214849 User submitted reviews online!!
St Augustine Beach KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 94 user reviews. Phone: (904) 471-3113
CGID819

St Augustine Beach KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   7   3   3   7   3   8   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$57
This campground is very convenient to downtown St. Augustine. One of the trolley tours has a courtesy shuttle downtown where you buy tickets that are good for 3 days. The sites are pretty normal size for KOA's. There are quite a few sites with shade trees, but some of the sites are narrow and you have to be careful of the trees and how you park on the site if you have slides. The pool was clean and open sun. There are paddle boats and pedal cars/ATV type stuff for rent. The one draw back are some of the tent sites on the backside of the campground flood if it rains really heavy. The staff work very hard in ensuring guests are taken care of and they seem to really enjoy working there. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$70
Very disappointing for the money paid. Packed in, laundry was poor and almost ineffective. Park had a rundown feel to it, not really clean. For the money spent. We did not get our monies worth for the one night stayed. Will not be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$75
Sadly we used this campground as an overnight stay, it is definitely a place I would go back to and spend a week. Good handicapped access, good access to restaurants, employees helpful... everything you would expect from KOA. The point of our trip was to deliver my parents from the polar arctic north to sunny Florida so the overnight stay was short. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$68
This was our 50th RV Campground since we started our trip nearly 9 months ago. I was looking forward to visiting St Augustine thanks to some friends recommendations, And of course, it is the oldest city in North America. Our stay at the KOA was very disappointing from the moment I pulled into the campground. Our nightly rate of $67 was the most we had spent on our trip so far so I was expecting some pizzazz. Instead, I was greeted by an unhappy employee who did not want to help me and a campground full of 'Out of Order' signs. I paid a bit more for a 'premium' space, but the only thing premium was having a small 'wooded' area between you and other RV spaces. Our space was up front so we had lots of noise from the tour buses and other campers. Our picnic table and patio area was in disrepair. The space was very unleveled and there was at least a one-foot elevation difference. We had full hookups and surprisingly the WiFi was reliable (not enough for me to work on, but good enough for casual browsing). The cable TV worked, but the channels were limited (we did get two religious channels, including the infamous GOD TV). The 'play' area was pathetic, run down, and dirty. The laundry room had 20% of the washers 'Out of Order' and two out of the three dryers were 'Out of Order' our visit. The game room looked sad; half the machines were 'Out of Order'. It seemed you could not walk around the RV campground without seeing those three dreaded words, 'Out of Order'. The RV Campground is centrally located. You of course have to drive into the city but who would expect a RV Campground in a 500+ year old city? There were shops and food nearby. At the end of the day, our stay was pleasant. I could not imagine coming here again though and paying nearly $70 a night. This is a $40 per night RV Campground, not a penny more. Would I recommend this park? Not really. Would we come back? No. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$65
We have stayed here several times in the past because we had very good, memorable, customer service; not any more. The gal at the front desk was beyond rude. Maintenance guy likes to weed eat near you, hitting you with rocks. When asked to please stop, he just looked at me and turned his back to me. The sites are very unlevel. We were in site 84. The full timers in the very rear of the park bring an unwanted element to the park. The rear park gate was never closed at night, so we didn't feel safe. The park itself is overall clean and well kept, maintained otherwise. Owners didn't seem to be present. Cost value for atmosphere is out of line. We will not be staying here again. We like it and the area, but can't excuse the rudeness and lack of concern for safety that is apparent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$57
After reading many of the reviews posted, I was not sure how our stay might go. I have to say that I have been pleasantly surprised. The grounds are clean and well kept. During our stay, the staff has been busy keeping everything clean, painting, planting flowers, etc. Some of the sites are more level than others, but none are so bad you cannot level your rig with the normal items you should be carrying. Each site is separated by a natural area of plants/trees. On some sites this does limit the patio area. WIFI is good, cable is OK with limited channels. Bathhouses are older but clean. The far end of the campground appears to have a fair number of permanent sites but most were not occupied. Those that were are mostly out of sight. At check-in, I was quoted a different rate than what I had booked at. I had my conformation with price and staff corrected, so no problem. The one real negative would be the foul mouth of one of the workers. On more than one occasion he could be heard dropping "F" bombs and really did not seem to care who heard it. Would I stay again? Yes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$55
Great location. Great staff. But the park needs remodeling. Clean the lake of debris, old fountain, and over grown vegetation. Plant flowers and take care of them. Remove rotten wood from planters, bath houses, lake side pickings. If they spent $10k, they could really make this park a premier KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$62
Convenient to downtown St Augustine. Easy to get to. Lots of restaurants close by, too. Stayed a week. Good walk around pond for dogs, and there is a dog park. Paved sites. Lots of ducks and bird droppings. Reserved 2 sites together, but they didn't have any available at check-in. Moved the next day to be next to our friends. Otherwise, it's a nice park, and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$50
This is a great campground for overnight use, but I would NOT recommend it as a destination. The campsites are very close together; so close that I had to keep the shades drawn for privacy…we were just able to open the awning and the slides but our pull-through, lakefront, premium site was in a hole so we could not use our lawn chairs nor our outdoor kitchen. To be fair not everyones site was as bad. This KOA is located in a high traffic area so you can hear road noise and smell exhaust all day. All the sites have non movable ground level grill and are very close to the road; so close that if you used them for grilling any vehicle driving by, would get road dust on your food, any dog walking by has a free meal. The pool was closed and green, the activities were nonexistent. The club house was locked up and looked as if it hadn't been used in years. The "lake" is very sad, it is actually a duck pond. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
We loved this KOA. Staff were very friendly! Spend the extra money to get the lake side. Nice dog run and cute homemade lake. Enjoyed watching some strange bird swim underwater. Some good shade. The reason I did not give it a 10 is because the site we were in was pretty cramped if you have slides, which we do, and could be a little more level. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Be sure to eat at the Italian restaurant in walking distance! Great scallops! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$50
One of the better KOAs we've been in. The place is clean and quiet. The staff is friendly, and you are close to everything St. Augustine has to offer. There is even a shuttle bus stop in the campground to take you sightseeing. Most sites are in the shade, the pull-through sites are paved, level, and relatively spacious. We stayed for a week and will most definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$55
The price was with the KOA card. My husband and I camped here for one night to see St. Augustine. The park is in a great location. The people who we ran into seemed very friendly. My husband did catch the biggest bass he has caught in years at their pond so that made the stay worthwhile. Overall the park is just OK. It is a little older but not terrible. The office staff was not very friendly. Not bad, just not super nice. I went to the store just after 5 and it was already closed even thought the sign said they closed at 6. Park is behind a run down looking strip center but we didn't hear any noise or have any problems from it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$47
Site was a level asphalt pull through next to the lake where we could watch the fish jump and ducks paddle. Staff were friendly and the outside workers kept busy on general grounds maintenance. Evidence of someone trying to improve grounds appearance with new plantings. Services worked well with good voltage readings and Wi-Fi was strong from our site each of the 4 nights of our stay. The washrooms/washrooms as well as the laundry facilities located in the center of the campground are not in good condition especially the latter; however, the ones located next to the office appear in good condition. This campground is a great location from which to visit St. Augustine as Old Towne Trolley tickets can be purchased at the office and their shuttle makes stops at the CG on the hour during the day and drop you at a trolley stop downtown and return you to the CG. Pass is good for 3-days and offers a great way to explore the City. A great bargain by any standard. Not sure about some of the highly negative ratings by others as we did not see where warranted. We definitely will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$64
A very nice park located close to the beach and just a short drive to the historic attractions. Wi-Fi worked well, as did the other utilities. Sites have plenty of room. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$57
This is going to sound more negative than I intend. We stayed here last year and it looks like there's been some investment in the property. It's nice park. That said, the Wi-Fi is terrible unless you're just looking for email and a quick check of the news. Once you get logged in you're good for a few minutes, but if you're looking for any kind "usage" like youtube or even downloading pictures on FB, you're in for some really slow internet. The pad was paved and pretty level. All the hook ups are in good working order. The staff is nice, but they know the park will be full and have that kind of take it or leave it attitude. A little cramped. St Augustine is the true star - a great place. We'll almost certainly come back to this location. It's really close to both the old town and the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
We arrived here at 4:30PM, having called for reservations for the week while on the road. We were greeted with a list on the wall of available spaces to choose from, not a documented site or packet, as usually done. We chose a pull-through from the list, and got settled in. The next morning, as usual, we went to the office to pay, and were greeted by a very grumpy lady who said we had not gone to the "right" space, which, after we checked the site she had assigned us, we could NOT have gotten our rig into it. After I told her that we would be happy to leave and relocate elsewhere, she frowningly, and reluctantly allowed us to stay where we were, but assured me that, "Now she would have to change some things around to make it work." I felt very unwelcome! The park is tired and ragged, the laundry closes at 5PM and if you need to do laundry later, you use an open shed in the middle of the park, with old, rusty, barely working equipment, and the bugs eat you alive! Trash was piled everywhere, and seldom picked up from our site, as directed. The park is weedy, and our site was not mown, even after asking a young man weed-eating other sites to weed-eat ours anytime. I am happy to say that we were gone most of the days from here, as it was not a clean, typical KOA at all. We would choose another park in the event we stay in St. Augustine again. This park is a blackeye to all KOA's, as we have relied on these campgrounds for over 40 years, and never have been treated so shabbily as this. Too bad! Won't be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$54
We spent 2 nights here in a class A. My backin site was within a few feet of a wood fence that was between us and a strip mall. Quite a bit of night noise, was warned by staff when I made the reservation. They claim that they have Wi-Fi, but it is the most difficult that I have ever experienced to get logged on to. And once you did get on, it was so slow it was useless. But overall, I enjoyed the stay We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2012
$55
Overpriced. Guest are crammed in. Noisy due to location. A typical KOA where they haven't upgraded the place in years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$68
Thank goodness there is a lot to do in St. Augustine, because this KOA was cramped, not level sites and noisey. The sites are very narrow and short too, not much room for your vehicle. The campground is behind a shopping center, there is a bar in the shopping center and we could hear their music until 2AM each night. Wi-Fi only worked in the mornings and it was pretty weak even then. The staff was friendly and the grounds were clean, but this KOA is very overpriced for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$49
This was our second Thanksgiving at this campground, and we'll probably make it a tradition. It's close enough to the downtown attractions of St. Augustine to bike, and even closer to bike to the beach. This is not an 'out in nature' campground. This is a tourist oriented campground, so expect the campsites to be close together. Our dogs gave a 4 paws up review. Thank you to the staff for an excellent Thanksgiving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$55
Good location and access to beaches and town. Lots to do in town: great history. Check-in staff was very friendly. Pool was very clean. Some sites are more in the open, but still nice. Good dog run area as well as dog-walking trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$60
THE GOOD: Clean bathrooms. Hot and clean showers (open late). Long pull throughs, a clean lake, a clean and unheated pool and a good location. Has a friendly check in staff and a well stocked, small Camp Store. Dog waste bags and trash cans are available. Site has trash pickup. THE BAD: Not pet-friendly. Virtually no place to walk your pets, and the Kamp K-9 is the worst I've seen. The dog run is about as big as a pop-up tent, and loaded with old human furniture. Staff regularly comes up to dog owners wanting to chat. (Even if your back is facing them: over friendly lot). Streets are narrow, and don't even think about bringing anything bigger than a compact car near the Kabins: you will either hit a tree/pole or fall in the lake. Spaces near the entrance are more spacious than those at the rear. Spots are very skinny, and the placement of sewer cap can be odd: up to 20 feet away from other hookups. (A pain if you have a toad and need to back up.) Very tight turn into CG from Pope Road. PS: US-1A is also known as A1A. If you miss the turn, the lanes get really tight and skinny. Use 16th street, to get back to A1A, it's a bigger road than the rest. Sites are not level. They are rounded near the entrance and exit to the space, easily correctable. Other notes: Cable TV is OK. The over air channels are the best. Wi-Fi is quick with 3-4 bars out of 5, (ask for the code). Cable TV attachment is located on the water hookup pole, not the electric hookup box. Park is right across from restaurants, grocery store and less than 1 mile to the beach. They have paddleboats to rent. This is the closest CG to the beach. Have a 37' Class A MH w/toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$55
It's hard to have a bad time in St. Augustine. This park is typical of all he KOAs we've stayed at. The pads were a little cramped but were paved, level pretty well maintained. The staff was incredibly nice, maybe too nice. We stayed here on a crowded weekend and the place was completely booked. When we arrived we were assigned our spot and at checkout time the previous customer was still there and in no hurry to leave. We waited about 45 minutes for them to leave and they didn't really hurry until I said something to them - I kept waiting for the staff to do so, but they didn't seem to care that I was parked in waiting. Overall a great trip, and a nice park - it could have been better if the staff had been more attentive to their checkout times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$52
This is a pleasant CG that is very convenient for sightseeing in St. Augustine or wandering on the beach. The site widths are typical for CG's in urban areas and tourist destinations, but they are a bit on the short side. With our 40' MH we had to park our toad sideways to ensure it was off the road. The roads and sites are paved and are fairly level. Sites have concrete pads for picnic tables, but ours was the one of the ugliest concrete paving jobs I have ever seen in a commercial establishment. There was free Tengonet Wi-Fi which exhibited the usual annoyances of reappearing welcome screens. There is also free cable. We used our Verizon air card which worked well. A significant number of large live oak trees will make it difficult to get satellite TV on some sites; we were ok on site 66, but just barely. The CG is set on a pond that can be fished without a license (catch and release only) which is something kids might enjoy. The CG is a bit on the expensive side but it was our decision to stay here. This close to the beach in prime FL season, one really can't complain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$49
Everything about this park is shabby: the bathrooms, buildings, lawns, Kamp K nine, even the trees are shabby! That being said, it is clean, pull through sites as well as the park roads are paved, and dog waste bag stations are conveniently located throughout the park. The beach, CVS, and restaurants are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
The park was clean and the worker were friendly. The site 34 was just right for our camper. Park was convince for out stay in the area, We would stay here again. The park was old but we here for the history. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
This is a return trip to this KOA and unfortunately the place is not as nice as our last visit. I had forgotten how narrow the sites are. The site is concrete but the area around your rig used to be grass but is now dirt/sand. You could not avoid it when you step outside your RV. Rain made things even worse because then we had mud. It seems that the landscape is not a priority. There is a pool to swim in and the distance to the beach is just a short bike ride. These two things keep my review higher than it would be otherwise. Very disappointed in this stay and fortunately we only planned on a few days here. We were anxious to move on. Not sure if we'll stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
We stayed at this park over the 4th of July weekend, every spot was full. Pros: location close to the beach, well lit inside the park, family friendly. Cons: located near a water treatment plant, funny smell from time to time as a result. Our site did not have any relief from the sun from 5pm until sun set. Other "premium" sites looked like they had much more shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$75
It is pricey but in line for the area. The site was a narrow pull through but we had no problem with our 40 foot Class A. The best part is this is one of the only parks with paved sited and paved interior roads. The pool is very small and there are no other amenities, but we were able to walk to restaurants in the area in under 3 minutes. It is also on the shuttle route and for about $20 per person we had free shuttle service back and forth to downtown for three days. We plan on going back this fall. This is a great location if you want to explore historic St Augustine, by taxi it was about $10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$68
We found this to be an older KOA but well kept. The grounds were very clean, and the staff was helpful. Nice pet walks. Most sites were tight for big rigs so make sure you ask for a larger site if needed. Mostly shaded around a small lake with green water. It's about a mile's walk to the beach but not bad. Most sites will require a little leveling. Over all, a decent park but at $68.00 it was overpriced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$54
I decided to try this park out since I live and Jacksonville and have to work in St. Augustine 6-7 weekends a year. First the check-in staff was very unfriendly and 2nd since my job requires me to be there till noon on Sunday I needed to have a 2 hour late checkout. The staff person said that "she" did not allow any extensions for late checkout. I asked if I could pay a half day - answer "she" did not allow this either as was busy season. Since I was there I had to pay an extra night just to stay two hours. While I understand "busy" season most people checked in around 3 or 4 and I was long gone by then and it was a Sunday. When I left there were at least 8 or more spot available. Personally I will never stay there or recommend this camp ground - obviously repeat customers they are not concerned about and I would have been there during the "Not so busy season". Thank goodness there are other campground nearby way more friendly and actually like repeat local customers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
Very nice, just stayed one evening. Staff very friendly and helpful, quiet and easy to sleep. Many nice amenities such as a Kanine Kamp, stuff for children to do, bicycle rentals to go around historic St. Augustine, etc. No complaints and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$5
Nice park with good services. Ask to stay away from tent campers who tend to be noisy. Staff is very accommodating and customer friendly. The shuttle bus to the historic district is available at a cost and well worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$44
Asked for a site to fit my 36' travel trailer, put us in a site for a 25', so had to unhook truck and try to squeeze in, Next morning had to wake up 2 campers to move cars just to hook truck up. Called 2 weeks in advance for reservations so it wasn't a last minute thing. Cable good, Wi-Fi VERY slow but free. For the money we will look for other campgrounds next year We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$60
Nice KOA with paved roads and sites. Some sites could be more level. It is a pretty place with all the trees and ponds and is convenient to all the activities in St. Augustine. Wi-Fi a little slow at times but probably due to volume. We are staying here multiple nights and would definitely stay here in the future when in St. Augustine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$50
Free Wi-Fi extremely slow. Cable TV fuzzy in our site but park planning to switch to new system. Stay there every year. Excellent place centrally located for shopping and touring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
Really a small, compact campground and the sites were close together but easy to get into the site. Shower rooms were very clean. Close to beaches and the lighthouse and one of the St. Augustine trolley tour companies will pick up and drop off at the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$75
We actually chose to stay somewhere else, but wanted to write a review of the pricing of this campground. We needed a site for one night the Saturday after Thanksgiving. This KOA raised it's prices from approximately $40 per night to over $70 per night due to the holiday. We found a great RV park nearby that did not have a price increase due to being near a holiday. So, you might want to shop around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
Easy to find. We came here because Anastasia State Park was full. Location close enough to historic St. Augustine. When we arrived, the clerk was a little snotty because apparently I didn't indicate that we were towing a vehicle. This was the first time I made a reservation on KOA's website and I didn't realize there was an option to check this. The clerk made a big deal about it to another clerk. Anyway, they put us right at the front of the campground. We have a 39' motorhome and it took some maneuvering to get it through the pull-thru. Dirty pond but the kids loved watching the ducks and turtles. Campground is good for overnight stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
Not a bad little KOA. Sites are a little cramped for the most part but I was able to get our 33 foot with tow dolly in with room to park the car. Water pressure was very good. Campground workers were friendly, electricity was a little shaky with minor brown outs that lasted about 1 sec. Great room to walk the dogs. Only drawback is the placement of the fire pits but they did the best they could with the conditions. Great location for the city, about a 10 minute drive. We will stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
This park is in a great location for exploring St Augustine, right in town. It was more expensive than we prefer to pay but the value is there in terms of location. Sites are a bit cramped. Our biggest complaint was being in a site covered with trees when we had asked for a more open site to be able to get satellite, which we could not. The rig next to ours barely had room for his big rig. Our site was on the little lake and was very pretty. Lots to see and do in the area. We would stay here again if we could get a site that would allow us to get satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$33
This is a good little campground. Would have given them a higher rating, but I think some things they could improve. The WiFi is very slow. The staff was friendly and helpful. They are behind a commercial strip center which takes away some when sitting outside as the weather was awesome. Some sites have nice spacing, some are close but not too close. The lake is more of a pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$73
It is a nice park. It is pricey during Biketoberfest in Daytona but also only a few blocks from the beach. The pull through was long enough for the motorhome and toad. It is a convenient location. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$80
My family stayed here for a long weekend. We had a nice relaxing time. The grounds are clean and the laundry facility was an asset. The kids loved the pool and we liked the fact that our little dog was permitted at their campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
We come to this KOA park for various reasons. One, its very convienant and close to old St. Augustine town, and second we just love the way we are always treated here. From the courteous check-in lady to the various staff through-out the park they are always very nice. I did see the owner of the park inspecting and instructing his workers of things that he saw. But overall the park is well kept. The sites are clean and manicured. The dog park is a nice size and clean. Almost all the people pick up after their dogs, but you have your few who don't believe in picking up after their dogs. I would highly recommend this KOA park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$60
This campground has a great location. The bus for the Trolly Tours stops at the campground and the campground sells tickets. 1/2 mile to the beach on a bike path. The owners are really involved and friendly. They were constantly driving through the campground making sure everything was ok. All facilities were clean and always being cleaned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$65
Compared to some of the reviews, we were very disappointed with this park. For this amount of $$ we expected much better. The "lake" is full of algae and nothing to look at. We camp at a lot of KOA's and can't believe this one got the President's award for 2009. We are trying to figure out: FOR WHAT? Live and learn and make your own decisions, and don't accept others! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$79
Very friendly check in, a packet of local things to do and see provided. There was a problem with sewer gases, so couldn't run our roof vents and our neighbor had problems with dumping his tanks as the system seemed to slow and pause. The sites are about a 90 percent sand mix with black dirt, so this is tracked in easily, especially when it's damp outside. Although this was a little pricey, we would stay here again as it is so convenient to the sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$54
Very clean campground. Television reception good, Wi-Fi connection slow, but it worked. They were helpful at check in by guiding you to your campsite. Road noise was minimal. This is a convenient location to all the local attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Park staff keep the sites immaculate! Our site was raked every day, and trash picked up promptly. Nice lake with lots of bird, turtles and fish. Park is close to all attractions in St. Augustine, and staff are helpful with information regarding the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$85
The campground is in a good location for the beach, but you still need to drive to the beach. We had lots of ants on our campsite and they even got in our camper. I feel it was overpriced, especially when that same week we also stayed at Fort Wilderness in Disney and it was a much nicer campground and less expensive! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$80
We arrived late here about 10 pm and could only find 2 options available at the office for late arrivals. One was taken with a car, and the other too small. Wasn't at all impressed with sites and the waste connecters were all over-grown and could not be opened. Greeting in the morning was not that evident either. This was the end of a long journey for us: after travelling 2500 miles and staying in 15 RV campgrounds and coming from the UK. Personally I think this place is a little rundown and well over-priced. Better off in the state park which was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$81
Being our first time staying at the RV park we were very impressed by the level of customer service we received when we checked in. The overall condition of the park is EXCELLENT. The sites were clean and the staff was always around cleaning. The garbage was always being picked up every morning. The dog "area" was small and the weeds needed to be trimmed. They should work on making it larger.Overall experience was excellent & would stay again at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$60
We previewed this park. Sites are unlevel & park crowded & digny looking. Location is best feature it appears. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$50
Was a very nice KOA, in a great location, handy to stuff both in St. Augustine Beach, and not that far out of the old part of St. Augustine. It is about a mile from the beach. Nice paved, mostly drive through spaces - a little close together, but I have seen worse. Some were a little uneven, but nothing you can't handle with typical leveling blocks. There is a nice duck/fish pond, and the ducks and egrets were fun to watch. In general, the grounds and landscaping were in fantastic shape, as was the pool and bathhouses. Pet friendly. We were going to stay at nearby Anastasia State Park which would have been half the cost, but it was booked up, and you can't take your dogs on the beach in the state park anyhow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$81
This is an excellent site. Centrally located to St Augustine. We had a deluxe site and it was worth every penny. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our reservation was originally for four nights but we loved it so much that we added a fifth night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
This is ok, but not as good as other parks in the area. There is a lot better out there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$52
A nice clean place. The owner stopped by many times to check and see if all was ok. Short drive to historic St Augustine. It was good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Scarey campground alert! Just keep going as this place is gross! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
This is a very solid campground for a KOA. VERY clean and neat and the staff is constantly cleaning the grounds of trash etc. Even tiny pieces of paper are quickly picked up. I had a pull through site which was plenty large enough for my 37 foot Class A with room to spare. The sites are spaced nicely and the location is good too. Easy in an out plus close to sight seeing areas. Pool was clean and the laundromat area worked well too. The lake is small but nice. Overall a very good place but of course not a luxury RV park but then I didn't expect that. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$60
This is a very nice park near the beach and St. Augustine. Check in was great and pleasant. Staff very friendly and helpful. Park is clean and welcoming. Bathroom were very clean. Nice pool and they have a store for those little things you forget. Will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$75
Stayed here 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Excellent location with friendly and helpful staff. Restrooms and common areas were always tidy. Staff were constantly going around in golf carts picking up garbage. Very close to the beaches and a 10 minute ride to historic St. Augustine. Wi-Fi worked great. An example all KOA's should follow. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$87
The campground is in a beautiful location, but the service is not too great. The people in the office were very rude on several occasions. The pool and grounds are very clean and it is a nice park with shady trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$62
Campground was clean and well maintained. Lake sites were paved with concrete patios,some had tables and outdoor fireplaces and grills. Quiet and peaceful with lots of wildlife.Weather was warm and pool not heated and could have been used if it had been heated. Office staff friendly and helpful. WiFi signal strong. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
Sites were too close to each other. Some of the staff weren't very friendly. This campground was OK for a base to visit St Augustine but we probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$68
My original reserved back in site was way in the back along a residential fence in the mud. I complained and was given a pull thru for $5 more a night. My 34 foot motorhome barely fit in a pull thru site. Site was uneven , but nicely paved. Vegetation is nice, animals are every where including pesky mallard ducks panhandling constantly, all day. Lots of birds, turtles. Staff was very unfriendly along with workers. Overpriced to say the least. Public Beach on the Ocean is mile and 1/2 away which was the nice. I've stayed here 2 years in a row but the price is way too high now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
The staff was friendly. The location is convienient to St. Augustine attractions and beaches. The locaton of the park is in a congested business zone, not a relaxing location. Most sites are pull through with full hookups. The sites are small and this is more of a "parking lot" than a campground. Not a place for a long relaxing stay, but ok for a home base for night or two if you are there to see the sights or spend the day at the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
We stayed at this campground last winter during Daytona Bike Week. Not having known that when we made reservations we found the entire campground was filled with bikers. For the most part quiet time was observed. The sites were ok. I think they were a little closely spaced. There was a bathroom/shower building near our site. The laundry area only had 3 or 4 machines, so if you needed to do laundry you had to wait until the machines were free. This was an ok campground but I don't think I would want to stay here for any length of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$65
Campground was clean and staff was friendly. Sites were smaller than I like but typical for most commercial campgrounds I have been to. We had a site (70) on the small lake. While there was some traffic noise during the day we did not notice it at night. Very convenient to most attractions in the area. While I feel it was overpriced I would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$60
Campsites were overpriced for their size. When our car was parked I had to exit it under our neighbors' slide-out. While the "dog waste stations" were convenient when walking our dogs, there was very little space for walking them. The crowded conditions outweighed the clean campground and friendly staff. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$60
The park is in a suburban/highway setting. The noise and surrounding commercial area detracts from the park's trees and small pond. The RV sites are too, too close together. Our site was next to a storage and trash dump area. For the daily fee you would expect a less crowded and more serene RV camping area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$53
I have mixed feelings about this park. It is clean and conveniently located. There is a lake in the park with lots of birds, making for an attractive setting. The sites are typical KOA size. However the site we were assigned to was on the end of a row with no room for a picnic table. We asked to move but they were full. There is wifi throughout the park, but the connection was so flaky as to be next to useless. When we complained to the office, we were treated poorly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$59
This is a nice campground. The staff in the office the first night were a bit standoffish, and after the friendly reception at the last park we stayed in, was quite a disappointment. However, the rest of the staff were nice during our stay. Though located right in town, this park is a little oasis, with its own lake and great tree coverage. The outdoor, 24 hr laundry was a plus for convenience, but stank given that the floor was alway covered in dirty water. Don't drop any clean clothes! (They do have another laundry in the the store.) Wifi worked great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$75
Long paved pullthrough sites with some nice tall trees between. By maneuvering up and back a bit, we were able to receive satellite. We could not get their cable to work. It was convenient to beach, lighthouse, town. $75 night seemed high as we had very close neighbors. We had nice site on lake - There are a few bad sites in front next to building - The laundry machines were adequate and there were plenty of them. The showers were nice with good water pressure and clean. We would probably stay in a state park rather than here, but none was available as it was a holiday weekend when we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$76
Overall, we were satisfied with this campground, but we believe that it is way over-priced for what you get. We found the staff to be friendly & helpful. Also, we did not feel crowded on our site, as some reviews have stated. The large majority of the sites are newly-paved pull-through sites, but those along the eastern edge are dirt back-in. Be sure to call them to confirm your size and pull-through requirements, because the folks checking in before us had trouble with their reservation made months before on the Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$50
Overall Nice , But pricey for the place. New asphalt throughout, my site was very uneven off by 10 inches in the rear. Restroom and showers near the office immaculate. The other one was dirty not clean and was closed for 2 days while I was there. Sites are very tight. Very little room even for the awning to be out. I found the staff Ok , but the desk clerks just doing their Job. The beach is 1 mile across A1A down Pope street. Historical St Augustine is great and the Fort is a must. A request at the KOA desk calls the courtesy van to pick you up for the red train trolly tours around town. Its worth the $18 ticket for 3 days. Last shuttle to KOA at 3:30 from town or your on your own. I would probably stay here again only for the history, lighthouse and beach , but I would like to find an optional place. The grounds were well groomed and alot of wild birds, turtles and ducks and egrets along the narrow lake shore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2006
$45
Not the most pleasant but could be great if only the managers enjoyed what they do for a living. This is a people business and customers come 1st but not it seems at this KOA. The park needs some serious maintenance and the managers need to change their manner - not curt, distant and cold as we found. We were given a very cramped plot with others within 2' and we had a mini dust bowl in the middle. Swimming pool had a grey scummy ring. Toilets and showers -hmmmm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$56
We were disappointed after reading the reviews on this site. This campground is crowded and they try to put big rigs into small spots. There is no room for maneuvering. The work campers are over zealous and are rude. The deck surrounding the pool is patched with concrete and rough. There are holes in the pool bottom. The entrance and exits were blocked at night with overflow. This is a very dangerous situation in case of emergency. The office staff was not familiar with the computer system and check in took far longer than it should have taken. Even with the so called improvements, this park has over priced itself for the condition of the park. We will not return until some changes are made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$34
Sites were very comfortable and staff very friendly. Little islands between sites was a nice touch!!! Location, relative to downtown St. Augustine was great, and beach was a few minutes away also. Plenty of places to eat around the area. Only complaints I have was some road and park noise, which wasn't that bad and what appeared to be an alligator in the lake. I dont mind the alligator as long as we were told, which we weren't. Other parks by beach were nice , but suffered from heavy traffic. This place is in the perfect location. Definitely will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$56
This KOA campground was a pleasant experience for us. When we arrived, we found the staff friendly. A staff member escorted us to our site. All the roads and sites appear to have been recently paved. We were asked to use pieces of wood under our jacks, so as not to damage the new pavement. They stated that they would supply some if we didn't have any. We had no trouble using the Wi-Fi. We also used the laundry with no problems. Located only a few blocks from the beach and of the Alligator Farm. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$45
This park has been recently renovated, and it shows. The roads and sites have fresh asphalt, and there is enough room for the biggest rigs. It is very clean and nicely designed, and the staff are friendly, patient and helpful. The campground is located on Anastasia Island, about 10 minutes from downtown St. Augustine, where all the congestion is. You can drive here via State Road 312, which will get you to the island without going through downtown tourist traffic. Winter is a good time to explore the area unless you really want to swim at the beach. Biking fans would enjoy Guana River State Park, about 30 minutes north of the campground on A-1-A. There are very good restaurants on the island as well as down town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$44
This park has received some unfavorable reviews in the past, but overall, it was a great campground for the location. They recently paved all the sites in blacktop and also the roads. The site we had was level and after they "fill in" the difference between the sites, it should be great. The people were very helpful and showed each camper to their site. The staff was friendly and just went out of their way to be helpful. The foliage had just been trimmed back, so next year, it should provide a little more privacy. The location of this campground made it worth the extra money. The WIFI was also a plus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$42
As others have said, the sites tend to be rather narrow, but we had no problems with extending all four slides. Since it is January, we have not spent much time outside where we would use the awning, but it looks like we would have enough space to do so. The staff led us to our site, and gave excellent directions helping us get situated where all of the slides would open without interferrence from the trees. They are marking various trees to remove to make the sites more useable. Depending on your neighbor, exiting your site could be a problem if you leave before they are out for the day and are inconsiderate as to their parking habits, as the interior roads are also rather tight. The campground is convenient for exploring the area. We are here for a week, and would come back if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
All around a very clean park to spend a nite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$54
This is a nice clean park. We were able to make the turns to get back to our site, but we ended up backing in and moving over a site due to some tight spots in the back of the park. The staff was helpful getting us into the site. There is a nice lake and good dog walking area. The rates are a bit high (even with the KOA Value Card), but it we stayed there during the October Daytona BiketoberFest which drove up rates on all camp grounds within a 75 mile radius of Daytona. We would stay here again to explore the St. Augustine area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$52
Park was clean and had great access to St. Augustine and beaches. Agree with other reviewers that sites are too narrow, and uneven. We enjoyed the trees and palms, but had to move three times to find a site where we could extend our slides and awning. Pull through length is ample for rig and toad, but width is too narrow for slide equipped rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$80
We have camped at the St. Augustine Beach KOA twice and experienced problems both times. It seems the worst problems occur when the two elderly ladies are on duty. The first time we stayed there in November 2004 in a one room cabin, the people next door had a pre-teen and teen boys that were loud and getting into everything all night long, from climbing fences into "Staff Only" areas to getting in the locked-up paddle boats. When we went to complain, the office was closed and locked up. Not allowing an isolated bad experience influence us, we stayed a second time August 2005, this time with our daughter and grandchildren, so we needed a larger cabin. We found out after we arrived that none of two room cabins are on the lake, which was something we specifically requested in our online reservation and was not told to us in our confirmation letter. Again, the two elderly ladies were on duty and this time, they decided not to open the paddle boats for rent. The paddle boats are only available from 1-5 PM daily, if they decide to let them be used. Since it was after 5 when we checked in, the first day was out and checkout is before 1 pm, so the last day is out. The afternoon of the second day, the elderly ladies decided that the boats were not available because "We (they) have a tour bus coming in". This KOA could definitely benefit from a course in Customer Service. By the way, we never saw a bus visit either. Two complaints were filed with KOA and no response was ever received from the campground. This was the very last time we will ever stay at this campground. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2005
$35
Mostly seasonal campers or year 'rounders. The person next to us had a huge iguana which slept on his dashboard. Another person had three St. Bernards. Facilities were clean but old. Help was OK but not outstanding in any way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Easy bike ride to historic old St. Augustine and the beach. Nice lake/pond, with small alligator and plenty of native birds; catch-and-release fishing o.k. Sandy sites narrow, but sand berms and plantings give some privacy. Some sites may be difficult to open awnings, due to overhanging branches. Close to highway, especially sites along wall adjacent to strip mall. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$41
Not my favorite by far. If you like privacy, this isn't the one for you. 31 sites along back are very open and crammed together. The store had a very limited selection compared to most campground stores. Most attractive part of campground are the cabins along the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Site are very small and uneven.Called and made reservations , told them we had a 38' motor home . When we arrived we were asigned one site , pulled rig in couldn't open awning & picnic table was sitting on a slope. Tried to get back out & trees were so low that ended up ripping the frig vent off the roof! Moved to another site , still couldn't open awning or use picnic table. Sites are way to small & uneven! Next time we're in ST. Augustine we'll stay somewhere else We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Crowded park, many uneven sites. Small pool, one internet access line in office (shared with credit card machine - l5 minute limit), excellent laundry facility. In crowded area. OK for a night's stay, but not for more than that. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$35
We found campsite clean and accessible. large shade trees/tropical plants. Although daytona 500 race weekend, area peaceful/clean. Sites do have cable/tv. Staff pleasant, helpfull. Quiet area. One staff member told us prior to arrival, she was too busy to accept a "fed-ex" for us. We picked it up elsewhere. We almost cancelled. Glad we didn't. Not going to blame KOA for one bad staff member. May stay there again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$32
Convenient location but the highest price for a non-oceanfront site in area. Small older sites difficult for slides and bigger rigs with lots of overhangs. Lots of seasonals. Check other area campgrounds first and stay only if neccessary. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com