219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Texan RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (903) 677-3326
CGID8114

Texan RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   10   9   8   9   10   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
We found this campground to be a great place to spend some time. Very clean, most sites have ample room and the owners are great folk. Facilities were spotless (laundry and showers). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Stayed here at a rally. Enjoyed our stay. Nice rec hall with a fishing pier. You can enter this park only northbound on 175 with a very sharp right turn. Caution - if on Loop 7 around Athens, use caution at the Highway 175/7 interchange as the 175 traffic does not have a stop sign and there is a lot of traffic on 175. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
We needed a place to stay for the night near Athens so we went here based on other reviews. It is a little out of the way but relatively easy to get to. The roads were plenty wide enough but a bit rough so we had to go really slow. The park itself is fairly well maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. There are many long term residents here but they seemed to keep to themselves and are quiet. You do hear some road noise and people going to work very early. Our Verizon air card and phone worked well and Walmart was not too far away. Overall it was quiet at night and we would stay here again if we needed a place to spend a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Got tired while traveling, didn't get as far down the road as I wanted to on this day. Called the Texan and they had a space for overnight. Owner/manager was very helpful with directions to the park, and very helpful when we arrived. This park is in a beautiful setting in the country, out of town. I'm not too picky, but this park had everything we needed for our overnight. I will make it a point to stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
Very clean, rural setting. Quiet campgrounds with easy access to highway. Friendly staff. Clean well maintained showers, restrooms, and group meeting facilities. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
This is a nice park that I would gladly visit again if I were in the area. Prices are very reasonable. It is a rural quiet relaxing atmosphere. Geese, ducks and egrets are common wildlife visitors on the two small lakes in the park. Oddly, considering the lake/pond water here, I've not seen a mosquito in my 2 week visit here, and none of those annoying fire ants I had at my last Texas stop. They may be some in the area, but not near my site. The management of this park was extremely friendly and helpful - top notch! When approaching Athens TX, suggest using route 7 (the loop) to access Hwy 175; you'll avoid some sharp turns in downtown Athens that may be a challenge for some large rigs. Most RV parking pads are coarse gravel (some are grass) and each site includes a large cement patio and wooden picnic table. The lots are pretty big, but some RV pads are not very level. No cable TV, but I was able to bring in about 40 channels over the air with my power boosted antenna. Nice clubhouse but it was locked most the time during my visit; they probably open it for rallies or larger groups on request. The laundry offers 4 washers and 4 dryers, both very large capacity, for $1 each load. One of the dryers didn't quite complete drying my very large load on the first dollar, but everything else worked as expected. There is a satellite feed into the laundry room, but the TV is missing. The bathroom in the laundry area was locked; a bit of inconvenience at the time. The 4 bathrooms on the other side of the clubhouse are clean and offer showers. Strangely, there were no soap dispensers or paper towels in them, so bring your own if you want to wash up after using the facilities. The shower I used had a less than satisfying spray. Half of the bathrooms remained locked during my stay, but that was never a problem as the park was not crowded. Shade is available at some sites, but if you desire shade during the hottest part of the day, get out your compass before you park your RV. The sites in the left rear (NE part) of the park would seem to offer the most shade during the hottest part of the summer days here. Wi-Fi was solid and strong at my site near the clubhouse. You can fish these lakes without a license. If you have kids, they will get a kick out of going out on the dock to the gazebo and seeing the hundreds of small fish looking back at then in curiosity. Well, I got a kick out of it anyway. No restaurant in the park. Eustace is about 5 miles and has a nice little "grandma-type" breakfast/lunch cafe and a pizza place. Athens is about 6 miles the other direction and offers some of the popular chain restaurants and several other nice places to eat. I've found at least 3 grocery stores, including a Super WalMart, and a very nice, but a bit pricey, Brookshires in Athens. The longer I'm here the more I appreciate this park. Very relaxing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Nice campground. Lots of space, well-maintained. Very friendly staff. Not many trees but nice work going on in landscaping. The "lake" view is actually two ponds. Would have been nice to have a recycling option. Definitely will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
This was the most enjoyable stay we've ever had. The park managers, were courteous, friendly, helpful and always on top of situations. We originally planned to stay only 2 weeks but after one week we opted to stay a whole month. This was the perfect place for us snowbirds from Minnesota. Everything was perfect for us. Staff were helpful in answering any questions we had and any directions that we needed. We plan on staying here again when we visit relatives in the area. Occasionally we used the restroom for a shower when our water heater in the trailer was on the fritz. They were meticulously clean and we appreciated that. The fishing was great (crappies and bass). The serenity of the location was ideal. The noise from the highway was very minimal. The spaciousness of the sites was excellent. We highly recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
The sites are nice and large. The WiFi has a strong signal but is very slow. Has very friendly managers. We had problems with the 50amp electricity on our site and even though we reported it three times, nothing was done. I never saw the bathrooms because the doors are locked and have no regular hours. They have a very nice laundry room with reasonable prices. We stayed here for a month for business in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Nice, quiet, RV sites. However, some of the information in previous reviews should be updated. The name is Texans RV Resort and it is located about 4 miles West of Athens, Texas on Hwy 175. Owners are not associated with Passport America. Payment must be Cash or Check. Location is central to Athens, Frankston, Tyler area for fishing, golfing, family gatherings, etc. Internet connection was strong, but only a little slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
Not a bad park for business in the area. Seem to be quite a few workers in the park, but everything is up to date and cleaned up. The little lake is nice and the hostess is very cordial and easy to work with. It's on a major highway but far enough off the road to quiet. Arrived after a heavy rain, so it probably didn't have on its best face, but you can tell it's above average. Good Wi-Fi and the price is right. The rate quoted is for Passport America and this is one of the nicer PA parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
We stayed here for 2 days. Jo Ann is wonderful. We had our pick of sites by either one of the lakes. Jo Ann's husband help me level my fiver. This park is extremely quiet and the view is great. Everything is clean. We used their washer/ dryer. The small lakes are stocked with fish and there are several paddle boats, a Gazebo, and a hot tub. This campground is gated and it required a security code to enter. Simply call the number on the gate and Jo Ann will give you the code to enter. Office is first building on the right. Athens, TX is 5 miles away and has a Wal-Mart if you need it. My neighbor was also very friendly. If you are ready to unwind from a day of travel or just a getaway stop come by here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$17
The park owners were absolutely delightful to say the least. The park was very very clean and the full timers there were some of the nicest and friendliest we have ever experienced. The park has four private showers/rest rooms. Very nice indeed. Although you have to be sure to bring in your own toilet paper and hand towels. Odd, but that's OK. The park is very pleasant to say the least. The only shortcoming of the entire park was their satellite Internet connection. Whomever said satellite was a fast connection lied. ;) But this happens anywhere someone says they have satellite. So... if you need high speed Internet, then this isn't the place. But if you are looking for one of the cleanest and friendliest parks we have ever seen... then we HIGHLY recommend this park. Be sure to bring a jig saw puzzle and meet James in the club house. He's a great kid who loves to work on jig saw puzzles. As for other items in the park... a couple very nice small catch and release lakes, paddle boats, a great club house with complete laundry facility, a pay phone and plenty of vending. All reasonably prices. I think washing a load of clothes was only a dollar! Can't beat that. The club house also has a huge big screen TV and a complete kitchen for group events, etc and it easily seats 60+ people if you needed it to. One extremely refreshing note to add... my wife dropped a ten dollar bill while in the laundry room. Mark (the owner) actually took the time to ask around as to who was the last person seen in the laundry room and he actually brought it to our site to return it! Now THAT you don't see every day for sure. The sites were all VERY large. Much larger than any we normally see. We had a very secluded spot and a good view of two of the lakes on the property. The normal rate is $25 per night or $125 for a week which works out to $17.85 per night... a real bargain in my mind. And her monthly rates are even less... only $350 for an entire month. This park is awesome. The little town (Athens) next to it is awesome too. We hope to return there soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com