214766 User submitted reviews online!!
Kitty Hawk RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (252) 261-2636
CGID7981

Kitty Hawk RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   2   9   3   3   6   4   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Not much more than a sandy parking lot, but excellent beach access and a good place to stay while visiting the area. Forget about using jacks here, but if you're not level just dig holes in the sand around the tires until you get it right. Site spacing was extremely tight, possibly the worst we've seen. We could not extend our awning without hitting the neighbor's coach. The 50-amp power and water were very strong, and each site had sewer and a table. The staff was friendly. Note that credit cards are not accepted here. As previously mentioned, there are no facilities so bring your own. They appear to offer Wi-Fi, but we brought our own and did not try it out. There was some noise from the road next to the beach, but it was somewhat offset by the nice sounds of pounding ocean waves. Grocery stores, the Wright monument and other services were minutes away. Fine for a few days, but probably not longer. If the sites were a little bit roomier we would rate it much higher, and it is a bit pricey considering there are no facilities. However, we would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
This RV park has only one advantage - location. It is directly across NC Hwy 12 from the beach, with its own direct access. The park has about 60 permanent seasonal motor homes, as well as the 30 transient sites. We were able to hear the ocean waves as we went to sleep. There are NO facilities at this RV park. Each site has full hook-ups, cable and the Wi-Fi is steady. Other than that, it is a sandy parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
While this Park has an excellent location, the lack of restroom and bath house amenities is unacceptable, especially for the nightly rate of $55.00. Yes, the staff was very nice, and the park does provide Wifi and cable, but I am very am very disappointed that It was not made clear when I called about a reservation that there we no restrooms or bath house. It would have also been helpful if the park's web site could have pointed out all amenities they provide. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this location. I can give some advice, ask about all amenities before making a commitment! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
This RV park is a no frills (no bathhouse, no restroom, no pool) RV park, but I love it. For two years in a row, I was in a site that had me 69 walking steps from the beach. The owners are friendly and if there is a problem, they take care of it. We had a family come in and they had five little dogs. They put the dogs in a pen outside their RV, and they did nothing but bark and bark and bark. After a half-day of listening to that, I spoke with the owner and they took care of it. No more barking dogs outside the RV. The Wi-Fi was not reliable; however, I mentioned it to the owner and they stated they would talk with their provider. If you are looking to go to the beach, hang out and relax, this is perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
When we called to make reservations we were not told the park has no bath house, and there were no shower rooms. The price was $55 a night. It is across the road from the beach. The managers were nice, but we feel they should inform campers they have no showers or laundry. Will not recommend due to no bathroom. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
They do not have bath house, and do not inform you of this when you make reservations. We were not told they had no bathroom or showers. Ask others if they were told and they said no. This a no frills place. I think most the RVs were perm there on beach. People in office were friendly. Would not go back. Too expensive for a place to park; very small sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Manager very friendly, ocean right across street. Sites are tight But good place to stay for convenience to wright brothers museum & wild horses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
No credit cards; cash or check only; sites are sand which could spin wheels; packed in extremely tight; very nice management. Nice beach across the street. Poor rate because of sandy narrow sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
Kitty Hawk RV Park is a nice place to stay, nothing fancy but the staff is super friendly and helpful and everything is clean and well kept. There is great beach access which is what it's all about at the Outer Banks and an amazing seafood restaurant, The Black Pelican is one block away. Best tuna steaks ever! I would stay there again anytime I plan to visit the Kitty Hawk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
Staff was extremely friendly. We were parked on site #1 which was really close to the ocean. We could watch the ocean from our unit. Considering where the park is we felt the price was really reasonable. They had permanent residents which was ok with us. Everyone was friendly to us. I don't believe they had laundry facilities or at least we did not see them. We did not need those services at that time. Internet was available by paying and was not ready available and included in the price. If we are traveling that way again we would definitely stay at this park and would recommend them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$55
This is not a campground. It is a very crowded permanent trailer park with 12 +/- scattered very narrow sites rented to travelers at an unreasonably high price ($55). The few pluses: it's a short walk to a nice beach access, only option for Kitty Hawk (Wright Brothers, etc.) area. Has no restrooms or showers. WiFi is $17/day (so I checked "no"). Overall, a very unsatisfactory spot. Would not camp here again, (have seen Wright Brothers). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
I chose this park because its proximity to the Wright Brother's museum. The sites have little to recommend them. There was free wifi from a nearby hotel. The sewer connection is uphill and right by the fence, so not terribly useful. There is no bath house or restrooms. It is definitely a one night only stop. There are many permanent residents. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
Our site was very narrow and squeezed in between two seasonals, but it was very windy when we were there so we were glad for the shelter from them! Access to the site was quite difficult though. It was a 50 amp hook up, and we needed 30 amp, but the owner loaned us an adapter so that was OK. There are NO restrooms. They do not accept credit/debit cards, only cash or checks. This is an excellent location just across the road from the beach. The staff were pleasant, and we enjoyed our stay. Te Wright Brothers Memorial is well worth a visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
We stayed here for two days while visiting The Outer Banks. It is a very short walk across Highway 12 to the Atlantic Ocean. The park has it's own private beach. Close to Wright Bros Natl Park and shopping of all kinds. Manager very pleasant and helpful. Park has spaces with mostly permanent residents so reservations probably a good idea. Since this is not listed in Trailer Life Directory, it was a pleasant surprise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This campground is what it is. It is a parking lot in an excellent location. We left our campground in Frisco early and called here (campgrounds near Nags Head are non-existent except for this one) and they were very friendly and accommodated us for two nights. We didn't have high expectations and mainly just wanted somewhere to park our camper to explore the area and that's what we did. You just cross the street to the beach which was perfect. The sites are so close that you can't even put your awning out but we spent little time at our camper while we were there. We went to Jockey Ridge State Park and the Wright Brothers Memorial which are very close and spent the day in Duck, NC which was also great. A smart investor should open up a nice RV park in the northern section of the Outer Banks. I would think it would do great - there is no competition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com