218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Anastasia State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 106 user reviews. Phone: (904) 461-2033
CGID821

Anastasia State Park

Camp Information
Sites
139
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   8   8   7   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Very nice park, a little tight for us but managed. Great place to stay when touring the area. Sites very secluded and a short walk to the beach. But, if you drive there is plenty of parking. Will return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Beautiful campground. Stayed in Coquina loop--closest to the beach, but still a bit of a walk. You can always drive to the day-use area for quick beach access. Very private sites, undergrowth (and overgrowth) is heavy. Perfect white sand beaches. Only complaint: folks need to slow down in campground. After complaining to a ranger, I saw a St. Augustine cruiser drive through, once. They need heavier ranger presence. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
One of the best parks we have stayed at, clean comfortable camp sites. Quiet and relaxing with wonderful site. Our fist experience with a Florida state park and we have already made a reservation for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$32
It is what it claims to be. You are quite a ways from the beach but the campsites are nice and shaded. They are mostly sand sites with paved roads. Restrooms/showers were cleaned daily but expect sand on the tile floor. It is unavoidable in that environment. Very tight entrance gates that secure the park at night with a keypad code entry. Watch your mirrors. I would not really want to take a LARGE MH in there, it would difficult to get it in the campsite. My 30 footer was not a problem. If you want to camp in the Florida version of a wooded area this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Rather tight but fine for a small rig. Loops are in the woods but within 1/4 mile of the beach. Free air TV had about 20 channels. The site was dark at night, just the way we like it. Nice level lot with fire ring and table. A nice park overall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
Nice beach. The CG itself is clean, and is divided into several small loops. Sites are pretty isolated and heavily enclosed by vegetation. So, you don't see much activity. If you want to camp in tight private quarters, this is a good place. I'd rather see some open spaces and activity. Your mileage may vary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$31
We stayed two weeks in a 36' RV. Backing in was okay but the site was narrow and we couldn't put out our awning. We managed to store our car dolly in front of RV. It was nice being close to beach and St. Augustine. Bicycling to the beach is very doable. Our site was in Sand Dollar #66. We liked our stay except for the no sewer problem and the sand was everywhere in the RV after two weeks. It was very stormy one day with winds up to 35 mph but in the campground it wasn't bad because of all the trees around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
Very nice staff, helpful. Tight back in site, just water and electricity. No cable and Wi-Fi only at the beach store. Very good kayaking, gorgeous beach and running trails. Close to St. Augustine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This is not a big rig friendly place. Our site was very difficult to back in due to the small road and trees. The site itself was very deep and had a nice table and fire pit. Bring an extension for your power cord! Also sites can flood in a rain. Other than this the park is well maintained, clean, and beautiful. The beach is wonderful and the cafe has good food. We will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We enjoyed this park and loved the entire area. It was Florida in summer and was rainy and overgrown a bit but what can you expect? I would much rather have plants and nature than a concrete village any day. The bathhouse was clean and probably could use an update but it isn't a deterrent to returning. St Augustine has become our favorite city and we will definitely return to the area in the future and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
We had so much fun staying here! The water sports rentals area amazing! We paddle boarded on the salt marshes. The staff was reliable, friendly, helpful, and kind. I would definitely return again. We hope to do so very soon! Thanks! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$31
Some sites extremely tight and difficult to back into based on angle of approach and lush vegetation. We had a difficult time backing our 28' Airstream into a site designated 35'. Most sites are very private due to vegetation. Sites are dirt. Firepits. Water and electric only. Dump station. Beach is close walk and delightful. Bath house well maintained. Laundry equipment malfunctioned. Very quiet and comfortable setting. Dark at night. We enjoyed our stay and will likely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
Overall we enjoyed our stay here the sites are for the most part secluded but are not level and very sandy. Be prepared to track sand or mud if it rains. The bathhouses are old and in need of repair but where clean. Only one trash bin in the park and its a hike if your site is in the back. The beach is beautiful with easy access and plenty of parking for both cars and RV's. I would stay here again but not sure that I'd want to stay for more than a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
We stayed here for a week. We have walked/drove all the camping circles and here are our Pros and Cons. Pros: Nice Beach, small store with minimal supplies, and camping loops are paved. Each site is secluded with heavy Shade, three dump sites, ample parking at the beach, and laundry at each restroom. There is windsurf, kayak, and canoe rentals available. Cons: Sites are dirt and below road level (expect mud when it rains), bathrooms old but clean and need upgrading. One bathroom services 2 loops, and could be long walk, forty campsites for each bathroom and only three stalls in each bathroom. Many sites are very narrow and there are low tree limbs in many campsites. No trash bins in the loops, no full hookup sites. The play area for children is quite a distance from campsites. Small picnic area, near the beach. You might need electrical cord extension on some sites. Site NOT level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
We enjoyed a two night stay here. The campground, while large, has more tent and small camper unit spaces than larger units. Having just left Walt Disney World, driving the curvy paved roads, heavy with vegetation, was like a continuation of the Disney trip. The staff was excellent to work with. Gave lots of good information. We didn't use the CG facilities so can't comment. CG is well maintained and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$31
The camp rangers and camp hosts here are great, and the beach is popular. However the sand is now messed up with the recent dredge out bringing in coquina sand that covers up the former soft sugar sand. The campground (we were in Coquina loop) is starting to really show it's age. We have stayed here many times before, but things are really in need of renovations at this loop. Can deal with lack of 30 amp (though that really could be updated too), but sites really need some gravel or crushed limestone as used at many other state parks now. The dirt sites are: well dirty, and tracks everywhere. Ants are bad too. When it rains, many sites flood and become a muddy mess. Bath house was closed for 6 weeks for remodel just prior to our arrival, but no idea what they did during that time. Toilets clogged, both mens and womens hand dryers were broken (and no paper towels), plus both clothes dryers were out of service. The poor camp hosts/volunteers do everything they can, but don't have a choice when needed repairs are ignored. Even their camp cart was in dire need of repair or replacement. Street lights out at the single dumpster that serves the whole 139 space park, and also at the dump station. We will try other parks until they can get some much needed maintenance and updating done here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
Anastasia State Park has a huge campground. It is a mix of RVs and tents. The park is well run. Restrooms were clean. All sites are shaded. Anastasia is an excellent base to explore St. Augustine and, of course, to use the state park's beach. Wi-Fi is available at the camp store/cafe at the beach (free). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
We stayed in this park six years ago when we were new to RVing and rented a Class C. At that time we didn't know what we were doing. ASP was just a blurred stopover. With six years and about 50 parks behind us, we can comment much better on this park. The park is very clean with a mix of large and small sites. All sites are heavily treed which gives shade but makes one feel a bit claustrophobic. On the upside, the beach is wonderful. Olde Town in St. Augustine is a great visit. There is an excellent beach which allows dogs on Ocean Trace Rd. Camping World is about 15 minutes away. St. Augustine amphitheater, a good concert venue, is within walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
The campsites are very secluded since they are surrounded by a large quantity of understory. Most sites are fairly narrow so don't expect to put out your awning and spread out. I think any unit over 35' would have a very limited number of sites to fit into. Low overhead clearance is also an issue in some sites. If you have a larger unit, I would call the park directly before reserving a site. The park is in a great location since you can ride your bicycle into the town to do sightseeing. There is a beautiful sand beach which is very isolated for 2+ miles walking north from the park. Nice bathrooms and a well thought out dump station in the park. We would return here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
This was our first stay at Anastasia. We've already made reservations for January. The campground is very nice, especially for a "beach park". Sites are deep, secluded and shady. The beach is nice. They own a ton of land. St. Augustine has a wonderful historic area. Great food! A great park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Spent two nights at this nice campground. Good roads entering and throughout the park. Friendly staff worker at check-in. Good size site and fairly level with good water and electric hook ups. Beach was a long walk in the Florida heat so we used our bicycles. Lovely beach for swimming and we saw dolphins. Public area with store, bait, souvenirs, and snack shack were all very quaint. Our stay here was near perfect BUT I wish the park rangers would have driven around and checked on camp sites.. The one next to us looked like a little village with 2 tents, 1 large screen room, clothes lines strung on the entire perimeter from trees and about 12 people staying there. Fortunately our air conditioner drowned out any nightly noise. We would return to this nicely maintained campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
The rate is Florida Senior over 65. This is an older park but is a great place to camp. You have the beach down town St Augustine a few miles away with lots of things to see if you have never been there. The sites are spaced out with under growth between them so your camp site is private from the other campers. Most sites are full shade and rest rooms are clean but old. The rest room on the loop we were on in site 109, will be closing for remodeling next month I think. So check the web site for the notes on the park as it is a long ways to the next rest room from this loop. There is Wi-Fi at the store at the beach. For the bad. Sites are dirt so you will track in your RV when it rains. There is full shade so very few sites can set up Satellite TV. The local channels are not that good of reception from Jacksonville. They are pumping sand on the beach and if you have little kids or are not strong ocean swimmers: the beach drops off fast at high tide in most places. The rangers are nice and they do work to keep the park nice, as this is a big park. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
A little tight getting our 37 ft motorhome in amoung the trees, but well worth it. Sandy and level sites. Lots of shade and privacy. Had some trouble with the electricity as the campground was full and our breaker kept tripping with our AC running. We called the ranger station and someone came out immediately. No trouble after that. We drove our car to the beach area as it was a little far to walk. A lot of people on bikes. The beach is great! Wide open and no buildings in sight. Each loop has a bath house with 3 showers. Nice and clean, but had to wait in line to use on women's side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
This park draws you to outdoor activities - bike riding, fishing,walking, and etc. The sites are separated by natural vegetation and fairly private. Good variety of sizes to fit the need from tent to 5th wheel. There is a lot of tree coverage but did not seem to interfere with the taller rigs and they were trimming while I was there. Great farmers market at the amphitheater on Saturday morning - nice selection of vendors and typical prices. St Augustine is a short ride by car but can be reached by bicycle and is a very easy area to walk around. It is very commercialized-lots of little shops with tourist 'junk' but there are a lot of art stores with great treasures to offer. Nice variety of eateries - inexpensive to break the bank. The beach at the park was closed to swimming due to rip currents - weather didn't cooperate anyway. Facilities were always clean, staff very friendly and I hope to return again to enjoy everything to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Loved this park. Beautiful big sites. Clean washrooms. Wonderful beach area. Lots to do in the area. Will return for longer next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$23
Wonderful park for couples, kids, or family groups. Lots to do in the park and in St. Augustine. The showers were nice and clean and the water didn't get too hot. Very close to St. Augustine. Playgrounds were not so good. Will return. The lots are very private and you can barely see the campsite next door. Not a lot of fuel stations for diesel nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
Great park. We rode our bikes on the beach at night with our lights. We stayed in the Coquina loop which we liked. Site was easy to get into. We biked over to the lighthouse and other areas near the park. Took our bikes into downtown St Augustine and rode around on Chrismas day. Park was quiet at night. Restrooms were older in our loop, but clean. WI-FI at beach pavillion, but not real strong. Grocery store (Publix) several miles south on A1A. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Great location for visiting St. Augustine. Site was level, tricky to back-in because the site was at a right angle to the narrow road but once we were in, there was lots of plants around the site to provide privacy. Water and electrical were fine. Bathroom was nice for a state park - well maintained. Our site was .7 miles from the only dumpster. We drove to the beach but you can walk around the CG and see lots of birds. Dump station had three separate dumps which was very helpful. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
It is not big rig friendly. Personnel standoffish and monotone when giving information as only a bureaucrat can. The entrance to the park is tricky, we went by 1st time. It is a hard v type turn into campground area. Site 87 overgrown and we had to not only watch sides but overhead as well-I even checked roof to make sure it was not damaged when setting up. We won't come back and left 4 days early. The town great for things to do; the American Legion at foot of drawbridge has a great prime rib. It you get to Palatka go to Angels diner (oldest diner in Florida) it's great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$31
A very nice place to stay. You have to be careful if you drive a big rig though. The loops are narrow and have tight turns. We own a 34' 5th wheel and had a hard time backing into our assigned site. Walking around after I was done I spotted some sites which would have been much easier to get in. In fact some sites are very spacious. No trouble with low branches whatsoever. Anyway, we liked to stay here. Water and electric, no cable and Wi-Fi, but all people with laptops gathered at the beach grill to catch the Wi-Fi there. Sites offered good privacy, the bathrooms were clean and the traffic noise died down at night. We will come back in spring and stay again for a few days. Beautiful Spanish fort and historic district by the way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
The campground of this Florida state park is in need of a makeover. An upgrade for this aged park ought to be a priority. Big rigs beware. I would not recommend any RV rig over 38 feet to make an attempt to stay here. Every site is in a heavy wooded area with numerous tree limbs hanging low. There are many good size trees or palm trunks directly alongside the narrow access loop roads. Every site is a back-in and most are not nearly long enough for the average size RV. Just because the site length is indicated on Reserve America does not mean the rig will fit under the tree branches. Our rig is 36 feet and I'm not sure how we managed to get into our assigned site without doing any damage. This is a great place for an RV under 30 feet. The Coquina loop is the nearest one to the beach. Yet the only access to the beach was by way of a paved road to the beach day use parking area. The restrooms look 100 years old and for us not cleaned. The beach is great. The campground is well over-rated and there is little feeling of camping on the beach. We stayed just one night. If we get a smaller RV we may come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
A very nice state park. Nice wooded campsites for smaller camping units. Some traffic noise and if you're near the External Amphitheater and there is a show going on, you will hear it. Very friendly rangers and staff at the store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
We stayed at the park for a week. Sites are very private, lots of tree so need to be careful when backing. The park is on the beach, however sites are on the parks interior. The drive to the beach is 5 minutes and a short walk if you don,t drive. They are also next to an inlet water way that joins the marina so there is kayaking and sailing available. On the same road you take to the beach. Beautiful beaches and not full of people. Park staff were very friendly and helpful. Sites were very nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
The campground is not right on the beach, but the beach is within walking distance.(less than 1/2 mile) Also, there is plenty of free parking at the beach, a sandwich/souvenir shop, which has free Wi-Fi 24/7, and picnic tables in a covered breezeway. There are sailboat, kayak, etc. rentals on the property. Everyone was very cordial, and helpful. A 15 minute drive will take you to downtown St. Augustine,or driving South about 20 minutes will take you to Marineland. It was an enjoyable area and campground, and we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
We stay here a few times a year.It is and older park but is very nice to bike ride, ocean swimming, kayaking, canoeing, This is a very wide and clean beach for walking, bike riding. and the park is close to sight seeing the nations oldest city. The sites are hard packed dirt and most are level with in reason. There is all most 100% shaded sites. For the bad if you use satellite TV there is about a 90% chance you will not be able to use it for the trees but there are some good TV stations from Jacksonville. Depending on what site you are on it can be a good walk to the showers. The rest rooms are old on some loops but are kept reasonably clean. As this is a busy park on the weekends. So expect the normal trash in the rest rooms. They can`t be there 24/7 to pick up everything people can drop on the floors and in the showers. Not just this campground but you wonder how some people live like pigs at home and let there kids do what ever they want to. As all ways the rangers and other people here are friendly and helpful. They go out of there way to please the guest. There is a camp store and grill at the beach with free Wi-Fi called Island Joe's. The grill is not all ways open after the summer brake. Just on weekends part of the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
The sites at this park are spaced apart and nice and private. The roads in the camp ground are paved so no dust when it's dry. The sites are level and was clean. I would have scored this park a 10 but the bathrooms were never really kept clean and it looked like a hurricane when through them at times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
We make this park our first night out on our trip. A great park with lots of trees and your site is mostly private. The beach is wonderful and there is easy access to downtown St. Augustine and all the tourist attractions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Wonderful place to stay, offers activities at the beach and in historical St. Augustine. Great for bike riding, especially at low tide on Conch Island which is a 8 mile round trip. We hardly saw another soul during our ride! The last two loops (sites 71-105) are best suited for larger campers. We stayed in site 41. We rated this a 9 due to the extreme dry conditions which added to the dusty environmental on the sandy site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
I understand the popularity of this park. Sites are well separated with lots of trees. Our site was tight for us at 36ft, so it took some maneuvering. It was acceptably close to the showers, which were older but adequate and clean. The beach is wonderful, clean with lifeguards most of the day. Only lack of sewer brings down the rating, but they do have three dumps. They could have a better plan for a holiday weekend, but everything was fine by Tuesday night. There is so much to do in St. Augustine, and so many restaurants we were glad to find a good mom and pop "Seafood Kitchen" off the beaten path. Will certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
A very excellent beach campground on Florida's Atlantic coast. Nice well-shaded sites of sand. The coquina loop seems to have larger sites and are in a beautiful area of oaks and palms. No waste on sites. The beach is nice, although a ways from the campground, and has a nice store with a free Wi-Fi hotspot. Particularly nice about the campground is the proximity to St. Augustine town with the historic building and site seeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We have camped here so many times by ourselves and with the kids: it is one of our favorite parks. It is a good first and last stop in Florida. This state park has 139 sites in seven loops, all with water, electricity and shade. That is why we love it! Some of the most shaded sites that we have camped in, which are a walk away from the beach. The beach is beautiful and one can kayak, fish, surf, and wind surf in the inlet. This park is an easy ten minute ride into the historic town of St. Augustine where you can visit historic sites like the fort, shop in the quaint shops and eat at a number of good restaurants many with tables outside. They now have a parking lot for RV’s a few streets back from the visitor center, which is free. We will always stop at this park when driving through Florida. That is, if the present governor doesn’t sell all the Florida State Parks like he plans on doing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
I loved this State Park! Nice big sites that are extremely clean, very private with large trees and bushes to block the view of your neighbor. We had site 138 and thought it was a great site. The loop we were in was pretty close to the beach so it was a short bike ride. The beach was clean and not crowded. We were only here overnight but would love to go back and stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
We were on site 76 which was plenty long enough for our 27' trailer. Width of site had slopes on the side and hardly any room once your trailer is parked. You will need plenty of cord to plug in at this site. Trees over hang your camper and if you have a slide out like we do it is hard to get around it when out due to width of site. This is perfect for two tents per site but anything bigger than a pop up you are not going to have much room. Rules said no clothes line but everyone at every site had one put up. Do not gather wood but rangers said wood at store does not burn good so everyone collects some wood. Positives, Beach is a good bike ride away but if you have a lot of stuff to set up at the beach better drive. Store staff at beach was friendly, Wi-Fi at store was very good as long as you sat close to the building. We stayed here a week of Easter, other families not as friendly as other places we have camped but we still had fun. Rode our bikes into town for Easter Parade, to the fort, and the lighthouse, all on sidewalk. Farmers Market was good and the local flea market was OK. Sites that we thought were wider and more room for a travel trailer with slide out were 38, 58, 59, 66, 69, 70, 36, 77, 80, 87, 101, 117, 123, 124, 136, 137. First two loops are for tents only. Any other site is OK if you just have a tent or a pop up camper only. We would definitely stay again but at one of the larger sites. Did not rate a 10 due to sites are most sites are tight for travel trailers bigger than 24'. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Anastasia State Park. The sites are very private with trees and ground cover in between each site. The restrooms and showers were clean and well kept. It was a short walk to the ocean. There is free WiFi at the ocean-side shop. There are two short hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
This park is a gem. If you value privacy and the remote feel of a campground you will love this park. It offers hiking and bike trails, windsurfing, rentals, beach access. I rated this a 9 instead of a 10 as we camped here in a 35 foot motorhome and we towed a car. We were in site 82 and it was a large circular site, sandy, well groomed, with picnic bench and fire ring. Surrounded by lush vegetation. The entry was narrow and we could not open our awning. The entry roads into the various loops are over-grown and we could not enter without scratching the top of our motorhome (12 ft 7 inches). We would not camp here again for that reason. The park is well suited to smaller campers, trailers and tents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Cheerful and helpful park staff at the front entrance made an excellent first impression. Sites are spaced far enough apart and there are many shade trees and plant growth to give the impression of seclusion. Sites are kept meticulously neat - sand was raked prior to our arrival. Restrooms were clean and unheated. Beach is within walking distance of the closest RV site cluster (Coquina). Snack bar and sundries shop at the beach was open ("Island Joe's"). No dogs allowed on the beach. Beach was exceptionally clean, wide and hard-packed. Just a handful of people at the beach when we were there on a sunny 60 degree weekday. We would definitely stay here again, but probably would avoid the high summer season and crowds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Anastasia continues to be one of our favorite parks. Like many of the older Florida state parks, it is suffering from aging infrastructure and decreased funding and staffing. That said, the staff and volunteers do a great job of keeping it clean and enjoyable. Although it is only blocks from AIA and many stores and attractions, the park itself manages to stay secluded. Campers who enjoy Anastasia are usually, walkers, bicyclist, boaters, birders,etc. In short, people who like to enjoy the out-of-doors. We hope to stay here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
Didn't like it! Dark, gloomy, roads are cramped and in the boondocks. NOT beachfront: a short walk, but you don't feel like it. It's like you're in the boonies! Checked in and out in the same hour. They said no refund, but gave us one anyway. Never stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$31
Unfortunately, I don’t agree with previous reviews of this State park. $31 a night for 30 amp electric and water is a bit expensive at a state park in my opinion. And the senior rate is for Florida residents only. Yes, the sites are rustic, fairly flat, and you will track dirt into your rig on a regular basis but the bathrooms and showers leave a lot to be desired. Yes, you can “get the job done” but it appears cleaning is minimal. Corroded sink fixtures? Why?? Dead bugs in the overhead lights (and there were a lot of them) and the trash wasn’t emptied during the three days we were there. And who’s responsible for the feral cat population? While 40 foot rigs could fit in the sites, it would be a very tight fit, especially with slide outs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$34
We have stayed at Anastasia so many times and the draw is so great. There is an abundance of things to do in the park and in the area. This is certainly in our top 3 FL state park picks. Enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Senior rate shown, tax included. Great place, great time. Free use of "Sand" wheelchair, good beach, beach or lagoon fishing, kayaking or sailing as well as surfing. Literally miles of beach to walk, a nice little store, rental kayaks, canoes and windsurfing. There are no really bad sites, although, avoid those at the head end of the loops. We were at site 58 which was huge. We were entertained Friday night by country music from the St. Augustine Amphitheatre which abuts the west property line. There is a great farmers market on Saturday just a couple hundred or so yards down a service road. Tried a new restaurant for lunch on Friday after a tour of the nearby St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum. It was very interesting. Did not climb to the top. (The restaurant was The Conch House Resort and Marina between the park and downtown, on Salt Run lagoon near the lighthouse. Outside dining includes a dozen or so thatch huts elevated above the water, a large wood deck and both semi-indoor and indoor dining. Prices were medium.) Sites here at the park are all private and well-shaded. Some may be difficult to get a trailer into. The beach is a long walk, or short bike ride from the sites. Once here, be sure to walk the mile or so North to look across the bay at downtown St. Augustine and the Spanish fort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Super state park, only thing that would make it better would be sewer hook ups. There is a good dump station with 3 lanes. There is Wi-Fi at the store Island Joes. Many sites are tight for big RV's. The first two loops are for tents and small RV's only. Bugs can be a problem, but this is a state park. Two week limit. Super super beach. Super clean rest room. We agree with all the previous post. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Magnificent state park with so much to do. Deep sites many for big rigs. We stayed at sand dollar 66. Directv dish just point straight out towards road. Ocean and pure white sandy beach are the best in the state. Will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Right out of a movie. Gorgeous sites. Shady. Huge palms and Floridian flora. Sandy. Right near ocean. Immaculate facilities. Plenty of parking. Recycle area organized. This park is FABULOUS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Absolutely beautiful park! The campgrounds appeared to be carved out of the forest! We stayed in site #87. Very deep site, and totally covered in canopy oaks. Each site has a lot of privacy with underbrush and trees. The beach is beautiful, and a short drive from the campgrounds. There are two boardwalks to the beach from the parking lot. There is a restaurant at the beach which had some good Mahi Mahi sandwiches. The restrooms are older, but clean and easy to access. Some sites can flood when it rains, so you may need to ask which sites do that. The state employees were all very nice and helpful who we met at the campgrounds. There is a 3-lane dump station. The right lane did not have a nozzle on the end of the hose, but we just turned around and used the middle lane. It is a short drive from the campgrounds to St. Augustine. It was a wonderful first trip and we plan to go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
We stayed in the Coquina Loop, Site 130. We spent a week enjoying the park and the area. The site was fairly tight but managed to accommodate our 28ft trailer and our Excursion. The water and electric were very good. I heard from other people in our group that they had similar experiences. We did not experience a drop of rain during our week-long stay. The beach was spectacular and we were very pleased with the parking and snack bar. Since we have young children we would have benefited from cable. We brought our blue tank but never used it as the bathhouse was next door. The Bathhouse was very, very clean. The only downside was that without air conditioning, when you took a bath and toweled off, you were instantly sopping wet with perspiration. Since everyone else had similar conditions, it wasn't a big deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
Another wonderful Florida State Park. We stayed in the Shark Eye loop, site 38, I believe. It was fairly level and easy to get in to. The sites are huge with good separation between sites. The beach was about a 5 minute bike ride away, and was never crowded. We are definitely looking forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Our site in the Coquina loop, #122 was raked clean by the camp hosts like a zen garden, as were all sites after each camper left. It did rain heavy after we got here, and the back of our site was like a small lake. There were other sites that were completely filled with water. Need to choose sites carefully, though they drained well by the next morning. The bathrooms were always spotless, with regular cleaning and many "spot checks" to tidy up and add tissue when needed. Thanks camp hosts! Was very quiet at night. Rangers patrol on regular basis, and we saw one police car come through also. Our site was not as private as some others, as we easily could see 7 different units in their sites near us. There are other sites that are much more private, as all of the sites in this park are very different from each other. The loops to the north were all much smaller, and I would not recommend a large rig in those. They are also quite a ways from the beach and the camp cafe/store. The coquina loop was an easy walk every morning to watch the sunrise. The beach was always clean and beautiful. Easy access to St. Augustine's touristy area, just 3 miles away. Only one thing we disliked was one camper had 5 noisy, yappy dogs. They did not bark all the time, but were quite vicious and barking during their multiple walks around the park, and any time someone would walk by their site. Did not think sites were allowed that many dogs? Otherwise, a perfect camp to enjoy life. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
We really enjoyed our 3 nights here. Didn't have a reservation but Florida SP's apparently keep some number of sites open for drive-ups. The sites were somewhat open to the sun but the view was great and kids could drive their bikes to the playground. Our entry pass also got us into the beach parking lot across the bridge which allowed us to play all afternoon on the beach for with only a 2 minute drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$26
We were assigned to the Coquina loop and ended up in a site that was well shaded and reasonably private due to surrounding foliage. We needed to carefully watch the live oaks when backing into the site to avoid damage to the motorhome. We were able to set up the satellite TV tripod in the trees. The sites in other loops seemed better suited to tents or small RVs. No sewer hookups, but the three lane dumping station was a pleasure to use. The campground is only about 2 miles from St. Augustine. The history of St. Augustine is fascinating; we recommend the Castillo San Marco and the former hotels downtown, now converted to City Hall and Flagler College. Walking on the streets closed off to vehicles was enjoyable. We'd stay at this campground again when visiting St. Augustine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$28
We stayed in the Coquina loop: the sites are sandy and well shaded. There were lots of Live-oaks hung with Spanish moss. We had to watch out for the numerous tree trunks and overhanging branches when backing in our fifth-wheel, but the site was roomy and had enough length and width to easily accommodate the RV and pick-up. There was never a wait at the three-lane dump station. The bath house was conveniently located in the center of the loop. It tended to be sandy but it was cleaned on a regular basis. Three stalls and showers (one handicap accessible) plus several sinks were basic but sufficient. There were also two washers and dryers and a laundry sink outside the bath house. They had recycling bins next to the dumpster just outside the loop. The camp store had some limited supplies, a Wi-Fi area and a book exchange. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$28
This was a wonderful place to stay. The sites are tucked in, surrounded by palms and other trees, offering much privacy. No sewage at site but park offers three well-maintained community dump sites. Beautiful beach. Wi-Fi available only at store near beach. We felt we had reached a tropical island in Site 111. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Anastasia State Park was one of the most enjoyable parks we have visited. Our site was private, clean and absolutely gorgeous! WI-FI is available compliments of the little store and cafe at the beach. We camped here in Nov. and practically had the beach to ourselves. Bring your bicycles and your cameras! We can't wait to return to this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Very nice park. Well shaded and VERY private. You cannot even see your next door neighbors. Walking distance or bike ride to the beach, though it is a long walk. We drove since we have a three-year-old. Good for kids. Lots of places to walk or ride bikes. General store is good. The beach is excellent. We live in N. FL so we are kind of spoiled with beaches. This one is very nice. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
The second time camping here, previously reviewed July 2007. Had site #123 in Coquina loop which is across the road from other 6 loops, so it's much quieter. Loop has a small playground in it with swings only. Bath house is older but it was clean. 30 amp sites only, very shady. We were there on holiday weekend and it was quiet. Rangers did patrol about every hour. Beach was not crowded and had lifeguards. Store was adequate (had ice cream). Can rent surfboards, catamarans, kayaks, etc. on Salt Run. Hiking trail was very short but shady. Biking is good. Lots to do in St. Augustine. Went to Farmer's Market on Saturday which is outside back gate of park. Wi-Fi is available at Island Joe's. Only problem encountered was people who would leave their dogs tied out day and night. It caused a ruckus at 4am with their barking. Ranger came by next day to let them know they need to respect quiet hours: no more problems. Last time we camped here the water was nasty but no problem with it this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
Rate is for Florida seniors (50% off). This is a large park with many different sized (mostly sandy) sites. We were on site 53 which is huge, private, and paved with good Dish satellite and Verizon wireless reception. Beautiful beach, fishing, bike riding and walking, very close to Ancient City, with a grocery and dollar store nearby. Many fine restaurants are available. If you can, do a drive through first and check out the sites ahead of time. We'll return. Plan ahead as this park stays booked up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$11
This state park is still one of the best in the State of Florida. Almost all the spots have full shade. It has a nice dump site, which we all need! When in St. Augustine, don't forget to go to the lighthouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
Stayed only 1 day, but wish we could have stayed longer. This is a great state park campground with very private wooded sites that fairly spacious. Park is very quiet and an easy bike ride (it'll feel longer if you walk) from most sites to a beautiful Atlantic Ocean beach. There is a small shop with limited supplies and a small lunch stand for the beach. Only downside - be sure to have insect repellent (like for most FL parks). We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
OK, so what's with the entrance gate? If you have a class A and try to get thru there, you might break a mirror off doing so...ridiculous! The gate needs to be modified to accommodate big rigs, this is not 1960! Park was nice, but rained the entire time we were there. The sites are back in only and are hard to do unless you have help and the campers across from you move their vehicles. The bathrooms need updating. Be sure to bring a bike or scooter, the beach is a nice walk away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We camped here with two tents for one night. The sites are on paved loops and are spaced nicely. Not too far from one another but enough plants and trees to give some privacy. Our site was level and roomy. The bath house was clean including showers, toilets and sink areas. I would highly recommend this campground and would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$23
This is our second visit to this park... We find it to be one of the most beautiful of the Florida State Parks. The only reason that I would not give it a 10 is because the restrooms have a ceiling fan on at all times and keep the area VERY cold. Since the weather for February was unusually cold, it was not the best spot to take a shower. Everything though was kept very clean and well maintained. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$19
Beautiful park. My only complaint was that the bathrooms had no heat and no glass windows, only screens on the window. It happened to be unusually cold (27 degrees) and it was difficult to get out of the warm shower into a cold room. I am looking forward to going again in warm weather. Each site is set between beautiful oak trees and we were still able to use our satellite dish. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
A nice state park that is well maintained. The sites were good size, but is a very fine sand. A rainy night made quite a mess. The dump station had three lanes and was well designed. A negative about the showers were that the top four feet of the outside wall of the shower room was open screen. It made for a quite chilly shower experience in 40 degree weather. I would stay here again, in warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
This park is great for going to the beach, bike riding, kayaking and just taking a walk thru the campground. The sites are big and private and mostly with shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Great State Park very close to St Augustine. Very well maintained and clean while being very old Florida woodsy. Make reservations as far ahead as possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$23
Anastasia is probably the nicest park we've stayed in. The areas are not that large, but the sites are well separated by the vegetation. There's plenty of privacy here. The staff of the park was very friendly, and as soon as a camper left there was someone on the site cleaning and raking for the next camper. It was very windy the night we stayed, but the campground just had a light breeze due to the shelter provided by the trees. We will definitely come back here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
We enjoyed staying at this park. Nice level site, clean bath house. They have a great hiking trail and the beach is beautiful. Being close to St. Augustine was a plus. Bring bug spray. Would stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
We camped in the Angel Wing section the first two nights and Coquina section the rest of our stay. Both were very spacious and the campground its self was very quiet. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the camp store had anything you could want, even souvenirs. Even though you are in the middle of town you hear no traffic, just the sound of the ocean in the distance. The only drawback was that dogs aren't allowed on the beach and since we had a Labrador with us we had to go outside the park to let him swim. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
This is a very nice park and the rangers are very friendly. We had trouble with our 30 amp plug as who every was there last had burnt it up. They went out of there way to get it fixed. Even after I told them I could get by with the 20 amp. They have Wi-Fi at Land Joe's at the beach. The grill is only open on week ends this time of year but the little store is open every day. Some sights may not fit your rig if a high fifth wheel on motor home due to low limbs even if sight is long enough for you. Rest rooms and showers are very clean as is the camp ground and park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Checkout at 1pm and check in at 3pm. First day is really shot unless you go to the beach and wait. watch for the sign coming from the south or its a rough u turn to go back. Low water pressure. Very nice park and rangers helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a beautiful park to stay in. The trees could pose a problem in getting in to some campsites, but if you choose your spot carefully you should be ok. Our 34 foot 5th wheel fit into our spot on Shark's Eye very nicely. The beach area was wonderful, and the internet access at Island Joe's was fast and a pleasant surprise. The grounds were well maintained. For the price, this beautiful area is a bargain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a great park. Lots of activities in the park and locally. It's right on the Atlantic Ocean. A really good state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Reservations are needed even though there were sites open when we were there but on the weekend the ranger said they are full. I love this campground. It has a beautiful beach, a wind surfing and surfing section, boat rentals, picnic area, a snack bar and a hot spot for Wifi at Island Joe’s 24-7. Bikers can also bike around all the loops in the campground as well as on bike trails along the main road. In the campground there are playgrounds, hot showers, electricity and a pathway to the campfire circle. There are 139 sites and every restroom also has laundry facilities.. There is a bedtime lending library for ages four to nine. All the sites are nice with a lot of shade and over the years I have stayed in almost all of them but have not been back in over twelve years. I would choose the Coquina loop if you could. It is the closest loop to the beach so has the coolest breeze and if riding your bikes to the beach it cuts your distance down by over half than from some of the other loops. The rangers were nice when checking in. The only problem that we had was finding the right road to turn in to – there are signs but deceiving. We turned into the lighthouse road twice before we got the right road. It is near Historic St. Augustine which is one of my favorites places to visit with a fort, mission and quaint downtown. Definitely one of the best little towns in Florida but it has changed in twelve years and has the traffic and sprawl with it! The beach is great with waves that are very strong. We drove around all over and this town is no longer RV friendly. Therefore we got the heck out of there and I don’t think we will ever be back. Too bad – it was my grandparents favorite city in Florida and we always stopped there on our way down from Rhode Island. Not any more I guess they don’t want or need campers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$23
This is a really nice state park campground. The sites are very wooded, shady and well maintained. The campground roads have all been paved in recent years which is good in the rainy seasons as they often used to get muddy. The beach is within biking/hiking distance and is large and beautiful. You can not drive your vehicle onto the beach. There is a large parking lot next to the beach and you have to carry all your chairs and supplies in. You can walk a short distance or as far as your legs will take you to get away from the crowds if that is what you want. As in all Florida state parks no alcohol is permitted and any glass on the beach can result is a fine. You will need to book months in advance to get a site during the summer unless you get lucky and grab a late cancellation. Enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
A beautiful campground, restrooms and sites well-maintained. The sites are very private and wide. There are so many things to do - rentals of kayaks/canoes/wind surfing, the beach is a bike-ride away, there are nature hikes and of course St. Augustine is a ten-minute car ride from the campground. This is a favorite of ours and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$31
This park is the "real Florida". Beautiful foliage between the sites makes it feel like a tropical paradise. Where else can you stay within walking distance to the beach, kayaking, biking and walking trails? The TV reception was good enough to keep two teenage boys happy when they weren't fishing, kayaking or sightseeing. The park is conveniently located near old town St. Augustine so if you aren't towing you can use "the beach bus". It did rain heavily but our site drained well so we did not have a problem getting out. This is our second time here and we will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This was a beautiful campground with so much to do and explore. I usually reserve my 10's for a place with sewer hook ups, but this placed excelled in so many ways, I had to bend the rules. When we first got to our site, it was cleaned and raked smooth. We were close to the bath house and it was your typical Florida State Park bath house that is open at the top so it can be very chilly in the winter to shower. There is a camp store and a walk up grill right in front of the beach area with VERY friendly people working there and very good food. The grill is only open on the weekends in the winter. There is a windsurfing area, canoe and kayak area, many pavilions for picnics, playgrounds throughout, a fishing area, a long boardwalk to the beach, an overlook to the beach, a fishing area with a fish cleaning table, a nature trail through ancient sand dunes, a coquina quarry, I could go on and on. On Saturday there is a farmers market in the amphitheater behind the CG. If you go, you must buy a cinnamon roll with powdered sugar on top. It was the best! There was a fishmonger there with fresh local seafood and plenty of beautiful produce at a few stands. The only thing I wish is that we had stayed longer. Even the Volunteer work campers are extremely friendly. This is a very large state park that is spread out, so I would definitely recommend bringing a bike to get around. Go to O'Steen's Restaurant up the Anastasia Blvd. (out of the CG and to the right) for really good fried shrimp and southern vittles. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$22
We like this park for its proximity to the beach and downtown St Augustine. It's a large well laid out with wooded sites and plenty of space to walk around. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
This is one super state park! Like most Florida parks it is beautifully laid out to maximize privacy. The rangers here are just top notch, very helpful and knowledgable. Facilities are always clean and everything works! The free shuttle for the St. Augustine sightseeing train will stop at the main gate if you (or a ranger) calls ahead. Buy a ticket for the train and you can ride around all day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
Great place to stay when visiting St. Augustine and the beaches in the area. Very clean and secure campground. The site we were given was very soft and our 5th wheel began to sink as we were trying to get into the site. We called the office and the problem was corrected within 45 minutes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This was our first time at this campground. We were in site 123 nice deep site and we had plenty of side room to use as well, we have a 36 ft MH with slides on both sides. Sites all have 20/30 amp and water h/u. Fire rings with grills attached and a picnic table on each site. Sites were either sandy or some gravel. Plenty of shade and vegetation. Playgrounds need updated, all of them had only 2 baby swings and 2 regular swings, nothing else. Bathhouses were clean but old. Plenty of hot water when we used them. Bugs were out in full force but that is FL in the summer. Beach was very clean and had lifeguards. You could bike or take a car to beach. Board walk from parking lot took about 5 minutes to water. Beach not very crowded in state park area on weekend. Public access further down at pier. Park had rental concessionaires for canoes, kayaks, windsurfing, surfboards, boogie boards, etc. Small store on premises (ice cream), and snack shop next door. WiFi offered at Island Joe's as well as pay phone modem. No wait at dump station as they have a triple access to dump. There is also a farmer's market on Saturday's at the St. Augustine Amphitheater at 8:30 am on A1A. They also show the play Cross and Sword every night. We will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
After reading all the reviews, I was ready to see a really great campground. What I saw was a nice campground. The sites are tight and not easy to get in with a 34 foot motorhome. After I got in site 80, I found out that the electric was at one end of the site and the water at the other. If I got close enough to the electric I was right at the front of the site and could not open the door or awning. If I got in the center, I could not hook up electricity. I checked at the camp store and they suggested a 16 guage extension cord, I was not really sure that would handle 30 amps. So I was able to move to another site. Site 84 was a really tight squeeze. Lots of overhanging limbs and trees at angles into the site. But by taking it slow and having some help I was able to get in the site. Now everyone has touted the beach here. The only problem is the beach is about a mile or so from the campground and then you have to hike over a boardwalk for about another 1/2 mile. When it is 98 degrees this is a chore! But the beach is very nice once you get there. There appear to be a lot of things to do here-- they rent almost any kind of water toy you might want. There are some bike paths and it is very close to downtown St.Augustine. I think the campground needs updating and you have to be careful booking your site. It does not have sewer, but does have a very large dump station. Lots to do, but not close to the beach! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This was one of our favorite campgrounds. We were in a travel trailer in the Shark Eye loop. The sites are wooded for privacy. No lines are allowed tied to trees. We arrived just when the fire restriction was lifted, so we had a nice campfire. The beach is nearby and beautiful during the day and night for moonlight strolls. The salt run is a good fishing spot and the kids enjoyed running after the hundreds of tiny crabs that live in holes in the ground there. Historic St Augustine is nearby...the negative thing we experienced was the busy bathrooms and lack of hot water...I guess we were there at a busy time, but this being the last stop of our 21 day 6 state camping adventure, it was the first time it happened. Anyway the water was lukewarm not cold so it wasn't horrible. We still loved this place so much we are talking when we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This is a great campground, my family always stays here when we go to Florida. The staff is always extra friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This is one of our favorite campgrounds! We have stayed here so many times. Sites are big, shady, and private. Access to the beach is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
We used Reserve America (RA) to reserve our site (62). The site was a lot bigger than we needed. RA did a good job matching RV size to sites. We enjoyed the park. The staff was very nice. Rangers drove though many times a day to check on facilities and campers. The one drawback to this park was the packed dirt sites. We had a heavy rain on our first day and there was a stream under our travel trailer. They good news was that the water was soaked into the ground by the next morning. We highly recommend this park for visiting St. Augustine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
This is a great CG very close to the historic city of St. Augustine, and also to the St. Augustine Alligator Farm. The sites in the Coquina loop are closest to the beach but it's still a little walk, but you can park in the day use lot and then walk across the lovely boardwalk to the beach. Very nice long beach, great for walks and for playing in the water. Overall, a very nice place to spend a night or two, the only thing we found difficult was the fact that the entrance to the park was a tight fit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
Nicely shaded sites with a good bit of jungle between them making for great privacy. We stayed in the Coquina Loop which had a centrally located bathhouse that was convenient and clean. The mosquitos were very light late April but the water was too cold to swim (to us). Beautiful beach with fluffy white sand was a hike with chairs and stuff, better with a bike or easiest by car. Playground was dated but safe with baby swings available. 5 minutes from town. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
Great location with a beautiful beach. Markets, stores and restaurants are nearby, as well as Old St. Augustine. Good area to ride bikes on the park roads. All campsites are very shady, but not all are large enough for RV's. Best to call the park directly for specific larger sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
One of the most surprising places to visit. If you have a trailer don't park near the top of the loops...small sites. It seemed like there were only a small group of people allowed on the beach. Space goes fast so reserve your spots. It you don't need to go into historic St. Augustine go south and west to get out to Rt 1 and you miss most of the tourist traffic. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
Wonderful park with boardwalk to beach. Store with wifi, bait. Bath houses with laundry. Most sites are heavily shaded, not paved. Great area for bird watching, walking, biking. Bank and surf fishing. Turnoff from highway easy to miss from south; do not take lighthouse road. Wonderful place to tour St. Augustine from. Catch shuttle for Red Train Tours from park store or just outside park at Alligator Farm. Shopping, restaurants, Walmart nearby south of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
We had camped here 25 years ago, and our memory was of a pretty lousy campground, so we were very pleasantly surprised. Great privacy, back to nature feel, and the a wonderful walking beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
Ditto the above. Skeeters were beyond belief. By the time you hit the bottom step of the camper, 20 were on you. That said, the park was very nice. The loop roads had some pretty tight turns for our 35' fiver. Be careful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
This park is in some very dense woods and very secluded from the nearby town. The beach is only about 1/4 mile from the campground and there is a lighthouse close by. The campsites are compact dirt and most are under a canopy of dense trees. There are three reasons I not give this park a higher rating than a 6. First, the mosquitoes were bad. Second, the mosquitoes were really bad. Third, the mosquitoes were terrible. If you go here, take several bottles of Off. We went in mid October and the temperatures were fairly cool. One of the park T-shirts features pictures of two large mosquitoes. That should have been an indicator of what we were about to experience. The park was very quiet and the park staff nice. Finally, did I mention the mosquitoes were bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2003
$16
We stayed there in 01 & 03. The beaches were great and big. They had a problem with the rainwater drainage in a lot of the sites. The first time in 01, when it rained, we had a lake for a front yard for a day an a half. Finally I got my shovel out and dug a trench down the side of the RV so the water could drain away. The 2nd. time we looked for a site with a mound in the center so it would drain itself. It's a nice place, but the beach is a little to far to walk, so you have to drive over about 1/4 to a 1/2 mile. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
A very quiet and secluded campground, if it had sewer is would be perfect. You can drive or walk to the beach or to the fishing area. They have bike rentals as well as fishing gear and canoes for rent. My only problem was trying to open the combination lock in the dark for after hours access. You need a flashlight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com