223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Hernando Point - COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (662) 562-6261
CGID8068

Hernando Point - COE

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   8   7   8   9   5   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
This was the Best park we have ever stayed in. Clean, quiet, and beautiful. Nature abounds here. Breath taking views of the lake. Shady sites. Cell phone worked very well. Perfect for a destination campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
Rate reflects the Golden Age Pass. This is a great COE park, many sites right on the lake bank or in sight. There is also an area “inside” if you don’t care for the lake breezes with plenty of trees. The lake side sites don’t have as many trees. Good ranger presence, camp hosts were friendly. We did not use the shower or restrooms but friends of ours also camping there did and said they were clean. Their only complaint was a lack of good ventilation. Beach was closed when we were there due to high water. Park would have gotten a 10 if they had sewer and/or wi-fi. Park is very quiet, even when fairly busy, its obvious the rangers enforce quiet hours. On the down side, they have removed the trash cans from the camping loops and the central trash dumpster are quite a ways from the camping loops. Also, if you’re wanting to run a “tote” to the dump, its more than ½ mile from the camping loops. Our Verizon hot spot and phones worked well, 99% of the time, a few drops. The dam is very interesting to visit. When we were there they were releasing water thru the spillway, very impressive. Lake has diverse boating, with sailboats, jetskis, catamarans and power boats as well as many fishing boats. We would definitely stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$9
This was a one night stay on the road to somewhere else. The park was well-maintained, although old. We had a pull-through site (23) right on the lake. Verizon cell service was good, and we were able to pick up the Memphis, TN television stations via antenna with good signal strength. Restrooms and shower were clean and in good working order. The asphalt road within the campground was narrow, so care should be exercised when driving to the campsite. 50 amp electric worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Rate is with senior pass. Another great COE park on the shores of the lake. A bit off the interstate, but worth it for a few nights. Interior roads and sites are paved, and the sites, all back-in are not as deep as most COE parks; in this case our 40' motor home just fit with our tow vehicle parked to the side. Many of the sites are on the lake shore, and all have large areas for the table, fire ring, and even a tent area. Power and water were good, and Verizon cell and data were weak, but usable. Lots of trees, but ample room for a tripod satellite. Beware the ants, they can be a problem, but at least they're not fire ants. An enjoyable place to stay at a great rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We had a beautiful lake-front site with a nice fire ring and picnic table. Site was level with good 50 amp hookup. Restrooms were old and dated but kept very clean by the park hosts. We did have a problem with dog ticks but this is an Army Corps park located in a natural setting in the south, so ticks are to be expected. It was great waking up to our beautiful view of Arkabutla Lake. We would stay here again but probably not in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Great campground. Stayed here before and the only issues are a little lack of attention, tall grass, and the beach was closed due to high water. But the sites are paved and level, several right on the water. Facilities are in good repair and clean and the ranger came around often which has been my gripe in the past. Excellent campground we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
New, large, paved, level sites, easy to get in for a large MH. Many water front sites. Almost all have shade trees and many are completely tree covered. Down side, lake was low and mosquitoes were thick at night. We were there with senior pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
We camped here a couple nights as we were passing through. We would camp here again for the same reason, but it would not be a "destination" camp ground for us. Lake was very low. But, the grassy mud flats were attracting lots of birds. Very nice sites, paved and level. Nice tables on concrete. Very good paved roads. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Have stayed here before and since then many improvements have been made to most of the sites and the roads. The bad news is the lake is almost dry. Still a good place to ride the bikes. Rate is with the senior pass. Forget about making reservations: due to government cutbacks most of the park is non-reservable now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Nice campground. Lake is pretty. Restrooms need updating & some TLC. Water was standing in restrooms. No attendants in the campground. Sheriff patrols the campground several times a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
If you are traveling through on I-55 this is a very convenient place to stop. I-55 S - exit at Hernando, I-55 N, exit at Coldwater. The park is approximately 20 miles south of Memphis and is a good base to explore the city and visit Graceland. Hernando Point is a nice COE park that features level, paved sites. There is one pull through site but most sites are big rig friendly. You usually don't need reservations here! Most sites are in the trees but there are open sites for satellite reception. The park is situated on large lake and there are numerous lake front sites. There is not a lot to do here on site, unless you like to boat or fish. Fuel and groceries are available in Hernando which has a Walmart Super Center and a Kroger's. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Clean well kept park. Paved, level pad with water and electricity. Picnic table, lantern hook and smaller table and grill. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$9
This another nice COE park. Price reflects GA discount. Water, Power (50amp) and dump station. We stayed in a loop that is closing 10/1. There were only a couple RV’s in it. The other loops were reserved for the next couple weeks with only a couple sites open during the week. Right on Hernando Lake. The sites are blacktop with nice patios adjoining or close. Lantern hooks, picnic table, another small table and cooking grill. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Excellent park. The only thing that would make this a better park would be sewer connections and maybe a laundry. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Very nice well kept park. We come here often and always enjoy it. Paved level spots, all the furnishings are functional, some sites are right on the water. Lots of passes by from the "contractor" rangers and even local sheriff. Beach area is pretty close and mostly shaded sites. I'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
This is really nice COE campground. Newly paved roads and camp sites. New concrete pads with new picnic table, grill, and table. The fire rings are large and set up up to be able to use for cooking if desired. The rest rooms are very clean and well maintained. Park area is right on the lake, but the beaches are closed due to new construction earlier this year. Overall a nice peaceful, clean campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
We had a wonderful 5 day stay and will return if in the area. All amenities were clean and serviceable. All roads have been recently resurfaced and campsites remodeled. Swimming Beach was closed the entire time with no explanation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
So much potential, but the campground is very nice, many sites right on the water. Clean and shaded, it is a real gem. Only drawback is management. It was a bit off-season so the contractor was the only ranger we saw and she was useless. Her office is right next to the bathhouse and I had to go tell her it was backing up. When some youngsters decided to share Led Zepplin with everyone in the campground she merely shrugged and said she would tell the ranger "whenever he came by". Put someone who cares in there and this place would be top notch! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
A very roomy campground, any sized RV can maneuver here. The bath houses were great and we saw some deer and other wildlife. The only draw-back: one should always check the COE website to be sure the lake is not too high for swimming. Sometimes it is too high for recreational access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
We stayed four days and will go back again. Good base for Tunica. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Nice campground. Bathhouses had a contractor cleaning crew and they were spotless! Nice paved level sites. On Lake Arkabutla Resevoir. The water was very low when we were there. So low that the boat landing stopped about 150 feet before the water! It is a huge lake and looks like it would be a great spot for summertime camping. Very spacious sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com