218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Heritage Cove Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (814) 635-3386
CGID8105

Heritage Cove Resort

Camp Information
Sites
195
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   1   3   10   4   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a no frills campground, but it is nice and clean. There are quite a few sites that are seasonal, but there are plenty sites available for daily and weekly rentals. The camp store is big, but they don't have a lot of amenities. Inside the store, there is free Wi-Fi, but there is not any cell service in the campground, or around the entire Raystown area at all. The store also closes around 5pm each night. They have a boat dock available to use. Our site was a decent size and pretty level, which most seemed to be level. They arrange the rentals out, so we didn't feel cramped in and had plenty of room. The bathrooms were clean and well kept. The pool looked clean, we didn't use; but there were a few kids in it. They have a playground and volleyball net next to the pool that were being used as well. We rented a pontoon boat from the Raystown resort, which was about 20-30 minutes away. We also visited the Trough Creek State Park for some hiking and biking, which was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
We camped here in a 45 ft motorhome and the owners of the campground were two of the nicest people we have met at a campground. We were guided to site 208 and requested a site with satellite service. The owner and handy man made sure all was working well before leaving. We also rented a pontoon boat and that was in very nice condition and was very enjoyable day on the lake. They drove by our site many times during our 4 day stay to be sure we had everything we need for an enjoyable stay. The road leading to the campground is about 2 miles long and winding, but no problem at all for our 45 footer towing a Tahoe. I can recommend this campground and you will receive the same level of service we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
We had a group of 7 adults and 5 kids. We have a travel trailer (28') and had 2 tents. Upon check in we were told where to go, but no paperwork was given or rules/check-out times, etc. We were charged for 2 sites and an additional $20 per night for the extra tent. We also had 3 boats. We were charged to dock the boats $20 a day also. We arrived late Friday afternoon and put ONE boat in. When we went to our assigned trailer parking ASSIGNED spot, there was already a trailer there. Confusion at the front office. She had no idea what was going on. On Saturday we docked the other 2 boats and spent the day boating. We were given assigned boat slips. On Sunday we decided to do some boat riding and upon returning around 3o'clock one of our boats had been moved. Someone had gotten in it and moved it!!! The man that worked there said he did it because our slips were no longer valid. Again, we paid for 2 days!! Today I got a charge on my cc for another $40!! And to top it off the pool was closed on Friday upon arrival and all day Sunday! This is not waterfront property and no where to swim except the pool! This place is a joke! We will NEVER stay here again! Be aware!! They could have easily at any time came and talked to us before moving the boat because we were there. We were not asked if we were staying longer or anything. We did stay until late in the afternoon but since it was our first time we had no idea of check out time! Again: no communication. They are not locals. These people are all about the money and are Californians! Not people friendly at all!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
If you do not own your own personal water craft (wave runner, canoe, kayak, etc.) this may not be the place for you. I think if we had not been with three other families, our stay would have been a complete waste while in the campground itself. The campground is very basic, not much happening here as far as activities for kids or adults. Be very careful when driving in and out of the campground on River Road. It is very, very narrow and there are no guard rails. This makes it nearly impossible for a RV and Boat, Boat and truck, RV and RV to pass each other. There are a few spots along the way to pull over a little, but if you cannot see what is coming around the bend it can be a little nerve racking. Upon our arrival we stopped at the office to check in and the young lady who helped us was very polite, she and the other office staff seemed unprepared. This was a little concerning since it was the official weekend to kick off the summer. They gave us a black and white copy of the campground map and told us to follow the escort to our site. They did not give us any other information about the campground, like quiet hours, activities, rental prices for canoes or kayaks, or office hours. We found out most days the office closes between 6pm -7pm. The camp store (if that is what one calls it) did not have anything related to items a typical onsite camp store would carry. If you like your frozen treat (real ice cream not ice cream bars) bring your own or you will have to stop at one of the ice cream places off site. We backed into our site when an older gentlemen (whom I assume was the owner?) stopped his truck and rudely told my husband he needed to move his truck in even further. He kept going on and on about moving the vehicle now as they have some rather large rigs that come through there. I said we are trying to get an idea of where all the things were for the site so we could setup our trailer accordingly. Finally my husband just backed it in a little further and the guy was on his way. We saw him several times throughout our stay driving around, but never abiding by the speed limit within the campground. Though most of the other employees did not follow the speed limit either. A guy was moving his boat from the main road down near the docks and the owner whipped right around him instead of waiting. We checked out the pool only one for the whole campground and it is small! The water was a bit green and one of our friends mentioned it to an employee. He said it was being treated, but they still opened the pool. Again this was Memorial weekend, if you needed to treat the pool it should have been ready last week. The next day we were told that the pool may not open because it went from hazy and green to a light brown. Later that afternoon it was open again, but it did not look any better. My husband said in general the water that came out of the faucets was dirty, so use a filter and do not drink it! The park for the kids is a bit plan, really not much maybe two swings and a small slide. There were horseshoes, but the grass had grown all around the boxes and the area. I did not see any horseshoes at the pit, so I guess you had to rent them from the office, but I would not know since they did not provide any information to us. They had a DJ one night for the kids at the pavilion, but he did not have any lights setup. It was completely dark and seemed strange. The campground does not offer any place to really fish along the banks. The lake was extremely muddy where the dock was and there is no where for the kids to play in the lake either. During our stay we lost power in the campground and they said it was a box down the road that blew. Not sure if that was the case or just poor electrical service since majority of campers had their air going due to the weather. Also they advertise wireless internet, but it is only available near office and at the pool if you are lucky. We will not be staying here again as there are better options in the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$56
I can't say enough how much we love this campground! Large, shaded, quiet sites. Free private boat dock. Large parking lot for the boat trailer. Friendly staff and a nice lodge with a sitting area, laundry, etc. Playground could use a little sprucing up but with the lake who needs a playground? This is our go to spot for our annual vacation. I have recommended to everyone and will have a larger group to camp with us next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
We had an interesting stay here. Overall, it was a good time because we had four other families, and the campground did a great job of putting us away from anyone else. Campground is basic, not much happening here (which was okay by us). Boat docks are nice; we launched our own kayaks from this location. Negatives: Received ZERO info about the campground when we checked in. Older gentlemen (owner I assume?) was rude at times. Jumped all over me because I parked my truck by the boat ramp when all I was doing was walking down to see if the kids and their kayaks were ready to be loaded. Started beeping the horn and yelling when he pulled up escorting a couple in an RV. Plenty of room for them to get by and no boat, so I wasn't blocking anyone. Started going on about how many idiots come in there with boats and can't drive, etc. Same gentleman called all of our kids to his office one evening without a parent present to question them about a report of someone jumping off a building into the pool. This was not our kids, and we all had issues with this tactic as the parents should have been notified and asked to escort their children (some as young as 7 years old). When my wife questioned a worker about this he said he would get the owner to come to our site, and he never showed up. A party in our group was told to leave their Great Dane at home due to insurance issues and policy. Fine, but then we witnessed a fellow camper walking around their Doberman one evening. According to their website Dobermans are one of the banned dogs. Come to find out, it was a long term tenant, so we assume the rules are only enforced for us short term campers. Kept tripping the 30amp breaker at the pole. Never had this issue at other sites. Question the electricity being provided. Water was filthy, so definitely use a filter. Wireless is only accessible near office unless you bring a powerful antenna. Internet speed was atrocious. Campground wasn't full, but one of our tent campers had hot water issues in the men's shower. Positive: Great area for kayaking. Great area if you aren't into crowds. Summary: Enjoyed the trip because of friends and our ability to get sites together away from other campers. Probably won't return because I wasn't impressed by certain things mentioned above. Too many other options out there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Awesome place! We will be back again. We had a great site, level and wide. The restrooms were very clean and nice. The owners couldn't be nicer. they have put a lot of time and money into this place. The young boys they have working here, were helpful and very courtious. Be aware there's NO cellphone, TV, and limited radio service. Didn't brother us, we loved it, but could see a lot of unhappy teens going through withdrawal from no texting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
Wow! We have been camping for years and never have been treated with the kind of personal attention we get at Heritage Cove. My husband is a hobby photographer and the owner took a lot of time giving us suggestions for places to go. The campers are friendly: a lot of repeats, like us, because once you come here you never want to go anywhere else! Boat launch and courtesy docks are convenient right here: no waiting! It's a quiet campground with lots of opportunity to see wildlife: deer, otter, heron, osprey, bald eagle, even bears! It's also the only place on the lake with full hookups, including sewer. We tried other places on the lake and now won't go anywhere else. Heritage Cove is much better and nicer. A wholesome place for us to come with our family. The best kept secret on Lake Raystown! PS. The county paved the road into the campground! Yea! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
Upon arriving at the campground we weren't told of any activities, rules, etc. Not even a campground map until I asked for one. We were escorted to our site. We were on site 322. Pretty nice. Separated from the next site by a small creek and high reed grass. The sites I saw were narrow. We camped with two other families- one couldn't open their awning because there was a tree separating their site from the next one-that's how narrow the site was. Pool was clean, but small. Very small playground. Camp store was bare bones. On the up side- great fireworks display on July 4th. There is a boat launch here and that's were all our fun came from. Without a boat, not much to do here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
Really nice quiet campground. Friendly, helpful staff. We stayed over July 4th and they put on an excellent fireworks show! Would definitely stay here again. Be warned: there's no cell phone, tv or radio reception. Wi-Fi available in the lodge only. Makes for a nice, quiet break from the world. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
We wanted to go somewhere new over the Memorial Day weekend and decided on the Raystown Lake area. Since the state parks were full we booked a site at Heritage Cove. I had two major issues with this campground. First, there weren't enough restrooms and our site was not close to the facilities. There was a path from our site that was a quick walk to the restrooms but it went right through the person's site on the other side of the path. After a day of everyone cutting through their campsite to get to the restrooms they asked my husband if there wasn't a bathroom closer to the sites in our area. There wasn't and we were uncomfortable cutting through so we had to walk a long way around on the road to get to the restrooms. My second gripe with this place is that the sites were extremely close together. Our campfire ring was extremely close to the camper next to us. For how much you pay to stay here it just isn't worth it. We drove through the state parks and found that they were more spacious, just as clean and much closer to the action. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
Another great time at Heritage Cove. This is our second Memorial Day stay and again it was great. The Owners are outstanding: they stay late and arrive early. Again campers I will say it again, for children/teens they make their own fun. There is NO game room. No cell phone service and No putt putt. Boating, fishing, biking, hiking, etc. All outdoor fun. We booked 10 sites this year and all in the party had a great time. But remember, fun is what YOU make it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
lovely area. the kids likes it here. pool and games with the staff. river docks and lots of fun. the store need more items but was great. well done folks We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. It is clean and quiet. It is a great campground for families with children. Although the road into the campground is extremely bad, if you take your time and go slowly you should have no problems. The owners are very friendly. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Very clean and well cared for campground near Raystown Lake. Sites are large and there are enough trees in the campground to provide some shade. Campground staff were friendly and helpful. Wireless internet is available in the main campground office for a nominal fee. The one negative to this campground is the access road ... it is a rough, narrow road that will require you to travel slowly and carefully with your camper for the mile distance from the main highway to the campground gate. Once inside the campground the road are well maintained, smooth, and wide enough to accommodate the largest of campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
The staff was great. Stayed late to welcome us in. Took us to the site and stayed tell we were hooked up. Large sites/with full hookups. However not much to do, or should I say you make your own fun. The owner is great, he does not mind if kids make a fort, search for frogs fish, hike, bike swim boat board games, etc., anything out doors. NO video game room. Real RV'ing. The kids have to think for themselves, like we did, to have fun. I thought it was great. NO cell phone service for anyone. Just think, your teen went without texting the whole weekend. We would go back but remember: you make it fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
All facilities virtually brand new. Great owners, stayed late to greet us, no problem friendly exchange on a defective sewer hose. Located on the lake, (no lake sites), boat launch and docks, picnic area at dock area and a separate area for boat parking. Very quiet with large sites. Limited TV broadcasts (it is between two mountains), at night the fire flys on the mountains made it so I could not tell where they stopped and the stars began. Very nice. Internet in the lodge and satellite TV there also. Recommended highly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com