219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Roosevelt State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (601) 732-6316
CGID8059

Roosevelt State Park

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   7   5   6   8   1   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
The rate reflects a 30 amp full hookup site with a senior discount. Mississippi is certainly to be commended for extended the senior discount to all seniors, not just state residents. You cannot beat that rate for a full hookup site. The park is very convenient from Interstate 20, only about 5 minutes away. There are two campgrounds in the park, one called “Old Campground” and one “New Campground” – not very creative names. We had stayed there before in the “New Campground” with 50 amps. This time when we checked in we asked the very nice and helpful lady what might be the site with less Interstate noise. She suggested the Old Campground with 30 amp hookups, so we went for that. It is marginally quieter and seems a lot calmer. However, it is certainly not for big rigs. We are only 27feet long and I would not take anything longer than 30 feet or so into this campground. The turns are tight and many of the sites slope so that leveling for a longer RV would be an issue. Our Verizon phone and data were strong. Most sites would not have satellite, but we were able to find a hole for DirecTV. This park could use some TLC. It seems to be OK to build a fire anywhere and that has been done to create an unsightly campground. Even with all of this, we would certainly stay here again for an overnight on a journey. It is not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$17
The staff was very friendly. Bathrooms were always clean. Very pet friendly. Even with our dog tried to eat fish directly in the lake. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Close to I-20 which is great for travelers but you do get some highway noise. we stayed in the CCC campground. Our site was fairly private. The other campers were not as friendly as some campgrounds. In MS there is no Wi-Fi and apparently no one at the gate house. The walking in this park was good. The weather turned cold so we did not enjoy the lake as much as we wanted. they claim to have laundry facilities but there was one washer on a porch and no dryer. It would be a good overnight stop but not for long. I think the other campground looked better but not all those sites had sewer there. A lot of sites are short and poorly laid out i.e. table and barbecue behind your rig sharp drop-offs, etc. No set fire ring just built fires wherever suited you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
Roosevelt State Park was built a long time ago and seems more designed for small pickup truck campers and pop-ups. It has very narrow, windy roads that go up and down a lot of hills. The campsites are narrow, back-in concrete pads. Ours was built up at the back over the edge of a ravine. Despite all that, we saw bigger 5th wheels and travel trailers. We saw 1 big motor home in a pull through site. The park is lovely and wooded with the campsites around the shores of a beautiful lake. Price reflects the Senior Citizen discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
I gave park such a low rating because it was advertised as Big Rig Friendly and it is not, perhaps a 32-34 would do OK. Low hanging branches and tight turns. Also, pads are either just 40 or really usable space is under. No real tent pad either, basically good for smaller trailers. The good, it is a beautiful lake front setting, lots of families and some full hook ups. Although advertised as right off Route 20 it is about 3 mi back to campsites. We would not return. Nothing in surrounding towns except a couple of fast food spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Restrooms under renovation. Only clean and newly renovated was near the campground near office. Others were either out of service or too dirty to use. Those should be ready in a few months. Nice park, nice walking, and Frisbee golf. Hiking trails need better marking. Will have water slide and pool open next year. Very small lake, but pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
The CCC (new) campground has a number of really nice sites along the lake. As in most MS parks, all are back-ins. Ours was a full hookup. Being a state park the roads were narrow. We stayed in October which meant there was not a lot of traffic. Navigating around oncoming traffic with a 40 ft motorhome would have been nerve wracking if there had been more traffic, but now having been here once, we would definitely come again. There is a truck stop on highway 13 where you can unhook/hook your toad for more flexibility. Sites are beautiful, shaded and well sited along the lake. We walked around to see if there would be as site we would prefer next time, but they were all really nice. Get a PDF map from the state park site. We used Reserve America to make reservations and pick out our site so we knew what to expect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This park is NOT big rig friendly or accessible. We tried 2 sites and walked 4 others but could not get into any of them. When we paid cash at the office, with our coach parked outside the window, the check in person never told us they could not accommodate us. After a very long time of attempting to make a successful parking, we gave up and left. They will not refund our money. They will give us credit at another park, but it will not be any better than this. We agreed to a lake side site only to discover it is a back in. We do not have a back window (duh) so it was a waste of money. Again, it should have been disclosed to us at check in that the site was a back in. We had no way of seeing the site as it is 2.5 miles into the park on a road so narrow it would not qualify as a single lane on an interstate. This was a very bad experience. We will take part of the blame for the fiasco, but the personnel in the office should disclose that a big rig won't fit or that all sites, including lake front, are back ins. If you have a big rig, do not even think about stopping here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
This is a very nice campground only a short way off of interstate, and that it the problem. It gets freeway noise. Now, this is not a problem if you go into your RV, shut it up and turn on the AC, but if you like to spend time outside you will hear the interstate. If had not been for that, it would have received an 8 or so. We had a very nice "premium" site on the small lake. The birding was good and the view was great. It was quiet and fairly dark. The ladies at the front still did not have park maps. Apparently a lack of copiers, but no problem. We were able to find our site and find our way around the park. We would definitely stay again for an overnight, which is what we did, but would not make it a longer term destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
This was our first camping experience with our new travel trailer. We chose this park simply because it was close to home for our fist trip. However, we will camp here again. There are lots of lake-side sites. There are more sites with sewer hook-ups than their website indicates. The park is clean, well kept and staffed by friendly employees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This is a lovely park right off I-20, exit 77. Tall pines and rolling hills of the Bienville Natl. Forest. To clarify, there are a few pull through sites but most are back in with views of the lake, and while the bathroom was clean it was quite old and in need of a paint job. There are also 15 cabins and a 20 unit lodge. Very much appreciated the stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We stayed here overnight on our way to Auburn. It's right off the freeway. You have to watch out for low lying limbs as you drive to you site. Our site was on the lake and was beautiful. Will stay there again when we have more time to explore the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
First of all let me say this was a beautiful area with forest and lake, WOW! Price was cheap! Bathroom/showers were very dirty! And the worst thing is we were invaded by ants! A lot of ants! Don't know if that was just our luck of the site we chose or what. If we could stay there without the infestation we would in a heartbeat just for the scenery despite the bathroom/showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
We were there over the July 4th weekend. It was packed. Everyone was friendly,and we had a great time. For the number of people using the restrooms, they were kept fairly clean. It is a small park and we walked it several times. It is very easy to find, just off I-20. We will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
My husband said this was his favorite place we've stayed so far, and we've stayed in a lot of nice places!!! It's a beautiful park and a terrific rate with full hook-ups! We have a 40ft motorhome and were put in a great, level, fairly easy to get into, site. Yes, the roads are a bit narrow, but they are certainly do-able. Don't know about rain and puddling as we had beautiful weather! Would certainly stay here again! If you're not familiar (as we were not), I would recommend making sure you go over everything (including directions to your site) very thoroughly with the check-in person. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
This is a great park in my opinion. The only negative thing was the restroom/shower building in the area where we camped. It needed repairs. I think there are newer buildings in the other campgrounds on the opposite side of the lake. We stayed just one night while passing through. I would recommend this park for an overnight or a family vacation in the warm months. There is a waterslide and pools and the lake is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
I do not understand the last review as we stayed here in a 34ft rig with a car and had no problems getting in our site. The weekend we stayed the park was full, and they put us and some friends in sites next to each other. The people at the office when we checked in and out were very nice and helpful. The bathrooms do need some work, but the lake views are great, and the pool is fun but they do charge. Also that weekend I rode around the park on bikes and saw rigs bigger then ours that had no problem from what I could tell. We had a great time and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Hands down, the worst state park we have ever found anywhere - they advertise big rig access, but that is not entirely true - roads in and out are not wide enough for 2 vehicles, the sites are poorly marked, and the gate staff is not at all helpful. When we arrived, there were 2 motor homes in our group, the girl at the gate house had to be coerced into giving us 1 map for the 2 of us. She then gave us wrong directions to our sites - it was if she had no idea how the park was laid out. Whe we arrived at our site, it was partially flooded due to 3 days of rain - not their fault, but the site was listed as 60 feet long - we could barely get our 40 footer into it. When we opened the door, the steps went into a 2 foot drop off into the mud. No room for the tow vehicle. Our traveling companions fared much worse than us - their site was so steep and difficult to get into that they didn't even try. We went through the park, and any empty site looked no better. We then checked the area, and after physically looking at the campground, opted to leave Roosevelt, as we could not see spending the week in such a poorly kept park. Upon leaving, we stopped next to the gate house to tell the girl inside that we were leaving, but true to what we found when checking in, she was too absorbed in her reading of the newspaper to bother to look up at us. This park might not be all bad, but for someone not familiar with it just traveling through, the website grossly misrepresents what it really is - it is in no way accurate. We would not consider it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
There were few campers in the older section. We camped in Site 13 and it is beautiful with the lake in our sights from both sides of the trailer's windows. For beauty, this would be a 9. For the bathrooms, it is a 5. They are old but clean. None of the doors in the womens restroom locked; therefore, they swung open while you were there. The showers had doors for privacy and to put your towel and clean clothes. There were also shower curtains that separated the area so your dry clothes didn't get wet. We were here for 1 night passing through and have stayed here before just passing through. I'm not sure if I would stay here several days. The camp store was closed both this time and the last time we stayed here in February. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Nicely shaded. A very nice state park. The only drawback is that the pool is very dated. They also charge $5 per adult and $3 per child per session. There is a morning session and a afternoon session. The pool has a large water slide but that cost extra also. I will stay there again. In our opinion site #87 is the best site in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
This time of year the park is quiet and we were the only campers on site. Park is well maintained. It is far enough from the street and very quiet. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
This park is located about a mile off of I-20 near Morton, MS. Upon entering the park, there are two campgrounds from which to choose. The park on the east side of the lake, about a mile away, is the older campground and has some full-hookups and some water/electric only. The sites on the west side of the lake are somewhat newer and appear to be all full hookups. Note that this is a fairly old park, so the term “new” is only relative. Site 60 is right next to the swimming area. Sites 56, 57, and 58 are on the water and fairly private. While the concrete/paved sites are fairly level, I did have to use leveling blocks. For the few days we were there, the camp store never opened. That could have been due to the holidays. The only minor drawback of the park is that you can hear the faint rumble of interstate traffic. However, you don’t notice it after a while. Overall a nice park that we would consider visiting again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Sites were very nice and mostly level, with plenty of space. Patrols come by often for security. Swimming pool has a huge water slide for use with provided tubes. Pool is open for morning and afternoon sessions at additional charge and worth it. Beach access to lake is good, but very small. There are many nature trails, disc golf, boat launch, softball fields, conference room and a game room. Game room arcade is outdated and most games were broken or in serious need of updating. Shower/bathroom area is outdated and old and could use some attention. There is also a deer pen where deer are kept and easily viewed. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com