223426 User submitted reviews online!!
El Chorro Regional Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (805) 781-5930
CGID8172

El Chorro Regional Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   7   7   7   7   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
We had tried two other campgrounds before coming here and were pleased with what we found. We found a lovely shaded spot. The campground is quiet, has nice views from some areas, and is a nice location to visit Morro Bay, Los Oso, San Luis Obispo and Baywood. The site we camped in had full hookups and was level. Really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Great location about 10 minutes out of downtown SLO. Has access to hiking trails. This is a county park and the bathrooms are rough concrete walls and are dimly lit. It's similar to what you'd expect in an old public pool. Showers are pay showers with no control over temperature. We did not bother to use them. Sites are level and separated by trees and shrubs offering good privacy without cutting you off from what's outside. A loop is primitive, B loop is full hookup, and R loop is full hookup and reservation only. R loop has the biggest sites for large trailers and motor homes. For some reason, SLO County will not take reservations within 48 hours of your arrival which seems backwards, so plan a few days ahead. The area inside the B loop is overflow for tent camping. We are a full time couple in our early 30's. This park suited our needs, but was nothing wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Rate is for winter season. Higher rates in summer. Site was a fairly level paved back-in situated in the Chumash loop. A table and fire grill at most of the sites in the loop. Good privacy between most of the sites. It was fairly quiet in the loop as most of the campers were in the adjacent Rumaldo loop. All utilities worked, but the sewer outlet was about six inches above ground which made drainage a challenge. No cable TV or Wi-Fi. There were plenty of off the air TV channels and our site (C13) was satellite friendly. The Bridge trail was nearby and several other trails were beyond the botanical gardens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$31
Sites were spacious but not very level. We did have a hard time getting our DTV satellite in a spot to receive a signal. The camp host was friendly and helpful after we were parked. There are primitive sites and full hookup sites. It would have been nice if there had been a map of the campground where the check-in forms are located. The second loop of full hookup sites can handle big rigs, the first loop of full hookup sites cannot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$31
Stayed here one night in C loop with full hook ups and dry camped second night for $23. Gravel both nights with trees and bushes both sites, although most of dry camp sites are in the open. Since it was off season, I had my choice of sites and found none that were level. Hookup sites were nicer, more trees and bushes and slightly over the hill from Hwy 1 to shield from traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$31
Rate shown off season full hookup. During the off season self registration in effect. Site was in the Rumauldo loop which has shrubs and trees between some sites for privacy. My site was a paved back-in and not level. It had a table and firepit as well. All utilities worked fine. There are several TV channels off the antenna, but no Wi-Fi. There are several hiking trails through the oak woods or to eagle rock which start from the day use area past the botanical gardens. The gardens have a good selection of plants from the Mediterranean climate zones. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$31
For us this is a fine, full hookup campground. Close to SLO and walk to Dairy Creek Golf course. Not very many what we consider to be "private" sites, i.e, entry side of rig shielded from neighbors. Perhaps 70% of the sites would not take our 28 ft rig. Based on the Park phone message, some sites are reservable but not all. There are loads of non-hookup sites. Lots of trees and large bushes. And for California campgrounds, the price is excellent. Down the road at Morro Bay State Park it is $50 with only electricity. Only 2 TV channels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Camped at site R11. Private with beautiful oak trees. Botanical Gardens in park (free). Large leash-free dog areas. Golf course adjacent. Easy access to San Luis Obispo & Morro Bay. Stayed 3 nights. Would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
The great thing about this park is the location. Nice scenery and away from the City. I recommend it for that, but: 1) The WEB site says most sites are first come first served. This is no longer accurate. All RV sites are now reservable. The WEB site gives you no site information, so good luck on getting a long site, if you need it. Many are very short. 2) The sites are not level, narrow and shrubbery is a problem if you have deep slideouts. I had to prune back several large tree branches. 3) The fire rings are full of ashes and trash. I recommend this park, but San Luis Obispo County could do a better job here, and with their WEB site. This could be a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
It features nice sites, clean with lots of greenery. There are turkeys roaming through the sites. The larger sites are in the last loop at the end of the road. We found the old style sewer connection too far back to use it. I drove into a pull through upon departure for the sewer, and almost scraped my 35' trailer on the electric post. It is a good location between SLO and Morro Bay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Although it is off Highway 101, there is little road noise. The sites are private and spacious, level asphalt pads with grass, picnic table and fire ring. We had plenty of room for our 38' 5'er. Nice shrubbery and trees between sites. We enjoyed our visit very much. We will gladly return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
This is a pretty nice little campground for a Govt. owned place. We were very comfortable here and for the Morro Bay area, its cheap: cheaper than the army base across the street. There were actually several retired Navy personnel staying here instead of across the street. Pretty quiet except for the constant chirping of the seagulls, and the occasional skunk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
Came over the New Years holiday weekend. No reservations and we were able to find a very nice site with full hook-ups. Pleasantly surprised with the park. Very clean, nice outdoor/camping environment, campfire, etc. Restrooms/showers were very clean, however they are set up more like a camping atmosphere (concrete floors). Would definitely recommend to others and would definitely come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$26
Warning: This park can have Low Voltage problems! Be aware and bring an Autoformer if you expect the park to be full. The maximum voltage we saw was 117v and when the park filled up, we had low voltage issues during the evening and morning hours (ended up dry camping during those times). The campground is older, but well kept and the camp host is very friendly. The setting is very nice with lots of trees on a small hillside, a golf course is at the top of the hill and a large county park at the bottom of the hill. The park's main amenities are nature,golfing access, and you are between Morro Bay and SLO. There are limited number number of sites that can handle rigs over 30', it took us some time to wiggle into one of the last remaining sites that could handle our trailer, but the camp host let us park our truck along the main access road. There are a couple of pull through sites. My recommendation for bigger rigs is to call the park office to reserve a site (don't believe the web page, they do take reservations for many of the larger sites). All in all a value for the money, I would have rated it higher if I had an autoformer, or the park had less power hungry rigs in it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Enjoyed the full hookups, big sites, and right between Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo. Right on the golf course. Pretty park, horse shoes, playground, and clean showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
I would stay here again, the only reason that I did not give it a 10 was that the sewer hookups are on the opposite side and I had to run the hose under the trailer. Real quiet in the evenings and the view was real nice. Camp host was friendly in giving directions and advice to other campsites. Only 5 minutes from CalPoly and has a great golf course next to it. No reservations and fills up fast in the summer. I have a small trailer and it was tight. Anything over 20' you will have problems getting into several sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
There are three sections to the campground. The Bishop loop (primitive section) has the most pull throughs. The utility section has an older Chumash loop with sites that have uneven pavement, and the newer Rumaldo loop which has a few pull throughs, but mostly back in sites. Our site was in the Rumaldo loop, and we had a privacy hedge of oleander on both sides. Nearby are a picnic area, botanical garden and a golf course. In winter it is self registration. The signboard says a charge for animals, but on the deposit post it specifies dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
Park was beautiful but some of the sites were tight for our 38 ft. motorhome; we had to move three times while we were there. Many things were great but the one complaint we had was that the 30 Amp electricity was low voltage when the park was half full and totally unusable when the park was full on the Thanksgiving holiday. There are great hikes in the park and a wonderful golf course in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com