223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Orlando S.E./Lake Whippoorwill KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (407) 277-5075
CGID8170

Orlando S.E./Lake Whippoorwill KOA

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   9   8   9   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$56
We concluded a 7 night stay and were very happy with our experience in this campground. It is centrally located to all of the attractions. 25 minutes to Disney. 20 to Universal. 15 to International Drive. There is a Publix grocery store within 15 minutes. That shopping center also has an Outback available. The campground was amazingly clean and well maintained. Each day the employees show up in force to work on landscaping, picking up trash at your site, and maintaining the grounds. Their hard work shows. The store is well stocked with all necessary camping supplies, but also has a nice selection of gifts and accessories that are made by, and benefit, third world countries. This is a Christian campground. Keep your alcohol in your site and not out in the open. In 7 nights during the busy July season, it was always quiet by 9 PM. This campground is right on the lake, but not very large. Our site was B17, which is a new "Super Site", recently renovated. The pad was perfectly level, allowed for our truck to be parked next to the camper. The site was neatly maintained, with a hanging swing (for 2), grill box, fire ring, and table and chairs already in place for you. Plenty of space between sites with more than enough room for awnings and slideouts. These Super Sites can accommodate very large rigs with ease. Although we didn't use it, there is a very nice pool in the park, a boat ramp and a small pier. Loved the dog play park. We were very pleased with this campground. If we're in the area again, we'll be staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Have stayed here several times because it is the closest campground to Central Florida R&P. It has all the amenities you would expect KOA to have including an escort to your site 24 hours a day. Employees are friendly and helpful. Roads are paved, grass between sites, sites are either concrete, gravel or grass. We were able to wiggle back and forth a bit to get a satellite signal between the palm trees, electric was a little low but not enough to trip our surge protector. Water pressure a little low and they were working on the sewer system. It is big rig friendly, just a hair tight. We arrived after hours, the employee that escorted us to our site changed it because he wanted us to have more room. Pool and dog park are great and there is stuff for kids. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$44
The park borders a large lake. There is access with a dock on the water. Campsites are ample sized and we used a pull through site. The facilities are very nice, good laundry and rec room. They had activities for guests. Some sites are soft after rain but they have the concrete patios. We liked the WiFi throughout the park. The rates are on the high side but you get what you pay for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$55
This is the nicest RV park we've ever stayed at! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and immaculate. Bathrooms/showers are clean. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. The Kamp K-9 dog park is 7500 sq ft of fenced fun; plus there are hiking paths with strategically-placed poo bags and trash cans. There's a rental canoe available for the beautiful lake; plus fishing. They offer lots of activities; we just had their pancake breakfast with a wonderful variety of breakfast foods for $5 per person. As others have said, we heard the occasional jet going overhead; but for the most part, this place is wonderfully quiet. Sites are level, some have fire pits; all have very nice resin picnic tables. There's sufficient light at night to walk the dogs, but not too much to block out a beautiful view of the night sky. We will definitely be making this a regular destination. So glad we found it! As an aside, for all the dogs who are camping here, we never heard any barking. Back to the "a tired dog is a good dog" adage! They can get ample exercise here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
Rate reflects a $664/month rate. We stayed here for 1 1/2 months. Nice large park on the lake, as advertised. We had a level gravel site with paved patio facing the lake. Solid water pressure, weak Wi-Fi, except in the early AM when no one was downloading movies. We did see a technician come through while we were there and signal strength got better. Some sites are pretty tight getting onto, but the staff is there to help. Lots of snowbirds who have spent several years here and they led the activities from horseshoes to Bingo. A good site to winter over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$55
If you need to be in SE Orlando or near Orlando International Airport, this is the place to stay. Grocery Stores, hospital,gas and restaurants are all close by. Easy drive to the airport. Downtown Orlando is about 30 minutes away without traffic. The park is clean, the staff is friendly and super helpful. All of the facilities and grounds are immaculate. The park has virtually no road noise and only occasional plane noise. The latter seemed to be weather dependent when they switched take off routes. The park is located on the shore of Lake Whippoorwill and has lots of nice landscaping in the office and trail areas. Site size and lake view varies a lot depending on which space you get. We stayed in one of the Super Sites which was a long wide concrete pad with grass and palm trees between sites. We had lots of room even with our sixty foot truck and fifth wheel length. Getting into and out of the Super Sites are easy. We enjoyed staying here and plan to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$55
Rate is with the KOA card. There is a weekly rate, stay 7 pay for 5 days. Stayed 6 days; picked this campground because it is the closest one to Central Florida R&P (15 min) and not far (35 min) from Amway Arena in downtown Orlando. Great park, dog friendly, employees are wonderful, pool & hot tub were great. Stayed here over Memorial Weekend, park was pretty full. The power dropped, tripping our surge protector 6 or 7 times. The breaker was changed to see if that helped, it did a little. Water pressure good, cell (Sprint) service good, satellite (DirecTV) good, laundry facility good, Big Rig friendly. Driving out of the campsite is a hair tight but do-able by even the biggest Class A! Most sites are concrete slabs, some grass or gravel. Main road into the campground is paved, interior roads are gravel. The lake is big enough to water ski. There is a boat ramp: we did not use it. It is either a pretty nice ramp or the folks that used it were very experienced, it looked pretty easy. Some brought big floating rafts and anchored out a bit from their sites. Campfires are permitted in rings that are 6" off the ground. Everything was immaculate, well cared for, night time security guard takes late arrivals to their sites. Our GPS said to go south and make a U-turn, but there is a break in the median so there is no need for a u-turn. A little pricey. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$41
We spent a week in Orlando at this campground in January. We had visitors come visit us and it seemed like the perfect place to chill out. We upgraded to a waterfront space, which had a dock that our daughters enjoyed playing on. Our space was half concrete pad and gravel, it was very level. My only complaint was that our 36' rig had to back into our waterfront space, so our windshield faced away from the waterfront. The RV campground was very quiet although it is very close to the International airport, we heard the occasional airplane but it was only during the day. The other campers were respectful of quiet hours. This RV park had water, sewer, electric, and cable hookups. There was a laundry room, which was clean but more expensive than most. The Wi-Fi was good but not always reliable. There is a dedicated dog walk and a playground, which could use some modernizing. Would I recommend this park? Absolutely. Would we come back? We would if we are in the Orlando area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$61
We stayed here just to try it as we usually stay at the KOA in Kissimee. The park is very pretty as it is on a big lake. The pull through sites are hard to get in and out of. The higher priced premium sites are located next to the store and the pool, no views, no yard, better sites with the standard pull through rate. The dog park is the best one we have ever used. The pool is supposed to be open until dark, but ourselves and two other families were asked to leave on two consecutive nights around 6pm because they wanted to clean the pool before dark. Our kids were very disappointed. Park is very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$56
This is a very family friendly and pet friendly campground. The highlights of the campground are the heated pool and the K9 park. The pool was clean and the warm water was welcome at the end of December. The K9 park is spacious and great for some off-leash time for friendly pooches. The water pressure seemed low, the Wi-Fi was very slow, some of the cable stations had no sound, and the electrical seemed underpowered, but the campground was packed perhaps leading to an overload of the systems. Our campsite was on the lake and the sunrise view is spectacular. The store had all the necessities for forgotten items from fishing, swimming to groceries. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We stayed for four days and were sad to be leaving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$66
Rate was for lake front and included two extra adults and one child, also KOA member discount. Very quiet, well run campground. KOAs are expensive but we knew the cost going in and there were no surprises or adders. Considered it to be a good value considering space was right on the lake bank with a spectacular sunrise. Only problem we had was the site was concrete strips rather than full pad. Hard to levels and stabilize as jacks fell on soft ground between the strips, or worse yet, fell half on and half off the strips. Full pads are available and we will try to get one the next time. Good Wi-Fi, 20 channel cable TV, gravel roads but well maintained. Garbage picked up on regular basis through out the day. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$75
This is an excellent park for being close to the Airport. We stayed here on our way to the Daytona 500 and had friends flying in so it was great for them to get to easily and quickly. They also have storage available at very very reasonable rates and will definitely use this feature next year. It was a full park so it is obviously a popular place. The sites are a bit tight for a large motorhome. When I reserved the site I explained that we had a 43 foot motorhome with a full wall slide and they said it would be no problem. It really wasn't a problem just a bit on the tight side for where the hookups were and where our slide came out. Leaving the next morning also had a few tight turns and lots of go ahead back ups. The gentlemen that assisted in the parking were a great help. It was supposed to be a guarded gatehouse so we left information on our friends flying in to meet us after 11pm at night and when they came in there was no one at the gatehouse. The park was very clean and very quiet, we would stay here again for short stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
The paved entry road has 3 giant speed bumps. There are gravel interior roads and RV sites. There are 3 concrete pull-through sites for $75/night. Electric/water/sewer are dependable, very good water pressure. Monthly sites are too small for a 40' motorhome. The laundry facility is very good as are bathrooms and showers. Maintenance such as painting and cleaning are good. Though this is an old park that desperately needs some concrete updating as the sites are too soft to use jacks. The staff (of about 50) are very good, some of the best! It is a very structured campground. I would look further if in a large motorhome. An "ok" stop in something pulled. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
Nice, clean and well-run KOA. Easy access from the freeway. Sites were large and level. A bulletin board at the office announced activities apparently organized by some of the longer term campers (group walks and exercise classes). Shower rooms were clean but a motion activated timer on the light switch would turn off the lights midway through our showers if no one else was in the room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
Wonderful campground. Beautiful setting. The staff is friendly and helpful. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$57
We were escorted to our pretty, back-in, FHU, 50/30, dead level, concrete track site by the gorgeous lake. Friendly staff explained and checked utilities and how best to back in. The office staff was very efficient and informative. They were well prepared with printed information and directions to many area attractions and locations, such as Universal Studios and the nearest Camping World (it was about a half hour to both, prepare for multiple tolls on many local highways). Store had some RV supplies and small food supplies, pretty quilts. Office closed rather early depending on the day (4-5pm) but there are staff patrolling on golf carts on site seemingly at all hours. Well kept park with picturesque but well spaced trees with Spanish moss, lots of mowed grass, beautiful landscaping. The park felt very safe and was very quiet. Free WiFi workable but slow at times. Waste bags provided at a small pet area. Power may go off temporarily once a day due to local electric utility. Trash pick up at site all day, but don’t it put out at night or aggressive birds will tear up. Showers and bathroom were clean, but were a bit Spartan and dated, and were a hike from our lakeside site. There are several large speed bumps on the driveway: watch your speed on entry and exit. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Very wonderful staff. Ready to answer all our questions. Very clean facilities. enjoyed our stay tremendously. Will be back the next time we are in Orlando. Again staff very knowledgeable and ready to assist. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$56
An absolutely beautiful Kampground. Very well maintained with sparkling clean restrooms and showers. The staff ran around in golf carts and made sure everything was ok with our site. Lake Whippoorwill is very scenic and the cool breeze coming off it was very welcome on a hot day. There are a few permanent campers, but their sites were extremely well maintained. This is a great Kampground. A little pricy, but well worth the money. We will be staying here again on our next visit to Orlando. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$55
Very nice, level concrete pads (we stayed on a "premium site"). Plenty of space between sites. Staff was very friendly. Gorgeous view of the lake. Cable worked perfectly and still had a great satellite reception. Only two drawbacks were that you had several toll roads to go through to get to this campground and there was a large ditch that had standing water that, if the wind blew in the right direction, had a distinct odor. Other than that, the campground was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$60
We chose this campground because we wanted to be close to Disney World and we wanted a lake for the dogs. Alas, this campground turned out to be 20+ minutes from Disney World and there are 2+ tolls to go through each way, with each toll being $1.25. You cannot use EZPass on the tolls. Next time we will choose a closer KOA or camp at Disney Fort Wilderness if there are sites available there. That said, the specific site that we were assigned to at this campground was super excellent. Super long level concrete pads for the coach and the patio. Full hookups were excellent. The Wifi was weak. The cable signal did not work. But antenna signal was excellent. We were allowed to let the dogs swim in the lake, but did not, after being told that there may be gators in there by the office staff. Trash was picked up from every site throughout the day. A long story short, we got a super great site with level concrete pad, but the campground itself was too far from Disney compared to other campgrounds in the area. There is no free shuttle like other campgrounds. Only a $40 limo service in campground brochure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$50
It is a very nice campground. The staff is friendly, mostly. The Sites are small, and very close together. The main reason for points off: the literature (PDF file) from the campground states lake "front" not lake "view". However, the on-line order system does state lake "view," not "front". Still, I think it was misleading, at the very least confusing. When I politely asked the staff about this, one of the ladies was quite rude. I realize they probably get the question a lot, but that only means they need to clarify it for the consumer. Their PDF map clearly states lake "front." Also, I had to inflate all the balls for the kids to play with. Would it have taken that long to put air in the balls for a playground you advertise as kid-friendly? Minor point, but I disdain campgrounds that tout kid-friendly, but have the bare minimums. Conversely, the rec room was EXCELLENT. Air hockey, Foosball, ping pong, wer all free. The game equipment was adequate. Finally, we arrived late on a rainy night before Thanksgiving and one staffer and another camper were very helpful in getting me backed-in. Overall, we very satisfied, and we would go back now that we understand that our site was lake view. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$45
The 24 hour laundry is nice but expensive (1.75 for wash, 1.75 for dry) The showers are kind of creepy; they're individual rooms, and do not have very hot water. The playground is OK, but not great. The gravel road is not fantastic to walk on, especially with a kid. The concrete pads are as small as possible to let the RV park on it. There are a lot of fire ants, even though they said they treat for them regularly. The wi-fi is ridiculously slow, and they don't offer many cable channels. The sites are really packed in tight. I've heard complaints about the KOA we were staying in previously, but this is 10x worse. The rec room is nice, has free games and lots of room. It's not bad, but it's not worth the price. We're moving to a state park after one night here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
We are KOA Members and this is one of the best KOA CG we have stayed in. Employees very friendly and helpful, campground and facilities well maintained. We stayed here for four days with two of our Grandchildren and they were never bored. We will return with other Grandchildren. I would have scored a "10" but I don't believe there are any "perfect" campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
We stayed for the maximum 5 months so the rate is based on the monthly rate. I am a consultant and had a job near by. Parking is a challenge and the sites are very close together. For the area, this is the best place to stay. They have a "10 year old rule" that your RV can not be older then 10 years. They asked us when we reserved but we saw many RVs during our stay older then 10 years. Not sure how they enforce this or if it is just to encourage you not to come if you have a junker. Good dog walking areas. Basic cable. Typical WiFi signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$53
We are KOA members, this is one of the best campgrounds in FL. We had a back in site that was right on the lake. Park people very friendly, staff was very helpful too. Clean bathrooms and laundry room. The pool was also clean and nice. The only two things I can say I did not like so much was sites little close and not a lot of shade trees. There is some but not to shade your hold camper. We will be glad to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$44
I would like to start off with the positive. The grounds look great and a very peaceful atmosphere. They take care of trash almost immediately which I thought was wonderful. Nice pool and spa, and the lake view is great. The negative- Parking is absolutely a pain. when grounds are full, good luck trying to get into your OWN spot which you paid for. We were next to cabins and it was more times than none a problem, then to add insult to injury when the park is almost empty I had visitors park near me in empty lots and get tagged with a windshield flyer. Even I was tagged one time for not having my pass in view, and I have been here over a month! My visitor had her foot bandaged up from a recent surgery and her car got a flyer, she cannot walk the 120 feet from the visitor parking. Yet I have to knock on doors when the place is full so I can park in MY spot? Park maintenance seems dangerous, last week a Bobcat dulldozer was driven into the canal over the rotten wood docks. would I come back? I'm not sure, my guests didn't feel welcome when they had someone tag their car( she was parked less than 10 minutes). the laundry machines are overpriced for their size and who wants to buy a $3 20oz milk or $85 quilts from the lake whippoorwill office/store? the 12% tax eats up your KOA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
Friendly management - sites in the B section are mostly grass with grass patio. Our site was a mud hole - avoid B-47 - when mentioned to management they just shrugged their shoulders. Apparently the Pioneers (the non-profit Christian owners) is attempting to sell the CG and avoiding maintenance. Other stays have been much nicer but not this time. If not for the convenience of married children and grandson we'd stay somewhere else. We stayed for a week - the rate is a KOA Value Card rate. Wi-Fi is decent with the normal slow periods in the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$43
We're staying here for 4 nights because we wanted to be near Cape Canaveral for the shuttle launch. I do not think we will come back here. The back-in spots are very narrow without space for a car and very uneven, and their Wi-Fi is very slow. For the price I expected better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
Very tidy looking, nice canals for launching boats, helpful staff, nearby access to groceries and a few restaurants. Inconsistent wi-fi access during the day that we were there. We had a conflict with them that upset us a fair bit. I won't describe it other than to say that they admitted making a mistake and apologized. They weren't in a position to fix the problem until after we had left, but they quickly made restitution even though it was going to cost them some money. We would definitely stay with them again as we appreciate their integrity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
This KOA is a nice alternative to the closer to Disney, but much more expensive, other parks. Disney attractions are about 25 minutes away. There are nearby grocery and drug stores. Good access and campground roads. The staff and other campers were very friendly and helpful. As other reviewers have said, some of the sites are close together, but there are others that do give you plenty of room, especially if you're on one of the ends. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$45
Not a bad campground, but to visit Orlando attractions it is way out of the way. The sites are too close together. The sites have one unit facing one way, and the next one facing the other way. This way your coach doors are facing each other and so close you can't put out your awning. I could reach out my window and tap on my neighbors window. I would probably stay at another KOA in the area that has more room between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com