223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Gateway to the Gulf RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (361) 570-7080
CGID8039

Gateway to the Gulf RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   8   7   10   8   10   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
Easy access off I-35, a reasonable distance from Victoria with the closest shopping at Walmart 7 miles away. Staff are friendly except the Activity Person; she is the rudest snarliest person I have every encountered, if you don't expect a welcome form her you'll be in good shape, she favors her regulars. The Manager and his wife are super nice and I am puzzled as to why they have this Activity person coming back every year, this will stop us from coming here ever again. The facilities are nice although the Pool Room Fitness Room really needs cleaning better, dirty floor and equipment covered in dust, would not take much to clean them, I mentioned it but nothing was ever done. The sites themselves are head to tail which gives the impression of a spacious site but it is only an allusion, although far better when comparing this Park to other RV Parks in the Victoria area. WI-Fi is patchy at best with lots of dropped signals far from good. TV Channels reasonable although with plenty of duplications an allusion of lots of channels. Grounds are reasonably well maintained although when it rains beware of big puddles and muddy patios, needs patio gravel at least. Would not return due to Activity Person which is a shame as one person can spoil what could be a really top park, with a huge potential. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
We recently spent April and May at Gateway to the Gulf RV park. The park was clean, a very few small trees but not useful for any shade. The Wi-Fi was terrible. If you could get online it didn't last long, especially at night. Cable was available just not any good so we had to use our satellite dish for the TV. Some of the pads had concrete for the trailers with gravel parking. Others were all gravel sites. We were on a gravel spot which was fine until the grass started growing and we discovered that there was no grass just weeds and sand spurs. When we asked if they were going to spray for them the response was "next week". In 2 months "next week" never came. Many of the sites are small, only allowing parking for one. You are required to park any additional cars in front of the office or pay storage to park it in the very back, if it is a 10 wheeler. During our stay there was a theft of a generator out of another camper's truck which was parked in front of their camper. Keeping our trailer locked at all times was a must. It is located between two business. One of which used a lot of equipment that was moving around and backing up making that beeping sound. Between the lights and the sounds it was not peaceful. The park recently sold and two of the camp workers took over as managers. The wife was very unprofessional even yelling at us for something that we did not do. I am not going to stay where we and our guest are unwelcome. Not all the workers were like them. We will not be using this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Good park. Cement pad for the rig. They escort you to your site and spray your sewer and water hookups with a solution of water and bleach, and then the guy gives you a thank you card. We like this place to stop over for a couple of nights. A lot of stuff to see in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Adequate for what it is. Long level pull thru sites with two site hookups on same pedestal side to side with your neighbor. Plenty of room for slides, awnings, and personal space by your rig. Some back-ins on grass but most are concrete. A few activities, bingo, cards, potlucks, etc., are provided. Workers in area have most of the back-ins so there is some traffic in AM. Some things to do in area but IMHO not a destination. The minus is that workampers run the place. Saw owner twice. Rate is for 16 days including electric @12 KWH. Doubt we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$26
We stopped for the night at this nice neat campground right off the highway . The sites are wide and level . It is situated right in town with plenty of options for dinner. The staff is friendly and even gave us a thank you card for staying . The sites are plenty wide enough and have concrete pads . Water Is good with plenty of pressure . You can even wash your RV for a extra fee of $10 . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Great place for a stopover on the way to or from the Rio Grande Valley, located right off US59 without having to do any driving in town. The pull through sites all have back to back utilities and the streets are paved but narrow. The staff are some of the nicest we've seen in our 8 years of full time RVing. If you are a BBQ lover, make sure you get some real BBQ at Mumphord's Place, their food alone is worth a night's stop in Victoria. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Very clean park just off Hwy 59. Restrooms and showers were clean. Nice place to spend a night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Very nice park. Sites have open space on one side so you get some grass. Friendly owners. Clean shower house and restroom. Lots to do if you wish, We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
This is a beautiful little park, right on Highway 59 and only $24 a night. Most of the sites have concrete pads and half are pull-thru sites. When you check in, a gentleman takes you to your site, points out all the hookups, and sanitizes the water faucet before handing you a little thank-you card. The grounds are immaculate, the services, including cable, are perfect and the Wi-Fi is strong. Phone before you stop because they seem to fill up most nights. The noise from the highway is the only thing that stops me from giving this place a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
Have stayed here several times. Very nice staff, reasonable rates for back to back hookups. Concrete pads are in great shape and utilities work well. Will stay again without and hesitation. Many sites were taken by oil field workers and snow birds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
The park has cement pads and roadways. The road appears narrow but really has room for any big rig to get around. The sites are nice. The pull throughs are side by side which gave us nice space out our door. The staff is very nice and accommodating. They had some planned activities at the park as it is a mix of long term and short term campers. They make sure everyone is invited to the events. They escort you to the site and wipe the water and sewer connections off before you hook up. We were very please with the park and the city of Victoria. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Passport America rate--Very nice park, large sites. We stayed here on our way to the Rio Grande Valley. Would stay here again--Concrete pads, reasonably level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
The new owners have made this a great place to overnight or even snowbird. There are some activities. Streets are wide concrete with concrete pads. When you are escorted to your site, they disinfect the water and sewer outlets and thank you for stopping. The folks are all friendly. We will stop here again. Easy on and off 59. Near the coast for the fishermen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Spent one night on our way south. Nice park with narrow roads. On one side nice grassy area but the other side is very near your neighbor - it didn't present a problem. The Wi-Fi is extremely slow in the evening after everyone starts streaming or gets online. Restrooms were clean. The rate reflects 20% discount for Passport America membership. We would return for a night on our way back. Office staff helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Only down side of this park is the narrow drives to the campsites. Well maintained facilities. Very nice staff. Rate shown is a 20% Escapees RV Club discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
Nice people in office. It is an older park with cement pads, but the ground around them can be very soft, so watch your turns. Not tight but not spacious either. It is an older park that is well taken care of. OK for a couple of days We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Nice park with back to back hookups, Road inside very narrow concrete. You are led to your campsite. We have stayed here 3 or 4 times and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Friendly staff, convenient location. Clean and well maintained RV Park. Free but very weak Wi-Fi, weak Verizon signal. Because of the construction going on in Victoria, sites in the area are at a premium. At this time, I suggest you call ahead. We have stayed here several times and find it a nice place for overnight or a few days. Passport America accepted--20% off in Winter months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Very clean park with the nicest staff we have run across so far in our travels. Check-in was fast and they escort you to your site and sanitize the connections in front of you. All sites were level and easy in and out. They have a small workout room with a few exercise machines and a nice pool table. They also have activities scheduled for a couple nights a week but we didn't have time to check those out. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Great for a one night stop or for several nights. They are right on Highway 59 but we had no problem with road noise. We always make reservations for a one night stop since they appear to sell out each night. The sites are extra long and cement. The hookups are in the correct location so a motorhome with a TOAD fit right. Very friendly staff and the go so far as to give you a bag with dog treats along with a pair of gloves to help you if you dump before you leave. Little things like this go a long way. $25.50 Escapees rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
Overnighted here New Years Eve on the way to RGV. Very friendly check-in, we were invited to the New Years party and potluck that evening. Very friendly fellow campers and CG owners at the party. The guy that led us to our spot asked if we were going to hook up to water and then sanitized the spigot for us then gave us a thank you card from the owners. Interesting hook ups, the rvs are off door side to off door side and the utilities are between them. Would camp there again. Rate reflects a 20% discount for P.A. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$27
I have never been to a park with such friendly office staff, from the person taking our reservation to the person checking us in to the person guiding us to our site. Nice clean park with plenty of room for walking the dog in an open area. Quiet park although on the frontage road of I-59. Good location into town since it's close to the loop. It was rainy but not muddy. We paid Good Sam price. Did not give it a 10 since it wasn't a true RV Resort but we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
This is a very clean, well kept park. Our furnace had quit working and the management helped us get a repair company to do the repair. They went out of their way to help us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
Nice adult park, with good facilities. Concrete pads that are back to back hookups. Good power 20/30/50 amp plus cable. Only draw back is the narrow interior roads. Regular rate is $30 in season. Rate show is 20% discount for Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
Great staff, clean park. The sites were mostly concrete and that was a great improvement on some of the parks we have stayed in while here in Texas. My problem is as stated before in some of my reviews, the advertised Wi-Fi was not even up to dial up speeds, when it worked. Also, this day, the cable TV was not working at times. So if neither of these make any difference to you, then you will enjoy you visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
If you are traveling on RT. 59 in Texas and need to stop: this might be the spot. It's easy on and off the highway, if you don't miss the exit. The restrooms were very nice and clean and the laundry was nice. The pool was green and cloudy and closed 2 of the days we were here. The sites were long enough. There are no trees or shade and the wind is constant, not always strong but constant. The staff was ok and helpful. All in all a nice place to stay the night. Watch out for the ducks and the parking police. Park how and where you are told. Our rate was PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
This is a very friendly park. We camp here back and forth to the RGV. Upon arrival they give you a pair of gloves to dump your tank and if you have pets they give you dog bones for your pets. They take you to your site and wash down the water nozzle for you with bleach so it is clean, then they give you a thank you card for staying with them. If you need any info they are happy to help you. This is a great place to stay and very pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Next to Hwy 59 but road noise is not a problem. The sites are concrete and level. Restrooms and showers are very clean. Cable TV is good and has some HD channels. Owners and staff are very friendly and thanked us for the business. They gave out dog treats on 2 occasions. Verizon 3G service was strong for our data card. My rate was with the Escapees discount. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
Great stopover park, well maintained, owner/managers couldn't be more accommodating. Only down side is the roads are narrow. Pads are all concrete with excellent placement of hookups. Rate is winter Passport America rate 20% off $30 a night. Summer rate $30/$15 with PPA. Will stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
We found this jewel through Passport America and would rank it among the best RV parks we have ever stayed at. Not fancy or extra large, but the cleanest, friendliest RV park ever. The owners bought a swampy eyesore 3 or 4 years ago and have transformed it to a jewel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
This park is adjacent to HW 59 but road noise is not a problem. The sites are concrete and level. Restrooms and showers are very clean but not modern. WiFi works but not very fast. Cable TV is more than excellent. The pool is to small to swim. It is more like a giant bath tub. Owners and staff are very friendly and thanked us three times for the business. We stayed here four nights but it is, in our opinion, a park for an overnight stay. Although there are some Winter Texans. We would stay here again if heading south. The rate is one night PA (until November 1st) and three nights with 20% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We arrived here with no reservation and they had a spot for us. Matter of fact, they offered us our choice of three different spots. The staff is very friendly and they escort you to your site and then give you a thank you note for staying with them. This is a A+ park and will make a point of staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We got lost using GPS - camp owner Ron came for us! Very clean campsite with paved sites and plenty of room. Small trees have not yet provided much shade. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Nice pool. Campground has a small pond with a family of ducks walking around the park. Owner has to be one of the nicest guys I have met! We would definitely stay her again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Wonderful little park right on US-59. That is the drawback too: lots of traffic noise. Otherwise a very clean neat park. Extra-friendly staff: even got a 'thank-you' note for staying with them!! Has a free pool table and weight room; a small pool and a duck pond. I paid the Passport America rate. Would definitely stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This park is convenient to the highway. It has gravel sites and friendly staff. Has local worker campers, but it's clean and I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Our rate is Passport America. This is a one or two nighter place only. The pool is postage stamp size, and the wind is continual it seems. But, these are the friendliest people in Texas! They escort you, they make sure you have all you need. Has easy pull through's, cable TV and all the comforts of home: for one night. We will always stop here when in the vicinity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
The owners are very nice they take you to your site and help you hook up.I found the cement pads to be very good and I have a 39ft 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$24
Most hospitable staff we've met on the road in 6 months!!! We had made a wrong turn and the owner saw us as he was leaving and made sure we found our way back!!! RVer's friendly and happy here. Cement pads a little short and narrow. New park and trying to plant trees, grass between sites. The poor duck pond is almost dry as no rain in months!!! Pool very small and not heated. Rec room has a very old pool table and exercise equipment. Nice laundry. Nice size shower facility. Worse thing is the road noise from 59. But I would stay again traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
The campground is definitely not a 4 or 5. The sites are not long enough for pull throughs and vehicles are hanging out on the streets: which are not wide enough. If it rains, the place turns into a swamp. The concrete pads are not wide enough to allow to step out of the motor home and not get wet. Everyone is very friendly and the cable TV is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
Very nice park with new owners. Concrete pads are in the process of being put into every site. Grass is being planted around the sites. The owners are extremely nice; we received a "thank you" note from them just prior to leaving. This is a Passport Park and an Escapee discount park. For all of you SKPs, this park is 200 miles south of Livingston on US-59; a great place to stop on the way to the Valley. And, Harlingen is 200 miles south of Victoria. There is a nice pool and a pond with ducks. Also, there is a nice laundry. Most of the sites are long pull thrus and some backins along the outer edge. They do not have a seasonal rate established as yet, but their monthly rate is $300 and that includes electric. The only negative is the fact that the park is right off US-59 and there is some traffic noise. We definitely will return here if and when we travel to the Valley again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com