220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Northgate RV Travel Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (256) 232-8800
CGID8049

Northgate RV Travel Park

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   7   9   5   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Friendly and helpful host. I should have noted that there were no restrooms or shower facilities before I reserved. Oh well. It was certainly easy enough for me to wash my hair at my own outdoor shower in my swimsuit. Over the air TV channels were plentiful and Wi-Fi signal was excellent. Host very friendly. Check or cash only. Very easy to find off I-65, Exit 354. No shade and gravel sites weren't as level as some I've been in, but plenty long. I would've rated higher if there had been restrooms, but would certainly stay again. 3 miles down the road are all the shopping you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
We stayed at this park on the way to Gulf Shores, AL and also on the way home. It is a very convenient place to stop for the night and easily accessable from the highway. The gentleman who took our reservation on the phone and checked us in when we arrived is extremely friendly and helpful. The sites are level gravel with full hookup. We did not see any public showers or restrooms available so this is not a good place to stop if you are not traveling in something with it's own facilities. It is a great place to stop for the night while traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Great place right off the exit and turn in! Perfect for overnight stops while traveling. Clean sites and all pull thru ones! Only suggestion is to have a coupler and an extra sewer hose, as some are a bit away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
This is a good spot to stop for the night but wouldn't make it a destination place. Absolutely no frills. Owner was very friendly, nice long pull thru's & site was pretty level. Would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
This is a travel park, a great place to overnight or spend some time if you are self-contained. Our rate was based on a weekly rate of $125. Long pull-through sites. We stayed here a week while visiting family. The owner is very helpful and reminded us to use our water regulator as the park has 70 PSI water pressure. We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
This very basic park with no amenities is adequate for a short stay. Friendly and helpful owner. Water pressure is 70psi so regulators are necessary. Wifi was slow, but adequate and surprisingly robust enough to stream music during the day, not at night. No trees, so satellite connection was easy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Agree with all prior positive statements. This is not a destination, it's a stopover for a night or two. Basic no frills campground. It does have Wi-Fi but weak. Verizon strong. The sites are an odd mix. All of them are long, very long, but some have utilities at the back of the site meaning unhooking is mandatory. Not what you want in an over night stop. Sites are level. Some turns are tight but we had no trouble with our 42' motorhome. Road in and out has some potholes, which I suspect will be fixed if the rain ever stops. We would stop again. Also close to Huntsville which has much to see and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
There should be more parks like this. Reasonably priced and perfect for an overnight stop. Friendly owner, All pull-thru full hook-up sites and very easy access from I-65. Water pressure is high and we were told we should use a regulator which I do anyway. We will stay here again when we pass this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Don't let the fee scare you, it's a weekly rate. Long gravel sites and park roads are easy to maneuver. You might need some extra help to get level. I suspect there are some power issues, but don't think it's the parks utilities. Water pressure is high, hookups are convenient and the manager's animals are very friendly. He lives on site and is accommodating. Wifi worked fine but the park has no other amenities. It is easy off and on I-65, but no road noise. We felt well taken care of and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is an easy park to access off I-65. The manager suggested I get off on Exit 354 and disregard my GPS. The park is on the right as you get off the freeway. It is a very nice overnight park. All the utilities work well. The water pressure is excellent. All the spaces are pull thru and long enough to handle the 40 ft coach and the toad. Even tho it is near the freeway the noise is tolerable. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Great overnight park. You get a nice long pull thru with full hookups for $25 (cash or check only). Off the interstate but very quiet. Roads and sites are gravel, a little dusty, with good spacing of grass between each sites. Some leveling required at sites. No laundry. Wi-Fi is free and worked great during our stay. No trees so using satellite is not a problem. Owner is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Exactly as advertised. Stopped on the way to FL. I called ahead to let them know we'd be in around 8:30. Gentleman waited for us and directed us to an easily accessible site. Great choice for travelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
You can't ask anything more from an overnight stay campground. Quiet clean, mostly level sites, all pull thru, after hours honor system, and always an available spot. Extremely easy on and off of I-65 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Very nice park. Good gravel roads and sites. Just off I-65 but in a rural setting. Very neat and clean, well kept. Owner is very friendly and helpful. No full time residents. The only amenity that is missing is TV cable. All sites are pull thru and very level. Cash only, no credit cards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Only reason for not giving this park a 10 was there was no cable TV, however the antenna reception was very acceptable. This is the only negative there was with this park. Owner was very nice, just pick the site you want and even offered advice based on your rig. Yes it's close to the interstate but based on the lack of noise, you would never know it. I would stay here again, an excellent and accessible park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a perfect overnight, or short-term stay with a fully self-contained RV. Park is just off I-65, is nicely groomed, all sites are level pull-throughs, has full hookups available, a safe place to stay. Manager is friendly and it was very competitively priced. I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The owner was friendly and helpful. He seemed happy to have business. Campground is right off the freeway, but I didn't notice excessive noise. This park is not fancy, but is a great overnighter with gravel but level sites. There was a problem with the 50 amp spiking and tripping our surge protector. I wouldn't use 50 amp without one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
The park was nice and the owner was helpful. The reason I did not rate it higher was that we did have a problem with the power spiking causing our protection unit to shut down at least four times. It resets after two min but were glad for the protection. The water is at high pressure and the gauge showed 90psi at some times. USE A REGULATOR. The rate shown is for a week stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This is nice quiet park. All hook ups were great. All pull through gravel sites - but level. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Easy access to I65. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Was looking for a place for a quick overnight and found this place. Decent pull-through, 50 amp full-hookup sites. My site angled down towards the front a bit. Owner was very friendly and appreciative of the business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Strictly a no frills, in & out, overnight RV park, just off exit 354 on I-65. All hookups worked well, and the site we had was reasonably level. Owner was very friendly, and the price was fair for what you got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
As an overnight stop I gave this park an eight. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The sites were gravel, all pull thru, fairly level with full hookups. No trees to get in the way of my Direct TV. Just off interstate 65. Traffic noise was not a problem. I would use this park again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We spent an overnight stop at this gem on our way to Florida. I call it a "gem" because it was the perfect set up for an overnight, no-frills rest stop. There's nothing there to make it a destination, but the entire premise of this place was to provide RV'ers a safe, comfortable stop. Situated in a flat, mowed field the sites here were level gravel pull-thru with full hook-ups. No restrooms or facilities of any kind, but with full hook-ups they're not needed. The place was clean, maintained, and the gentleman I contacted to arrange for a site (late arrival) could not have been nicer. The only reason I gave it a 9 out of 10 was due to the fact we had some difficulty with some distant train noise. We'd definitely stop here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
This campground is excellent for quick overnight stops; we wouldn't advise staying for multiple days. It is a stripped down, no frills campground, even though it offers full service at all sites. Our only complaint is that the owner's dogs were allowed to run anywhere in the park, keeping our dogs overly excited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
What a pleasant surprise! This campground is not a destination campground but a truly nice overnight (or short stay) place. The owner is one of the nicest, down-to-earth people and the campground serves it's intended purpose well. If more CG owners along the interstates would use this guy's business plan, there'd be no need to stay in a Walmart parking lot. We'll sure be back every time we go to Northwest FL (which is several times a year). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Owner very friendly. Hookups are well located. Water pressure real high. Sites are well maintained. Great overnight stop. Easy on and off the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
$25/ night full hookup. Fantastic place for an overnight stop! Super friendly! Safe, clean and quiet. Easy on and off 65 and right at the exit. Honor system if you roll in late just pay (envelope provided for your, cash or check, no plastic), and pick a spot. Be sure to use your water regulator, the pressure is high. If you were to be in the area awhile: its $125/ week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
We stayed here while visiting family. We were usually gone during the day. The Campground is well maintained and the owner is friendly and when ever we saw him he asked if everything was ok. This is close to the interstate and easy to get to. Walmart and other stores are a short drive away. We stayed for 7 nights and paid $125 for the week thus the low daily rate. We would plan to stay here again when in the area. The CG is open year round. Use a water regulator as the water pressure was at least 70psi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
An overnight stay for us while passing through and too tired to drive further. We arrived late and found an honor system box on the front porch. $25 cash or check, no cards, select your own site and hook up. Sites were flat and open. easy access of the interstate, easy pull through, and easy hook up. Be sure to use a water pressure regulator. There are warnings on their website and on the porch that the water pressure is high. Good place to get a nights rest and be on the way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
Nice overnight stay park right by the interstate. As was previously stated, the owner only takes cash or check. Don't follow directions on the Rand McNally GPS. It will take you way out of your way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
Stayed in the overflow site, had to find a recently vacated site to dump. Only take cash or personal checks (like most of the south). Owner put our name on an orange cone to save the site for us as he had to go milk the goats. Has very strong water pressure and they warn you: so use a water restrictor valve. Located right off the Interstate, but road noise is less then other CG's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
We got to pick our spot of those that were open. The one we were in was nearly level. The owner was friendly and helpful. He only takes cash or check. No credit cards. It helps keep the prices down. Electric was good. Water was strong at 70 lbs. Note have your regulator. It was very convenient to the highway. There was a little noise but for an overnight it was just what we needed. Clean too. Note the drive sneaks up on you. We will stop here anytime we are through here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Excellent overnight campground. Sites and roads are narrow. Cost is controlled by providing only the necessities for self contained units. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Sites are narrow and run either up hill or down hill depending on the direction your RV points. Power is good with full hookups on all sites. Some highway noise since I-65 and US-41 are within 1500 feet of the campground. Due to location I would stay again since there is very easy access from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Spent one night at this park on our trip south. We would definitely stay here again. Owner is very friendly; park is quiet, close to town, close to 4-lane highway, easy to find from I-65 S. Pull through are lots graveled and not too close together. We needed wrecker service and a tire repair store in Athens, and we got very good service for both. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
This is an outstanding park, small, very clean with a very nice owner. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it so much we stayed 1 more night. We will stay here every time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend for the hot air balloon festival. This is a great park for a home base while in the area but not for a destination park. Owner who is a very good guy, told me this on the phone when I called. Loved watching the lambs play in the field and got a kick out of Dottie the greeter ( also mooch ). She came to see me a couple of times a day. WiFi antenna is down from lightning but can get a signal at office. We will use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
A great campsite for an overnight stay. All level and well spaced sites make getting in and out a breeze. There are also many fine restaurants nearby. We chose one called the Catfish Cabin which was about 2 miles from the campground. For around $12.00 each we had some of the best seafood we have ever eaten. So, yes we will be stopping at Northgate again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
We used this as an overnight stop. Our rate was cash. Very convenient to I-65 almost as if it had its own exit. Open CG with all pull through sites. Utility connections were well placed for us. Some vary by site so you have some options. Although big rig access it does take some maneuvering and sites are somewhat limited for larger rigs, as a friend of ours with a 45' found. We both were able to stay hooked up but you just had to be selective. Staff were very helpful. This campground is nestled next to pastures with goats, sheep and cattle grazing nearby. We have put it on our list as a regular stopover because we will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
This is a return trip. The rating is based on the fact that we were looking for an easy off and on, quiet park with long, level sites. All are full hook ups. Wi-fi is out at this time, but everything else was just fine for a friendly overnight stop. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
Good park for overnight from I-65. Just open, gravel sites with full hookups. Can be described as a Wal-Mart lot with full hookups. Park has a few long term rentals but primarily overnight stays. We would return on trip south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This park is close to the interstate, but without a lot of traffic noise. It's also close to the town of Athens. It has gravel pull-through sites, but no bathrooms or laundry. They advertise wireless internet, but I couldn't find a signal. This is an OK campground for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
This was a very convenient park. Easy on and off from I-65. The park no longer accepts Passport America. Though the park was supposed to have Wi-Fi, we had no signal. Nice long pull throughs gravel and level. Clean little park. The owner operator was very friendly. We would recommend the park and would stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Really nice and convenient campground. Owner/manager very friendly and helpful. Quiet and peaceful atmosphere - sheep and goats grazing nearby. Away from Interstate noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
The rating is based on the fact that we were looking for an overnight, easy on and off park where we didn't have to unhook. The site was level and plenty big enough for our 37' fifth wheel. We were pleasantly greeted by friendly Dottie and her owner. The sites are full hook up, and the Wi-Fi is free. There is no laundry or wash house, but the park is very quiet even though it is close to the highway. There is a laundry as well as a super Wal-Mart within four miles if needed. There is also a discount for paying cash. We are glad we found this park and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
Basic no frills park, good for stopover while traveling through. Sites are crushed rock. Our site was uneven and all parking pads are narrow, with grass between sites. Fiendly owner. Park setting surrounded on 3 sides by his farm. Clean. Wi-Fi spotty. We would stay here again, convenient location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
This is definitely an RV Park, it appears they cater to a lot of overnight travelers (one night stays) but did have a few sites that had "monthly" campers in them. We had trouble accessing the Wi-Fi, but later found out "our computer" was set to a dedicated IPS address for our home network. Be sure to have yours set to "automatically detect settings" LOL. The Park was easy access from I-65 and was set far enough away that you didn't hear the traffic. It has an open field setting but the sites were of adequate size and roads were easy to navigate. The sites were pretty level and made set up fairly easy. This seems to be a newer Park. The owner was very friendly and we saw him out a few times during our one night stay. The park was very clean, offered Propane at a reasonable price, though we didn't need a fill. Overall, easy access, clean, friendly, but more of a stop over than a long term visit as there wasn't much to do in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$11
I stayed here a month and everything the previous posters said is true. Dotty still greets all visitors. There are still many sheep, cows, horses, and goats in the pastures surrounding the campground. The owner is as nice as can be. It was very cold while I stayed here and my water only froze up once because I was away for a couple days. It froze at my water pump as I didn't have a hose connected to the outside pipe. The sites are gravel but I went ahead and put pads under my jacks anyway thinking that would be enough. However, within a couple days, the weight of my motor home pushed the back jacks into the ground about six inches. Then the ground froze and I didn't feel like messing with it so I just left it alone. Well, a couple weeks later I needed to refill my LP tank (and Wes has the cheapest LP prices around). It took me about 20 minutes of chipping at the frozen ground with a claw hammer to get my jack pad out of the ground. So if you arrive after a rain, be sure to take into account the softness of the ground and use something a little more substantial under your jacks. My jack pads were the 8-inch square pads with the handles that you get from Camping World. They had no problem sinking into the ground but it was a good thing I used them anyway otherwise I might not have gotten the jacks up at all. Other from that, my stay there was nice and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
Very nice park to stay while visiting the North Alabama area. The friendly owners treat you like 'family'. Great water pressure with freeze-proof faucets. The park is surrounded by farmland with horses, mules, sheep and goats. Dottie, the official greeter dog, comes by to visit on her daily rounds and is a real sweetheart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
We stay at this park on our way south in October, and again on our way north. There are no washroom or laundry facilities yet. It is just off I65 and provides a safe and friendly visit. There are horses that graze just beyond the fence that will come to you if you remember to bring a carrot. And be sure to ask at the office if there are any fresh eggs We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
We spent the month of June 2008 at this park while working in the community of Athens. For what it is, it is a great little RV park! It is right off the interstate, with easy access, easy pull through sites, and a quiet, safe environment. The owner is super friendly and very easy going. The water pressure is very high and the Wi-Fi is outstanding too. And there was plenty of room for our 40 footer and both of our vehicles! There are no other amenities here though: no showers or laundry, no pool or anything like that. But for what it does, it does well. I would gladly recommend this park and would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Very nice travel park. No bathhouse, tables or fire ring. Perfect for a overnight stop. Right off I-65, but very little noise from it. Good water and electric. Great owner and office staff. Friendly and helpful if needed. Fairly level gravel pull-through with grass between sites. Owner has horses, sheep and cows which are right next to park. Nice to see when walking the dog. Watch out for the electric fence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
This park is nothing fancy, just a place to park. It has no bathrooms or showers. It does have full hook ups with good Wi-Fi. It is close to town and right next to I-65, but not close enough to have a noise problem. It is a new park built and owned by a private individual on a budget. Like the other party said, it is part of his farm with horses and sheep in the adjacent fields. Nice country setting though. We camped here for a week while we visited several of the local attractions. We will stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2007
$23
There are no bathrooms, showers or laundry, nor are there trees or picnic tables or spaces to have a campfire. It looks to be mostly for those who live here permanently. The owner's dog runs loose. There are animals here, as it is part of a farm, that children might like to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com