224149 User submitted reviews online!!
Ocean Grove RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (904) 471-3414
CGID823

Ocean Grove RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   7   6   9   6   9   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Rate reflects a Passport America discount of 50%. This is certainly not worth $60.00 per night. The term "resort" is a stretch. Grass site. No patio. Road in/out was rough. Hot tub not working. Lady at the front desk could use some customer service skills. A lot of old looking RVs, park models, and full time people. One and a half miles to the beach. On a positive note it is close to all sights in the area and easy to get to. Will find another place to stay the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$66
Grass site, no patio. Cable TV didn't work at hookup time, waited over an hour for maintenance who drove by at least once during the wait. Then I was hooked to the neighbor's outlet. Pool has no heat, hot tub broke (I am told over a week). For that much money I expected better. The lady at the desk could use some people skills. Price reflects $198 that we paid for three nights including taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Nice park, clean and friendly. Located on busy section of A1A and it's a really long hike to the beach! Probably won't go back because we like to be within walking distance of the beach. It was just too far to carry all the chairs, coolers, toys, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$66
For $66 - I expected more. The only water front I saw was a narrow/muddy channel out back. The site was about 30' wide. A lot of permanents and numerous for sale signs. Wi-Fi useless, except at the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
Very nice park. Free Wi-Fi was excellent. The people we met were friendly. Pool area was nice and there was a hot tub. We couldn't use either due to inclement weather, but they looked very inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
About 2 blocks from the beach, this campground is OK, but not really a $60/night sort of location. Our site was not paved or gravel, just weeds that should have been mowed a week prior. Sites are close. Approx. 10-20 ft. between each site. Picnic table at each site, but no fire ring. Lots of trash dumpsters located in convenient spots throughout the park, but no recycling facility. Our site had no trees, so satellite was not an issue. They have a very large pool area, but unfortunately it was too cold and rainy during our stay to enjoy it. We have Passport America; however, it was not accepted. I never really understood why, but I assume we stayed during a time period they were not accepting it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$59
First time we have been to this park. It is very well maintained, has a professional staff and is in a good location with several restaurants within walking distance. The Intracoastal Waterway is behind the campground, there is a “small” boat ramp that I launched my kayak from the major concern is the tides.... it gets “really low” and the ramp in very slippery with mud. It is a very easy 5 minute bike ride to the beach. The park is open not leaving much privacy but is ok for people watching. The pool was closed or at least very cold but the hot tub was nice. The cable TV wasn't very good quality at our site, but was good for the weekend. There are numerous park model trailers going up and one of these days it will be a trailer park if they keep going like they are now. I heard a lot French spoken while we were there. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$60
This was our third stay at this park. Very well maintained, friendly staff and a good location with several restaurants within walking distance. The campground backs up to a creek that runs off of the intracoastal waterway and has a small boat ramp that would be very adequate for a flats boat, kayak, canoe, etc. LP gas refills onsite. Many of the sites have concrete pads, ours did not. We had pretty hard packed sand which wasn't a problem. This is a pretty open RV park so you don't have much privacy in between individual sites. They don't allow open campfires. A nice playground and a very nice pool. The office has a roomy card/game room and when we were there, several people were taking advantage of it playing scrabble, bridge, etc. The location is in close proximity to the St. Johns County pier which hosts an annual "Beach Bash" for New Years Eve. This event is very well done and Ocean Grove is a great base for attending this event. Several of our neighbors were there for this same reason. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Price reflects Passport America discount. Very tight roads in the park. Our site was a pull-through on grass that was large. Very poor water pressure. Electric was good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
We stayed here while visiting St. Augustine. The park is fairly nice but a little run down where the permanent residences are located. They do seem to be doing improvement on the sites for short time campers though. The pool and spa were clean and well kept. Each site has a picnic table but they are quite small. Even the bench part of the table was small, consisting of a 2 X 6 board. We never did use the table, it was so small. The cable TV wasn't very good quality at our site, but local channels are available over-the-air and come in quite well from nearby Jacksonville. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
Great place, clean, friendly, close to the beach and the Oasis restaurant among other. 7 miles to downtown St. Augustine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$50+
If you like cramped camping, sub par campground upkeep, less that friendly service, this place is the one for you. Very poor cable TV, non existent Wi-Fi. We have stayed in more expensive parks than this, but this is the most we have ever paid for so little. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Unlevel dirt site with no pad and lots of ants. $30 Passport America rate was almost $40 with resort fees and taxes. Definitely not worth it. Laundry was hot, dirty and expensive. Wi-Fi not working all the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$60
Clean fairly well organized park that appears to see its fair share of use due to the lack of parks in the St. Augustine area that can allow easy access by larger motorhome. The price is high at $60 for daily fees considering it is approaching the price of much nicer resorts in places such as Las Vegas, but location appears to be the reason. Power and water was good, Internet access is extra, and I did not check the cable TV. Trees are plenty, but cut back of easy access. No problems to speak of and the office was friendly. Reserved a spot the day before with a credit card, but upon arrival was informed they did not have any of the information provided other than my name and time/date of arrival. I would return to the park based upon the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$60
The good: location to popular beaches, decent shade in 2/3 of the park, quiet, clean pool area, nice small dock and pavilion on creek/marsh, shaded picnic pavilion at pool, front portion of park decent size sites. 15 minute walk to beach 2 blocks. The bad: lots of ants in my site started up my camper within the 3rd day. The REALLY bad: bath-house with overflowing toilets, no ventilation, no air conditioning, nasty showers. Hey, for my $60 per night: can you hire someone to clean the restrooms once a day? The weird: the "club-house" with no amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$60
We stayed here for eleven days in March 2011. Called two weeks ahead of arrival for a reservation and asked for a pull thru. They would not reserve one (even though she stated there were several open) until our arrival. Upon arrival, we again requested a pull thru, but were assigned a very small back in site at the back of the property (we could barely open our slides). Additionally, the clubhouse was poorly maintained (water stained ceiling tiles, dirty floor, and old decor). We expected more for $60 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Normal rate $60, not worth the $30 passport rate. Over nighties are stuck in the rear sites which are mix of sand and dirt. Electrical panels are in sad shape. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$50
We stayed for 3 months and paid a monthly rate so not sure what the nightly rate is. This park needs some updating and better organized management. We did get help when needed at our site. The office staff needs more training with people skills and customer care. There are organized activities but the clubhouse needs much repair and updating. The pool is large and very nice. The park is in a great location and only about a block and a half from the ocean. Sites are large and most are nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This park was clean. There have been lots of improvements since we stayed previously in 2008. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
We were very disappointed with this campground. W were here last year and understood it was being renovated and upgraded. We decided to return this year to see the improvements, however it seemed more run down than last year. The grass was not cut in places, the cable TV box had three connections, two didn't work. The bathrooms were terrible: the soap dishes were falling off, could not set anything on them and the shower heads were so low you had to duck to use them. No bench in the men's room to place clothes. The staff was not too friendly, very abrupt. The location of the ocean was more like a mile or so, not 500 yards. On the way home we found a nice park on the ocean for a little more. We will try that new park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
We stayed here in June 2009 and while the people who live in the park are nice, the personnel at the front desk are in need of a serious attitude adjustment. I called the desk about wifi and they told me it was available at the office bldg. so I went there only to be told it had been down for a few days and wouldn't be up til the following week. I could not understand why I hadn't been told that when I called from my site. The park is in need of a lot of work, they are supposedly selling lots there but it's crowded and no one follows any of the rules. Boats and extra cars are parked everywhere and when exiting with my motorhome I had trouble making corners because of all the excess junk sitting on people's lots. We paid $33 through PA and would never spend their normal amount of over $60 for a site in this park. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Resort? That's a stretch. We came here for one night to meet some friends on our way north. We were given a site that was very short. We had to use a 30 amp extension cord to connect our electric. After a very hard rain almost the complete site was under water. Very, very over priced! Fortunately, we got the Passport America rate. Our friends have been here a month and can't wait to leave. Won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$55
After staying here in 2004, and being very disappointed, we returned this year after friends told us the park was under new management. The park was very much improved. The roads, landscaping and other amenities had been upgraded, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$60
The term Resort is stretching it. Extraordinarily overpriced. No customer service whatsoever. Customer service issues regarding water pressure, getting propane in a motorhome, lost and found, trash pickup, escort service, etc. Save your money and go to KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$60
Overall condition of the "resort" is run down. The restrooms and showers are in dire need of a facelift. Cable hookups are in need of repair and fire ants are everywhere. Traffic noise is at a minimum and sites are close. This place is overpriced for the condition and the name resort is a marketing ploy to get people to make reservations. I won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
Wow, what a dump! This place is horrible and in desperate need of repairs and upkeep. Please do yourself a favor and just keep going down the road. The Walmart parking lot has better amenities than this place. In one word..yuck! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2005
$44
Should have listened to all the posts here. I made the reservation before I checked for comments on this web site. Won't make that mistake again. Anyone coming to St. Augustine, go to Bryn Mawr not Ocean Grove. Reasons: 1) No access to the beach that we could find unless you drove up the road several miles and found public access areas. They advertise 400 yards from the beach, however, that's by helicopter. 2) No discounts unless you pay cash, didn't say that until I was checking in. 3) Crowded, sites aren't very easy to back into and they have some sort of lottery system I think for how they hand out the pull throughs. They put me, a 35ft TT with Large Tow Vehicle in a space that would accommodate a 30ft rig, then they put a class C, in a pull through and he could have parked three of the same size rigs in that area. 4) Service Stunk!! Nuff said. Very unfriendly staff. 5) No campfire, not even in a fire ring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2005
$35
There reservation treatment was just plain terrible. I was about 400 miles from St. Augustine and called them for a reservation for the following day. I asked if they had one on the water and viewed there sites on their web page. They confirmed site #209 on the water for two nights and I paid in advance with my visa. I arrived around 5:00 pm to discover that they had given away my camp site and booked me into site #202. Site #202 was a soft, soft sand pit that nobody in their right mind would drive a large rig into. I got a refund and left to find a suitable location. I found a better property available a mile or so down the road. In addition to their poor handling of my reservation, the property appeared very junky and would not hold a candle to Bryn Mawn Resort down the road. I stayed 3 nights and noted that no rig ever used the sand pit during that time yet they were full. Ocean Grove Resort in St. Augustine Florida will never get my business ever. If you are going to be in that area, Beware. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$42
The sites are small and most are pretty close together with many semi-permanent units and park models. We were very diappointed when we first arrived and saw the site that we were assigned. It was tiny and the worst site in the campground, next to an old motor home on blocks with a permanent resident and junk all over the site. The site was not even big enough for our little 24 foot trailer. We saw at least 10 other open sites and my wife went to the office to request another site but was told none were available by an employee who is either rude or was having a very bad day. We were only given another site after I returned to the office and said I was leaving and wanted a refund. The site that we ended up with was nice and probably the second best in the park. It was in the back of the park with a nice view overlooking the dock, creek and marsh. To give them the benefit of the doubt, it was Memorial Day weekend and they were busy and two other employees later apologized for the bad site and the other employee. Overall we had a good stay in our site in the back of the park but it would have been awful in that tiny site close to the pavilion and pool with the Karaoke contest and crowd. Sites 308E-308H, 223, or 319 are the best ones. I think I will checkout Anastasia State Park next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$41
The campground was above average. The sites are just average in size. There are paved and grass sites. We were placed in a grass site, but would have preferred a paved site - make sure you request ahead of time. The area is gated. The staff was average to above average. The pool is nice and there is a nice spa. No overall complaints, but on the otherhand, not one of those parks that you must go back to. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$30
We enjoy large sites with grass and this campground has both. A lot of the sites have either gravel or concrete pads. We have looked at all of the campgrounds in the area and really like this one the best. Every time we are in St Augustine, we stay at Ocean Grove. Friendly, gated, pet & children friendly. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com