spring which has several "boils" to explore. Blue crab and mullet are plentiful in the spring and can be caught in Lake George beyond the boundary of the spring. You need to book far in advance as many people spend the winter there. Cell phone service is not good in the Ocala National Forest. We have been known to drive to Palatka to use our phone and computer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
We liked this park a lot. Well maintained, roomy. The springs area was beautiful. Only negative was ZERO cell phone service. These sites were eyeballed as being satellite service friendly: 3, 12, 17, 22, 29, 30, 40, 61, 72-74, 77-79, and 83. [Criteria: dish mid-top of coach, 215 deg. azimuth, 51 deg. elevation.] We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$14
Very nice well kept park. Quiet at night. friendly attendants and park rangers. Boat ramp and view of the lake nice. Good hiking and biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Love this park. We loved the springs for swimming and snorkeling. We TRIED to canoe but too many boats out there. Large party boats, speed boats, bass boats and our little canoe was about to be tipped over. Nice to bike ride and nice to just veg out. We will definitely go again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
This is a great campground! We visited here last year and returned again this year. The campsites, facilities, people and springs are all fantastic. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Very nice place to camp. Roads and sites are all blacktop, no pot holes. Sites are level with steel table with a fire ring. 106 sites for RV units with 50 amps, water, & sewer. Also has 47 sites for tents near RV sites. Lake & Salt Springs inside park, water is 72 degrees year around in springs. Staff was nice nice at check in and campground is locked up at night. No noise from road or anyplace. Salt Springs is a very large place to swim in. Lots of very large trees in park. On weekends you will have a full house in park. Great place to fish. Golden Age rates are half price. Cell phone service is poor at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
This was a first rate camping experience. The park and springs were beautiful. The campsites are large and level with full hookups. Swimming is allowed in the spring and the water is clear enough to see fish and other aquatic life easily. Bath houses were clean and well equipped. Can't wait to visit here again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$20
Great park. It's like staying at an RV park with the amenities but it also has the SP flavor. All RV sites have a concrete pad, fire ring (placed in weird locations), picnic table and some have separate grills. Some areas have a lot of shade, others have none. No vegetation between sites. No playground in park. Had a BBall court near campground. Had a short walking trail. There is a camp store near the springs. It sells RV things you need as well as ice cream, tubes, floats for the springs. The springs are beautiful and cold: 72 degrees all year. No lifeguards, swim at own risk. Boats have a ramp to put in near the tenting area. No nearby stores, most are 15-20 miles away. Bathhouses are not cleaned until 1 pm. If you are an earlybird expect a dirty bathhouse. Water pressure was very low here. We will be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$17
The sites with electric/water/sewer are in the front of this park and are generally filled with big rigs with senior owners who do not tolerate children under the age of 50! On the other hand, the back side of the park is primitive camping only with large sites and shade - which is the best area. This was our 9th stay at this park. The only thing we would change about this park is for some enforecement of quiet time. Most of our visits have coincided with several families camping in adjoining spaces and staying up until 1 or 2 am and being very loud. Overall it is a clean campground and well laid out. The Springs are breathtakingly beautiful - worth a canoe trip to explore the spring run to Lake George! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$17
All sites are handicap accesible. Golden Age passes are OK ($10.50 per night for full site). Campground was completly rebuilt last year. Swiming is in Salt Springs which has a beach. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com