224149 User submitted reviews online!!
Savannas Recreation Area and Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (772) 464-7855
CGID8210

Savannas Recreation Area and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   10   6   8   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
We were at the Savannas in October; our son and family were there during the Christmas holidays, and we were just there again in June. Beautiful place! I guess I would personally rate it a 10 if it had lots of shade or a pool or Wi-Fi or paved sites. It is truly a nature park, with a stream, the grassy savanna, natural Florida trees, and of course the entertaining sandhill cranes. The people who work here are very friendly and helpful. I could go on and on. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
What a beautiful park! What a "find" for us. It's kinda hard to get to the information on the web, but so glad we did. The developed site we had was right on by the water (stream) and teaming with wildlife. The staff was very helpful and courteous with check-in and check-out (volunteers). I love that the canoe rental is onsite. The sites had fire-rings, but there was no firewood for sale in the area, only at the park. Unfortunately, their price was a dollar per log. Kinda high, I felt. The doggie park is quite new and very, very nice. We had sufficient space between sites and no tight turns to get in and out of the park. We will return and do more hiking, kayaking and more. One suggestion: add some food items for sale at the office, e.g. marshmallows, cold drinks, charcoal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
This was a great place. The sites where wide. We were by the stream. Very quiet place. Great dog park. If you fish, kayak, canoe- this is the place to go. It is gated so after hours it's closed. But, it is a county park, so it's opened to the public. We didn't have satellite. The campground didn't have cable. It hasn't been a problem using an antennae since we've been close enough to major cities to get major networks. But, here for some reason, we could only get ABC and WB. Also, it would be nice to have someplace to swim (you can't in the stream--alligators). Maybe a garbage can by the main bathroom/laundry. Other than that I would have given a 10. We did have a problem backing in because our site was opposite a large grassy area. So, my husband thought that's easy just to go straight back. But, it had rained there, so we ended up getting stuck in the mud. Thankfully we have road side. We don't blame the campground for that. It was our error. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Nice Campground, enjoyed the abundance of wading birds and Sandhills walking around. Could watch them and alligators from my site. Site was level & decent sized. I could only pick up a couple of channels via my antenna. ABC, PBS, and a few religious stations. The Wi-Fi mostly worked great but at other times was frustrating. The train was not a problem at night for me. My Verizon MiFi and Sprint phone worked okay. I would stay here again if in the area. You do have to have $20 in cash for a gate card; they make no exceptions for this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Great park! Neat and tidy, nice water view with a fire ring etc. If we had known it was going to be this nice we would have stayed longer, but had already made reservations up the road. Sites are a nice size and level! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Sites are close together with no screening or shade. Low price for full hook-ups and wi-fi so a good value. Good bird watching but limited kayaking and hiking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
This lovely county park has easily accessed, gravel, level sites separated by grass and/or shrubbery. Utilities were good. Park Wi-Fi was weak and intermittent but AT&T phone and data service were good in the area. The area was very quiet except for lively bird calls and distant train noises. Restrooms, showers and laundry facilities were clean and functional but not attractive. A nice playground, canoe rentals and a ban on alcohol consumption promote a family friendly atmosphere. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
Very peaceful campground. Staff were excellent in suggesting places to visit and were very friendly. Great rate of $23 and perfect for a stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
We had no trouble checking in as previous reviewers stated. We knew about the $20.00 key deposit because it states it on their website - it was no problem. The campsites are very small and very close together. There is about 20 feet between you and your neighbors on either side. There are no shady sites. Most sites do back up to some sort of water feature (canal, wetlands). The roads are packed dirt and it is very dusty when there hasn't been rain in a while. The campground is in a nice setting with many water features, and, as the name infers, wetland savannahs to look at. The restrooms were dated, but clean. We did have issues with a group of campers next to us for a couple of nights. They had many motorcycles and were riding them around the campground into the early morning hours, along with playing loud music. The campground finally evicted them late the second night. There are several restaurants and shopping nearby. We went to the St. Lucie County Aquarium nearby. It is a small aquarium, but has some interesting marine life. It was only $7.00 for the two of us. The Savanna's is only open from October to May. It was filled mostly by snowbirds staying long-term. We may return to this campground because it is close enough for a weekend trip, but only if we can't get into one of other campgrounds near us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Best kept secret in this part of Florida. Have stayed here a few times and it was like I owned the the place, nobody was here! The snowbirds do come in the winter but still not that many. Nice quiet place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
Overall a good park. Will return to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
After a reservation/check-in nightmare, DH finally solves dilemma by showing office guy the res book that no one is checking in until Sunday after we leave, so we got to stay on site #2. A stressful start to the weekend. Guy in site #3 says he camps here a lot and it is always screwed up like that. Park is nice, lots of recreation: golf course next door, Pow Wow circle, lots of grass around all the sites, big rig friendly, pets allowed, kid friendly, has b-ball court, volleyball nets, canoes/kayaks for rent, 1 trail to observation tower, most sites are on the canal, very nice playground. 33 FHU sites, 20 w/e, the rest are tents. They have opened 13 new sites in north center area. Park will be open for camping from Oct-April since it has no pool or water to swim in and very few camp in summer here. There is a train 1 block away that blows a whistle every 90 minutes or so at night. After the first few times we heard it we blocked it out. Saw a small gator in the canal and there were fish and birds: don't know what kind. Saw no other wildlife in park though. Weekend would have been perfect except for that office worker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
This place is pretty much known only to the locals but it's a nice park that offers laundry,kayak/canoe rentals, picnic tables/fire pits, children's playground, volleyball area, fishing and birding. Close to the Indian River, the ocean, UDT/SEAL museum and a nice restaurant in Jenson Beach called Conchy Joe's Seafood. Only downer is their check in. We pulled in at 4:59 ( hit some traffic ) and we were lucky to get the male attendant to stay long enough to at least tell us our reservation site. For people who show up after he closes you might be caught between a rock and a hard place. When you do check in, you need to have $20.00 in cash to "buy/rent" the magnetic gate controller. That was never mentioned in our phone call(s) while making our reservations. Other campers had similar experiences with the check in process - no attempt to provide real service. Other than that, a great CG with nice sites, reasonable prices, good facilities and grounds keepers that take pride in their facility. We would be happy to return for an extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com