215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Southern Comfort RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (305) 248-6909
CGID8161

Southern Comfort RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   2   10   8   1   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
A pleasant park with paved roads, grassy sites, and shade trees. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good security. Wi-Fi was free and reliable most of the time. Handy location to tour the area sights: Everglades and Biscayne National Parks. There is a Tiki Bar open four nights a week to the public! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$38
Easy access from highway but far enough away that noise is not a problem. Sites are mostly grass with some concrete patios. As with most Florida parks it has a large winter season population as well as some longer term residents. WI-FI was reasonable and they offer storage. Good short term park, we would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$45
We have stayed here several times in the past 6 years. This park has beautiful trees and flowering shrubs throughout. Also one of the grounds workers was the nicest man, he couldn't speak English, but tried hard. There's not enough space here to state the negatives unfortunately. The owner rides around in a gulf cart looking for sites to complain about. She is not very nice to talk with. The office help are indifferent, and not very friendly. We were promised a specific site on the phone only to find it was given to someone else right before we arrived. The lady told us we weren't allowed to request a site. Every time we went in the office there was another note telling all of us what we could or couldn't do and the consequences. They were enforced randomly, many blatantly ignoring the "latest" new rule and yet another would be asked to leave wondering "why them" when no one else was. The sites are close together and the concrete pads are too small and too far back to be useful. Every time it rained we had a mess out our front door. They have a public Tiki Bar in the middle of the park and every night awful karaoke could be heard loudly even in the remotest areas. We never did get comfortable with non-campers coming and going at all hours. The Wi-Fi was a joke, when we made the reservation we were told they had just updated the Wi-Fi in the entire park. Our site was right behind the office this time and we never had good signal or kept getting kicked off. We had to call and ask them to restart the service every other day. The bathrooms and showers were somewhat clean but old and smelly, with stained and broken tile. They have a laundry room with many old non-efficient machines. The dryers took forever to dry anything. We understand this park is being sold to accommodate a casino, and there has been no money put into updating anything in this park for years. This is a gem waiting to be polished. Too bad it won't get its chance. This area needs a really nice RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Nice, comfortable park. Friendly hosts and helped us find a nice restaurant. Would recommend again! My wife used the washers and was happy. All facilities were clean and very good condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$800
We stayed there monthly and the monthly rate included a certain amount of electricity which we never went over. The people were friendly, the staff friendly and most helpful. One of our party had to be taken to the hospital in an ambulance, and the staff bent over backwards to help us. The biggest problem is that the sites are narrow and you are very close to your next door neighbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2009
$38
If you like extremely loud music that continues to after mid-night and makes sleep or even conversations in most of this campground impossible, then this RV Park is the place for you. Don’t consider asking the campground owner to ensure the Tiki Bar music is played at a sane level, we were told he was the one actually playing music/karaoke and everyone’s request for volume reductions were rudely ignored. This music was so loud the Tiki Bar was empty at 9:30pm on Saturday night, but the deafening levels of possibly the worlds worst music selections still continued for hours longer. Getting in and out of this RV Park is extremely dangerous due to the traffic patterns and flow especially for larger rigs. The sites were well spaced and some had trees, but navigation on the narrow roads in the campground was very difficult for our longer fifth wheel. All sites had grass (no gravel) which was nice, but it was very difficult for us to actually get out of our site the day we left due to no traction on the grass in the rain. Most rigs were newer, some are permanent and there are work crew campers also. This is a 1950s RV Campground that shows it’s age everywhere. Nothing is terrible, just worn. The bath and showers were adequate, but all were in need of a full face lift and more frequent cleaning. No sites had garbage containers! We would suggest name change for this RV Park. Something like the “Southern Discomfort RV Resort.” We will never go back there and have never seen such a total lack of respect for customers at any RV Park before. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
This is an old campground but has plenty of room for our 40' rig to move around. There are no concrete pads for your RV but the grass is pretty level. Some sites have a pad for the patio but most do not. There is a Tiki Bar in the park and there is live music 3 nights a week. It is very loud and you can hear it from anywhere in the park way into the late night. People are friendly and the staff is helpful. I would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$38
This is an older park with narrow roads and uneven tight spaces. We only had 30amp hookup and don't know if there were 50amp spaces available. They have entertainment 3 nights a week, but the drawback is that it is loud and continued until 12:30am. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com