206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Little Talbot State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (904) 251-2320
CGID8133

Little Talbot State Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   7   9   10   7   8   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
When we stayed here there were not a lot of campers here. The sites are fairly isolated as you have a lot of vegetation and trees between sites. You have to check in at the main park entrance then get a code to punch in the gate to get into the campground. This is a good idea since the campground is just off of a heavily traveled highway. The campground is on the south side of the island with very pretty views. It is an easy walk across the highway to get to the beaches. There is an access point at the campground where you could put in a kayak/canoe to paddle through the marshes. There is a short trail next to the campground and a longer one (4 miles) across the street. Lots of signs posted for no pets on the beaches. The restrooms and showers were cleaned daily and there was lots of hot water. We received 15 channels on the TV and Verizon cell service had 3 bars. Park rangers and camp hosts drove through fairly regularly. We would definitely like to return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
The road into the sites needs to be filled or plowed due to the deep potholes. There are many low hanging trees to watch out for. The staff is knowledgeable but was not particularly helpful. The beach access is across the street and it was very nice with boardwalks, trails, bicycle paths and restrooms. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$27
We loved it here. We only stayed one night in between concerts in Jacksonville. Clean, quiet, friendly staff, dog friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$26
We stayed here two nights. They have a small boat launch for the canoe and the park has some sites you can be on the water. The roads do have the live oaks that drape over the roads. We have some problems with making the some turns without scraping the side of the RV. Had to hold the branches while the turn was made and had to trim some branches to keep the rubber roof from getting gouged. We let the staff know what we had to do. The campground was quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$29
It is a very nice clean campground. The ranger station sells firewood for a very reasonable $6 per bundle (cash only). The location makes it a great place to see the sights such as the historical Kinglsey Plantation and Ribault Club. The ferry to Mayport is also fun. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This is a nice, family friendly campground. Across the highway from the campground is the main part of the park right on the ocean, about 5 miles of private beach reserved just for park goers and campers. On the campground side of the road/park are salt marshes and a fishing dock. Less than 5 miles south of the park is the Mayport Ferry landing that takes you across the St.Johns River to enjoy numerous great restaurants! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We stayed in this park one night while transiting north. It was a very pleasant stopover, although not very convenient to I-95/9A corridor. Sites are very wooded and generally large/private. Our site was quite out of level and we needed to work hard to get close enough to be comfortable. This appeared to be about average for the sites we observed. The scenery and amenities in the campground area were not particularly good, but the beach (a short bike ride away), was quite lovely and made the visit very memorable. Although the campground was full on the night we stayed, it was very quiet and peaceful and the overall park (cg & beach) felt very spacious. We likely would stay again: for at least 2 nights, in order to better enjoy the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
This was our 3rd stop on our Florida trip. We definitely do not recommend this for anyone with a Class A motor home! Even though we had a 30 footer, the height is the issue. Very narrow winding roads and low hanging branches were a problem. Not full service but had a dump station. Two reasons I ranked this an "8" and not a "3" is the restrooms and showers were immaculate, and the bike paths down to the beach were a definite "10". The no see-ums were brutal and left you looking like you had the measles: no lie. But as I said, the biking and beaches were a slice of heaven. I will not visit with my RV again though because of the access. This would be nice for tenting and popups only in my opinion. Not a bad place for the right purpose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
This park advertises itself as a, "Two-time gold medal award winning park." It probably is, but it is really for the Kayak / tent / serious fishing types. We are more beach bums. The beach is a drive from the park. Our campsite was very shaded and wooded on three sides. The shade kept grass from growing much and dirt in the camper was an issue. Bugs were also an issue. We will not return next year. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
Another wonderful Florida State Park. I'll just review the camping here but the park has wonderful nature on both the beach side and the marsh side. Do NOT bring your big RV's to camp here due to very narrow roads with low hanging branches. We have a 22' Roadtrek with no problems, but anything bigger would not be able to turn corners. We were in site #40, as usual finding a level spot took several tries but it was fine at the end. Note about site #40, it's only 20 amp. Whoops, guess I didn't read ReserveAmerica carefully enough. Luckily we were able to use the microwave without problem but heavy electric users beware. I should have suspected something because it was the only site available for Thanksgiving Saturday night when I reserved the day before. Glad I did anyway or we would have missed a great park. The RV sites next to the river look really nice, guess you need to be very early to get those. We saw a small RV about our size parked NEXT to their site, guess it was more level on the large area next to the site than IN the site. The bath-house is adequate, not new but not too grungy. We declined using the shower because it was cold that night and we were headed home the next day. Site 40 is the farthest site away from the showers/toilet, but not horribly far. The campground has good security in that every time you enter you have to enter a gate with keypad. It's located on the west side of A1A and the main park is on the east side with Ranger entry station. Take the time to explore Little and Big Talbot Islands parks. Lots to see. Great wildlife and many people fishing and crabbing (and catching blue crabs). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$27
We were in site #19. Site was shady and wide as not many of them are. Site had picnic table, fire ring/grill, water and 20 amp service. Road in is very narrow with lots of overhanging trees which is why we tent camped and did not bring our RV. We did see at least 5 larger RV's (over 30 ft) but ReserveAmerica says 30 ft limit. I would not go above a popup sized RV here though. Some sites flood with the rising tide during storms so check with rangers before camping. Campground had a playground in it and a group fire circle. There is a hiking trail in campground we did not walk that one. Campground is on one side of road and park is on the other. We hiked the 3.4 mile nature trail on the beachside. Start from ranger station as it is hard to spot on the beach side. Rangers were friendly and they sell firewood at station for $6 bundle. Nice beach but too cold to use when we were here. Most sites had a lot of foliage between campers. Bathhouses were very clean though not heated or air conditioner in them. Just screens above walls for ventilation. Lots to do in the area: we visited two national parks and several state parks nearby. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$27
This is a nice State Park; however there are some downsides. Some of the sites are very shallow and/or the water and electric are on opposite sides of the site. The road is narrow and one would think it was one-way, but it is not. We were lucky to have picked one of the better configured sites (#25) and had very little problem backing in our 19ft trailer. But big rigs would have a difficult time maneuvering into many of the sites here if they were lucky enough to find one they could fit into at all. Also, the no alcohol and quiet hours are not enforced. We were kept awake two nights in a row by a group of young men tent camping until 4:00am the first night and 2:00am the next night. When they were setting up they were visibly drinking beer and had their cartons of beer visible on the picnic table. A ranger came by and stopped at their site for an unknown reason, but apparently not to tell them about the no alcohol policy as there were no changes after the ranger left. On the upside, the beach is right across the street with nice facilities (outside showers for rinsing sand off, changing rooms, restrooms and picnic pavilions). There is also a nice paved bicycle path and a couple of nice hiking trails. The restrooms at the campground were well maintained. The rangers were nice and helpful; just wished they enforced the rules. We will not return here. There are nicer and quieter state parks we can patronize. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Little Talbot Island State Park is north of Jacksonville and is another great Florida State Park. It only has about 36 sites and if you a RV over 25 feet I would think twice about staying there. There is basically one road into the campground and it is narrow and on rocky sand. There is not enough room for two RV to pass. The road is curvy and there are some sites that an RV would not be able to back in. Most of the sites are shady and there seem to be a lot of tenters here. We had site 35 which was out by the creek and did not have much shade but there was plenty of room for an RV to back in and move around since it is a wide open space for those bringing boats to the boat dock. If you had a kayak or canoe these would be good sites. Looking over the sites 17,18,19,25 and 38 are good shady sites than an RV could fit in but again I would not take anything over 25 feet. It is a pretty park on it’s own island which is part of the Talbot Islands State Parks system which includes Little Talbot Island, Amelia Island, George Crady Bridge State Fishing Pier, Big Talbot Island, Fort George Island, Yellow Bluff Fort and Pumpkin Hill Creek Preserve.. There are five miles of beaches which are a bike ride away from the campground – beautiful. One can fish, canoe, kayak, surf, swim, bike, horseback riding, tour on a Segway tour and hike here. It is also a great place for observing all types of birds coming and going during the seasons. It is beautiful here and very peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2007
$19
We did not camp here we only stopped at this camp ground to see if it would accommodate our rig (36' FW). Per the Park staff, your rig must be 30 foot or less. The camp ground is part of a Florida State Park that consists of a beach and river. The camp ground is located adjacent to the river and separated from the beach by State Hwy 9A. The Park and Beach are beautiful. This is a great park for kayaking. Camp sites have power and water. All but 3 or 4 are cut into stands of trees. A very narrow dirt road weaves thru the camp ground. Large rigs with a high profile will have difficulty navigating this road. Vegetation between sites provides an excellent privacy screen. Sites are dirt and could get muddy following a rain storm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Wonderful park. the sites are small but private. You have access to a wonderful beach and nice hiking trails. Many things to do around the area. Highly recommend having a/c if you camp in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com