214866 User submitted reviews online!!
South Bay RV Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (561) 992-9045
CGID813

South Bay RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   6   9   8   3   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
This park is a gem. Paved roads and sites. Barbecue and table provided. Hookups are well placed and worked. Large sites, beautiful landscape. Nice stream running along the park and a lake with a walking path. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
This is our 4th or 5th year staying in this park. We usually stay here at least three months. The park's sites are about half 30 Amp and half 50 Amp so be sure to specify which you want. All the sites are large and are blacktopped. There are several places for campfires but not on every site. Picnic tables and charcoal grills on all sites. Clean restrooms and laundry areas. The monthly rate goes down $50 a month for four months straight then goes back to the starting rate. Nice social hall with screen porch and book exchange area. Security gate with entry code for each guest. Ice and firewood available for purchase. Only downside is the closest grocery store is about five miles away in Belle Glade. Closest Walmart is in Clewiston 15 miles away. This location is 50 miles from West Palm Beach (the ocean) and 78 miles from Fort Myers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Very clean and top-notch park support. We never found anything out of place while we stayed here. Campsites are reasonably-well spaced and each site had a paved pad. On the downside, the campground is right beside SR-81 and is VERY noisy. If you stay here, try to get a site 1-21 or 141-158 which are the furthest from the road. Those sites aren't quiet but are further from the road than the sites numbered 62-92. While here, take the Clewiston Chamber of Conference tour of historic houses, sugar processing and citrus: it's well worth the while. I probably won't stay here again because of the noise, but again, it is a clean, nice campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
The only reason they get a 9 is its a long way to anywhere. Real nice park clean, well cared for, and friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
We loved this campground. Concrete, level pads and large spacious area. There is a walking path all around the small lake and this campground was kept very tidy. The highway is right in front of the park but we stayed on the back loop and did not hear a thing. We would stay here again when we go down to the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
The campground was nice except the sites were close together. There is a lot of noise from trucks on the highway that runs along the west side of the campground. The showers were nice and they have washers and dryers available. The Wi-Fi was very slow and only worked part of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
What great hospitality! The park staff could not be nicer. This park was renovated after hurricane damage and is fully equipped. We even had propane "delivery" by a local service provider. The park 'clubs' can keep you busy if you're so inclined. Tours of the local sugar cane and orange industries are good value. The area is economically not too prosperous but the region is hospitable and pleasant. Occasional smoke from cane field burns should not alarm but are likely. Both coasts are only a short drive away. Boating access to the lake is readily available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
This is a Palm Beach County campground. Check-in went very smoothly and we did not have a reservation. Since we were just stopping for one night, we asked for a pull-through site and were allowed to use site #77 despite there not being any actual pull-throughs. We are only 24' towing a Honda. The park was level and clean and neat. I only rated it a 7 because there was no pool and I thought the fee high for the area and being a county park. We would definitely camp here again for a one-night stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
This is a beautiful park. Very clean and great sites.The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it's a little remote. Clewiston is 10 miles up the road.The little towns around this park also impressed me on how clean they are. We will definitely return.I believe this is a county park. Wi-fi fast and cable was good too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Not much more to add that the previous posters have not said, other than their assessment is right in line with mine. Great park, just nothing really nearby. Clewiston is the nearest decent grocery store (Wal-Mart). Super nice staff, they had our check-in packet waiting at the gate. All back in sites but plenty of maneuver room, great Wi-Fi and more cable channels than you usually get at a "resort" You will not stay in Florida this cheap-this nice anywhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
If you're looking for a nice campground in central Florida and you like to boat and fish this place is great. All the roads and sites are paved, they have cable TV with a lot of channels, fast WiFi, a game room with a TV & pool table, and clean restrooms & showers. The folks who run the park are very nice and helpful and this was the best value park I've stayed in in Fl. The have a boat ramp right across the street and you can ride on a bike path all around the lake if you wish, 110 miles. If you come here, ask for the sites that on the side of the park away from the highway because it is pretty busy and there's a lot of road noise. We were awakened about 06:10am by the crop dusting runs on the fields just south of the park, using the center of the park as their turn point. Outside of the boating and fishing there's not much going on. This is an agricultural area and pretty much everything here supports that. If you like to boat and fish and love small towns that are totally based on agriculture this place is the place to be. They have a little lake that has alligators. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
We have stayed many times here. Pet friendly and the fishing is great, not only the center lake but the channels around the park hold a surprising number of large big mouth bass. But I must agree with the highway side. It sounds as if a 747 was flying through our motor home all night. I'll take a 30 amp site next time if a 50 amp isn't available on the back side. All in all it was great, and will return again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
Speaking purely for the park itself I give this the rare 10. To have paved roads and pads, Wi-Fi that actually worked, cable TV, clear view to satellite, clean restrooms and showers, good laundry, great staff, nice walk as far as you want on the dike, etc. It is personal preference on whether "nothing around" is important to you or not, a 5 mile drive to Winn Dixie or 15 to Walmart is OK or not, crop dusting planes for a half hour in the morning now and again is bothersome. You can't come close to the price for a great little place in FL in February. The place worked great for us as a base to park the RV and drive to West Palm, Everglades and Keys. Just be sure to wash the ash off the car and RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
This is a clean well run park that is owned by the county. I was really surprised at the size of the lots and all were on concrete. The people that worked here were extremely helpful, we were a day late getting there due to winds in Key West, called a day ahead and was credited back with that day. The only negative is the isolation its a long way to Wal- Mart. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
The park itself is great. Nice sites, restrooms, showers & laundry. Rate was even less a night because we stayed a 2nd month. All that & we won't stay again. It's not near anything. It's a good hour drive to a decent grocery or any kind of shopping or dining out. Belle Glade is the nearest town & it's in bad shape. There's nothing there. We found that all around Lake Okeechobee is pretty run down. And although the sugar cane fields are interesting at first, you'll soon be sorry about all the ash on & in your RV. If you have a boat & fish this is a great park. Easy access to the lake. But for us the park didn't work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
Site: We had site 148. It was a double wide very level paved site. There was a very large grass area on both sides of our paved area. Behind us was a small canal. There were small gators in the cannel. Site was very spacious. In front was a double wide paved road. It was a full hook up with 50 amp electric. There was a picnic table and a grill. We did have a few large trees on our site. Not all sites have trees. There are 72 sites, about 10 are double wide paved. About 25 are 50 amp, others are 30 amp. Laundry: There are 2 washers and dryers in each of the 2 restrooms. Washer $1.25, dryers .75. Very clean. Partly opened and screened in area in entry to restrooms . Has TV, phone, WiFi and cable TV with about 70 channels. Verizon phone worked well, 3-4 bars. WiFi worked great. Dog friendly: has a very large area to walk your dog. No fenced in area. There is a large area like a tennis court without lines, and a 10 foot high fence. I did see some people letting their dogs run in there. Amenities: there is a small club house/game room. Limited planned activities. A few swings for the kids. Location: South Bay is on US 27, in South central FL. The park is about 1/4 mile from Lake Okeechobee. Summary: This is one of the nicest public parks we ever stayed in. This is a super park with a very friendly staff. The rates are: for out of County residents $27.75 per day; $166.50 a week; $693.50 a month. Extra vehicle (not sure if this would include a boat) is $4.25, $25.44,and $106. We were in the back loop. The front loop is along route US27 and there is a lot of road noise. We would consider spending a month or more here if it wouldn't be for the $4.25 a day extra charge for an extra car. First time I ever saw this type charge. There is a gate that is locked at night. There is a pond and a canal/channel around the the campground. There is a boat launch on Lake Okeechobee about 1/4 mile away. There is a street light about every 4 sites. Good lighting at night. Good bike riding in park. About 6 miles to a Winn Dixie and 16 to a super Wal-Mart. Few restaurants in the area. This is a small town with not a lot of amenities. Very poor signage to park. Very easy to miss if coming from the north. Bonus: Lake Okeechobee is right beside this park. On top of the Dike surrounding the lake, is a 140+ mile hiking/biking trail. About half of it is paved. Great birding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
We continue to return to South Bay Campground because the place is well run, the park manager is one of the best we have ever encountered, the sites are spacious, paved, level and easy to back in/out of and there is enough to do in the park itself. The Marathon station is within a mile of the park and has the best diesel prices of those few stations in the area. In the past we were always assigned to the back of the park away from the highway. This time not so lucky and we “paid” for it. Apparently they were harvesting sugar cane somewhere behind the campground and the big heavy trucks, jake brakes and all, rumbled loudly up and down Hwy 27 all night long. I actually thought a couple of runaway rigs were going to run into our rig but then I knew they’d have to jump the canal which was located directly behind our slot. We’d camp here again but we accept a 30 amp slot far away from the highway rather than a 50 amp “up front.” We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Excellent facilities and a price to match. All sites are paved and clean. Bicycle path on Lake Okeechobee trail. Two reasonable priced golf courses nearby. Friendly people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
We are currently staying here and I would highly recommend this RV park. It is very clean and well taken care of. We have had no problems in being here and we will be here for a extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
Nice clean camp ground in immaculate condition. Only 2 RV's (incl us) on the entire camp ground but we can see why this will be busy later on in the year. Not a lot of shopping opportunities so stock up before coming. This place can only be recommended and we will have no hesitation staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Very nice RV Park. Site paved and level, shore services good. Sites are long enough for a 38ft trailer and to park truck beside the trailer. We were here over the holiday weekend. There were very few people staying here. The campground host said that may be that they do not have a pool. The host was very nice and helpful. Directv was no problem. Verizon air card was good. During the weekend the internet services was outstanding. It was so fast I did not use my Verizon card and uploaded a lot of pictures to my web site. This is a county campground and the internet was through the county server. The internet may be slower during the week days. I would stay here again if I am in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
Very nice campground with wide roads and large paved sites. Very friendly, helpful staff. Our site at the back of the campground was very quiet. Washers and dryers are inexpensive. Lots of bird activity, but can't put out feeders. Only negative is difficult to use locked gate system that closes at 3:30 in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$26
Park is clean and well kept. Has a laundry on site. Gave it a 9 only because we are in the 50 amp sites that are along SR 27/80 and there is road noise even though we have a canal and buffer between sites and road. Would ask for site away from road and over on the Lake Okeechobee side which is more quiet. Wi-Fi is very fast and provided free to the park by Palm Beach Chamber of Commerce for campers to use. Verizon phone service is also good. Wal-Mart about 15 minutes away in Clewiston. We took the Sugarland Tour offered by the Clewiston Chamber of Commerce and toured citrus and sugar cane areas today with lunch at the Clewiston Inn - which was well worth it. There is access from the park to the Lake Okeechobee bike path that is a paved bike/walking trail on the dike around the lake. Will stay here again - just wish the lovely site we are in had more of a buffer for road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
This county park is well managed with lots of repeat snowbirds. It's located at the base of the dike around Lake Okeechobee which has a paved bike path on top. Fun! Excellent, friendly management and cheap for full EWS hookups plus cable and strong Wi-Fi. Try to get a site as far from US 27 as possible to keep the noise down. Another down side to this park is lack of shade. Still, it's a great value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$26
This an update to my Feb. 2009 review. The park now has free Wi-Fi on your site and it is fast. I check it at 1.5 Mb down load speed. Park has four antennas in the correct places. Nice place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$26
Nice small County campground on Shiner Lake. Roads and sites are all blacktop and look new. Park has a mix of 30 and 50 amp sites. The 50 amp sites are larger and have lots of room. All sites have lots of room from site to side. Sites are dead level, have W,E,S hookups in correct place and everything worked well. Cable TV had about 75 channels, DTV over the air would pick up 30 channels, most were good. Sites have a table, BBQ cooking equipment and most have a tree. Lots of play ground equipment for the kids and older people as well. Verizon cell phone service works well here. Park sits on south side of Lake Okeechobee. County may install a Wi-Fi system soon. The public library has Wi-Fi but is a waste of time, slower that a poor dial up system. Stock up before you come here, no town here to buy anything or places to eat out. One small truck stop close by that may have a place to eat. Office is open from 7:00 am to 3:30 pm, gates are locked at 6:00 pm. Office staff was the best we have every found, do anything to help you. Only problem I found was road noise off Hwy 27/80, it never stops day or night. Sites in back have very little noise, ones in front a lot. This place is a winner and we will return anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$23
Campground is a 10 Plus, everything is so neat and clean all the time. Small pond to walk around, paved path. and there are shade trees, palms, throughout the park. Very easy access for large rv's even though there are no pull-thrus. Manager is on site and very helpful if needed.Only negative was the road noise. Ask for a site away from the road and it would be perfect.Would stay here again anywhere in the park though. It is very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
We camped here with our camping club for the weekend. The campsite was great. There was a nice playground for the kids and the staff was very friendly. We took a nice bike ride around the levee on Lake Okeechobee. The park is also very clean and well maintained. There was no shady spots, but luckily the weather was cool. There were also nice fire pits which we used every night. As stated in other reviews, the surrounding areas are rundown and blighted, so not much to do outside of the campground. We plan on staying here again before the summer months come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$26
We came here to bike around lake Okeechobee. The staff are very friendly, but didn't see anyone on a Saturday at all. ? There are very few trees, so not much shade, but the sites a are clean and paved. It was not at all busy and was very quiet. There is a nice pond to walk around and take a look at the alligators (small and not many). I used the washer/dryer - there are two at each building. The only down side are the surrounding areas - run down with no real restaurants or shops to speak of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Nice CG, level sites around small ponds. No great restaurants/attractions close by. Rest rooms adequate and clean and had washers(2) and dryers (2) in the one we saw. Think they have two RR houses. We found some nice bike riding around Lake Okeechobee on the levee. We only used the park as a one night stop over but found it to be quite comfortable and well maintained. They do have "honey wagon" service but one one night stay included sewer hook up. They have two shuffle board courts, cable TV, a lighted walking track around the campground and a recreation room. We'd come back or use it as a stop over as the price was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$21
This is a great campground. It is very clean and well maintained. The staff/manager were very friendly and helpful. The small lake had about 5 or 6 small alligators in it which were fun to see. The only drawbacks to this campground are the surrounding cities and lack of a WiFi system. The small farming cities of Belle Glade and South Bay are run down and the people were for the most part unfriendly. If this campground had a freeWiFi I would give it a 10 rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$16
This CG is well run by Palm Beach County, & you will find more info at the county web site. CG toll free phone # 877 992 9915. The management of this park appreciates that you are staying there with them, & you will feel welcome, & right at home. This CG is located next to the levee for Lake Okeechobee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com