218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Starke / Gainesville N.E. KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (904) 964-8484
CGID814

Starke / Gainesville N.E. KOA

Camp Information
Sites
131
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   8   9   10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Single overnight stay in 39' fifth wheel. Nice host and guide (who took us to site). Check in took less than 2 minutes. Restrooms, shower, pool, and laundry clean. Areas were well maintained. Small patio met our need for the night. Easy in and out. By restricting things like separate screen rooms,park looked nice front to back. (Weren't any flying insects anyway) This isn't fancy but it is very nice. Rate reflects KOA Value Kard rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
Nice clean campground. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Shopping and dining within walking distance. You can hear the train close by several times a day, but at night I slept so good never heard it. Great WiFi signal strength. Defiantly would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
This is a nice clean park with easy access. The staff is friendly and helpful; the grounds are nice and clean; and big-rig friendly due to limited landscaping. There are no campfires allowed, except at the one "community" fire pit. There's a bit of road noise from the highway, but it's an easy drive to restaurants and shopping. We'd stay here again - but it might get boring for a week's stay, especially if you have kids (I don't remember much of a playground and there wasn't a dog park). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$40
Very nice campground with mix of RVs and park models. Some cement and some sandy gravel sites. Wi-Fi and cable were good. Staff friendly and welcoming. Pet friendly park. Bathrooms adequate and clean. This was our second visit and will return here again as it is a good stopover when heading south to Gulf coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$36
If you're coming south on Rt. 301, the turn into the entrance is tight. Interior roads are narrow. The campground host leads you to your site. Pull-through sites are level and long enough that we didn't need to unhook our Ford Escape from our 36' motorhome. There's a concrete patio and a table but no fire ring. Neaby trains sound their horns all day and a few times during the night, but they didn't really bother us. We would go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Very well kept park. Nice staff and very helpful. Will stop anytime we are in the area. Cable for TV needs a little help and you can get a train or two in the middle of the night. Overall, I give this KOA a 9 out of 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
We stayed at this park for three months and never had a problem. Staff is excellent and a good old school mom and pop operation. Everything is clean and well maintained and anything you ask for they will do their best to comply. Easy in and out and plenty of stores and restaurants to access. Staff are always available for a chat or to answer any questions. We would recommend this park for a stop or long stay. You can't go wrong and the price is right! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Very nice management and workers. Sites clean, big, & level. Would highly recommend and will come back if ever in Florida again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
Nice stop over spot. Stop here coming & going to and from winter in Florida. Registration always easy. Escorted to site .Site level and clean. Will return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
Overall a great place to stop over on 301. Plenty of places close by to eat and do some shopping. There is not much to do in Stark itself. The campground is kept clean. My #1 complaint is the lawn cutting guy on his big noise power mower cuts the grass (that has not grown, mostly dirt) right up to were you are sitting blowing dirt all over you and into the camper. Does not seem to care and makes several passes within 4 feet of where you are sitting. Complaint #2- there are only 3 showers for the whole campground and some of the shower heads work and other don't. The good stuff: 1-great WI-FI and cable TV. 2-Nice folks work there. 3-location to 301 is great. 4- the train only passes twice during the night. 5-once a month they have a nice pancake and sausage breakfast. The good outweighs the bad. I would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
I would call this a middle of the road campground, not memorable, fine for an overnight stop off 301 but a bit depressing. Nice front desk staff. We were escorted to our site at one end of a long row with a few other transients. Most other rigs seemed long term. Fire ants at site; be careful walking dogs. Roads through the campground are one way, we were happy to have an escort. Site was unlevel but not badly off. Would return if in the area but only for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Very nice stop over enroute in or out of Florida via the 301 cut-across to I-10 from I-75. Stopped in here on a very rainy afternoon when it was better to let the storms go by. Happy to get a site. They were not at all busy. Excellent reception. Was escorted to a dirt, gravel, and wet sandy site close to bathrooms; but unfortunately, site was no way level (sloped down and to right). Made for a tiresome slow set up, leveling out in torrential rain. Nearby there were perfectly level unoccupied paved sites. CG is within walking distance to a top notch IHOP. Try the pancakes! Morning brought constant, repeated, rapid air hammering noise from nearby tire store. (Pretty much non-stop from about 7AM on). Sound was very annoying and not at all peaceful. KOA family staff very much "on the ball," and busy, busy, busy. Clean bathrooms with security lock for entry. Great Wi-Fi signal (but alas utilizing coupon driven, TengoNet: sorry, not a fan). Everything at the CG is very much attended to and look after. They take pride, and it shows! A VERY well kept KOA, but alas somewhat crippled by the noisy local business. Still, A WINNER! Score: - 1 for non-level dirty annoying site (when paved site was available next door). -1 for rather unpeaceful atmosphere from tiresome tire store offering constant morning audio torture with your coffee: located directly north of CG. Full Rating: 8 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This was our second visit to this park. It's close to Wal-Mart, other stores and restaurants. Strong cable TV reception, clean restrooms, nicely laid out park with level sites. The office and other staff are polite and helpful. You can't ask for anything more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
All pull thru sites. Nice and level. Paved roads throughout. Very adequate space between sites. Very helpful, friendly staff. Escort to site. Some shady spots. WiFi works like a charm. Easy access from highway, but road noise is minimal. Absolutely nothing to complain about, except KOA prices which are kind of high...but there are a lot of amenities, like a pool, which we don't use. CATV has Fox Business News, which seems kind of rare. Nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Beautiful park, large, level, and shaded sites. Lots of activities and friendly people. Walmart and restaurants are really close, but no shopping to speak of in Starke. This rate is based on a month long stay. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$39
The campground is easy access off Highway 301. Sites are spacious (wide) with concrete pads and grassy area, but a little short (40' with tow vehicle). People are very friendly, and grounds are well maintained. Railroad noise can be heard frequently throughout the day and night. Not much to do in the town of Starke but there is a WalMart and big flea market nearby. We stayed here for a football game in Gainesville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Clean, quiet KOA campground. Spacious site with concrete pads. Pretty flowering bushes when we visited. Nice pool. Campfires only in large community campfire surrounded by solid wood chairs; firewood provided free. Several restaurants nearby. Within easy driving distance to Gainesville for Gator games. Only negative was the multiple "Do Not " signs throughout the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Very nice staff. Close to restaurants and shopping. Nice store that even includes some homemade craft items from other guests in the park. The sites were level and easy to pull through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
The minute that I pulled into the park, I knew I would like it. The staff was excellent, and very professional. I met the staff person and he went out of his way to help and assist me with my Wi-Fi hook-up. KOA Starke is lucky to have this individual on their staff. I will be back. Thank you KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
We have stayed at the Starke KOA several times, most over night only and one time for three days. We found the office staff friendly and helpful, the sites are large and the campground well maintained. It's not a destination campground for us but we recommend it for short stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
Our car broke down, and we limped into this lovely KOA. The staff was so professionally and understanding. Mike even loaned us his car so that we could get provisions! They went above and beyond what was expected. We loved the breakfast, cookies and cider by the fire, and enjoyed a lovely Christmas Dance. Owners came up to us and welcomed us! We didn't hear any noise from Rt. 301 in our travel trailer-the train whistle didn't bother us. We will stay here again! Free Wi-Fi and cable and very clear facilities make this a must stop for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
This park is nice enough, but the never ending train whistle will drive you crazy!! Also, it sits right on RT.301 so the traffic noise is always present. The staff constantly drives up and down the roads with golf carts and Its like watching a Nascar race at times!! They never stop with these things. Also, there is a problem here with security. We had police here on Easter Sunday for a disturbance and also had a police chase in the park as they caught a person camping here and put him on the ground in cuffs!! It was like watching the t.v. show cops!! This park is good for an overnight stop while passing through, but to stay here long term would drive you nuts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$46
Great park! Very pretty park with paved roads, Wi-Fi, cable, and close access to town activities. You can walk to restaurants and small mall area! ultra clean and very meticulous to detail. Will come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$39
Level sites, although a little close, allowed plenty of room for both slides and move around without feeling you were encroaching on your neighbors. Paved level roads, no hills. Some restrictions apply to certain pets (dogs) so you might want to call ahead. Full hookups available at all sites, cable and Wi-Fi are included with no additional charge as may be at other KOA's. There were some traffic noises from Hwy 301 and evening train noises until around bedtime, although have to see what 5 am brings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$43
Ease of registration was nice after a long drive down 301. Directing to site along with help in deciding which site was best for us was excellent. Even when we decided to extend our visit, the staff was most accommodating and nice. Cement patio is nice as that is not always available at KOAs down the coastline. Some would object to train noise, but for us it was not as bad as some diesel rigs at 5 a.m. as has happened in other places. Satellite dish set up was easy due to open skies available. For us from the West coast areas, we are delighted to see the sandy areas along with historical sites. Would definitely stay here again as the sites are nice and wide. There are activities available such as bingo and waffle breakfasts for all to enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
This park has friendly staff and our pull-through site was nice. One night stay was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$43
This has to be one of the nicest campgrounds I have been to and the easiest to get to, Right on 301 midway between Jacksonville and Gainesville. The grounds and restrooms were immaculate. The pool, while open summer only, was crystal clear each day. Each site is mowed weekly and has a cement pad in the perfect location as you pull in. I don't think anything negative could be said about this campground. Wal-Mart is a mere 1/4 mile away, what else could you ask for. The owners and hosts live on site and are the nicest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We only stayed here overnight on a long trip west. The campground was well layered out with all pull-through sites. Not fancy but quite functional Convenient to services and restaurants which were within walking distance. The pool looked very inviting although we couldn’t use it due to heavy rain and thunder. We’re thinking about returning for a couple of days this Winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
This a very clean and well run KOA. There are so much difference between KOA's ... this one is definitely at the top of our list so far for KOA's. Great staff who are very friendly and helpful ... very clean facilities ... grounds are neat and tidy. We would definitely stay here again ... well worth the KOA price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
I fulltime and travel all over the US. This is by far my favorite campground. A wonderful place run by wonderful, friendly people. The campground is very clean and spacious. No problems moving my 40' fifth wheel in and out. Staff is amazingly helpful. I stayed for about three months, my site was close to the entrance and I was not bothered at all by the trains or road noise. I will definitely stay here again and recommend highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
This is a well run KOA. We have stayed here in the past. The staff members are friendly and helpful The park is neat and clean. The sites are roomy and most are pull thrus which makes it much easier. This is a regular stop for us in our travels in that area. We have stayed at some KOA's that we were not impressed with and worse, but this park could be a model for the other KOA's as how one should be run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$34
The park was fine, not a destination park, but good for an overnight stay. The biggest negative was the trains, they were nearby and made an entrance all night long! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2008
$45
Never stayed here. Tried to make a reservation on the 5th of Dec. Was told that the owner would have to call us back - as only the owner could make reservations. It has now been over a week, still waiting on the call from the owner. Guess they don't want any business. Have not nor ever will stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
Great is all I can say. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Would recommend this as a great campground to stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
The grounds are clean and well maintained. The staff friendly and helpful. They have a nice picnic area with a place for campfire. Sites are very roomy and easy to get in (and out) of with our 37' fifth wheel. We stayed here for one night on the road north. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
Had just purchased our RV and had to try it out. We stayed at the Starke KOA. Our first trip so I don't have much to compare it to. Staff was friendly and VERY helpful to a "newbie" like me. Restroom, park and pool were clean. Had some road noise and heard the train go by several times, but we were in pop up camper. We had a great experience and plan on staying here again for a quick getaway from home. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
We were pleased with the staff and the campground as a whole. The other guests seemed to be very nice too. We stayed here on the way up North, just passing through for one night. The Google map directions led us into the middle of town, but the actual location of the campground is on Rte. 301 South of the railroad tracks. Which, by the way, they are active every 15 minutes. We chose to stay again on our way back through from NC to Florida. We used the very clean laundry facilities, and took advantage of the "library" of books and dvd's. I used the computer in the clubhouse which is connected to the office, and small store. One thing I didn't want to forget to mention is for you to listen for the "falling acorns" onto the top of your rig. It sounded like little bombs hitting our roof. Very tall Oak trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is one of the nicest campgrounds I have camped at. Staff is extremely helpful and a clean campground with spacious sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
This campground gets a 10 for everything they can control- the restrooms were spotless and even had a/c. The pool was nice and clean and the grounds were well kept. The sites were big and had nice shade trees and each site had a paved area and picnic table. The sites themselves are pretty level and paved. Roads in and out are paved and easy to navigate. They do not have fire rings at each site, but have a campfire area with benches and they get the fire going every night. Very nice people who lead you to your site and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The only negative is that it is Starke and there is not much to do there. But it is a great place to stop on 301. But don't rely on mapquest. The park is located right on 301 about 2 miles south of downtown Starke. If you need to be in the area, this is the place to stay! Oh they have 50 amp service at all sites and the WiFi is free and works well throughout the park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
As always, this campground is a wonderful place to stay. We would have given it a 10, but the road noise from US 301 didn't allow that to happen. As far as what is under the control of management, everything is perfect. From water pressure to stable 50amp service, no problems. This is a great short stay or overnighter. Not to sure about longer stays. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool is crystal clear. This was our 4th stay. We live about an hour away and stay here for "get away from our kids" weekend. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$31
This campground is one of the best we have stayed in. All of the facilities are excellent. The sites are large and well spaced. We usually stay here for a few nights on our way south in November and then again in April on our way north. We have discussed a longer stay many times because everything about the campsite is so great but that bring us to the problem: this campground is in Starke. The town of Starke is in northern Florida and we don't think its quite warm enough in the winter. Also Starke is a fairly small town with not a lot to do except fish and play golf. If this is okay with you and you don't need it too warm this campground is your place. If not it makes a wonderful stop off on the way south and home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Very friendly, clean and well maintained Park. Great WI-FI on site. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$39
This was a nice clean well maintained park. We throughly enjoyed our visit here. We got here just as the snowbirds were descending on the park. They have well planned activities from bingo to pot luck suppers to wine and cheese get togethers to an exercise groups. We had a great back in site next to a pond and were able to feed the ducks and fish (they eat cheap dry cat food!). We loved it and would have loved to stay longer and we would love to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
This is a pleasant enough campground, especially for a KOA, but if you've ever been to one of the finer resorts around the country, there's no way that this place rates a 10, or even a 9! The staff are pleasant and helpful. The roads are paved although somewhat narrow. Maneuvering a very large rig could be somewhat difficult in spots. Some of the sites are paved and, even the unpaved ones that we saw had patios. Other than that, there is nothing outstanding that we encountered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
Stayed here for one night on the way to Lakeland. People were really friendly and helpful. Park was clean and quiet. Will definitely stay here again if the situation arises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
Wow! We are so pleased we decided to come to Starke KOA in Starke, Florida. We are new full time Rver's since June 2005 and this is our second trip around the USA. After our whirlwind summer we are taking our time going slow and staying for a while at each destination. We arrived here end of October 2005 to have the owners accommodated us without prior reservations and we are staying the winter season. If your looking for a relaxed, welcomed Home-Away-from Home then this is the place, with many campers returning each year. Park has cable TV, super Wi-Fi access, is extremely clean, quiet, safe, and the owners along with the staff go beyond the norm in making sure each camper is set-up and comfortable at their site. Each site is roomy with hook-ups in perfect working order and easily accessible. As well as all sites are very level, which is important to us in our class c. We just cannot say enough about how great this KOA is in Starke, Florida. Put it on your list of must stay at! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$40
Clean campground, staff very friendly. We stayed here 4 nights. We had full hook up but they parked us next to a wall that backed up to a strip mall. Dumpsters dumped daily about 6AM. US 301 is about 100 yards from our site & semi's go by ALL night. The train is about 1/2 mile away and it blows its whistle about every two hours. Our site was on the smaller side, the concrete pad did not line up with our door or the awning & you couldn't manipulate it to do so because of the short driveway space and if you try to park at an angle because you have a longer vehicle (which luckily we didn't) the KOA police run out and jump allover you. Staff helpful and friendly - they are just all up in your business every second questioning your every move! We stayed here in a 21 ft hybrid in March 2005. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$30
Usually shy away from KOAs (most are either by an airport or near a railroad track) but this is an exception. Very nice clean park with level sites spaced far enough apart. Friendly staff that escorted us to our site. We stayed for 5 nights and have no complaints whatsoever. Yes, they are located near a strip mall but was able to do grocery shopping, pick something up from a hardware store and use a shopping basket to get it back. And I only had to return the basket to a spot on the opposite side of the fence. This area of Florida makes for easy access to many sites for day trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Spotlessly clean park, pull-thru sites, friendly staff. We have no reason to look elsewhere for an overnight park when we travel to southern Florida. Would use more often if we had reason to be in the area. Recommend it to all our friends who pass this area as well. Staff leads you to you site with a golf cart and ensures you are in place and comfortable before leaving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
A rare find--a truly neat campground with all the amenities staffed by people who really care about their guests. Worth driving out of the way for, and highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$23
An extremely nice and well run park. This property regularly wins awards from KOA and it's obvious why. The sites are relatively large for a KOA and the amenities are well maintained and first class. When they find out you are travelling with a pet, they give you a little "welcome kit" with some Milk-Bones, a plastic baggie (pet owners know what THATS for) and a list of local vets. Nice touch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$23
One of the best campgrounds we have been in. We have been traveling for many years and have never, never been to such a well maintained campground. The owner & his family run this campground and they couldn't be nicer! We will return again & again.This is one of the very few parks where the permanent residents make you feel welcome. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com