206527 User submitted reviews online!!
St. George Island State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (850) 927-2111
CGID825

St. George Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   8   10   7   8   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Large back in site with electricity and water. Great location on the gulf with beautiful, empty beaches nearby. Bugs were a pest. Nice open areas, friendly staff, TV antenna was good, no Wi-Fi. Recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
We stayed here for 4 nights in October. The campground was almost full, but it was very quiet. The sites all appeared to be level and clean. We were a little disappointed that the site we had was made of coarse gravel and shells which made walking on it rather difficult. All the sites had vegetation which gave them some privacy. Some more than others. It is a basic campground with water and electric, but now sewer. There is a dump site, but if you are staying awhile you need to find a way to dump your tanks occasionally. There was two volunteer camp hosts there. They were there to help you find you site if necessary, sell ice and firewood and clean the sites when empty. They were also a good source of information about the island. There were a couple of hiking trails leading to the bay side of the island and to the primitive camping area. They were well maintained and easy to follow. The only problem was the mosquitos. The parks dept. sprayed two times a week but it didn't seem to help. The ocean side beach is about a quarter of a mile walk from the campground, or you can drive to other beach access areas if you wanted. The beach is beautiful white sand. There is 9 miles of beach with the first 4-5 miles having beach access by boardwalks through the dunes. The last few miles of beach to the Eastern end of the island is accessible through a locked gate for a fee or by hiking the beach. We hiked about a mile down the beach and were almost totally alone, with only a couple of people walking by. Overall we really enjoyed our time there and will return when we get the chance. If we stay longer then this trip we will have to get a portable dump tank. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This was our 3rd time camping here, and really loved it. It is among many pine trees, natural dunes, and hardwoods, with each campsite screened for privacy with lots of foliage; It was a quiet campground, with wonderful camp hosts and maintenance staff. They kept the bathhouses (2) clean everyday, and always had hot water for showers. Bathhouses are not air conditioned but ok for what you use them for. We camped here in 30 ft. TT, had plenty of room for slide out, awning, and to park our truck, plus room for one more vehicle. We used the dump station once, and it was working properly. Also, garbage dumpsters were conveniently located at front of campground, near dump station. Would have been nice to have one at back of campground, but realize it would be an inconvenience for the big trucks to maneuver down the campground roads, plus a bit noisy, in wee hours of the morning. Reserving campsite was easy. Always check size of the site, to allow room for your rig, and vehicles. Campground is about 1/4 mile from Gulf/beach. Easy bike ride or walk, if you are able. Beaches were sparsely populated, at this time of year (June) but, nice with pavilions, picnic tables and restrooms, too. It is a remote campground and about 4 miles or so to the front gate, and a little ways to St. George "town area". A great camping experience and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This state park was a surprise. It is located on a barrier island on the Gulf of Mexico. Half of the island is commercialized and the other half is the state park. You can easily walk from the campground to the beach. The grandkids loved it. There are several pavilions along the beach for use. The beach was beautiful, very similar to the other beachs of north florida. Campground was well maintained with clean restrooms. No seeums around but that is florida. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Wow, what a blast at St. George Island State Park. Super quiet and close access to a beautiful white sandy beach. The campground host was a kind gentlemen. He told me all about the park and the Native Americans that roamed the shores. He even gave me a sand dollar!! Of all the beaches I have walked, this beach beats them all...miles and miles of white, smooth sand. The only bummer was I could not take my dog on the beach, but it still was a wonderful time there. Thanks SGISP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Spacious sites. Good privacy. The island beaches are wonderful. The state park is beautiful. Loads of aquatic life and birds. Swimming, shelling, birding, fishing, canoeing, sunbathing, hiking, biking. Mostly snowbirds, families. We were there during spring break, and it was very quiet. A real hidden gem. The bad: the campground itself has a serious bug problem. I guess Florida park system doesn't bother investing in LP bug harvesters because the place is always booked solid. Bring heavy-duty bug repellent--you'll need it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Nice park. Great beaches nearby. Quiet walks and great biking is available. We've camped here several times. Since we experienced near-misses by two tornadoes in 24 hours, a weather issue that the park cannot control or predict, we were concerned about the lack of facilities which would provide safe haven under such circumstances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Nice, quiet, clean state park close to the beach and bay. Sites are spacious and well kept. The beach is close enough to walk to and the bay area is great for kayaking, especially if you enjoy seeing dolphins while paddling. The island doesn't have a lot to offer, but the campground is worth a stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$26
This was our second two week stay here and we anticipate coming back every year. The campground is very isolated, but that's part of the appeal. It's a 4 mile drive to the campground from the gate. There are 9 miles of state park beach to explore and almost as much bay side shores as well. This is a very popular campground so unless you only want one or two nights at most, reservations are strongly suggested. The sites are spacious and well separated. The Gulf side sites are larger than the Bay side so are better suited for larger rigs, although there are a few sites on the bay side that can accommodate a large rig. There are several ADA sites which are all concrete and the two bathhouses are well situated. Come prepared with plenty of provisions and your laundry caught up! There are two tiny grocery stores on the island at this time (one is for sale) but they are very limited and quite expensive. The next closest grocery shopping is Apalachicola, which is about 9 miles away. There are no decent laundry facilities in the area. None in Apalachicola and the one in Eastpoint is so dirty that even if over half their machines hadn't been out of order, I wouldn't have washed rugs in the remaining ones! There are a few restaurants on the island and a few gift shops. The Lighthouse and museum are interesting. Our only complaint during our stay was the lack of information or notification of a tornado warning while we were there. Our smart phones alerted us but the rangers and hosts did nothing to make sure campers were aware of the danger. There should be better training of hosts and information included in camping literature for what to do. Considering there were 100 mph winds clocked on the bridge and the bridge was closed during the passing storm, it would have been good to know exactly the safest course of action. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$26
This is a great campground. We showed up without reservations and got a great site but I wouldn't count on that with out checking the reservations site. The roads are paved and most of the sites are level sand but there's about 6 or 8 that are concrete pads. The power is clean and there's plenty of room to maneuver with a big rig. You about two dunes back from the beach so you are sheltered from the wind. The bathrooms and showers were spotless and I'd rate the shower a B+. You should come fully stocked because supplies are a ways off. There's great hiking, biking, and beaching. Verizon MiFi works well but can be a bit slow at high traffic times. I'd go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
This is an outstanding state park with a wonderful campground. Beach is pristine soft sand with plenty of access points and parking lots. Great hiking trail from the campground about 1.5 miles one way. Campground has two bathhouses, ours was exceptionally clean. Showers have plenty of hot water; shower head gives plenty of water though pressure is very light. Many large, private sites with plenty of shade. Also nice playground, though there is a fantastic playground outside the park near the lighthouse. Campfire rings have pull over grill top. Gravel. Do take bug spray. Very nice rangers and campground hosts. Whole week stay was easy, relaxing, fun. There are two grocery stores with essentials plus some on the island, or drive 25 minutes to Apalachicola to two larger grocery stores (though still not huge.) Less than that to laundry facilities in Eastpoint. Great restaurants on the island and in Apalachicola. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
If you like fishing you may like Saint George Bay, however it is shallow so watch your boating and strong currents at the mouth into the gulf. During bug time they can be bad. Beach is fine and sand dunes or high. Take groceries, it is a long way back to Port Saint Joe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
This is a hidden gem. The beach is just beautiful, uncrowded and 9 miles of "just you." Sugar white powder and feels like you have the place to yourself. Campground is an easy walk to the beach. One of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen, was watching the sunrise at the beach one morning and noticed a bald eagle munching on his breakfast at the water's edge. Just as his mate flew in to give him grief for not taking breakfast home to the nest, she flew across the huge orange ball of sun just rising over the horizon. Wow. Sites are varied, and we ended up with one that had bad placements of utility hookups that scrunched us into a too narrow site (site 44). And even worse: the bushes smelled like urine. The camp restroom/bathouse was only a few hundred feet away. Apparently some felt the need to be "macho" and spray the landscape. Shame on them. Though it had plenty of room available, some thoughtless planning put the hookups too close to the opposite side of the brush on the other side. Careful survey of the park should be required. There are some very nice wide sites if you can get them. Limited TV on the roof top, and weak cell phone service (AT&T) but usable. No washer and dryer, and no sewer hookups would mean having to travel 12 miles into town on the mainland for laundry service. No Wi-Fi at park or anywhere in town (I did ask). The camp hosts and rangers here are fantastic. Can't wait to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
We spent two weeks in this campground and thoroughly enjoyed it! It's in a very isolated spot but that's part of the attraction. The campground is surrounded by big pine trees and is on the far East point of the island. Great bird watching here! Miles of beach area to explore and plenty of easy access points with parking lots and picnic shelters. We kayaked in Apalachicola Bay and did some oystering there. The launch are is large and very easy. Great place to ride bikes. We very much enjoyed presentations about seashells and a program on the eco system of the bay while we were in the park. The staff and hosts were all very friendly and helpful. Very limited shopping and restaurants available on the island but there are some! No laundry facilities on the island. We look forward to returning to the island again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
Beaches are unbelievable and not many people - only from the park. The campground is beautiful, but just wasn't my thing. Also hard to get into or extend slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
This was third stay at the park. It is a nice quiet park away from it all. Only negative is the mosquitoes. The sites along the intercoastal side have standing water behind them, so the bugs can get bad (sites 1-18 on the right side of the road). They did not seem bad at the center and ocean side sites. Nature trail is a nice walk. My folks said the beach was nice. The intercoastal beach is just 100 yards from the campground and is nice and shaded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
The park and sites were beautiful and clean. The park host was great and helped me out on two different occasions. The mosquitoes however, were horrible that weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
This is probably the lowest rating that I have ever given a state park. If I was just rating the beach, my rating would have been a 10. But unfortunately the mosquitoes at the camping area made the trip miserable. When we first arrived there, I got out of the truck to help my husband back in, and had no less than 50 mosquitoes land on me while he was backing in. We noticed two huge stagnant pools of water at the entrance of the campground, and think this might contribute to the mosquito problem. The spray that we brought that is for families didn’t even begin to ward off the mosquitoes. We had to go into town for the highest rated DEET spray that we could find. Even then, you had to drown yourself in it for it to work. My poor children are covered in bites from the mosquitoes that got in the trailer. There was definitely no sitting outside at night enjoying the campfire. And since you can’t pick up any TV stations and barely any cellular, staying inside gets pretty boring for family of 4. The Camp hosts were super friendly and the beach was fantastic. You almost feel like you have the beach all to yourself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This is one of the top parks in which we have stayed. Amazing uncrowded beaches, great fishing, nice large campsites. The only complaint that I have is that only one bathhouse was open. We are looking forward to staying here again. If you want to relax and get away from it all by all means book here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Wonderful beaches that go for miles and miles and not crowded. Great biking as well and a path that goes from the entrance of the state park all the way to the other end of the island. We stayed in #19 which had almost no shade and this was a negative when the temps were in the high 90s. Most of the other sites were shaded. All park staff were very nice. Campers across from us left tiki torches burning and left. Surprising when there was a burn ban on. Host came around, saw them, knocked on their door and then put them out. Several really nice pavilions on the beach with ADA access. Loved riding the bikes on the beach at sunset. Only 1 set of rest rooms open but this didn't seem to be an issue even though park was full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We travel quite a bit with our camper, and I'll have to say that St. George Island is one of the best kept secrets we've found. There are miles and miles of gorgeous beaches and very few people (think of it as the opposite of Panama City Beach). St. George Island State Park occupies the entire western end of the island. It is very secluded; the ideal place to "get away" if that is what you're looking for. The campground is spacious, with lots of pine trees and smaller bushes and shrubs separating the campsites. We found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. The only real negative that we have has to do with the facilities. One of the two bathrooms is closed for renovation. There was no work underway during our eight days there; I have a feeling that the project has fallen victim to state budget cuts. Since there are no sewer connections available, you're left with having to transfer your grey and black water to the dump station using your transfer tank. No big deal if you're only staying a couple of days, but if you're there for over a week as we were, it makes for more work than you'd like to do on your vacation. Just as a heads-up to would-be campers: we use Verizon, and the coverage was only one bar at the campground. Good enough for a phone call and to check your email (if you stand in the right spot). We didn't find this to be a problem, but I know that some people require a good connection while on vacation. Overall, I'm giving this campground 8 stars. It would be 9 stars if both restrooms were open, and 10 stars if they had sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This campground on a barrier island is along the “forgotten coast of Florida” and at the end of the Panhandle. It is located on the eastern end of the island and has nine miles of undeveloped beaches and dunes with the Gulf on one side and the Apalachicola Bay on the other. 1,962 acres are laid out in a very long narrow strip and much of it you need a permit to drive on the dirt road to get to the end of the spit. Along the paved section there are pullouts with boardwalks to the beach and then you have two developed areas with showers and changing rooms. The campground is in two loops back to back but there are shady sites among the pines and coastal scrub bushes in this arid climate. One can fish, swim, bike, kayak, boating, hiking, bird watching for Bald Eagles and Ospreys and for the fall and spring bird migration. The little town of St. George four miles from the ranger station is cute with bike trails, shops, restaurants, historic lighthouse and museum and little beach houses to rent. Nice place to camp but make sure you make reservations because it was full both nights we were here with waiting lists to get in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Very nice state park. Sites gravel, level and vary greatly in width and length. Reserve America makes reservations and have good info on sites. 5 minutes to beach. Butcher shop in the small town very good and a couple of good restaurants. We're looking forward to returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
We love this campground! It is close to the beach and has wonderful shelling. We found all kinds of different shells, each day there was something different brought up by the tide. The campground staff was very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here several different times and have always enjoyed ourselves. We will be back again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Great place to get away from it all. 5 mim. walk to the beach with very few people. A few shops a slow 8 miles down the road. Good trails close by. Will stay here again when life gets to hectic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Loved this place! The 4 mile bridge to get to the island is impressive. The state park is so remote (away from the commercial stuff), the beach is very natural and undisturbed. Park hosts were very helpful and friendly. A campground store would be a nice addition, you have to drive 8 miles for ice! Be sure to bring your bug spray. WOW: the mosquito's are vicious! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
The good: We stayed here for four nights, and it was wonderful. The area is very undeveloped. The beach was excellent and is only a short walk or drive from the campground. Restaurants on the island and Appalachicola area offer excellent seafood. The park is small, clean, and well maintained. One of the bath houses was being renovated, so the remaining bath house was busy during certain times. It was still kept clean. We could not find a laundry area at the campground. The beach is clean, has nice white sand, and always seems uncrowded. Before you head to the island, make sure to stock up on books or games for the family and it will make for a great time. There are a limited number of businesses on the island, so don't expect to find Panama City style activities or shopping. There are several business that offer great outdoor activities such as kayaking and snorkeling. The regional people are warm hearted, friendly, and laid back. The Bad: Do not discount the earlier reviews about mosquitos. They are awful and will attack any living being that is outside for more than thirty seconds with a vengeance! Our poor dogs would have swarms of mosquitos around them until we sprayed them with a repellent that was safe for dogs. Even then, it would only keep them mosquito free for about twenty minutes. For us humans, we used a repellent with the highest concentration of DEET, and it worked fairly well, but it left you feeling oily and smelling like a chemical plant. The mosquitos kept most campers inside at night except for the few who were wise enough to bring the large enclosed picnic nets. If you go, spend the money and invest in a good one! Go armed with citronella candles, bug spray, animal bug spray, and netting! The mosquitos are only bad at the campground and on the bay side. The beach area seemed to be bug free. (There is nowhere on the island that sells the picnic table netting.) Dogs are welcome in the small city and beach areas of St. George, but they are strictly forbidden in most of the state park areas other than the campground itself. I was told that there is a hefty fine if you break the rules. This is a great park as long as you go prepared. We will return and hopefully stay longer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
Our first time to stay on St George Island, and we loved it!! The way Florida and the Gulf of Mexico coast used to be before all of the condos, etc., took away our beaches. Lots and lots of seashells and clean beach except for a little seaweed. Easy to walk on the packed down beach sand, and short walk from the campground to the beach. If the campground had sewer hookups would give it a 10/10. One bathhouse (Loop B) is being remodeled and were told by ranger that the one on Loop A will be soon. Has older buildings but not bad. We plan on coming back here, for sure. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
Great park in a quiet natural area. Beach area is not far, and it is quite private: nice to see sunrises! Site are somewhat shady: a few are sandy. Park hosts spray often for mosquitoes, which helps. Park hosts are very informative and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
A very nice place for sure. One shower was good while the other had broken tile in the floor so I checked it as being dirty but the other bath house was under repair so I'd think everything will be ok shortly. The water was too cool in one shower but the other was superb so you might want to check out the temp before committing - lol. Water and 50 amp but no Wi-Fi and no sewer at the site but we knew that going in, after all it's a rustic park. The beaches were super fantastic, pristine and no one was here. You can stroll for miles and not see another human being. Just like a deserted island. The nature trails were equally impressive. It is nine miles from US-98, across a causeway & bridge (free) and then East through town but it's certainly worth the drive. Take the time and camp here, you'll be glad you did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
This park is beautiful and remote. It takes a long time to get to this park partly because it's on the far end of an island and the speed limit is very slow. All in all though, that's great because the benefit of this pristine, primitive campground by far outweighs the lack of tourist food and entertainment. The nightly price when we stayed here, was very reasonable and the facilities were very clean. We stayed at campsite 60 and were lucky to reserve that spot because everything else had been booked up. We used the online service (Reserve America website) to reserve our spot. The only downside was that there was only one bathroom/shower available for use, the other one was under repair. The staff was friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to returning to this park when the weather cooperates a little better. We were here at the beginning of March and it was unusually cold, so mosquitos were not an issue but the thunderstorms were. Great park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$26
Charming, quiet, rustic, remote campground at the end of St George Island. Beautiful beaches almost to yourself. Would be a 10 if it had sewer. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The beach is wonderful and so peaceful. Our site (#4) could have been more level but we compensated. Dogs are welcome but not on the beach. Mosquitoes were not an issue. I'd love to come back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
St. George Island State Park is truly a place to go to get away from it all. Quiet, limited cell phone service and with little outside contact I really enjoyed my visit here. The camping facilities (restrooms, showers, camping sites, etc.) at the park are well maintained and area itself was is fairly secluded. Stayed in site 38, which was nice as it was close to one of two restroom/shower areas. However, I would say that nearly every site on the outer edge was equally nice. Even though it wasn't the height of the season the camping area was near full and the beach area had a lot of visitors. The beach was not crowded at all since the state park beach is near 9 miles in length from my understanding. Five miles of which is only reachable by foot or boat. This allows for some fairly private beach moments. The mosquitoes and flies could be bothersome but the proper insect repellent seemed to work to combat them most of the time. I also saw many ghost crabs along the beach and a couple of stingrays in the water. Regardless a great time can be had by all. Be sure to arrive with most of your supplies (as the nearest store is near 10 miles away), insect repellent and a good book and you will be assured a relaxing time at St. George Island State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
If your looking for a great place to camp in a clean beach environment than this is the place. I camped in space #34 and was next to the camp host who worked every day cleaning the spots as than became vacant. Being from Florida, I appreciate this beach environment (authentic old Florida) and not the overly commercialized version. The only drawback to this area is the large mosquito population and proximity to good grocery shopping. The closest, large food market (like Wal-Mart) is 80 miles in either direction (Crawfordville or Panama City) so plan accordingly! I look forward to a winter return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
Gorgeous location 200 yards from an unspoiled and uncrowded beach. Dated but very clean bathrooms and showers. Great seafood restaurants and shops in nearby Apalachicola. Bugs were pretty bad... bring some good bug spray and you'll be fine. Most sites were compacted sand with good footing, but ours (#60 on the map) was loose sand and deep in spots. 9 out of 10 for bugs and sandy sites... otherwise perfect. We had bad weather, but we'll be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We stayed one week in this State Park. The park is very close to the Gulf: within walking distance. The park rangers and attendants were very courteous. It is a beautiful campground but the Gulf beach is spectacular. Be prepared for mosquitoes during the day and especially after sundown. They spray twice a week but need to spray daily. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
A wonderful campground on a wonderful beach in Florida. The restrooms were very clean but very hot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
This park has spectacular natural beauty. In five minutes one can walk from the campground to the Gulf beach one way; the sheltered bay beach the other. Staff and hosts were helpful. There are several trails for easy hiking and many song birds at the time of year we visited. It is about 6 miles from the little village of St. George; 12 miles to the mainland from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
A nice state park, and the fees are reasonable. The sites are gravel and sand and are a decent size. The bugs got to be tedious, most the time you couldn't see them (tiny) but they bit. The facilities on the island are sparse, and you will need to drive off the island to find any real grocery stores. Wi-Fi signal was weak due to the distance and surrounding trees. We used a Verizon air card with an exterior antenna and power booster. We geocached many locations on the island. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$17
I really liked St George State Park! The showers are a nice size & very clean. The office attendants as well as the camp hosts are very nice people. No monthly stay is available; long-term stay is limited to 2 weeks. I will definitely return to this beautiful park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
This campground is located close to the bay side of St. George Island in the woods. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The restrooms and showers were very clean and modern. Because the sites are wooded, insects can be very heavy at times. This is one of the most beautiful areas in Florida to visit. We enjoyed side trips into nearby Apalachicola for the great seafood and the Old Time Soda Fountain for ice cream. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
Very nice state park. Well maintained. Good water and electricity. Friendly ranger and host. Near the ocean and sound. Nice walking trails. Take mosquito repellent (you'll need it). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
Make reservations early. We made reservations in November for mid-March arrival and could only get three nights. We had a large site for our big rig. Secluded, fairly uncrowded beach during our visit, even though it was Spring Break. You'll approach the entrance gate to register, then it's a 4-mile drive to the camping area. When we got to the island, my GPS tried to route me off of the main road. Follow the State Park sign and stay on the main road. My Verizon cell and air card worked OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
I really hate to give this park a 10 rating because I don't want it to get crowded. Sites were sandy but plenty of room for both the MH and car. Do what they say about keeping your dog on a short leash because of gators. Close to the beach which is incredible. You can here the surf while outside. This place is my favorite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
A great getaway park with beautiful beaches, undisturbed sand dunes, polite campground host and professional state employed staff. We walked miles along the beach without seeing anyone. Everything about the state park is a "10" except for the actual campground sites. There are no improved parking pads. In all cases, you're either parking on sand and/or grass lots. If you want to enjoy some solitude, this is your place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Most sites were sand, deep sand in spots. Saw one person get stuck. The majority of the sites are small but a few will handle larger rigs. The island is very remote with only a couple of eateries. But for pure peace and quiet at the beach, this park can't be beat. I just wish the sites were nicer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
This campground has to rate in the top 5 on anyone's list. Miles of pristine sand dunes and beautiful gulf beach. The CG sites are roomy and level and many have shade. There is one pull through site. Lots of birds here and at night the sky is dark and the stars beautiful. Washrooms are spotless and look new. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$21
What a wonderful Florida State Park! It has been fully reopened since the damage done by Hurricane Dennis. 50 amp available. Very quiet area, 5 miles into the state park on a barrier island. Nice playground. Hiking trails from the campground and a short walk to a beautiful, quiet, empty beach on the gulf side. It is about 12 miles to Apalachicola. Clean, nice bathhouses. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$19
Gorgeous place, a bit off the beaten path but very much worth it if you like peace and quiet, serenity, and beautiful beaches within walking distance. Isolation comes from the fact that this is a barrier island -- you cross a lengthy bridge and drive through the town before reaching the park entrance station. From there, it's another 5+ miles to the campground entrance. Paved roads in the park and campground, with little traffic. Most sites are large, level, paved, and nicely separated from other sites. Walking trails are lovely and level, a great opportunity for spotting bald eagles, ospreys, and tons of other birds. CG hosts are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this terrific spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$19
This is without a doubt the most secluded state park we have ever been to in our years of camping as a family. The brochure indicates that they strive to the scenery looks as if the Europeans just landed, and with St. George Island State park, they have accomplished just that. If you like secluded areas and beaches, this is the place to go. Be sure and stock up on all your supplies in town before going to the Island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$10
Just great, we were there in Nov. and did not have or need a reservation. Beach is gorgeous, good biking and walking. Woodalls says max length for rigs 33', but there were several there bigger than that. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com